New Member, so so lost

Status
Not open for further replies.

DenaRox

Member Since 2021
Edit to add his bloodwork

upload_2021-6-18_23-12-13.jpeg


Hello everyone,
I am so thankful to have found the this forum/site.

I noticed my cat Juggie had excessive thirst and urination, weight loss and was walking funny so googled it and made vet appointment. I couldn’t get off work so my mom and daughter took him (and his brother Jack). They relayed my concerns so did bloodwork and about 40 min later had a diabetes diagnosis and first insulin shot(with demonstration) and were sent on their way with needles and insulin. Might be looking for a new vet as I feel this one was very blasé (But I wasn’t there so…)

after finding this forum now I am in a panic about keytones and hypoglycaemia, I don’t think he was even tested for keytones or it doesn’t show on his results as far as I can tell. I switched his diet to no kibble (he was half and half) but am struggling with how much to feed him and really am overwhelmed and feel like I’m just running in circles. I am looking up info of what I need to be doing but the more I read the more overwhelmed I feel. What should I be focusing on first???
 

Attachments

  • upload_2021-6-18_23-12-13.jpeg
    upload_2021-6-18_23-12-13.jpeg
    35 KB · Views: 575
Last edited:
Hi Dena and Juggie and Jack and welcome to the forum. What gorgeous boys!
We can indeed help you.
Can you tell us what type of insulin and dose Juggie was prescribed.
If the vet did a urine test, it should have shown up for ketones. You could always ring the vet and ask was he tested for ketones and were they present.
Do you know if they did a fructosamine test to confirm it was diabetes?

It is overwhelming at first and to feel as you do but reaching out for help is great and we can help you get sorted out for Juggie.
At the moment until we know more, just make sure he eats well before the shot and feed him snacks two or three times during the cycle (each 12hours) until we find out more and can be more specific.
Make sure you have some honey on hand in case of low numbers. If he behaves differently, is wobbly, or twitchy or disoriented, rub honey on his gums and feed him.
More about all this later when I hear back from you.
I will watch for your reply.
ETA I have just seen your signature with the information in it and am answering you further
Bron
 
Sorry, I can see you are giving 2 units of Lantus twice a day. You are so organised, we don’t usually have a signature on the first post….well done.
I think 2 units is too much to start with, especially as you have swapped to a low carb wet diet. I would reduce it to 1 unit twice a day until we can see what the blood glucose is doing.
I would definitely ring the vet and ask if there were ketones in the urine, as that is important, especially if we are reducing the dose of insulin.

I would recommend starting to home test as soon as you can. Otherwise it is all head in the sand stuff and we don’t really know what is happening.
I would recommend a human meter from a pharmacy. I think I have seen Brave meters recommended for Canadians but I am sure there are others.
Here is a link to hometesting
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/hometesting-links-and-tips.287/

As far as the food goes, I would give a good meal before the dose and then give a snack at around +2 and +5. Start with that and we can see how he goes. If he has lost weight, he will most likely be very hungry which is common in newly diagnosed cats as they can’t absorb all the nutrients in the food, so if he asks for more, let him have it, except for the 2 hours before the next shot. Once we can see the BG levels we can tweak it. So once you are home testing, the regime is test, feed, shoot.

I am going to give you a link which will have links within it for a hypo kit, setting up a spreadsheet and some other information. If you need help with the SS just yell and @Bandit's Mom will help you. She is great with SS.
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-how-you-can-help-us-help-you.216696/

With the neuropathy, that will improve once the BGs are more under control. You can also use Zobaline for cats which can be bought from lifelink..com as is good. My She a had neuropathy badly but fully recovered over a period of about 6 months.
Keep asking lots of questions. It is a steep learning curve in the beginning and we are happy to answer any questions you may have.
Bron
 
Sorry, I can see you are giving 2 units of Lantus twice a day. You are so organised, we don’t usually have a signature on the first post….well done.
I think 2 units is too much to start with, especially as you have swapped to a low carb wet diet. I would reduce it to 1 unit twice a day until we can see what the blood glucose is doing.
I would definitely ring the vet and ask if there were ketones in the urine, as that is important, especially if we are reducing the dose of insulin.

Thank you, I went through a bit of the stuff for beginners until my head was spinning but saw info to do the signature. the vet only did physical exam and comprehensive blood test. Which has me stressed. I am scared to mess with doses as we have already noticed a pep in his step and an increase in his activity and self grooming.

I would recommend starting to home test as soon as you can. Otherwise it is all head in the sand stuff and we don’t really know what is happening.
I would recommend a human meter from a pharmacy. I think I have seen Brave meters recommended for Canadians but I am sure there are others.
Here is a link to hometesting
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/hometesting-links-and-tips.287/

We have talked about it and are wanting to give it a try. Will check out the links and hopefully pick one soon. Definitely going with a human one as price is a huge factor.

As far as the food goes, I would give a good meal before the dose and then give a snack at around +2 and +5. Start with that and we can see how he goes. If he has lost weight, he will most likely be very hungry which is common in newly diagnosed cats as they can’t absorb all the nutrients in the food, so if he asks for more, let him have it, except for the 2 hours before the next shot. Once we can see the BG levels we can tweak it. So once you are home testing, the regime is test, feed, shoot.

He was already on 1/2 fancy feast pate and 1/2 kibble so now we feed him a can before shot, 1/2 can at noon, a can before 2nd shot and then 1/2 can for midnight snack. Do you think 3 cans is too much? Not enough? He is currently 15lbs so still quite a large cat even after the huge loss.?


I am going to give you a link which will have links within it for a hypo kit, setting up a spreadsheet and some other information. If you need help with the SS just yell and @Bandit's Mom will help you. She is great with SS.
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-how-you-can-help-us-help-you.216696/
Thank you. Will definitely print out and prepare our own kit!

With the neuropathy, that will improve once the BGs are more under control. You can also use Zobaline for cats which can be bought from lifelink..com as is good. My She a had neuropathy badly but fully recovered over a period of about 6 months.
Thank you. I am relieved to hear it will get better. He can still walk and jump and stuff but does it flat footed. He jackrabbits up stairs.

Keep asking lots of questions. It is a steep learning curve in the beginning and we are happy to answer any questions you may have.
Bron

thank you! I truly appreciate your help and knowledge. As scared and lost as I feel I also feel hopeful because of this forum smile
 
Last edited:
As far as the food goes, I would give a good meal before the dose and then give a snack at around +2 and +5. Start with that and we can see how he goes. If he has lost weight, he will most likely be very hungry which is common in newly diagnosed cats as they can’t absorb all the nutrients in the food, so if he asks for more, let him have it, except for the 2 hours before the next shot. Once we can see the BG levels we can tweak it. So once you are home testing, the regime is test, feed, shoot.

sorry, I’m confused. What do you mean by if he asks for more, let him have it, except for the 2 hours before the next shot.?? Are we not supposed to feed before shot? Our vet told us to feed before/during each shot.
 
she only did physical exam and comprehensive blood test. I am scared to mess with doses see have already noticed a pep in his step and an increase in his activity and self grooming.
Ask for a copy of the blood tests to be emailed to you. It is always good to keep a copy of all bloodwork.
The issue with lantus is it is a depot insulin and the full effect of the dose is not felt initially for 5 days when the depot is full. As you are not testing yet, we don't know how low this dose is taking Juggie.
The starting dose for lantus is 0.5 or 1 unit depending on what you are feeding and what method you will follow. You would not be messing with the dose. Keeping Juggie safe is the first priority and will not effect how he goes moving forward.

He was already on 1/2 fancy feast pate and 1/2 kibble so now we feed him a can before shot, 1/2 can at noon, a can before shot and then 1/2 can for midnight snack. Do you think 3 cans is too much? Not enough? He is currently 15lbs so still quite a large cat even after the huge loss.?
It is not too much food. Is he asking for more food?
I would give him two snacks in-between the doses as well as the main meal. Feeding during the first 7 hours after the shot is best.

sorry, I’m confused. What do you mean by if he asks for more, let him have it, except for the 2 hours before the next shot.?? Are we not supposed to feed before shot? Our vet told us to feed before/during each shot.
Sorry. Maybe didn't explain properly.
Once you start testing the BGs (blood glucose) we recommend you don't feed for the 2 hours before you get the preshot BG. This is because we don't want the preshot BG to be food influenced. Once you get the preshot BG and it is high enough to give the dose, then you feed the main meal.
If the preshot BG is not high enough you can stall, don't feed and test again 20 minutes later to see it is high enough to give the shot. Initially we say don't give the shot if the BG is lower than 200 (11) until you get more data to see how Juggie handles the insulin dose. Does that make more sense?
 
Ask for a copy of the blood tests to be emailed to you. It is always good to keep a copy of all bloodwork.
I have now attached a copy of his bloodwork to my original post.

The issue with lantus is it is a depot insulin and the full effect of the dose is not felt initially for 5 days when the depot is full. As you are not testing yet, we don't know how low this dose is taking Juggie.
The starting dose for lantus is 0.5 or 1 unit depending on what you are feeding and what method you will follow. You would not be messing with the dose. Keeping Juggie safe is the first priority and will not effect how he goes moving forward.
So you suggest 1unit two times a day starting with is 7am shot tomorrow?


It is not too much food. Is he asking for more food?
I would give him two snacks in-between the doses as well as the main meal. Feeding during the first 7 hours after the shot is best.
today we gave him 1 can before/during his 7am shot, 1/2 can at noon, mostly 1 can during his 7pm shot and 1/2 can just now as his midnight snack total today is 3 cans. He was asking for more at 500/530 so he got a little bit out of his 7pm can to tide him over.


Sorry. Maybe didn't explain properly.
Once you start testing the BGs (blood glucose) we recommend you don't feed for the 2 hours before you get the preshot BG. This is because we don't want the preshot BG to be food influenced. Once you get the preshot BG and it is high enough to give the dose, then you feed the main meal.
If the preshot BG is not high enough you can stall, don't feed and test again 20 minutes later to see it is high enough to give the shot. Initially we say don't give the shot if the BG is lower than 200 (11) until you get more data to see how Juggie handles the insulin dose. Does that make more sense?
Ahhh I understand. Totally makes sense now. Thank you
 
I have now attached a copy of his bloodwork to my original post.
Yes I saw that. Just the glucose is high. Ketones are not mentioned.
If I were you I would go out and buy a bottle of Ketostix from a pharmacy today and test his urine for ketones. It is a simple test. You just need to collect a urine then dip the test strip into the urine and compare it to the colours on the side of the bottle exactly 15 seconds later. Anything above a trace needs vet attention. Hopefully there will be none but it’s good to know. The colour of the test result will keep changing so it needs to be 15 seconds. So ignore any later result as it will look darker.

So you suggest 1unit two times a day starting with is 7am shot tomorrow?
Yes, until you are testing you don’t know what the 2 units are doing. If 1 unit is not enough, you can easily go up in dose. As long as there are no ketones, I would go back to 1 unit twice a day.

today we gave him 1 can before/during his 7am shot, 1/2 can at noon, mostly 1 can during his 7pm shot and 1/2 can just now as his midnight snack total today is 3 cans. He was asking for more at 500/530 so he got a little bit out of his 7pm can to tide him over.
I would divide the snack can (1/2 can) up into 2 lots and give him some at +3 and +5 each cycle. If he is asking for more food and he has lost weight (and he wasn’t overweight before the weight loss) I would increase the snacks to a be a bit larger amount.
 
Last edited:
Yes I saw that. Just the glucose is high. Ketones are not mentioned.
If I were you I would go out and buy a bottle of Ketostix from a pharmacy today and test his urine for ketones. It is a simple test. You just need to collect a urine then dip the test strip into the urine and compare it to the colours on the side of the bottle exactly 15 seconds later. Anything above a trace needs vet attention. Hopefully there will be none but it’s good to know. The colour of the test result will keep changing so it needs to be 15 seconds. So ignore any later result as it will look darker.
Ok. Will go grab some tomorrow and test him

I would divide the snack can (1/2 can) up into 2 lots and give him some at +3 and +5 each cycle. If he is asking for more food and he has lost weight (and he wasn’t overweight before the weight loss) I would increase the snacks to a be a bit larger amount.
He was 21Lbs when we got him in 2016 so he’s always been obese but has dropped to 15Lbs as of the 15th( serious guilt at exactly how much he lost without me really noticing/ doing anything about it) Do you still recommend upping his snack amounts?
 
Ok. Will go grab some tomorrow and test him
Great. They may go by another name in Canada such as keto diastix but they are the same thing.


He was 21Lbs when we got him in 2016 so he’s always been obese but has dropped to 15Lbs as of the 15th( serious guilt at exactly how much he lost without me really noticing/ doing anything about it) Do you still recommend upping his snack amounts?
If he was overweight, I would probably try and stick to what you are giving him at the moment. You don’t want him to be overweight.
Try adding a couple of teaspoons of warm water to the food if he will let you. That may fill him up a bit. And extra water is good.
 
Great. They may go by another name in Canada such as keto diastix but they are the same thing.
I checked online at my local pharmacy and they have keto diastix in stock so will pick some up today. I’ll update with results



If he was overweight, I would probably try and stick to what you are giving him at the moment. You don’t want him to be overweight.
Try adding a couple of teaspoons of warm water to the food if he will let you. That may fill him up a bit. And extra water is good.
Added 2tbsp water to his 7am and noon food and he enjoyed it. So far he’s not asking for more :). Also I took your advice and we only gave him 1 unit this am. Thank you for the recommendation. When I get keto stix I will look into what they have for glucose testers. I was hoping to find one where the tester was free with strip purchase but no luck online searching :(
 
Always aim for the sweet spot warm the ears up first, you can put rice in a sock and put it in the microwave, test it on the inside of your wrist to be sure it's not to hot, like you would test a babies bottle. You can fill a pill bottle with warm water and roll it on the ears also.Just keep rubbing the ears with your fingers to warm them up
c2b8079a-b471-4fa6-ac36-9ac1c8d6dcca-jpeg.57072
fec17d29-5ab4-44a8-912b-3a91944c3954-jpeg.57073

6. As the ears get used to bleeding and grow more capilares, it gets easier to get the amount of blood you need on the first try. If he won’t stand still, you can get the blood onto a clean finger nail and test from there.
When you do get some blood you can try milking the ear.
Get you finger and gently push up toward the blood , more will appear
You will put the cotton round behind his ear in case you poke your finger, after you are done testing you will fold the cotton round over his ear to stop the bleeding , press gently for about 20 seconds until it stops
Get 26 or 28 gauge lancets
A lot of us use the lancets to test freehand
I find it better to see where I'm aiming
 
Always aim for the sweet spot warm the ears up first, you can put rice in a sock and put it in the microwave, test it on the inside of your wrist to be sure it's not to hot, like you would test a babies bottle. You can fill a pill bottle with warm water and roll it on the ears also.Just keep rubbing the ears with your fingers to warm them up
c2b8079a-b471-4fa6-ac36-9ac1c8d6dcca-jpeg.57072
fec17d29-5ab4-44a8-912b-3a91944c3954-jpeg.57073

6. As the ears get used to bleeding and grow more capilares, it gets easier to get the amount of blood you need on the first try. If he won’t stand still, you can get the blood onto a clean finger nail and test from there.
When you do get some blood you can try milking the ear.
Get you finger and gently push up toward the blood , more will appear
You will put the cotton round behind his ear in case you poke your finger, after you are done testing you will fold the cotton round over his ear to stop the bleeding , press gently for about 20 seconds until it stops
Get 26 or 28 gauge lancets
Ok I read a bunch watched a bunch of videos and just went for it. Got first reading but have no idea what the normal is in Canada. His reading was 13.8. His last insulin (1 unit was 10 hours ago and he last ate over 2 hours ago)
 
OK that is 248 BG
13.8x18= 248
I’m just reading how to set up spreadsheet and all that. Could you tell me the normal range. What is too low, to not insulin, what is too high etc. I am reading all over but can’t seem to find it :(
 
If you can set up your spreadsheet that would be great
We use it to track the BG , see how the insulin is working and how low it's taking Juggie.I am glad you started with 1 unit.
I will give you the link for the spreadsheet and it also explains how it works

If you have trouble setting it up we have a member that will be more than happy to do it for you, just ask.
It will only take her a few minutes
We need this to give advice for dosing
We do not increase or decrease by the pre shot numbers, we increase or decrease by how low the dose is taking Juggie
 
I’m just reading how to set up spreadsheet and all that. Could you tell me the normal range. What is too low, to not insulin, what is too high etc. I am reading all over but can’t seem to find it :(
Did you read what Bron wrote
Sorry. Maybe didn't explain properly.
Once you start testing the BGs (blood glucose) we recommend you don't feed for the 2 hours before you get the preshot BG. This is because we don't want the preshot BG to be food influenced. Once you get the preshot BG and it is high enough to give the dose, then you feed the main meal.
If the preshot BG is not high enough you can stall, don't feed and test again 20 minutes later to see it is high enough to give the shot. Initially we say don't give the shot if the BG is lower than 200 (11) until you get more data to see how Juggie handles the insulin dose. Does that make more sense?
 
Did you read what Bron wrote
Sorry. Maybe didn't explain properly.
Once you start testing the BGs (blood glucose) we recommend you don't feed for the 2 hours before you get the preshot BG. This is because we don't want the preshot BG to be food influenced. Once you get the preshot BG and it is high enough to give the dose, then you feed the main meal.
If the preshot BG is not high enough you can stall, don't feed and test again 20 minutes later to see it is high enough to give the shot. Initially we say don't give the shot if the BG is lower than 200 (11) until you get more data to see how Juggie handles the insulin dose. Does that make more sense?

Thank you, yes i did read it but was wondering what was considered normal, like what range are we aiming for, and what is considered too high?
when Juggie was diagnosed his BG was 24.9, and now after 15 units (started at 2 units 2x but switched to 1 unit today) given over the past 5 days (still needs his pm shot tonight) his BG is 13.8
 
Ok I read a bunch watched a bunch of videos and just went for it. Got first reading but have no idea what the normal is in Canada. His reading was 13.8. His last insulin (1 unit was 10 hours ago and he last ate over 2 hours ago)
Well done getting your first reading !!!


I’m just reading how to set up spreadsheet and all that. Could you tell me the normal range. What is too low, to not insulin, what is too high etc. I am reading all over but can’t seem to find it :(
normal range for cats is 2.8-6.6 (50 -120)
As you are new to this you don’t want initially to be giving the insulin if the BG is under 200 (11). If this happens, stall dont feed and test again 20 minutes later and post for help..change your subject line to something like STALLING….BG XXX NEED HELP. that will get attention.
 
Well done getting your first reading !!!



normal range for cats is 2.8-6.6 (50 -120)
As you are new to this you don’t want initially to be giving the insulin if the BG is under 200 (11). If this happens, stall dont feed and test again 20 minutes later and post for help..change your subject line to something like STALLING….BG XXX NEED HELP. that will get attention.
Thanks @Bron and Sheba (GA) I was trying to find this :cat:
 
Also it takes time for Juggie’s body to get used to the insulin. Don’t expect instant results. Insulin is a hormone and not a medication like an antibiotic which will give results quickly. Some cats settle down quickly to good numbers but most take a while to do this.
Have you got your hypo box up and running?
 
Well done getting your first reading !!!

Thanks. I was shocked when that perfect little bubble of blood popped up, Juggie was awesome about it, barely fussed at all, too focused on his treat.



normal range for cats is 2.8-6.6 (50 -120)
As you are new to this you don’t want initially to be giving the insulin if the BG is under 200 (11). If this happens, stall dont feed and test again 20 minutes later and post for help..change your subject line to something like STALLING….BG XXX NEED HELP. that will get attention.

so seeing at Juggie was 13.8 we are good to go for his last shot of day? I was a bit eager to just get BG testing over with and its still another hour until his scheduled dose time
 
Last edited:
Also it takes time for Juggie’s body to get used to the insulin. Don’t expect instant results. Insulin is a hormone and not a medication like an antibiotic which will give results quickly. Some cats settle down quickly to good numbers but most take a while to do this.
Have you got your hypo box up and running?
im working on it right now (in-between messages lol, printer is out of ink so will just write out all paper stuff :)
 
Thanks. I was shocked when that perfect little bubble of blood popped up, Juggie was awesome about it, barely fussed at all, too focused on his treat.



normal range for cats is 2.8-6.6 (50 -120)
As you are new to this you don’t want initially to be giving the insulin if the BG is under 200 (11). If this happens, stall dont feed and test again 20 minutes later and post for help..change your subject line to something like STALLING….BG XXX NEED HELP. that will get attention.

so seeing at Juggie was 13.8 we are good to go for his last shot of day? I was a bit eager to just get BG testing over with and its still another hour until his scheduled dose time[/QUOTE]
You will still need to test again at the preshot time even if you tested 1 hour before.
How are you going with the SS?
 
For your hypo kit you can get the following and also look at the food chart
I don't know if these are called the same thing in Canada?
Have some honey on hand also


med and high carb food on hand in case he drops too low and you need to bring his BG up to safe numbers

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Beef Feast in Gravy 20% High Carbs



Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Chicken Feast in Gravy. 15% Med Carbs




Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Turkey Feast in Gravy. 15% Med Carbs


Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Chicken and Beef Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Or any other ones from the food chart
:http://catinfo.org/docs/CatFoodProteinFatCarbPhosphorusChart.pdf
 
You will still need to test again at the preshot time even if you tested 1 hour before.
How are you going with the SS?

ok, will test again in 1/2 hour, and as long as he is above 11 then give his 1 unit.
i've made and uploaded to signature, now just reading the how to use... :)
 
We are all in different time zones so giving us his BG in hours doesn't help us
When you see the SS you will understand
Here is an Example
You test him at 7:00 am
So on the SS you will see AMPS(AM Pre Shot) you put his BG number in there
You test him 2 hours later that would be @+2. ( 2 hours after giving him his insulin
@+3. ( 3 hours after giving insulin
and so in until you get to 7:00 PM
That is his PMPS ( PM Pre shot) will go in that cell on his SS
Then test after that
@+2
@+3
and so on

You want to get tests in during each 12 hour cycle so we can see how the insulin is working
Scatter the tests at different times
Maybe one day test @+2, then @+4, then @+7
Then next day @+3, @+6, @+9

Both morning and night, unless his BG falls very low you will have to test more often
When in doubt please post for help
 
We are all in different time zones so giving us his BG in hours doesn't help us
When you see the SS you will understand
Here is an Example
You test him at 7:00 am
So on the SS you will see AMPS(AM Pre Shot) you put his BG number in there
You test him 2 hours later that would be @+2. ( 2 hours after giving him his insulin
@+3. ( 3 hours after giving insulin
and so in until you get to 7:00 PM
That is his PMPS ( PM Pre shot) will go in that cell on his SS
Then test after that
@+2
@+3
and so on

You want to get tests in during each 12 hour cycle so we can see how the insulin is working
Scatter the tests at different times
Maybe one day test @+2, then @+4, then @+7
Then next day @+3, @+6, @+9

Both morning and night, unless his BG falls very low you will have to test more often
When in doubt please post for help

sorry, i was meaning in 1/2 hour from when i posted which would be universal regardless of your zone but will make conscious effort to speak in spreadsheet time :)
thanks for the info, after looking at that and the spreadsheet it makes sense
 
below 50: "take action" number (feed carbs and monitor closely; post here for help


I am in Canada so the United States numbers are different. I have seen how to convert from World to US (multiply by 18) so would I just divide US by 18 to get world numbers?
 
sorry, i was meaning in 1/2 hour from when i posted which would be universal regardless of your zone but will make conscious effort to speak in spreadsheet time :)
thanks for the info, after looking at that and the spreadsheet it makes sense
If you ever test in 15 minutes it would be Example @+3.25
Test in half an hour. @+3.5
Test in 45 minutes. @+3.75
You would these in your SS but would have to color them manually
 
Dena if you ever want to tag someone for help
After your last word skip a space and then type @the first 3 letters of who you want to tag and a drop down will appear with members names pick the person you want to tag
I will tag you know, also to know it worked the person's name will appear in blue
@DenaRox
 
@Bron and Sheba (GA)


edit to add I tried again and still no luck. He actually bit me which he has never done before. I’m crying and he’s in a corner pissed. What do I do?? Should I be posting a new post somewhere else? I’m defeated and confused as to what I should be doing now as I fear if I go near him again he will lose it.


So insulin is an hour late (would that be considered -1 or +13??)


I tried to take another BG and it was an epic fail he’s super upset at me and won’t let me near him :( he wants to eat but if I feed him and can’t get reading then what? His second insulin was supposed to be 1/2 hour ago so do I still hold off? What if I can’t get another BG reading?
 
Last edited:
What do you mean his second insulin?
He gets one unit twice a day. He hasn’t had his second unit of insulin because as I understood, you said I had to do glucose test first but he’s gone crazy. I updated my last post but will copy here

edit to add I tried again and still no luck. He actually bit me which he has never done before. I’m crying and he’s in a corner pissed. What do I do?? Should I be posting a new post somewhere else? I’m defeated and confused as to what I should be doing now as I fear if I go near him again he will lose it.


So insulin is an hour late (would that be considered -1 or +13??)
 
Last edited:
He gets one unit twice a day. He hasn’t had his second unit of insulin because you said I had to pretext first but he’s gone crazy. I updated my last post but will copy here

edit to add I tried again and still no luck. He actually bit me which he has never done before. I’m crying and he’s in a corner pissed. What do I do?? Should I be posting a new post somewhere else? I’m defeated and confused as to what I should be doing now as I fear if I go near him again he will lose it.


So insulin is an hour late (would that be considered -1 or +13??)
Oh I’m sorry this has happened. He is just confused. Is the bite ok.? Do you need to get it seen to.? Make sure you wash it well and put antiseptic onit.
You could try letting him eat a small amount and see if you can test while he eats.
When you give the dose, that will be the new PMPS time and I will tell you about that later. Just let’s see if we can get him to eat and you test now.
 
Oh I’m sorry this has happened. He is just confused. Is the bite ok.? Do you need to get it seen to.? Make sure you wash it well and put antiseptic onit.
You could try letting him eat a small amount and see if you can test while he eats.
When you give the dose, that will be the new PMPS time and I will tell you about that later. Just let’s see if we can get him to eat and you test now.
I did, I just tried with food before updating, he ate and growled and refused to sit still. I couldn’t even grab his ear as he would trash his head and growl then I’d back off and he’d go back to eating and I would move in again and he’d freak out. That’s when I got bit and gave up. I did apply first aid and although it cut skin it’s not too bad but now he has ate food and no glucose test and still haven’t given him his last unit of the day. Is it ok to keep pushing back insulin shot? Vet was very firm on every 12 hours so I guess I’m a little concerned.
 
Ok. I’m glad the bite is not too bad.
Becasue you got a +10 and can’t get another test, I would go ahead and feed him his meal and give the 1 unit. It’s not ideal but it is what it is.
Put “unable to get BG” in the spot where the BG would normally go foe the PMPS.
Let me know when you have done all that. Don’t feel defeated. It is just a hiccup on the FD journey. :bighug:
 
Ok. I’m glad the bite is not too bad.
Because you got a +10 and can’t get another test, I would go ahead and feed him his meal and give the 1 unit. It’s not ideal but it is what it is.
Put “unable to get BG” in the spot where the BG would normally go foe the PMPS.
Let me know when you have done all that. Don’t feel defeated. It is just a hiccup on the FD journey. :bighug:

Thanks. I know this is all new and it will take some time so i will try not to let it get me down. I've given him his last unit and fed him. I also updated spreadsheet, hope i did it right. Thanks so much for all your help. It's greatly appreciated. Just to clarify, i attempt His amps and should i post numbers here before giving his first 1 unit or go ahead with unit if numbers are over 11???
 
Thanks. I know this is all new and it will take some time so i will try not to let it get me down. I've given him his last unit and fed him. I also updated spreadsheet, hope i did it right. Thanks so much for all your help. It's greatly appreciated. Just to clarify, i attempt His amps and should i post numbers here before giving his first 1 unit or go ahead with unit if numbers are over 11???
You are actually doing really well. That was bad luck Juggie reacted like that.
When you test him, have you chosen a particular spot? It is good to choose somewhere and always use that spot. That way he will get used to it and if you give a treat each time you test, he will associate the treat with the test. Sheba would always come running every time she heard me at the test strips. It didnt matter where she was in the house, she could hear the noise.
I found it easiest to test Sheba by kneeling then sitting on my heels and putting Sheba in between my knees facing the same way as I was, so that her ears were very accessible…..and she was kept in by my knees so she didn’t feel held. I would also put my hand on her chest to hold her until I put the food down.Before I did that I had everything ready to go and I used to give her a small treat on a plate (often chicken stock I had made myself) and I would put that down as I was about to test. As she ate, or licked up the stock, I tested and she didnt notice the test. Until you are used to it, having someone help you might be easier.

With your next shot, as you gave it late tonight, you will need to adjust the time back to your preferred schedule by 15 mins each shot or 1/2 hour once a day. Does that make sense?

Do you think you will be able to get another test in tonight?
A +4 would be good if you can.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top