Georgiana & Perlutz
Active Member
Perlutz the pretzel 

So adorable
Linda, I read your message and started typing an answer like 100 times - type - delete - type - deleteWHOA! What a surprise that must have been this morning. Looks like Perlutz bounced and the bounce broke overnight. Your clue that there might be a low coming is the drop Perlutz had last night between PMPS and +3. While it wasn't a huge drop, it was substantial given that ProZinc usually onset roughly +2 or so. If you get a before bed test that is the same or dropping, feed Perlutz a snack and set an alarm to retest a bit later.
Looking back to this morning, I think it was a hasty decision not to stall. I thought from 3.7 it will take a long time until it raised enough to give him some insulin and I was worried about shooting later as I knew tomorrow's shot will have to be right on time. When I saw the 14.9 at +2, I was considering giving some insulin but I just didn't know how much of the raise was from the food, how much insulin to give and didn't have much time left to come here and ask as I had to leave for work. Bottom line, I messed up...As for giving a small dose mid cycle, it can be done but it would put your schedule off. Normally with ProZinc you have an hour of leeway but if you shoot even a tiny dose mid cycle, you'd be dealing with 2 nadirs and that could get dicey. You're better off to employ the stall technique. If you get a low at pre-shot, stall without feeding and retest 20 to 30 minutes later to see if BG is coming up on it's own. If it is rising, then you can consider giving insulin (either full or reduced dose depending on BG).
This 3.7 was actually after a reduced 3.25! I don't want to think what would've been if he got 3.5I'd drop his dose down to 3.25u and keep it there. He earned a reduction with that 3.7 this AM. Hopefully there will be more lovely greens showing up but let's try to keep them in the dark green.
Thank you! This vain little kitty would really appreciate it, if he could readSo adorable
Boo hiss... hot chocolate maybe???Hats of to you, Diana! For sticking around FDMB to help and encourage others whose lives still revolve around SS numbers.
It was warm and sunny in Maidenhead today and all I could think all day was how nice would be to sit out on the balcony with a MojitoAnd now it's chilly and I'm tired so I'm just sitting on the sofa with my laptop
Not fair!
![]()
I guess it's that time of the year for hot chocolate and candlesBoo hiss... hot chocolate maybe???
Yes and that's nice! Cosy and warmI guess it's that time of the year for hot chocolate and candles![]()
Get an early(ish) night, Georgiana!+2.5 30.6
I was actually in bed by 10:30 PMGet an early(ish) night, Georgiana!
Lovely number!! Where that leaves you I don't know but enjoy your evening nowPMPS 12.4 / 223 I did not expect such a nice number!
A possible long night of testing?Lovely number!! Where that leaves you I don't know but enjoy your evening now![]()
Oh that would be a nice change...A possible long night of testing?![]()
I really don’t know... It’s usually going up, even if by just a little bit! If only I could’ve stalled a little more, maybe it would’ve given a clearer view.Arghhh...my suggestions tend to be instinctive and not with any real logic so I hesitate to say anything really... my personal inclination is to err on the side of safety but then when you do that - shoot conservatively - you risk a steeper rise. Yet a lower dose might not trigger a bounce. He is doing pretty well atm but then sometimes throws a surprise high or low with no rhyme or reason. Let's hope Linda is around to make some sense of things - or you could tag a couple of the other ladies with experience and see if they'd take a look at your ss and advise?
Sorry can't be much help... if nobody is here in time to give you an idea of how much to shoot, go with your own instinct...
Is this a time when you can shoot an hour or two late if necessary, and tweak times over the weekend...???I really don’t know... It’s usually going up, even if by just a little bit! If only I could’ve stalled a little more, maybe it would’ve given a clearer view.
It’s just over an hour now and I could wait another hour, schedule wise, but I don’t think HRH will be okay with a big delay in being served his breakfast...Is this a time when you can shoot an hour or two late if necessary, and tweak times over the weekend...???
Yes test again - anything could have happened in the last hourIt’s just over an hour now and I could wait another hour, schedule wise, but I don’t think HRH will be okay with a big delay in being served his breakfast...
I’ll go retest him now and take it from there...
It’s only gone up to 8.2 despite his eating all his food. I don’t know how quick the food shows in Bg though...Yes test again - anything could have happened in the last hour![]()
Went with 2u... I’ll retest before bedWell... a low dose might send him shooting up to the reds but he usually manages to come back down... perhaps this is a time to give yourself a break, shoot low, test before bed, get some decent sleep, amd see what tomorrow brings...?
Yes, I think she would have. Sorry Linda!2u sounds a good call... we'd assume he'll be rising soon but who knows. Linda might have suggested a slightly higher dose but sometimes you do have to remember your own needs, which in this case means getting a good night's sleep (hopefully!)
Will await book review with interest! I think she wrote a book for dogs initially and adapted this second one for cats... you'd think the principles are similar. Keep an open mind - there is lots of proof that this sort of thing works so I'd definitely give it a try.
[Btw Mike is back from holiday so any time you want to drop June's stuff round, feel free. ]
Yes, I think she would have. Sorry Linda!
Re the book, I didn’t mean to sound as if I don’t believe in these things, I do! I’ll let you know
I will probably go drop the food off to Mike this weekend. I saw June has few new babies![]()
Hi LindaSorry Georgiana. Wasn't on the board today until a short time ago. I see Perlutz gave you a bald spot trying to figure out what to do with him tonight. While I might have suggested 2.25u or 2.5u, I agree with Diana, that first and foremost, you have to look after YOU. Perlutz counts on you so your needs are just as important and sometimes even more so. Secondly, you have to do what you are most comfortable with no matter what I or anyone else says. No apologies to me are warranted or needed. I agree with your decision.![]()
I just love his face, Perlutz is so adorable5 days and only reds and pinksHe's playing with mommy's feelings again
![]()
It used to be his snuggle buddy during the day when home alone but I gave it away to my niece and nephew cause that teddy was massive! Random fact, I won that teddy at an arcadeHe's SOOOOOO handsome! Love his markings. Is that his Teddy Bear? It's bigger than he is!![]()
Definitely! The job's yoursCan I be chairman of his fan club?