? BG still erratic, help needed please

Perlutz the pretzel :p

50FACB9D-C1F8-43F7-A60E-E278E001E4CB.jpeg
 
WHOA! What a surprise that must have been this morning. Looks like Perlutz bounced and the bounce broke overnight. Your clue that there might be a low coming is the drop Perlutz had last night between PMPS and +3. While it wasn't a huge drop, it was substantial given that ProZinc usually onset roughly +2 or so. If you get a before bed test that is the same or dropping, feed Perlutz a snack and set an alarm to retest a bit later.
Linda, I read your message and started typing an answer like 100 times - type - delete - type - delete :D As you know, I'm still trying to get a grasp on things and bounces are definitely not my forte :oops: In theory, I knew that ProZinc onsets around +2 but I didn't worry when he dropped from 18.9 to 15.9, on the contrary, I was glad to see it working :confused: I hope I'm not going to test your patience with my silly questions...If I test at +2/+3 and it's equal or lower than PS, I'll test again before bed which would be +4 to +6. By then, a low number should be expected, no? But how big of a drop should I count as one needing an alarm and extra test over night? For numbers say lower than 10, I'd set an alarm but I never really thought higher numbers needed it, I only took in consideration the number, and not the drop.

As for giving a small dose mid cycle, it can be done but it would put your schedule off. Normally with ProZinc you have an hour of leeway but if you shoot even a tiny dose mid cycle, you'd be dealing with 2 nadirs and that could get dicey. You're better off to employ the stall technique. If you get a low at pre-shot, stall without feeding and retest 20 to 30 minutes later to see if BG is coming up on it's own. If it is rising, then you can consider giving insulin (either full or reduced dose depending on BG).
Looking back to this morning, I think it was a hasty decision not to stall. I thought from 3.7 it will take a long time until it raised enough to give him some insulin and I was worried about shooting later as I knew tomorrow's shot will have to be right on time. When I saw the 14.9 at +2, I was considering giving some insulin but I just didn't know how much of the raise was from the food, how much insulin to give and didn't have much time left to come here and ask as I had to leave for work. Bottom line, I messed up...

I'd drop his dose down to 3.25u and keep it there. He earned a reduction with that 3.7 this AM. Hopefully there will be more lovely greens showing up but let's try to keep them in the dark green.
This 3.7 was actually after a reduced 3.25! I don't want to think what would've been if he got 3.5 :nailbiting:
 
So adorable
Thank you! This vain little kitty would really appreciate it, if he could read :D We have this little thing where if I say the right things, in the right tone, he will roll on the floor for me, being all cute, meowing at purring - it's adorable! And by the right things, I mean "who's the cutest cat? who's mummy's pretty boy" etc :D
 
You did not mess up Georgiana! You're doing an amazing job, honestly. You have a life to maintain outside FD (albeit mainly atm going to work so you can earn money to pay vets bills and strips!) and sometimes you have to make on the spot decisions. You can't sit at home 24/7 trying to figure out the next right thing to do - any decision you make might not be the right one anyway.

Perlutz is really lucky to have you. I take my hat off to everyone here whose lives almost revolve around a spreadsheet - it's a labour of love, that's for sure. I had a really tough time treating my Tom so I know the rollercoaster you're on but but we wouldn't have it any other way.

Don't doubt yourself! Go and get yourself a big G&T (or I'll have one for you!!) and keep tickling that pretty boy's furry belly!
 
Hats of to you, Diana! For sticking around FDMB to help and encourage others whose lives still revolve around SS numbers.

It was warm and sunny in Maidenhead today and all I could think all day was how nice would be to sit out on the balcony with a Mojito :smuggrin: And now it's chilly and I'm tired so I'm just sitting on the sofa with my laptop :rolleyes: Not fair! :smuggrin:
 
Hats of to you, Diana! For sticking around FDMB to help and encourage others whose lives still revolve around SS numbers.

It was warm and sunny in Maidenhead today and all I could think all day was how nice would be to sit out on the balcony with a Mojito :smuggrin: And now it's chilly and I'm tired so I'm just sitting on the sofa with my laptop :rolleyes: Not fair! :smuggrin:
Boo hiss... hot chocolate maybe???
 
Since Perlutz went below 90 this morning, his dose should be reduced yet again to 3.0u. I know you already shot 3.25u tonight and that is fine given where his BG was tonight, but tomorrow drop the dose to 3.0u.

Any drop below PMPS in that first 3 hours should be your signal that Perlutz may be having an active cycle. While that wasn't a huge drop last night, Perlutz has a habit of being higher in the earlier hours at night and he proved last night that even that drop of 3mmol can signal an active cycle.

You didn't mess anything up. This is not an exact science and a lot of it is understanding your own cat and Perlutz has not been easy to figure out lately but his behaviour right now suggests his insulin needs are changing for the better. Perlutz is lucky he has you and he is in good hands.:)
 
No don't go back up. Perlutz is bouncing which is a temporary reaction to the low green yesterday and right now he's having a flat cycle. The higher numbers can last up to 6 cycles (3 days) but he appears to be coming back down again now. Sometimes those flat cycles are a clue the bounce is breaking. Stick with 3.0u now and re-evaluate in 3 or 4 days. :)
 
Help, please!

It’s insulin time and his Bg was 8.0. I stalled 15 min and got a 7.5. I had to feed him, he was getting increasingly annoyed with not getting food.

Any ideas on what would be a good dose tonight?

@MrWorfMen's Mom @Diana&Tom
 
Arghhh...my suggestions tend to be instinctive and not with any real logic so I hesitate to say anything really... my personal inclination is to err on the side of safety but then when you do that - shoot conservatively - you risk a steeper rise. Yet a lower dose might not trigger a bounce. He is doing pretty well atm but then sometimes throws a surprise high or low with no rhyme or reason. Let's hope Linda is around to make some sense of things - or you could tag a couple of the other ladies with experience and see if they'd take a look at your ss and advise?

Sorry can't be much help... if nobody is here in time to give you an idea of how much to shoot, go with your own instinct...
 
Arghhh...my suggestions tend to be instinctive and not with any real logic so I hesitate to say anything really... my personal inclination is to err on the side of safety but then when you do that - shoot conservatively - you risk a steeper rise. Yet a lower dose might not trigger a bounce. He is doing pretty well atm but then sometimes throws a surprise high or low with no rhyme or reason. Let's hope Linda is around to make some sense of things - or you could tag a couple of the other ladies with experience and see if they'd take a look at your ss and advise?

Sorry can't be much help... if nobody is here in time to give you an idea of how much to shoot, go with your own instinct...
I really don’t know... It’s usually going up, even if by just a little bit! If only I could’ve stalled a little more, maybe it would’ve given a clearer view.
 
I really don’t know... It’s usually going up, even if by just a little bit! If only I could’ve stalled a little more, maybe it would’ve given a clearer view.
Is this a time when you can shoot an hour or two late if necessary, and tweak times over the weekend...???
 
Is this a time when you can shoot an hour or two late if necessary, and tweak times over the weekend...???
It’s just over an hour now and I could wait another hour, schedule wise, but I don’t think HRH will be okay with a big delay in being served his breakfast...

I’ll go retest him now and take it from there...
 
It’s just over an hour now and I could wait another hour, schedule wise, but I don’t think HRH will be okay with a big delay in being served his breakfast...

I’ll go retest him now and take it from there...
Yes test again - anything could have happened in the last hour :(
 
Yes test again - anything could have happened in the last hour :(
It’s only gone up to 8.2 despite his eating all his food. I don’t know how quick the food shows in Bg though...

I’m not closer to making a decision regarding the dose :banghead: I’m oscillating between 1.5 and 2.0 I think... I would like to get some sleep tonight, I’m shattered :arghh: (of course, if need be I’ll stay up all night, that goes without saying).
 
Well... a low dose might send him shooting up to the reds but he usually manages to come back down... perhaps this is a time to give yourself a break, shoot low, test before bed, get some decent sleep, amd see what tomorrow brings...?
 
Well... a low dose might send him shooting up to the reds but he usually manages to come back down... perhaps this is a time to give yourself a break, shoot low, test before bed, get some decent sleep, amd see what tomorrow brings...?
Went with 2u... I’ll retest before bed :)

BTW, I got the book today. There’s many mentions of yin and yang, figure 8’s and surprisingly many drawings of dogs :joyful: But haven’t had a chance to actually have a read so I’m not ready for a review haha
 
2u sounds a good call... we'd assume he'll be rising soon but who knows. Linda might have suggested a slightly higher dose but sometimes you do have to remember your own needs, which in this case means getting a good night's sleep (hopefully!)

Will await book review with interest! I think she wrote a book for dogs initially and adapted this second one for cats... you'd think the principles are similar. Keep an open mind - there is lots of proof that this sort of thing works so I'd definitely give it a try.

[Btw Mike is back from holiday so any time you want to drop June's stuff round, feel free. ]
 
2u sounds a good call... we'd assume he'll be rising soon but who knows. Linda might have suggested a slightly higher dose but sometimes you do have to remember your own needs, which in this case means getting a good night's sleep (hopefully!)

Will await book review with interest! I think she wrote a book for dogs initially and adapted this second one for cats... you'd think the principles are similar. Keep an open mind - there is lots of proof that this sort of thing works so I'd definitely give it a try.

[Btw Mike is back from holiday so any time you want to drop June's stuff round, feel free. ]
Yes, I think she would have. Sorry Linda! :D

Re the book, I didn’t mean to sound as if I don’t believe in these things, I do! I’ll let you know :bighug:

I will probably go drop the food off to Mike this weekend. I saw June has few new babies :cat:
 
Yes, I think she would have. Sorry Linda! :D

Re the book, I didn’t mean to sound as if I don’t believe in these things, I do! I’ll let you know :bighug:

I will probably go drop the food off to Mike this weekend. I saw June has few new babies :cat:

Good - having at least some belief in energy work and so on is very useful I think. I'm fascinated by it... there is so much beyond logic and science that we can benefit from.
Yes June has new babies... she works tirelessly to look after them all, she deserves a medal.
 
Sorry Georgiana. Wasn't on the board today until a short time ago. I see Perlutz gave you a bald spot trying to figure out what to do with him tonight. While I might have suggested 2.25u or 2.5u, I agree with Diana, that first and foremost, you have to look after YOU. Perlutz counts on you so your needs are just as important and sometimes even more so. Secondly, you have to do what you are most comfortable with no matter what I or anyone else says. No apologies to me are warranted or needed. I agree with your decision. :)
 
Sorry Georgiana. Wasn't on the board today until a short time ago. I see Perlutz gave you a bald spot trying to figure out what to do with him tonight. While I might have suggested 2.25u or 2.5u, I agree with Diana, that first and foremost, you have to look after YOU. Perlutz counts on you so your needs are just as important and sometimes even more so. Secondly, you have to do what you are most comfortable with no matter what I or anyone else says. No apologies to me are warranted or needed. I agree with your decision. :)
Hi Linda :bighug: The 2 units weren’t too bad in the end, kept him in the blues yay! Just got a +7.5 10.9 which is a good number for Mr. P.

Of course, green looks even better on him but he really didn’t like the testing today and he would’ve gotten few more pokies on a green.

Anyway, although the sofa wasn’t so great, I’ve sleep through 15-20 alarms for an hour before I finally woke up to test :woot: it’s time for me to go to bed :D
 
I used to snooze alarms several times too and finally get up to test. Seems I learned to snooze the alarms in my sleep.:smuggrin:

Nice cycle for Perlutz tonight. Hope he doesn't bounce from that lovely blue streak. Sleep tight! :)
 
Hehe I’m a pro at snoozing too :smuggrin: That’s why I usually sleep on the sofa when I need to test overnight, if I don’t wake up from the alarms, at least I’ll wake up at some point from being uncomfortable :D

He brought the trampoline out after I went to bed - 25.9 :facepalm: Slow learner this cat :joyful:
 
Awww... I'm sure he appreciates your dedication!
Think you may need to hide the trampoline in a cupboard where he can't find it, not sure where that would be but he does need to learn that he can't have everything he wants ;)
 
He must have a copy of the cupboard key because he's been trampolining again :facepalm: But his belly is not pink anymore, almost back to normal colour wise but still rocking a bald tummy and scratched and grooms bit more than usual. He has been off 2 CH flavours, I wonder if that could be it...
 
It's quite possible. Figuring out skin issues can be tough. If things are improving, continue holding back those flavours and just watch for any reoccurrence. I'm dealing with some skin issues with my girl and she is so dang fussy with her food that finding alternative foods is almost impossible and it's driving me crazy.
 
Few snaps of HRH for the fans :smuggrin:
 

Attachments

  • 65679373-681A-4B97-8E34-0ED81E53D978.jpeg
    65679373-681A-4B97-8E34-0ED81E53D978.jpeg
    48.4 KB · Views: 448
  • 38F8E1AF-DEEB-4F59-8A36-A51E66C94B8E.jpeg
    38F8E1AF-DEEB-4F59-8A36-A51E66C94B8E.jpeg
    118.5 KB · Views: 456
  • A0AB75EE-A571-4045-9FA3-FBE312F7F7E3.jpeg
    A0AB75EE-A571-4045-9FA3-FBE312F7F7E3.jpeg
    79.5 KB · Views: 505
  • 51779EB9-034A-4002-8F0A-D162A59440C4.jpeg
    51779EB9-034A-4002-8F0A-D162A59440C4.jpeg
    21.2 KB · Views: 423
Back
Top