CORKY
Member Since 2023
hood number test a few more times before bed time, glucose levels tend to be a bit lower at nighttime, are you in US?I just tested him and hes 107
hood number test a few more times before bed time, glucose levels tend to be a bit lower at nighttime, are you in US?I just tested him and hes 107
Sounds good! He just seems tired right now. Hes curled up. He took the lanclet stab like a champAwesome! Let's see how he is doing at about 30 minutes to test time. Post back here, okay?
Just wait until about 30 minutes before his shot is due and test him. Then come back on the forum and post the test number so that we can give you some guidance about whether or not you should give him his full dose shot.So in 30 minutes test again or just monitor his behaviour?
Gotcha. Ill test him again in 30 minutes!AHH, George knows he's in great hands. don't you love that cuddling? it melts my heart, behaviors, mean nothing, cats are great at hiding illnesses, you test! better safe than sorry
Gotcha. Ill test him again in 30 minutes!
Oh okay! 30 minutes before his shot is due, now that makes more senseJust wait until about 30 minutes before his shot is due and test him. Then come back on the forum and post the test number so that we can give you some guidance about whether or not you should give him his full dose shot.
How do I do that?we still don't have your spreadsheet linked to the SS
@Mary & Jude@Bandit's Mom, are you around to give dosing advice??
I don't, but I'm asking some other more knowledgeable folks right now if they can help.
By the way, 107 is a GREAT bg number--right within the normal range!Sounds good! He just seems tired right now. Hes curled up. He took the lanclet stab like a champView attachment 77755
Thank you @Tim & Pookey !Okay, so our illustrious and beloved administrator @Tim & Pookey has successfully added George's spreadsheet to your signature!
Whether you shoot tonight depends on a few things but if he is below 150 and has never had any ketones, I wouldn’t advise you to shoot. What you can do is stall without feeding and see if the BG rises by testing every 30 minutes and as soon as it’s above 200, you can shoot 3u provided:Thank you @Tim & Pookey !
Thank you. I tested him again just now and he was at 107Whether you shoot tonight depends on a few things but if he is below 150 and has never had any ketones, I wouldn’t advise you to shoot. What you can do is stall without feeding and see if the BG rises by testing every 30 minutes and as soon as it’s above 200, you can shoot 3u provided:
--it is not more than two hours past his normal shot time
--you have all the supplies you need (strips, HC food/gravy) to test him
--you can stay up as late as you need to test him
--someone on the board agrees to stay with you and help you. This is most likely the limiting factor.
I am afraid I can’t stay up with you as I have a very ill kitty and am not able to follow and advise you during the cycle plus I have to be up at 4 am. Because I am pretty sure you are not going to have anyone available to help you, my advice is for you to skip the shot unless he skyrockets well above 200 before you shoot.
If he drops below 90, I would suggest you reduce the dose to 2.75u every 12 hours. I can check back in a bit just to see what he’s doing but that’s as much as I am able to do tonight. My apologies.
Is it time for his shot??Thank you. I tested him again just now and he was at 107
In 30 minutes it isIs it time for his shot??
Yes I am in the US Eastern timezone. I think hes really stressed out right now because he ran off after I got the test done and hes never ran from me beforeHe’s good if it’s bed time go ahead and rest it’s been a long day,are you in US? right?
So I should give him his shot and then in 2 hours test him? Hopefully ill be awakeOk a test before shot time, then 2 hours after shot and one more time 2 hours after hopefully he’ll stay, My phone will be with me so you are not alone. You are doing great make sure you put all the BG numbers in the SS CELLS
We are neighbors, I’m in Miami, always know that cats glucose levels tend to be lower at night there’s no known answer to that but it is what it is, so if he stays within the low-mid 100’s you can sleep tomorrow is another day what are his AMPS/PMPS shot timesYes I am in the US Eastern timezone. I think hes really stressed out right now because he ran off after I got the test done and hes never ran from me before
I have it set at 9:30 for each, 30 minutes before his shotsWe are neighbors, I’m in Miami, always know that cats glucose levels tend to be lower at night there’s no known answer to that but it is what it is, so if he stays within the low-mid 100’s you can sleep tomorrow is another day what are his AMPS/PMPS shot times
One thing with the tests is that you can offer him low carb treats when you test so that he begins to associate the testing experience with something positive. Many of us use freeze dried treats and/or boiled chicken bits as treats.Yes I am in the US Eastern timezone. I think hes really stressed out right now because he ran off after I got the test done and hes never ran from me before
10pm, so in about 20 minutesOne thing with the tests is that you can offer him low carb treats when you test so that he begins to associate the testing experience with something positive. Many of us use freeze dried treats and/or boiled chicken bits as treats.
Zach, please look at what Marje recommends about the shot. If it is shot time and he is 107, then she is suggesting that if he is below 150 and has never had ketones, she wouldn't shoot.
When is his shot due?
Okay, so I would try to grab one more test about five minutes before test time and post the results. If you can't get the test because George is a bit freaked out, just go with the last test of 107. Did the vet tell you that George has ketones?10pm, so in about 20 minutes
The vet did not mention anything about ketones, noOkay, so I would try to grab one more test about five minutes before test time and post the results. If you can't get the test because George is a bit freaked out, just go with the last test of 107. Did the vet tell you that George has ketones?
That's good. So, without ketones, if his numbers are below 150, then, per Marje's advice, I would skip tonight's dose.The vet did not mention anything about ketones, no
He was on Kirkland despite my protests (mother in law consistently made it an argument about cat food and to go with that instead of the higher quality stuff) but im switching him over to tiki cat senior high protein for his standard food and fancy feast gravies for low blood sugar. Ive heard good things about tiki cat in its protein content and low carbsThat's good. So, without ketones, if his numbers are below 150, then, per Marje's advice, I would skip tonight's dose.
Now, you are going to need to think about tomorrow morning. You'll want to test about 30 minutes prior to George's test, and since you are new at this, I would post that number on here and ask for advice.
What are you feeding George?
You cat give 1 tiny low carb or freezer dry snack before testing for association, take him to his favorite sitting spot, show him the supplies put them in front of him cats are curious, let him smell them, cuddle his head then viola!! Before he knows it he’s tested, skip the shot as Marje suggests, wells take it from the top tomorrow morning, I don’t work my work are Corky, Coco my Main Coon girl, Lalo a Red Bellied Conure and Max and Lucy a pair of canaries, After Corky was diagnosed that’s my social lifeYeah hes still hiding i dont want to stress him out any more than he is already
Just get Fancy Feast pates between 0-10% carbs it is US made regulated and no waste goes into the food , they are impressive, you can also feed Fish and shrimp fake 0% carbs Chicken Chunky 4 % Medleys Chicken flare in a savory sauce 4.5% or you can use Friskies pates, all those other “high end” so called good for cat food including “diabetic or prescribed” foods are very high in carbs and nothing but junk and skin goes in those foodsHe was on Kirkland despite my protests (mother in law consistently made it an argument about cat food and to go with that instead of the higher quality stuff) but im switching him over to tiki cat senior high protein for his standard food and fancy feast gravies for low blood sugar. Ive heard good things about tiki cat in its protein content and low carbs
Good to know, thank you!Just get Fancy Feast pates between 0-10% carbs it is US made regulated and no waste goes into the food , they are impressive, you can also feed Fish and shrimp fake 0% carbs Chicken Chunky 4 % Medleys Chicken flare in a savory sauce 4.5% or you can use Friskies pates, all those other “high end” so called good for cat food including “diabetic or prescribed” foods are very high in carbs and nothing but junk and skin es in those foods
Silver yes. Chicken and quail egg specifically if I remember correctly. Id have to look at the cans again@borg the gorb, do you mean Tiki Cat Silver? I'm trying to research the carb value. Which flavor?
I really like this list because it is often updated. It's designed for cats with kidney disease, but it still has the carbs % of calories, which is the number you're looking for. Dr. Pierson's list is very dated.Most of the Kirkland's on this list are lower carb (like, 1%). Take a look at the list: https://www.bizave.com/foodlists/Combined_Food_Lists_Feeding_Guide.pdf.
You are looking at the third column for the "carbs % of calories." You can also see the Tiki Silvers on here as well. Most of the ones I saw were under 10%.
Actually the DRY MATTER CARBS are tge number we are looking for as per Suzanne and Sienne Tim and PookeyI really like this list because it is often updated. It's designed for cats with kidney disease, but it still has the carbs % of calories, which is the number you're looking for. Dr. Pierson's list is very dated.