New to Feline Diabetes

Awesome! Let's see how he is doing at about 30 minutes to test time. Post back here, okay?
Sounds good! He just seems tired right now. Hes curled up. He took the lanclet stab like a champ
1000014172.jpg
 
AHH, George knows he's in great hands. don't you love that cuddling? it melts my heart, behaviors, mean nothing, cats are great at hiding illnesses, you test! better safe than sorry
 
So in 30 minutes test again or just monitor his behaviour?
Just wait until about 30 minutes before his shot is due and test him. Then come back on the forum and post the test number so that we can give you some guidance about whether or not you should give him his full dose shot.
 
Whether you shoot tonight depends on a few things but if he is below 150 and has never had any ketones, I wouldn’t advise you to shoot. What you can do is stall without feeding and see if the BG rises by testing every 30 minutes and as soon as it’s above 200, you can shoot 3u provided:
--it is not more than two hours past his normal shot time
--you have all the supplies you need (strips, HC food/gravy) to test him
--you can stay up as late as you need to test him
--someone on the board agrees to stay with you and help you. This is most likely the limiting factor.

I am afraid I can’t stay up with you as I have a very ill kitty and am not able to follow and advise you during the cycle plus I have to be up at 4 am. Because I am pretty sure you are not going to have anyone available to help you, my advice is for you to skip the shot unless he skyrockets well above 200 before you shoot.

If he drops below 90, I would suggest you reduce the dose to 2.75u every 12 hours. I can check back in a bit just to see what he’s doing but that’s as much as I am able to do tonight. My apologies.
 
Whether you shoot tonight depends on a few things but if he is below 150 and has never had any ketones, I wouldn’t advise you to shoot. What you can do is stall without feeding and see if the BG rises by testing every 30 minutes and as soon as it’s above 200, you can shoot 3u provided:
--it is not more than two hours past his normal shot time
--you have all the supplies you need (strips, HC food/gravy) to test him
--you can stay up as late as you need to test him
--someone on the board agrees to stay with you and help you. This is most likely the limiting factor.

I am afraid I can’t stay up with you as I have a very ill kitty and am not able to follow and advise you during the cycle plus I have to be up at 4 am. Because I am pretty sure you are not going to have anyone available to help you, my advice is for you to skip the shot unless he skyrockets well above 200 before you shoot.

If he drops below 90, I would suggest you reduce the dose to 2.75u every 12 hours. I can check back in a bit just to see what he’s doing but that’s as much as I am able to do tonight. My apologies.
Thank you. I tested him again just now and he was at 107
 
He’s good if it’s bed time go ahead and rest it’s been a long day,are you in US? right?
 
Ok a test before shot time, then 2 hours after shot and one more time 2 hours after hopefully he’ll stay, My phone will be with me so you are not alone. You are doing great make sure you put all the BG numbers in the SS CELLS
 
Ok a test before shot time, then 2 hours after shot and one more time 2 hours after hopefully he’ll stay, My phone will be with me so you are not alone. You are doing great make sure you put all the BG numbers in the SS CELLS
So I should give him his shot and then in 2 hours test him? Hopefully ill be awake
 
Yes I am in the US Eastern timezone. I think hes really stressed out right now because he ran off after I got the test done and hes never ran from me before
We are neighbors, I’m in Miami, always know that cats glucose levels tend to be lower at night there’s no known answer to that but it is what it is, so if he stays within the low-mid 100’s you can sleep tomorrow is another day what are his AMPS/PMPS shot times
 
We are neighbors, I’m in Miami, always know that cats glucose levels tend to be lower at night there’s no known answer to that but it is what it is, so if he stays within the low-mid 100’s you can sleep tomorrow is another day what are his AMPS/PMPS shot times
I have it set at 9:30 for each, 30 minutes before his shots
 
Yes I am in the US Eastern timezone. I think hes really stressed out right now because he ran off after I got the test done and hes never ran from me before
One thing with the tests is that you can offer him low carb treats when you test so that he begins to associate the testing experience with something positive. Many of us use freeze dried treats and/or boiled chicken bits as treats.

Zach, please look at what Marje recommends about the shot. If it is shot time and he is 107, then she is suggesting that if he is below 150 and has never had ketones, she wouldn't shoot.

When is his shot due?
 
Read carefully what Marje’s instructions were, you are a newbie, we don’t want to push
 
One thing with the tests is that you can offer him low carb treats when you test so that he begins to associate the testing experience with something positive. Many of us use freeze dried treats and/or boiled chicken bits as treats.

Zach, please look at what Marje recommends about the shot. If it is shot time and he is 107, then she is suggesting that if he is below 150 and has never had ketones, she wouldn't shoot.

When is his shot due?
10pm, so in about 20 minutes
 
10pm, so in about 20 minutes
Okay, so I would try to grab one more test about five minutes before test time and post the results. If you can't get the test because George is a bit freaked out, just go with the last test of 107. Did the vet tell you that George has ketones?
 
Okay, so I would try to grab one more test about five minutes before test time and post the results. If you can't get the test because George is a bit freaked out, just go with the last test of 107. Did the vet tell you that George has ketones?
The vet did not mention anything about ketones, no
 
The vet did not mention anything about ketones, no
That's good. So, without ketones, if his numbers are below 150, then, per Marje's advice, I would skip tonight's dose.

Now, you are going to need to think about tomorrow morning. You'll want to test about 30 minutes prior to George's shot, and since you are new at this, I would post that number on here and ask for advice.

What are you feeding George?
 
What's really good to note is that George is responding very well to the insulin, which has brought his numbers down into the normal range in short time. The thing you need to be careful about now is that you aren't giving him too much insulin.
 
That's good. So, without ketones, if his numbers are below 150, then, per Marje's advice, I would skip tonight's dose.

Now, you are going to need to think about tomorrow morning. You'll want to test about 30 minutes prior to George's test, and since you are new at this, I would post that number on here and ask for advice.

What are you feeding George?
He was on Kirkland despite my protests (mother in law consistently made it an argument about cat food and to go with that instead of the higher quality stuff) but im switching him over to tiki cat senior high protein for his standard food and fancy feast gravies for low blood sugar. Ive heard good things about tiki cat in its protein content and low carbs
 
Yeah hes still hiding i dont want to stress him out any more than he is already
You cat give 1 tiny low carb or freezer dry snack before testing for association, take him to his favorite sitting spot, show him the supplies put them in front of him cats are curious, let him smell them, cuddle his head then viola!! Before he knows it he’s tested, skip the shot as Marje suggests, wells take it from the top tomorrow morning, I don’t work my work are Corky, Coco my Main Coon girl, Lalo a Red Bellied Conure and Max and Lucy a pair of canaries, After Corky was diagnosed that’s my social life 😂😂😂
 
He was on Kirkland despite my protests (mother in law consistently made it an argument about cat food and to go with that instead of the higher quality stuff) but im switching him over to tiki cat senior high protein for his standard food and fancy feast gravies for low blood sugar. Ive heard good things about tiki cat in its protein content and low carbs
Just get Fancy Feast pates between 0-10% carbs it is US made regulated and no waste goes into the food , they are impressive, you can also feed Fish and shrimp fake 0% carbs Chicken Chunky 4 % Medleys Chicken flare in a savory sauce 4.5% or you can use Friskies pates, all those other “high end” so called good for cat food including “diabetic or prescribed” foods are very high in carbs and nothing but junk and skin goes in those foods
 
Just get Fancy Feast pates between 0-10% carbs it is US made regulated and no waste goes into the food , they are impressive, you can also feed Fish and shrimp fake 0% carbs Chicken Chunky 4 % Medleys Chicken flare in a savory sauce 4.5% or you can use Friskies pates, all those other “high end” so called good for cat food including “diabetic or prescribed” foods are very high in carbs and nothing but junk and skin es in those foods
Good to know, thank you!
 
Most of the Kirkland's on this list are lower carb (like, 1%). Take a look at the list: https://www.bizave.com/foodlists/Combined_Food_Lists_Feeding_Guide.pdf.
You are looking at the third column for the "carbs % of calories." You can also see the Tiki Silvers on here as well. Most of the ones I saw were under 10%.
I really like this list because it is often updated. It's designed for cats with kidney disease, but it still has the carbs % of calories, which is the number you're looking for. Dr. Pierson's list is very dated.
 
I really like this list because it is often updated. It's designed for cats with kidney disease, but it still has the carbs % of calories, which is the number you're looking for. Dr. Pierson's list is very dated.
Actually the DRY MATTER CARBS are tge number we are looking for as per Suzanne and Sienne Tim and Pookey
 
Zach, Okay, so tomorrow morning, you're going to test George about 30 minutes before shot time and get his preshot number. You'll want to select the "no prefix" option that falls to the left of your post and select the "?" Write in your title "help with dosing." Hopefully, then, someone will jump in to give you some guidance.

You've done really well with your little guy today! Pat yourself on the back!!
 
@CORKY if Kirkland is that low should I change his food at all? I figured we could try the tiki cat wet due to the higher protein but if he doesnt need it changed then I don't want to stress him
 
Back
Top