Teresa & KitKat
Very Active Member
My cat came off Royal Canin Glycobalance and Started eating Friskies and FF for snacks. I went by the vets food chart on this site. I would like to know if Friskies is not good for KitKat.
Also, i need help dosing to get KitKat regulated.One dose is too much and the other is not enough.My cat came off Royal Canin Glycobalance and Started eating Friskies and FF for snacks. I went by the vets food chart on this site. I would like to know if Friskies is not good for KitKat.
Hi Teresa. Did you see my comments on your other thread about the Friskies? I just wrote them this afternoon, so I don’t know if you read them yet. I hope you are doing all right. Please take care of yourself as well as Kit Kat.My cat came off Royal Canin Glycobalance and Started eating Friskies and FF for snacks. I went by the vets food chart on this site. I would like to know if Friskies is not good for KitKat.
Do you have an automatic feeder that will feed wet food, if you do where did you purchase it at.Hi Teresa. Did you see my comments on your other thread about the Friskies? I just wrote them this afternoon, so I don’t know if you read them yet. I hope you are doing all right. Please take care of yourself as well as Kit Kat.
Even though I haven’t see the last couple of days spreadsheet data, I would like to say that the 64 from a few nights ago is not a dangerous number. It would not warrant giving high carb food. A 64 is a safe number for a cat. We don’t want cats on insulin dropping down below 50 on a human meter like your ReliOn meter. So when you have a lime green like Kit Kat did on December 4, that would be a time to give high carb food or possibly a drop of Karo syrup and retest in 20 minutes to make sure the BG is rising to 50 or above. It is very helpful to give the snacks at +2 and +4 and, if necessary even +6 in order to prevent steep drops in BG and to help smooth the cycle in general. I think if Kit Kat had been given snacks on December 4 that you probably would not have seen that 45 at all. He went from 442 to 263 in two hours, which is way too much of a drop for a 2 hour time span. That was a strong indication that he needed food at +2 in order to slow him down. Low carb food probably would be fine, but over time we will learn Kit Kat’s patterns and know if he needs a few more carbs in these situations. It will be very helpful to you and to me if you can keep notes in the remarks section of your spreadsheet about what you feed him and when you feed him. We need to determine his response to carbs. I believe you have implemented the snacks now so that is good and should keep him more stable — with hopefully a nice steady drop. You may want to buy an automatic feeder to dispense the mini-meals when you are not at home and for the evening so you can sleep. We can talk more about everything soon. Please update the SS as soon as you can.
@Diane Tyler's Mom GA do you know which feeder it is that a lot of people use for the wet food? I think it’s a PetMate??
@Suzanne & Darcy , I did put in all of Kit Kat's current info on his SS. I still have some older info to put in, which I will get to. It would be very nice to get a pet feeder, I have not been to church in 3 weeks, his nadir is around 4 hrs and I would be gone at that time and at night I would be in bed. Also, I would like to find some of the foods you were talking about.@Diane Tyler's Mom GA do you know which feeder it is that a lot of people use for the wet food? I think it’s a PetMate??
I ordered Kit Kat a Pet Mate Feeder from Amazon, I wish I had thought about a feeder a month ago, if I had of I would be getting ready for bed right now.Hi Teresa. Did you see my comments on your other thread about the Friskies? I just wrote them this afternoon, so I don’t know if you read them yet. I hope you are doing all right. Please take care of yourself as well as Kit Kat.
Even though I haven’t see the last couple of days spreadsheet data, I would like to say that the 64 from a few nights ago is not a dangerous number. It would not warrant giving high carb food. A 64 is a safe number for a cat. We don’t want cats on insulin dropping down below 50 on a human meter like your ReliOn meter. So when you have a lime green like Kit Kat did on December 4, that would be a time to give high carb food or possibly a drop of Karo syrup and retest in 20 minutes to make sure the BG is rising to 50 or above. It is very helpful to give the snacks at +2 and +4 and, if necessary even +6 in order to prevent steep drops in BG and to help smooth the cycle in general. I think if Kit Kat had been given snacks on December 4 that you probably would not have seen that 45 at all. He went from 442 to 263 in two hours, which is way too much of a drop for a 2 hour time span. That was a strong indication that he needed food at +2 in order to slow him down. Low carb food probably would be fine, but over time we will learn Kit Kat’s patterns and know if he needs a few more carbs in these situations. It will be very helpful to you and to me if you can keep notes in the remarks section of your spreadsheet about what you feed him and when you feed him. We need to determine his response to carbs. I believe you have implemented the snacks now so that is good and should keep him more stable — with hopefully a nice steady drop. You may want to buy an automatic feeder to dispense the mini-meals when you are not at home and for the evening so you can sleep. We can talk more about everything soon. Please update the SS as soon as you can.
I was wrong it was a Cat Mate, I would like to see your food list, so I could buy Kit Kat Some different food. i am getting worried about him eating Friskies or Fancy feast.@Suzanne & Darcy , I did put in all of Kit Kat's current info on his SS. I still have some older info to put in, which I will get to. It would be very nice to get a pet feeder, I have not been to church in 3 weeks, his nadir is around 4 hrs and I would be gone at that time and at night I would be in bed. Also, I would like to find some of the foods you were talking about.
I ordered Kit Kat a Pet Mate Feeder from Amazon, I wish I had thought about a feeder a month ago, if I had of I would be getting ready for bed right now.
i
Thank you, Diane. As always, I think you are wonderful.some info on auto feeders always add a little water to the wet food. You can set it to open at what times you want to feed Minky
Here is an auto feeder that hold 5 slots and comes with 2 ice packs for wet food
https://www.amazon.com/Cat-Mate-C500-Digital-Automatic/dp/B01AUYLVU8/ref=sr_1_6?gclid=EAIaIQobChMIuM_y2p79_AIVDvrICh1_xAy6EAAYASAAEgJBDfD_BwE&hvadid=178540036693&hvdev=t&hvlocphy=9003521&hvnetw=g&hvqmt=e&hvrand=6990619631848479728&hvtargid=kwd-12652445711&hydadcr=10635_9894649&keywords=petsafe 5-meal automatic pet feeder&qid=1675560889&sr=8-6
Extra ice packs so you can keep them in the freezer ready to go
https://www.amazon.com/Cat-Mate-Rep...5c-bd5c-e23f6094563c&pd_rd_i=B091HTXNHR&psc=1
This one has 3 slots with one ice pack
https://www.amazon.com/Cat-Mate-Automatic-Feeder-Digital/dp/B01MXDFB28
Extra ice pack
https://www.amazon.com/Mate-Replace...cb-974a-deec2fb8a80c&pd_rd_i=B07KFP7PRG&psc=1
@Teresa & Buddy
Thank you, I am worried about what he is eating and he could not go back to Royal Canin Urinary SO, because of the carbs. I will find out who sells this cat food and he loves chicken in gravy. Yes, I remember chicklets. You have helped me so much tonight with the feeder and now the food. I really appreciate it, and I did order a feeder from amazon, the one you mentioned.@Teresa & Buddy
Hi Teresa
low carb/ low phosphorus
if you tap on this link and look at post #32 I listed some Weruva pates for another member that's low carb/ low phosphorus with kitties with CKD
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-member-11-8-and-i-am-tired.283363/#post-3124085
Also
Tyler was blocked once, had to take him to the ER ,
He had struvite crystals ,I needed to change his food.
The food that was suggested by the ER was too high in carbs so I found this and have been feeding this , never raised his BG and knock on wood hadn't been blocked since
Purina Pro Plan Urinary Tract Health Beef & Chicken Entree flavor Pate
Purina Pro Plan Urinary Tract Health Chicken Entree
They are both low carb and low in phosphorus
The Purina Pro Plan Urinary Tract Health is low carb and low phosphorus
Beef and Chicken Entree pate
Carbs are around 4.80
Phosphorus is 1.44 dry matter
They also have Chicken Entree in Gravy which isn't pate it like tiny pieces of chicken like the size of a chicklet piece of gum lol remember them, they are like tiny tiny chunks
Carbs are 4.5
Phosphorus 0.78 dry matter
You're very welcome, any pet store (Petco , PetSmart ) sells both foodsThank you, I am worried about what he is eating and he could not go back to Royal Canin Urinary SO, because of the carbs. I will find out who sells this cat food and he loves chicken in gravy. Yes, I remember chicklets. You have helped me so much tonight with the feeder and now the food. I really appreciate it, and I did order a feeder from amazon, the one you mentioned.
The town where I live does not have a Petco or Petsmart. I am on the phone right now calling around trying to find someone who sells this, he loves the Royal canin canned food, which is little pieces of chicken like chicklets in gravy. I may just get on chewy and order the Pro Plan that sells the chicken n gravy.You're very welcome, any pet store (Petco , PetSmart ) sells both foods
if I remember some of the Weruva will come in pouches not cans , Chewy and Amazon also sells the Weruva and the Pro Plan . I would buy a few cans first of either food at a pet store to see if Buddy likes them before ordering a lot from Chewy's
@Teresa & Buddy
Hi Teresa , I never needed a script for the pro plan, I always bought them in my pet stores, that's crazy@Diane Tyler's Mom GA , I just found a place that has turkey and giblets in pro plan urinary health and they are saying you need a script for this. Would this even have the right amount of carbs.
There is a Pet land in this town and I found the number and the person who answered the phone 1st told me they did not have and then she said they had the chicken flavor. I really think that store would be better off if they hired my cat to answer the phone instead of that girl. I am going out there to find out and if not I will be ordering from Chewy.Hi Teresa , I never needed a script for the pro plan, I always bought them in my pet stores, that's crazy
I just did a search on the Chewy site where people ask questions and the carbs and phosphorus are fine
What is the as fed basis for phosphorus and sodium?
Answer by • Sep 14, 2023
This recipe has a Sodium content of 0.23% as fed (1.02% on a dry matter basis) and a Phosphorus content of 0.31% as fed (1.36% on a dry matter basis).
0LikesReport
Answer This Question
What is the percentage of carbohydrates on a dry matter basis and an as fed basis? Thank you.
Answer by • Jul 19, 2023
This variety contains approximately 1.2% Carbohydrate content on an as fed basis (5.3% on a dry matter basis).
Tyler never liked the turkey and giblets
I would just order the chicken one from Chewy or Amazon then , I think Buddy would love the chicken flavor. You can always return them to Chewy if he doesn't like it
@Teresa & Buddy
Lol you're too funny, , I hope they have it. Let me know . Talk to you later heading out to Physical therapy. I'll check back laterThere is a Pet land in this town and I found the number and the person who answered the phone 1st told me they did not have and then she said they had the chicken flavor. I really think that store would be better off if they hired my cat to answer the phone instead of that girl. I am going out there to find out and if not I will be ordering from Chewy.
At this time my cat has 17 cans of Purina Pro Plan, Urinary Tract Health Chicken Entree. I hope this is the right thing. They also had pet beds on sale and I bought him a new bed.Lol you're too funny, , I hope they have it. Let me know . Talk to you later heading out to Physical therapy. I'll check back later
@Teresa & Buddy
The cans I have are 3 oz and the picture of Turkey & Giblets is 5.5 oz., which size is the normal size.At this time my cat has 17 cans of Purina Pro Plan, Urinary Tract Health Chicken Entree. I hope this is the right thing. They also had pet beds on sale and I bought him a new bed.
@Teresa & Buddy I showed you the pic of the chicken one aboveAt this time my cat has 17 cans of Purina Pro Plan, Urinary Tract Health Chicken Entree. I hope this is the right thing. They also had pet beds on sale and I bought him a new bed.
I see they have the 5.5 ounce size of the chicken also on Chewy and AmazonThe cans I have are 3 oz and the picture of Turkey & Giblets is 5.5 oz., which size is the normal size.
What do you feed for a snackI see they have the 5.5 ounce size of the chicken also on Chewy and Amazon
View attachment 71834
https://www.chewy.com/purina-pro-pl...WDk8Jnd1q__gc7FFD_kCqKlqAYuU4zGQaArmHEALw_wcB
Amazon also has the 5.5 ounce cans of the chicken flavor , just Google pro plan urinary tract chicken entre in gravy 5.5 ounce cans Amazon
You can still feed them the pro plan about 2 teaspoons for snacks . Most members feed a snack around +2 and +4What do you feed for a snack
@Diane Tyler's Mom GAYou can still feed them the pro plan about 2 teaspoons for snacks . Most members feed a snack around +2 and +4
The cans of friskies were much bigger than what he has right now, which he ate but 1 can. And the girl at the pet shop said chicken entree, so I did not check the can out. When I opened the can it was with gravy. I never thought about what is always said, not to change their food all at once, but when I started thinking about when he was blocked, I wondered if I did the right thing.@Diane Tyler's Mom GA
I am at odds about how much he should eat at meal time, should he eat more than one can, because that is what he ate tonight.
What is Buddy's ideal weight@Diane Tyler's Mom GA
I am at odds about how much he should eat at meal time, should he eat more than one can, because that is what he ate tonight.
Diane, you do know this is KitKat, when they changed everything I wanted to separate the signature but it was not done. The last time he was weighted he was @ 10 or 11 lbs. His vet put him on a diet trying to stop the diabetes and he weighed 14 almost 15 lbs. I believe he should weigh 12 or maybe 13 lbs. He is thin right now, but if he gained weight would that be hard on his diabetes.What is Buddy's ideal weight
@Teresa & Buddy
Sorry I meant to say KitKatDiane, you do know this is KitKat, when they changed everything I wanted to separate the signature but it was not done. The last time he was weighted he was @ 10 or 11 lbs. His vet put him on a diet trying to stop the diabetes and he weighed 14 almost 15 lbs. I believe he should weigh 12 or maybe 13 lbs. He is thin right now, but if he gained weight would that be hard on his diabetes.
That is fine, it does not bother me.Sorry I meant to say KitKat
Kit Kat is on ProZinc, not lantus.What is Buddy's ideal weight
@Teresa & Buddy
Have you read the dosing methods for Lantus
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/prozinc-dosing-methods.225629/
We adjust the dose by how low the BG drops not by the pre shots . I'm going to tag @Suzanne & Darcy to take a look at your spreadsheet
They sayDiane, you do know this is KitKat, when they changed everything I wanted to separate the signature but it was not done. The last time he was weighted he was @ 10 or 11 lbs. His vet put him on a diet trying to stop the diabetes and he weighed 14 almost 15 lbs. I believe he should weigh 12 or maybe 13 lbs. He is thin right now, but if he gained weight would that be hard on his diabetes.
I just wanted to be sure he had enough to eat at meal time. I did not know if he should have more than 1 can, on the larger Friskies can he did not eat it all.Kit Kat is on ProZinc, not lantus.
What the hell is wrong with meKit Kat is on ProZinc, not lantus.
Is that for the day.They say
A good rule of thumb is 20 x ideal weight
For Example
If KitKats ideal weight should be 13 lbs
So 20 x 13 equals 260 calories
@Teresa & Buddy
Maybe you are tired. Did you have the calories posted.What the hell is wrong with me
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/prozinc-dosing-methods.225629/
From the Chewy siteMaybe you are tired. Did you have the calories posted.
Thank you. I looked also on Chewy's site.From the Chewy site
How many calories per one can?
Answer by • Apr 14, 2021
This recipe contains approximately 25.1 calories per ounce, or 75.3 calories per 3-ounce can.
That is why I did not change it to begin with, maybe someone will come along that remembers how to changed it.@Teresa & Buddy
I think it would be a good idea to change Teresa & Buddy to
Teresa & KitKat
I forgot how to do it though
@Suzanne & Darcy
Do you remember how Teresa can change to Teresa & KitKat instead of Teresa & Buddy since she is talking about KitKat now. Buddy has passed
I tagged @Suzanne & Darcy to see if she can tell you how to change it. I also sent Suzanne a private messageThat is why I did not change it to begin with, maybe someone will come along that remembers how to changed it.
I am going in the kitchen to do the dishes, I will check back in about 5 minutes.I tagged @Suzanne & Darcy to see if she can tell you how to change it. I also sent Suzanne a private message
@Teresa & Buddy