Suzanne & Darcy
Very Active Member
You are saying that it’s chicken chunks in a “gravy” right?Pro Plan urinary tract does not come in plain chicken
@Teresa & KitKat
You are saying that it’s chicken chunks in a “gravy” right?Pro Plan urinary tract does not come in plain chicken
@Teresa & KitKat
The food that KitKat is eating right now Purina urinary tract health chicken & gravy. He loves it, but I was looking on the food chart by the dr., it says it is 9 carbs. Kit Kat has had really loose bowels so I am adding in some of the food he was eating before Friskies and FF back into his food, I was hoping to get some Urinary health plain chicken to add into his food, but it is either beef & chicken or turkey & giblets. I have ordered a case of 5.5 cans of chicken & gravy and I am thinking of ordering a case of the beef & chicken to put back into the chicken & gravy. I thought his numbers were so high because of the carbs in the chicken & gravy.Finally, Teresa, thank you for keeping the spreadsheet up to date. It’s so nice for me when I come to check up on Kit Kat and I can see what’s been going on. Kit Kat’s numbers are high right now because he is in a bounce. Bouncing is a protective mechanism pf the cat’s body that occurs in response to low numbers (like the 36 he had). The cat’s body releases stored sugars from the liver as well as various other hormones that raise blood glucose. Bounces can be caused by low numbers and by steep drops in BG in a short period of time (like an hour or two). Bounces will cause elevated BG for up to six cycles (3 days). They don’t necessarily have to last that long, but they can last that long. I would expect Kit Kat’s bounce to break sometime this evening or tomorrow. Keep holding the .75 unit dose and do not increase. We do not increase insulin due to bouncing. If we did, when the bounce breaks and BG starts to drop, the cat could be overdosed. Good job sticking with the program. It’s very frustrating.
One last request: please put a decimal point in front of the 75 on your spreadsheet so it is clear that it’s 3/4 of a unit. Thank you. I will be checking on sweet Kit Kat. You are doing great.
I believe Darcy looks a lot like Kit Kat, or Kit kat looks a lot like Darcy. Kit Kat is a medium brown tabby with some beige & black and he is a big skinny cat right now.Unless you live in the northwest or southwest corners of Indiana, you are on Eastern time (like me.). I always ask that question because it helps me to know what your shot time is by my own time. Sometimes people need help in real-time when they are trying to decide how much to shoot, for instance, or they need help handling low numbers, etc.
For the lurkers, I thought I’d said it before this post but this is a medium carb food from the list used here. IMHO carbs are carbs, be it rice or flour or whatever the maker puts in. At any rate, he gets it mixed with his usual zero carb food for when he goes below 100 or if he’s approaching 100 and stops eating his zero carb food. Tiki makes few options with carbs, I found a five and two 6’s he will eat but not much of—it’s not carb dense and he fills up quickly.Oh wow. Rice is way too high carb to feed him in a regular basis. That food should be saved and served in tiny amounts when the need arises to get his BG numbers up of he drops below 50 (yes, I said below 50 and I did not say below 90. Numbers from 50-89 can be managed with low carb wet food in 99 percent of cases - I wrote that for lurkers and also for anyone else reading along who was thinking of correcting me and ask if I meant to say 90.). High carb food and karo should be saved for numbers under 50 (human meter) and 68 (Alpha Trak pet meter.)
Yes, as someone once said the chicken is like chiclets (chewing gum) if you remember them and gravy.You are saying that it’s chicken chunks in a “gravy” right?
Hi Suzanne I told Teresa about the Pro plan Urinary tract health. Looked on the Chewy site about the chicken flavorYou are saying that it’s chicken chunks in a “gravy” right?
@Diane Tyler's MomHi Suzanne I told Teresa about the Pro plan Urinary tract health. Looked on the Chewy site about the chicken flavor
Answer This Question
What is the percentage of carbohydrates on a dry matter basis and an as fed basis? Thank you.
Answer by • Jul 19, 2023
This variety contains approximately 1.2% Carbohydrate content on an as fed basis (5.3% on a dry matter basis).
Dr Pierson's chart says 9 %
I was feeding this to Tyler for a long time and it never made his BG go up , started feeding him this when he was blocked , also was in remission
The Purina Pro Plan Urinary Tract Health is low carb and low phosphorus
Beef and Chicken Entree pate
Carbs are around 4.80
Phosphorus is 1.44 dry matter
They also have Chicken Entree in Gravy which isn't pate it like tiny pieces of chicken like the size of a chicklet piece of gum lol remember them, they are like tiny tiny chunks
Carbs are 4.5
Phosphorus 0.78 dry matter
Purina pro plan urinary tract turkey and giblets
This variety contains approximately 1.2% Carbohydrate content on an as fed basis (5.3% on a dry matter basis).
I posted a pic of all 3 cans on page 1 of this thread
@Suzanne & Darcy
We need to get him a little plumper!I believe Darcy looks a lot like Kit Kat, or Kit kat looks a lot like Darcy. Kit Kat is a medium brown tabby with some beige & black and he is a big skinny cat right now.
9 carbs should be okay if that’s what it is. It’s less than ten percent - unless he’s really carb sensitive, but otherwise it should be all right as long as it’s less than ten percent. We do need him to eat. I hope it’s not the one with the rice. I don’t believe the numbers if they say that is only 9 percent.@Diane Tyler's Mom
Diane, Suzanne said Kit Kat had high numbers because he is bouncing, that could be true. Anyway, Kit Kat loves the food and it is less than 10 carbs.
Yes. With differing cats, we can customize the reduction point. It depends upon what is best for the cat. Methos is a special needs cat. My Darcy was too. That’s why my signature says do not copy dosing, etc.For the lurkers, I thought I’d said it before this post but this is a medium carb food from the list used here. IMHO carbs are carbs, be it rice or flour or whatever the maker puts in. At any rate, he gets it mixed with his usual zero carb food for when he goes below 100 or if he’s approaching 100 and stops eating his zero carb food. Tiki makes few options with carbs, I found a five and two 6’s he will eat but not much of—it’s not carb dense and he fills up quickly.
Also for the lurkers, Methos is not an average diabetic cat—his left adrenal is completely atrophied/nonfunctional. His right is pretty much only a huge irregularly functioning tumor. He has tumors in his liver and pancreas. And he’s on two medications designed to decrease adrenal function. Since I dont want to stimulate his huge adrenal tumor, nor do I know if he’d actually mount an appropriate response to hypoglycemia due to the tumors in adrenal, liver, and pancreas, I’m trying to tread carefully and avoid going too low.
In other words, don’t copy me. Because 100 is my floor. All that aside, math is math and mixing a higher carb food with a low carb food results in a percentage between the two
KitKat is eating Pro Plan urinary healthy chicken & gravy, it looks like the Royal Canin wet food he had been eating. Besides, the main thing here is by feeding this, it will help him from having a urinary tract blockage. He had a urinary blockage in 12/22. I thought you would need a script to get food for a urinary blockage, with his vet that means Royal canin.9 carbs should be okay if that’s what it is. It’s less than ten percent - unless he’s really carb sensitive, but otherwise it should be all right as long as it’s less than ten percent. We do need him to eat. I hope it’s not the one with the rice. I don’t believe the numbers if they say that is only 9 percent.
His numbers this morning is in the 400.Be sure to get a test or two in tonight. He’s going down into yellow and it looks like he’s breaking the bounce.
@Suzanne & DarcyAny tests this morning? Tests last night? I don’t see anything on the spreadsheet.
I have rheumatoid arthritis and my right wrist and my right thumb is swollen & very sore. Kit kat is getting very grumpy about having me test him, which that makes it even harder to test him. So, i am moving slower than usual. Kit Kat loves his feeder.@Suzanne & Darcy
I do not know what is going on I went to take a reading @2 and it came up@46 so I tried it again and it came back at 282. Just to be safe I gave him 3 t of friskies Liver & Chicken for a snack. i waited 1/2 hr and took it again and it said LOW, I took it again and it said 275. I waited about 5 min and took it again and it was at 287. I have never had anything like this happen before. Which do you think is right.
Are you giving Kit Kat a treat after every single test? I think you can take a break from testing for some hours now. Wait until +10 and test if you can — just so we can see where he os and not have any surprises at PMPS shot time. I am very sorry about your hands. I hate that. We use our hands for everything and it’s so hard when they hurt and it can be very limiting. I have broken my thumb before and it was rough. Last week I hurt it again badly and put it back in the thumb splint, but fortunately it is feeling a lot better this week. So give yourself and Kit Kat a break. You have done a really good job of testing today (and had difficulties). He may go down a little more by +6, but you can get a +6 test perhaps tomorrow and we will see (hopefully he will not be bouncing from today’s yellows.). Thanks for all the helpful testing data today!I have rheumatoid arthritis and my right wrist and my right thumb is swollen & very sore. Kit kat is getting very grumpy about having me test him, which that makes it even harder to test him. So, i am moving slower than usual. Kit Kat loves his feeder.
I bought the meter this fall and I bought the test strips a week or 2 ago.That is crazy about the readings you are getting. Is your meter old? Test strips old? Or expired? What about a new battery for the meter? Does it have an indicator telling how much battery power is left? It is possible to get an occasional bad test strips old and you did the right thing to re-check those low numbers. I doubt it’s the lower numbers because of that last test you got. It was also in the 200s.
I have already started pmps before I read this. What kind of treats, I thought they all had sugar. Kit Kat just came in here, my computer is the same place as his litter box and took a dump, it is all loose. I have a splint also that I have worn all day, I could not sleep for it last night.Are you giving Kit Kat a treat after every single test? I think you can take a break from testing for some hours now. Wait until +10 and test if you can — just so we can see where he os and not have any surprises at PMPS shot time. I am very sorry about your hands. I hate that. We use our hands for everything and it’s so hard when they hurt and it can be very limiting. I have broken my thumb before and it was rough. Last week I hurt it again badly and put it back in the thumb splint, but fortunately it is feeling a lot better this week. So give yourself and Kit Kat a break. You have done a really good job of testing today (and had difficulties). He may go down a little more by +6, but you can get a +6 test perhaps tomorrow and we will see (hopefully he will not be bouncing from today’s yellows.). Thanks for all the helpful testing data today!
That right it does give an error code if you do not get enough blood. I have to go to wal mart this week to get more test strips, I was thinking about buying an extra monitor.I also have a ReliOn Premier meter and it was quite reliable. I was going to ask you if you are sure you got enough blood on the test strip, but as I recall the ReliOn gives you an error code if there’s not enough blood for a test.
I wonder if I am feeding KitKat too much, I thought his loose bowels was from eating different food than what he was used to. Also, his numbers have been higher than I thought they would be.Are you giving Kit Kat a treat after every single test? I think you can take a break from testing for some hours now. Wait until +10 and test if you can — just so we can see where he os and not have any surprises at PMPS shot time. I am very sorry about your hands. I hate that. We use our hands for everything and it’s so hard when they hurt and it can be very limiting. I have broken my thumb before and it was rough. Last week I hurt it again badly and put it back in the thumb splint, but fortunately it is feeling a lot better this week. So give yourself and Kit Kat a break. You have done a really good job of testing today (and had difficulties). He may go down a little more by +6, but you can get a +6 test perhaps tomorrow and we will see (hopefully he will not be bouncing from today’s yellows.). Thanks for all the helpful testing data today!
Most people on this Board give Pure Bites freeze dried chicken treats. They are pure chicken. Most cats are crazy for them. You can also boil a little chicken and cut it into little pieces and give it to him as a “testing treat.” It’s important to always keep the testing positive by giving a treat every time. It’s important in the beginning to do the tests in the same spot each time- to have a special place where the tests are done and the treats are given. Anything that is low carb would be okay though.What kind of treats, I thought they all had sugar.
If he was transitioned quickly to the new food, it definitely can cause diarrhea. Usually it takes a week or two to slowly transition to a new food.I wonder if I am feeding KitKat too much, I thought his loose bowels was from eating different food than what he was used to. Also, his numbers have been higher than I thought they would be.
@Diane Tyler's Mom I am on my way to the hospital, having very high blood pressure and my heart is pounding.Let me explain it here about linking your previous posts
We link it in case members need to go back to it and re read something , so they can just tap on the link and won't have to go searching for it, I put your previous post at the end of my post
I really stink at explaining things lol
Your previous days post will always be in the URL all the way up top ignore where it says insert or cancel I'm just trying to show you where your previous days post will be
Like I said
your previous days post it will be the one all the way up top, above the pic of that cat and the picture of a bottle of insulin there, let me know if you understand it
![]()
So when you do your post on the Prozinc forum tomorrow you will put the
Date KitKat AMPS# additional tests after that and PMPS# and any other tests after that
You are going to go all the way to the top of this post you have and link it to tomorrows post
Please let me know if you understand this
To add the additional tests look to the right and you will see the words Thread Tools, tap on that then tap on Edit Title and add you additional tests, then tap dave
@Teresa & KitKat
@Suzanne & Darcy, @Diane Tyler's Mom, i am home from the hospital, I am going to enter what info I have on SS. Will look at everything else tomorrow sometime I have a dr appt tomorrow@Diane Tyler's Mom I am on my way to the hospital, having very high blood pressure and my heart is pounding.
@Diane Tyler's Mom, @ Suzanne & Darcy/I am home, my heart rate slowed down & my blood pressure went down on its own. The dr gave me the option of staying or leaving because everything came down on its own. I would have stayed if I had someone to take care of KitKat. I went today (thursday) to have a nerve block, I have 1 every 90 days. By the way Kit Kat loves his feeder.
Kit Kat has started eating tonight urinary tract chicken & beef which is 4 carbs instead of the 9 carbs in chicken & gravy, if for some reason that does not help him, i will change him to 1.25. He would not eat the chicken & gravy tonight. When he was eating the friskies which was between 4 and 5 carbs he was running a lot lower. Tomorrow, I am leaving early not sure of time back, so i might have to start the new thread on sunday. I have had a few health issues, been trying to find a place that boards, our vet does not. How are you, have not heard from you for a while.Hi Teresa. Can you start a new thread tomorrow? How are you doing? It looks like you need to increase Kit Kat’s dose to 1.25 on December 29.
I am still having problems. Kit Kat's vet does not board and I thought I need to find someone that I could depend upon in case I might have to stay over night in hospital sometime. My daughter is not well, so I do not want to ask her for help. I think you were wanting me to start a new thread, I have never done this before, but i am going to try.I’m okay. Thank you. I had not heard from you for a while and had not seen any updates on Kit Kat so I wanted to check in with you. I saw that you had been having health problems and I was worried about that as well. Why do you need to Board Kit Kat? Will you be gone from home for an extended period of time? Can your daughter help ?
I just tried to copy & paste to start a new thread. I think I have missed something because it took me right back to the old thread.Oh wow! I see some pretty blue numbers on Kit Kat’s spreadsheet today! I am really pleased!![]()
No, I do not understand. The only time I do AMPS or PMPS is on the SS, are you telling me to post that on the ProZinc site.Let me explain it here about linking your previous posts
We link it in case members need to go back to it and re read something , so they can just tap on the link and won't have to go searching for it, I put your previous post at the end of my post
I really stink at explaining things lol
Your previous days post will always be in the URL all the way up top ignore where it says insert or cancel I'm just trying to show you where your previous days post will be
Like I said
your previous days post it will be the one all the way up top, above the pic of that cat and the picture of a bottle of insulin there, let me know if you understand it
![]()
So when you do your post on the Prozinc forum tomorrow you will put the
Date KitKat AMPS# additional tests after that and PMPS# and any other tests after that
You are going to go all the way to the top of this post you have and link it to tomorrows post
Please let me know if you understand this
To add the additional tests look to the right and you will see the words Thread Tools, tap on that then tap on Edit Title and add you additional tests, then tap dave
@Teresa & KitKat
Let me see if I can help. Hold on a moment@ Suzanne & Darcy, @ Diane Tyler's Mom GA, I am confused about starting a new thread using this address.