Diane Tyler's Mom GA
Very Active Member
OkI am going in the kitchen to do the dishes, I will check back in about 5 minutes.
OkI am going in the kitchen to do the dishes, I will check back in about 5 minutes.
At this time my cat has 17 cans of Purina Pro Plan, Urinary Tract Health Chicken Entree. I hope this is the right thing. They also had pet beds on sale and I bought him a new bed.
Yes, what I have is Chicken Entree in gravy, I bought all they had. Kit Kat ate 1 tonight.So you have them now ?
@Teresa & Buddy
Did KitKat like it? Is KitKat a female?Yes, what I have is Chicken Entree in gravy, I bought all they had. Kit Kat ate 1 tonight.
Lol I don't think soGood grief. @Diane Tyler's Mom GA are you going to take over with dosing instructions for Kit Kat too! Just joking! I am so glad I invited you to help with the food situation.
I do not have the auto feeder yet, but I do not remember what I shot last night.Thank for putting more data into Kit Kat’s spreadsheet, Teresa. Why did you shoot only.75 units last night? Kit Kat was definitely high enough at PMPS to give the 1 unit. You should have continued with the 1 unit dose. See how I said he would do better with the snacks. Did you get your auto feeder set up yet? As slow as shipping is these days, I guess I had better be patient.
KitKat is a male.Did KitKat like it? Is KitKat a female?
So if you are going to keep feeding the pro plan go to your signature and put Friskies &FF then Pro Plan Urinary Tract and the date you started it
@Teresa & Buddy
Can you add SLGS to your signature & spreadsheet up to
I tried to change to Teresa & Kit Kat and it said I had changed my nick (what ever that Is) so I could not change it for 89 days.I do not have the auto feeder yet, but I do not remember what I shot last night.
It did change, even though it said it would not.KitKat is a male.
I tried to change to Teresa & Kit Kat and it said I had changed my nick (what ever that Is) so I could not change it for 89 days.
Your spreadsheet says you shot .75 last night and Kit Kat was in the 300s (pinks.)I do not have the auto feeder yet, but I do not remember what I shot last night.
The reason I shot .75 a couple of nights ago was because Kit Kat did not want to eat. He did not eat hardly anything until after his shot.It’s really important for us here - those who want to help you and Kit Kat - to have the spreadsheet up to date as much as possible. I don’t see any tests for today for Kit Kat. This means I can’t see what’s happening in the cycles and I can’t make any observations or recommendations.
I thought I put that in the remarks, but I did not. I am going to start working on going to bed. I will get his SS for the last couple of days caught up tomorrow.The reason I shot .75 a couple of nights ago was because Kit Kat did not want to eat. He did not eat hardly anything until after his shot.
I live in Indiana and I don't know what time zone I am in, whatever it is it changes in the spring and fall. He wants to eat, that is why I am concerned when he does not want to eat, I have not got up enough nerve to shot on a few teaspoons. Later, he started eating and has been eating ever since. Yesterday, I was busy trying to get Purina Pro Plan Urinary tract health for him. I did get some.Okay. I understand about the lack of appetite. .75 was not enough insulin as we can see from your tests, but that’s just good information in hindsight and I completely understand your concern if he would not eat. Do you think it was a new food that he does not like? I am just wondering why he did not want to eat. He does not have to eat a huge meal at shot time. A few teaspoons would be fine. Then you could just leave his food down for him for a few hours if you want to— to see if he will eat more. Does he do this often?
I hope you got some rest last night. I wish I had. I will be out for most of the morning and possibly also early afternoon. I have a choir dress rehearsal at 9 and it’s going to last some hours. However, I will check in on Kit Kat’s spreadsheet and progress sometime this morning. I haven’t hd a chance to ask you yet what time zone you live in. I am on Eastern time and I live in Georgia.
KitKat loves the Purina Pro Plan for Urinary Health Chicken entree in gravy. In the list of foods, carbs on this site it list the food that I bought yesterday as having 9 carbs. That is under 10 so it will work.Can you add SLGS to your signature & spreadsheet up top so we know what dosing method you are following
@Teresa & KitKat
Good night![]()
KitKat loves the Purina Pro Plan for Urinary Health Chicken entree in gravy. In the list of foods, carbs on this site it list the food that I bought yesterday as having 9 carbs. That is under 10 so it will work.
Teresa, remember that the ProZinc will onset at about +2 (two hours after shot time) so it’s okay if he doesn’t eat that much at shot time it’s okay as long as he will eat during and up to the +2 hour. I recommend snacks of low carb wet food at +2 and +4 to prevent steep drops in the early portion of the cycle. But, if he grazes during those first two (or even four hours — as long as you make sure he eats during this time.)I live in Indiana and I don't know what time zone I am in, whatever it is it changes in the spring and fall. He wants to eat, that is why I am concerned when he does not want to eat, I have not got up enough nerve to shot on a few teaspoons. Later, he started eating and has been eating ever since. Yesterday, I was busy trying to get Purina Pro Plan Urinary tract health for him. I did get some.
He did not want anything else this morning and it was right at 2 hrs that I ran the test. I feed him tonight a can of purina urinary health and he ate it. I offered him 3 more tea of the food and he has not ate all of it yet. He was on a diet for about 3 months trying to hold the diabetes at bay, I am beginning to think he has got used to not eating very much. In the last few weeks he has been at 90 or below, so he should have been taken down to 75 then too. I was talking to my daughter today who is a nurse and also diabetic, she said he is either getting too much insulin or not eating enough. She has no pancreas but had illet (spelling) cells from her pancreas put on her liver.Teresa, remember that the ProZinc will onset at about +2 (two hours after shot time) so it’s okay if he doesn’t eat that much at shot time it’s okay as long as he will eat during and up to the +2 hour. I recommend snacks of low carb wet food at +2 and +4 to prevent steep drops in the early portion of the cycle. But, if he grazes during those first two (or even four hours — as long as you make sure he eats during this time.)
Cats do respond to insulin differently than humans (and dogs) do, but he definitely should get that reduction as soon as possible. I said 90 as the reduction point for now because it is the reduction point for the SLGS (Start Low Go Slow) dosing protocol. For now, we will use 90 as the reduction point. Most cats will need to be allowed to go lower than that, but in the beginning we should start with this. Later, we can move to the Modified ProZinc Method if it’s in Kit Kat’s best interest. Any number 50 and above is acceptable and we will not put Kit Kat in danger. That 36 is troubling. Did you give high carb food when you got that reading? The procedure would be to give a teaspoon of high carb food and/or a drop or two of karo syrup (or honey) and to retest in 20 minutes to make sure the BG is rising. Then you need to keep testing every 20-30 minutes (as the BG rises you can extend the time between tests) to make sure that the blood glucose is stable or rising and is not dropping back down. You keep feeding small amounts of food as needed until the BG stays up on its own.He did not want anything else this morning and it was right at 2 hrs that I ran the test. I feed him tonight a can of purina urinary health and he ate it. I offered him 3 more tea of the food and he has not ate all of it yet. He was on a diet for about 3 months trying to hold the diabetes at bay, I am beginning to think he has got used to not eating very much. In the last few weeks he has been at 90 or below, so he should have been taken down to 75 then too. I was talking to my daughter today who is a nurse and also diabetic, she said he is either getting too much insulin or not eating enough. She has no pancreas but had illet (spelling) cells from her pancreas put on her liver.
I gave him some FF that had 12 carbs. I know that you should not change a food without mixing it with what they had been eating but I did. His bowels are very loose, i am thinking about mixing the Purina pro plan with Friskies or FF.Cats do respond to insulin differently than humans (and dogs) do, but he definitely should get that reduction as soon as possible. I said 90 as the reduction point for now because it is the reduction point for the SLGS (Start Low Go Slow) dosing protocol. For now, we will use 90 as the reduction point. Most cats will need to be allowed to go lower than that, but in the beginning we should start with this. Later, we can move to the Modified ProZinc Method if it’s in Kit Kat’s best interest. Any number 50 and above is acceptable and we will not put Kit Kat in danger. That 36 is troubling. Did you give high carb food when you got that reading? The procedure would be to give a teaspoon of high carb food and/or a drop or two of karo syrup (or honey) and to retest in 20 minutes to make sure the BG is rising. Then you need to keep testing every 20-30 minutes (as the BG rises you can extend the time between tests) to make sure that the blood glucose is stable or rising and is not dropping back down. You keep feeding small amounts of food as needed until the BG stays up on its own.
I think he’s had quite a few diet changes and so I recall that he was on kibble which you’ve stopped? Kibble tends to have more fiber as part of the manufacture process so all of these things may be part of the problem. Are all three of those foods low carb (Friskies, pro plan, FF)? If so mixing shouldn’t affect anything and may help him acclimate his tummy to whichever of them is newer. If one is your medium carb food you can mix them with his normal food when wanting to give more carbs, just mentally adjust the carbs percent by how much of each food is mixed.I gave him some FF that had 12 carbs. I know that you should not change a food without mixing it with what they had been eating but I did. His bowels are very loose, i am thinking about mixing the Purina pro plan with Friskies or FF.
Where do you but it at.I think he’s had quite a few diet changes and so I recall that he was on kibble which you’ve stopped? Kibble tends to have more fiber as part of the manufacture process so all of these things may be part of the problem. Are all three of those foods low carb (Friskies, pro plan, FF)? If so mixing shouldn’t affect anything and may help him acclimate his tummy to whichever of them is newer. If one is your medium carb food you can mix them with his normal food when wanting to give more carbs, just mentally adjust the carbs percent by how much of each food is mixed.
also when my boys have looser poop I give a probiotic. Methos is on one all the time actually
I meant to say where do you buy it at, maybe amazon or chewy Might have it'. I have some Forti Flora but it expired on 10/23. I might put some in his food anyway.Where do you but it at.
He takes medicine to make him have a bowel movement, so I might just stop a couple of doses of that.I meant to say where do you buy it at, maybe amazon or chewy Might have it'. I have some Forti Flora but it expired on 10/23. I might put some in his food anyway.
Methos is all the time on visbiome which can be ordered online if your local vet or pet store doesn’t carry it (mine does notWhere do you but it at.
I am going to buy some and mix it, I have already ordered a case of the chicken & gravy because he likes it. I am going to order another case of chicken if i can, I bought all the pet shop had and no one else in this town carries it.If you think the pro plan chicken in gray is raising his BG then try the pro plan urinary tract chicken and beef or the turkey and giblets.
Like I said the chicken flavor never raised his BG
@Teresa & KitKat
I think mixing may be a good idea overall bc it lowers some of the urinary formula carb, while the urinary formula lowers the phosphorus of the low carb food. You may have hit on a great solution —I’m sure @Suzanne & Darcy can help you find a dose that works with your “custom mix” foodI am going to buy some and mix it, I have already ordered a case of the chicken & gravy because he likes it. I am going to order another case of chicken if i can, I bought all the pet shop had and no one else in this town carries it.
Does your cat eat wet or dry.I think mixing may be a good idea overall bc it lowers some of the urinary formula carb, while the urinary formula lowers the phosphorus of the low carb food. You may have hit on a great solution —I’m sure @Suzanne & Darcy can help you find a dose that works with your “custom mix” food
edit: I myself mix a zero with a 5 or 6, or a 5 with a 14 for the same reasons
I changed it myself, when I got in there I remembered how to change the names.@Bandit's Mom said she can change Teresa’s name to Teresa and KitKat and Buddy(GA) I think. She was waiting for Teresa to okay it and I think maybe she needed some account information (I don’t recall exactly).
Wet. He doesn’t like pates but he eats a mousse (like pureed food) and one that’s shreds of chicken or fish. But I’ve never seen him so happy as eating the medium carb chicken and rice that is like little chicklets of meat with rice grains. THAT he gobbles right downDoes your cat eat wet or dry.
I have been looking on Amazon & Chewy and I cannot find a plain chicken. All I could find was chicken & gravy or beef & chicken. Where did you buy the chicken at.If you think the pro plan chicken in gray is raising his BG then try the pro plan urinary tract chicken and beef or the turkey and giblets.
Like I said the chicken flavor never raised his BG
@Teresa & KitKat
That is strange, most all pet food has a plain chicken.There is no just plain chicken only the one with the gravy
@Teresa & KitKat
Unless you live in the northwest or southwest corners of Indiana, you are on Eastern time (like me.). I always ask that question because it helps me to know what your shot time is by my own time. Sometimes people need help in real-time when they are trying to decide how much to shoot, for instance, or they need help handling low numbers, etc.I live in Indiana and I don't know what time zone I am in,
Oh wow. Rice is way too high carb to feed him in a regular basis. That food should be saved and served in tiny amounts when the need arises to get his BG numbers up of he drops below 50 (yes, I said below 50 and I did not say below 90. Numbers from 50-89 can be managed with low carb wet food in 99 percent of cases - I wrote that for lurkers and also for anyone else reading along who was thinking of correcting me and ask if I meant to say 90.). High carb food and karo should be saved for numbers under 50 (human meter) and 68 (Alpha Trak pet meter.)Wet. He doesn’t like pates but he eats a mousse (like pureed food) and one that’s shreds of chicken or fish. But I’ve never seen him so happy as eating the medium carb chicken and rice that is like little chicklets of meat with rice grains. THAT he gobbles right down
I think she’s referring to the rice in there. I think we had better attach pictures of the food(s) in question.That is strange, most all pet food has a plain chicken.
Pro Plan urinary tract does not come in plain chickenThat is strange, most all pet food has a plain chicken.