5/3 Mookitty AMPS 161 +1 112

Have you fed? Can you test if you give insulin? Do you have enough supplies (high carb food, test strips, honey etc)?

ETA: with a history of DKA, you do not want to skip insulin.
 
Have not fed yet. She has always dropped by 100 in an hour when I give insulin. I can test but im not comfortable with this. I have dried cat food, some wet higher carb food she might not eat, low carb food, and karo.
 
I have never dealt with a starting number this low and im only on "tight regulation" because im following instructions for her DKA. This is not something im comfortable with
 
While they can drop 100 points or so from higher numbers, they do not drop as much when starting lower. You will see over time that you "shoot low to stay low".

What we suggest when you encounter a lower preshot number is to stall without food and test in 20 mins to see if the numbers are rising. There's always a chance that numbers can drop without food when stalling..

I see that @tiffmaxee is here so I will leave you in her capable hands. It's 1am for me!
 
If on the rise but not comfortable with a full dose you could shoot a token dose. He’s clearing a bounce so the first half might still be active. You could shoot .50 in that case. If on the way up you could shoot the full dose. I’ll be in until he comes and then probably not available for 30-45 minutes
 
I would. You will see what happens with a token dose. Soon you will shoot lower and lower. As Bhooma said shoot low to stay low. Shooting low usually leads to a flat lantus cycle. Get a +1 and +2 to start.
Okay will give 0.5
 
I know it is nervewracking to shoot the lower numbers! I remember this feeling well. The first time I saw a pre-shot number under 200 I started literally sweating. And shaking. I gave Hendrick some HC food immediately I think! (which is the wrong move but I panicked!)

You'll get more and more comfortable with the lower pre-shots. It's a good thing, it is progress to regulation!!

The truth is as long as you're prepared with plenty of test strips, MC/HC options, and can monitor Moo closely it is not such a big deal to shoot lower numbers. But holy cow did it give me fits at first! Hang in there you're doing great.

I want to see more pics of Mookitty btw! One is not nearly enough for me.

[edit] here I'll trade you a cute pic of Hendrick cuddled up with Roxy

upload_2022-5-3_19-46-53.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2022-5-3_19-46-53.png
    upload_2022-5-3_19-46-53.png
    724.5 KB · Views: 281
Last edited:
I know it is nervewracking to shoot the lower numbers! I remember this feeling well. The first time I saw a pre-shot number under 200 I started literally sweating. And shaking. I gave Hendrick some HC food immediately I think! (which is the wrong move but I panicked!)

You'll get more and more comfortable with the lower pre-shots. It's a good thing, it is progress to regulation!!

The truth is as long as you're prepared with plenty of test strips, MC/HC options, and can monitor Moo closely it is not such a big deal to shoot lower numbers. But holy cow did it give me fits at first! Hang in there you're doing great.

I want to see more pics of Mookitty btw! One is not nearly enough for me.

[edit] here I'll trade you a cute pic of Hendrick cuddled up with Roxy

View attachment 64190

Thank you.

xXKL9GnSXPRrqzz27

4MYQ3Vm3LYDkVNhv8
 
Is it safe to shift PM Shot back 10 to 15 minutes despite what happened today? She is a 1 a.m cat at the moment.
 
You can move the shot time by 30 mins per day or 15 mins per cycle. So you can shoot 11.5 hours after your AM shot tonight.

Congrats on shooting your lowest preshot! :) When you a shoot a token dose, the Lantus depot continues to influence the first part of the cycle. It's possible that the first part of the cycle would have played out in the same way had you shot the full dose. As long as you can test and have supplies, you have the means to keep her safe. Hopefully you will feel more confident to shoot the ful dose next time! :cool:
 
Last edited:
Back
Top