Freestyle libre meter

Status
Not open for further replies.

bgenick

Member Since 2014
I've seen some discouraging comments about this meter/sensor. I want to post a positive review! My cat's has stayed on well so far. It is covered with a wide cloth collar and affixed with tissue glue by the vet. It is SO easy to use, and gives a curve fairly easily! I could NEVER have gotten the detailed info that I have with ear pricks (6 or more a day). You then upload from the meter to a web site for your vet to view. The only downside, and it's a big one, is that you must scan the senor every time you want a reading. It does not record automatically. This is a big downside for those without flexible schedules, or anyone who wants to see night time readings.

I was WRONG about not recording automatically. I was misinformed. It DOES record automatically every 15 min. But you must scan the sensor within 8 hours to get the data, or it will be lost.
 
Last edited:
My cat is on his third freestyle libre sensor and I want to put in an enthusiastic plug for this device (I'm not associated with it or its manufacturer). It has provided far more detail to inform treatment than I could ever have gotten from ear pricks or curves. It records every 15 minutes and stores the data for eight hours. You must scan the sensor before the eight hour period ends. You upload the data to their web site and it generates all sorts of records and graphs. Your vet, assuming they are paying for this service, can view the results. It has made life much easier for me and my cat. I do see the cautions about double-checking highs and lows. And, it is temporary. They last for only 10 days, although there may be a more recent version that lasts slightly longer. Each of mine lasted eight days. But I observed lows that I did not know were taking place. This was very important to know to determine best dosage and avoid hypos. It seems to require a pretty skilled vet to place it securely, and not too many are using it yet. Mine came from our state vet school.
 
Where did you put the sensor? I've seen from lots of sites that it's a fairly long needle and I wonder about placement on lean cats.
It is a very short filament. Maybe 1/2" long. The sensor goes on the neck. I can't say how you get the filament under the skin, as my vet placed mine. On top of it, the cat wears a wide cloth collar fastened with Velcro. Not an e collar.
 
I just found this thread!!! I have stated how much I really wanted to try it..I can place it myself..but do wonder how "very loose" skin on the neck might affect the sensor moving around= out of place. So, the sensor does not last 14 days? That's fine..Does the cat notice the sensor-try to get to it? BTW..I am not aware that the DVM has to be involved with obtaining data...Can I not view all info myself?
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1O1YNDHz-t4REns_tbAN6D_M3AYT6_kgqbHE7JWo6kSM/edit#gid=0
 
Like most things, it has strengths and weaknesses, and is suitable for some folks and not for others. You are smarter than me--at last visit, I asked the tech to show me how to place it, but I don't feel confident enough to do it myself yet. My cat is probably on the more-tolerant end of the scale, and to my surprise has not scratched at the sensor or tried to remove it. He is wearing a wide cloth (not e-) collar with Velcro closure over it. My sensors have lasted an average of 8 days, the most recent one just ended after 5 days. They get loose or shift out of place, then quit working.

Perhaps the DVM does not need to be involved, I don't know. In my case, the whole PURPOSE was to get more info for the DVM to help make decisions. In addition, I suspect that some health care provider may have to assist you in registering. The device and sensors do require a scrip. My DVM (state vet school) is listed as a provider with them, and I can choose to share my data. As you can imagine, the vendor is not happy to hear that it is being used on animals. So, if I have a Q, I just ID myself as Nick Elliott. It doesn't matter because their tech support is ABYSMAL.

I view my own info, I just choose if I want to share it with anyone else online. You can also email the reports to yourself and then distribute.
 
Hi I'm also curious - how much does your cat weigh? Can you send photos of the device on your cat, with the cloth and velcro closure - that to me is the most vexing - where to place it and how to keep it in place. I take it the cat needs to be shaved of fur at the placement site.
Have you viewed the YouTube videos? I liked this one...
...
 
Wow, this is soooo cool. I wish I knew about this when Frosty was alive. This could be easily hidden under his onesie. Although it may not have been a good idea for him after he started having skin tears, I can see this being a huge help to take testing out of the equation. Wow!
 
It is a very short filament. Maybe 1/2" long. The sensor goes on the neck. I can't say how you get the filament under the skin, as my vet placed mine. On top of it, the cat wears a wide cloth collar fastened with Velcro. Not an e collar.
A short filament? I actually bought one and it had a huge thick needle that had to go in maybe is a new model.

Could you show us some photos of the sensor and where it was placed?
 
Googling shows that a sensor (that lasts 10-14 days) is about $35 at Walmart. So if yo do a lot of testing then it is worth it, especially if you use AT strips.
Believe me, however, it does not matter how long the sensor is designed to last, if it falls off before that time! I have had about 5, and I think 8 days is the longest any have lasted (though most made it to that mark). One lasted only 5 days. They fall off or get loose so that readings are not consistently available, unless skillfully applied.
 
For those who have asked here is nick’s freestyle libre sensor. Put it on flattest area u can find use tissue glue and cover with wide cloth Kitty Kollar at $40
 

Attachments

  • 9E7297EB-496A-4B94-8ECC-47026BE2EEC3.jpeg
    9E7297EB-496A-4B94-8ECC-47026BE2EEC3.jpeg
    31.2 KB · Views: 1,132
My vet has placed the three sensors (so far) on Duffy. The first sensor lasted 8 days, the second lasted 7, and the third only lasted part of one day (today). The readings are very helpful, but today was quite discouraging. My poor vet has several diabetic cats trying this sensor. Duffy's neck is rather small and the sensor was applied to the right side of his spine, on the shaved skin. He rubs the scent glands on both sides of his neck on the wall etc and apparently dislodges the sensor. Duffy survived Diabetic Ketoacidosis (sorry I don't remember the acronym) about a month ago, which occurred while using Prozinc. The vet used the graphs provided by the sensor to make the decision to switch to Bagalar. His numbers are still extremely high, but the extreme spike isn't there now. His low points regularly occur in the middle of the night, which would not be picked up by the usual glucose metering. I'm very new, but will try to upload pictures to illustrate.
 

Attachments

  • Sensor 1.18.19.jpg
    Sensor 1.18.19.jpg
    59.8 KB · Views: 938
  • fullsizeoutput_a7bc.jpeg
    fullsizeoutput_a7bc.jpeg
    67.1 KB · Views: 922
Mine wears a wide cloth collar called a kittykollat. Google it. It is $50 but u can buy it yourself. Vet affixes sensor with tissue glue. I keep adhesive remover on hand. Seven to eight days is about all u will get i think. Mine drops low at night on prozinc also!
 
The collar is designed for feeding tube but obviously u can use without. Fasten snugly. Mine got it caught in his mouth one day. It is velcro but
 
I've seen some discouraging comments about this meter/sensor. I want to post a positive review! My cat's has stayed on well so far. It is covered with a wide cloth collar and affixed with tissue glue by the vet. It is SO easy to use, and gives a curve fairly easily! I could NEVER have gotten the detailed info that I have with ear pricks (6 or more a day). You then upload from the meter to a web site for your vet to view. The only downside, and it's a big one, is that you must scan the senor every time you want a reading. It does not record automatically. This is a big downside for those without flexible schedules, or anyone who wants to see night time readings.

I was WRONG about not recording automatically. I was misinformed. It DOES record automatically every 15 min. But you must scan the sensor within 8 hours to get the data, or it will be lost.

THANKS SO MUCH FOR THE UPDATE. And though Elliott is in remission 2 years now, Suzie (dog) has been Type 1 DM since 8/2017. Because i do so many BG/day, I really want to try the Libre system mainly to see a "pattern" since her nadir changes so much acc to AT strips and the cost is much greater than the Libre system IF I can get it to stay in place. I assumed that because cats are so "mobile" and flex their bodies much more than a dog..The libre might work well on a dog. I like your DVM. You mist live in the North or CA since I can't find a DVM in south to try it..However, I will do it myself..Please keep your valuable info coming...It is much appreciated. I have not used the Libre yet...Good Luck!!!!
Suzie 2019:https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet...AN6D_M3AYT6_kgqbHE7JWo6kSM/edit#gid=811447094
 
THANKS SO MUCH FOR THE UPDATE. And though Elliott is in remission 2 years now, Suzie (dog) has been Type 1 DM since 8/2017. Because i do so many BG/day, I really want to try the Libre system mainly to see a "pattern" since her nadir changes so much acc to AT strips and the cost is much greater than the Libre system IF I can get it to stay in place. I assumed that because cats are so "mobile" and flex their bodies much more than a dog..The libre might work well on a dog. I like your DVM. You mist live in the North or CA since I can't find a DVM in south to try it..However, I will do it myself..Please keep your valuable info coming...It is much appreciated. I have not used the Libre yet...Good Luck!!!!
Suzie 2019:https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet...AN6D_M3AYT6_kgqbHE7JWo6kSM/edit#gid=811447094
I am in NC, and our vet is the NCSU vet school. They have not been using it terribly long.
 
We tried doing this yesterday, because Astrophe'e sugar seems to be swinging wildly on Lantus and we thought getting more data might show what is happening. Somoygi effect etc.

The problem we ran into was:

(1) The sensor adhesive doesn't stick well to even the shaved fur. You need a secondary adhesive, like vet glue, dermabond etc, which we didn't have

(2) The sensor applicator needs you to press down makes a loud CLICK - which freaks the cat out, causing it to jump, and causing the sensor with it's bad adehsive to fall off.

We tried St the back of the neck. We'll see if the vet can do any better. Each failed attempt costs
$40.
 
My vet used vetbond tissue adhesive, which you can buy on Amazon, no prescription. There is also an adhesive remover, which I kept on hand and did use once when I had a partially-off sensor.

I know what you mean about the loud click. My cat is not overly calm, but with his diabetes has been to the vet far more than most. He has become accustomed to it and doesn't jump.

It is ALL, as you say, in the skill of application. Mine was applied first slightly to one side of the neck, then the next sensor slightly to the other side of the neck.

If you can get it on, it WILL provide a wealth of information! Even if you get only a few days out of it. Mine showed my cat was having low's during the night (verging on Karo syrup territory) that we did not know about--VERY important to know.

Good luck!
 
My vet used vetbond tissue adhesive, which you can buy on Amazon, no prescription. There is also an adhesive remover, which I kept on hand and did use once when I had a partially-off sensor.

I know what you mean about the loud click. My cat is not overly calm, but with his diabetes has been to the vet far more than most. He has become accustomed to it and doesn't jump.

It is ALL, as you say, in the skill of application. Mine was applied first slightly to one side of the neck, then the next sensor slightly to the other side of the neck.

If you can get it on, it WILL provide a wealth of information! Even if you get only a few days out of it. Mine showed my cat was having low's during the night (verging on Karo syrup territory) that we did not know about--VERY important to know.

Good luck!
The lows (and when they occur) are EXACTLY why I want to try the Libre system,. I just keep feeling the huge amount of loose skin on the back of her neck? Thanks for the glue info. A lady wanted to sell me it on Ebay but didn't follow through because I hear there are different models now and don't know which to buy..I think I will venture out and give it a try very soon with a little more research..Thanks!!!

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet...AN6D_M3AYT6_kgqbHE7JWo6kSM/edit#gid=811447094
 
There are newer models of the sensor that record for up to 14 days. However, if the darned thing won't stay on that long, it doesn't matter! Most of mine have lasted about 8 days. I think there is also an app that lets you read the sensor with a smartphone instead of buying the handheld reader. My vet gave me a prescription for these, filled at CVS, so not sure if you can buy without scrip. I do recommend the wide cloth collar (kittykollar.com) to cover it. Although will note that, although it is Velcro, mine got his lower jaw caught in it one day. Fasten it somewhat snugly to avoid this--the looser it is, the more room for that to happen. TOTALLY agree about seeing the lows. My cat is on prozinc, and I saw someone else post their cat had nighttime lows with prozinc. IDK whether this is common. We lowered his nighttime dose by 1/4 unit to allow for this. Without the sensor, his other data (fructosamine) would have suggested an overall increase in dose. Glad we had the sensor!
 
I only compared readings from the sensor and ear prick a couple of times, but they were consistent. I use a human Precision Xtra meter because it also allows for separate ketone test strips, and I like that feature. Based on my own experience, I do not think you will get a sensor to stay on for 14 days. I have had maybe 8 of them, and only one stayed on for 10 days. Most lasted about 8 days. But even a few days of 24-hour readings is INVALUABLE.
 
Yes, there is an iPhone app for the 14 day sensor. It requires an iPhone 7 or later. No mention of an app for Android phones.
https://www.freestylelibre.us/system-overview/continous-glucose-monitor-app.html

I have a question, how do the Libre BG compare with BG taken with a home meter via the ear? Please list what home meter was used.
I found this on google..The FreeStyle LibreLink app is compatible with NFC-enabled smartphones runningAndroid OS 5.0 or higher, and with iPhone 7 and higher running OS 11 and higher. ... The FreeStyle Libre sensor communicates with the FreeStyle Libre reader that started it, or the FreeStyle LibreLink app that started it. However, I am not sure what my galaxy J#3 Samsung is..would be great to learn..Research..research and research for our precious babes!!!!..
addendum: but then saw this...Once available, people will be able to pair the FreeStyle Libre or FreeStyle Libre 14 day sensors with the app. The Android version of the app is currently under development. *The FreeStyle LibreLink app is compatible with NFC enabled phones on Apple's iPhone 7 and later, running iOS 11 and later.Nov 1, 2018
 
IDK. I had the separate reader, which the vet prescribed in addition to the sensor itself. Don't know if you can get these without a scrip or not. Whether I had to buy the separate reader or could use the phone app, to me, would not be a deciding factor in whether to try the sensor.
 
Ah, good to know. I expect the 10-day sensors will get hard to find as they phase in the 14-days. However as noted previously, I seriously doubt that any of them will stay on a cat for more than 10 days, and probably less.
 
The phone app works just as well as the reader and you don’t have to plug it into a computer to upload results.

Mine stayed on my cat fine, but he’s probably going to have some permanent bald spots.

Overall I’d say I liked having the FL to monitor my cat right after being prescribed insulin to see what was happening over multiple 24 hour periods, but the numbers were often way off from my glucometer.
 

Attachments

  • 4D6E34F6-2EFD-4E11-8219-F6A48737A85B.jpeg
    4D6E34F6-2EFD-4E11-8219-F6A48737A85B.jpeg
    38.6 KB · Views: 705
We managed to get our sensor working and got 14 days of data, but the data is quite puzzling. We're seeing nadirs at around 4 hours and the sugar rises back to above pre-shot values in about 8 hours.

Would be very grateful if folks who have also used the sensor could have a look at the graph and readings in my thread here and share any advice or insight you might have:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...day-lantus-graph-wild-swings-in-sugar.210864/
 
My vet has placed the three sensors (so far) on Duffy. The first sensor lasted 8 days, the second lasted 7, and the third only lasted part of one day (today). The readings are very helpful, but today was quite discouraging. My poor vet has several diabetic cats trying this sensor. Duffy's neck is rather small and the sensor was applied to the right side of his spine, on the shaved skin. He rubs the scent glands on both sides of his neck on the wall etc and apparently dislodges the sensor. Duffy survived Diabetic Ketoacidosis (sorry I don't remember the acronym) about a month ago, which occurred while using Prozinc. The vet used the graphs provided by the sensor to make the decision to switch to Bagalar. His numbers are still extremely high, but the extreme spike isn't there now. His low points regularly occur in the middle of the night, which would not be picked up by the usual glucose metering. I'm very new, but will try to upload pictures to illustrate.


hello, I am new for here from TOKYO. I haven't used freestyle libre yet. when I found this thread I decided to use for my cat. Specially your photos and comment make me "Oh I can!" then I ordered the reader and sensor and waiting it comes.
Maybe my cat is in the same suituation as your cat, difficult to find the extreme spike.
Anyway what I wanted to say: THANK YOU very much posting the photo! and if you have time I would like to know what is this on your cat neck "blue and red", seems wraped around? a tape?
 
My vet uses tissue glue to affix the sensor. The cat wears a kittykollar over it. See kittykollar.com. Not to say he cant still rub it off but it helps
 
My vet uses tissue glue to affix the sensor. The cat wears a kittykollar over it. See kittykollar.com. Not to say he cant still rub it off but it helps

thank you very much the info! I studied kittykollar.com, seems they will send it to JP too, but shipping cost will be charged +$140 ...ha..ha....:banghead: I will spend the money for the other solution things for him. I will look for tissue glue, maybe 3M has product, I believe they are world wide company.:p
My vet hadn't known about using freestyle libre on cats. When I asked her his hair clipping for attaching a senser she was surprized, but finally undertook. We will do when the reader machine came, togetherly.
I couldn't find any infomation written in Japanese for using freestyle libre on annimals. also I felt less information that using on human too. so here information really helpful, thank you very much!!
 
Do u have amazon in japan? Amazon sells tissue glue. The kittykollar is a 2” wide band of cloth that closes with velcro. Perhaps u can find or make something similar? Breakaway or velcro of course.
 
There is also an adhesive remover for removing the tissue glue. I will try to send photos of both.
 
thank you very much the info! I studied kittykollar.com, seems they will send it to JP too, but shipping cost will be charged +$140 ...ha..ha....:banghead: I will spend the money for the other solution things for him. I will look for tissue glue, maybe 3M has product, I believe they are world wide company.:p
My vet hadn't known about using freestyle libre on cats. When I asked her his hair clipping for attaching a senser she was surprized, but finally undertook. We will do when the reader machine came, togetherly.
I couldn't find any infomation written in Japanese for using freestyle libre on annimals. also I felt less information that using on human too. so here information really helpful, thank you very much!!

Good luck with the procedure, but do take into consideration that some of the people that have used it do find it falls off or stops working properly way before the 14 days and it appears to have some inaccuracies when blood glucose is low both for humans and in cats so it may be a good idea to still have a regular blood glucose meter at hand. Also since it requires to be inserted into interstitial tissue your cat needs to be fairly big

Here are some links to threads related with people using this meter hope it helps

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/freestyle-libre-meter.204048/#post-2324301
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/nigel-and-i-need-help.210044/page-2
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/2-5-zelda-200-amps.210332/#post-2330897
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/fractious.210338/#post-2330882
 
There is a manual meter included in the Libre reader that uses the Freestyle Neo Precision blood strips. The human instructions suggest that normal testing routine should be continued by humans despite use of the Libre sensor. There are reports of inaccuracies in both high and low ranges from human users.
 
Remember that if you have an iPhone 7 or later ylu can use that instead of purchasing a dedicated reader. However, I do not know in what countries the iPhone app is currently available.
 
We managed to get our sensor working and got 14 days of data, but the data is quite puzzling. We're seeing nadirs at around 4 hours and the sugar rises back to above pre-shot values in about 8 hours.

Would be very grateful if folks who have also used the sensor could have a look at the graph and readings in my thread here and share any advice or insight you might have:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...day-lantus-graph-wild-swings-in-sugar.210864/
Oh dear...
 
confusing.... but the geeks usually figure out how to get around stuff..How to use libre anywhere without reader.
https://forum.fudiabetes.org/t/how-to-use-the-freestyle-libre-anywhere-without-a-reader/2120
I have NFC on my Galaxy but the following is quite odd...
"...It is possible to use the FreeStyle Libre without a reader, by using a phone app, for any phone that has NFC. Android and iOS phones both have NFC built-in, but Apple does not allow apps to use it (reserved for Apple Pay), so reading a Freestyle Libre sensor is only possible with an Android phone."

Now, I am holding off due to too much inconsistent info..since I test sdo much..wish I could use it..You can get reader and strips on Ebay..10 day very reasonable price
Suzie SS: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet...AN6D_M3AYT6_kgqbHE7JWo6kSM/edit#gid=811447094
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top