5/3 Mookitty AMPS 161 +1 112

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Mookitty's Mom, May 3, 2022.

  1. Mookitty's Mom

    Mookitty's Mom Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2022
  2. Mookitty's Mom

    Mookitty's Mom Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2022
  3. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Have you fed? Can you test if you give insulin? Do you have enough supplies (high carb food, test strips, honey etc)?

    ETA: with a history of DKA, you do not want to skip insulin.
     
    Bron and Sheba (GA) likes this.
  4. Mookitty's Mom

    Mookitty's Mom Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2022
    Have not fed yet. She has always dropped by 100 in an hour when I give insulin. I can test but im not comfortable with this. I have dried cat food, some wet higher carb food she might not eat, low carb food, and karo.
     
  5. Mookitty's Mom

    Mookitty's Mom Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2022
    I have never dealt with a starting number this low and im only on "tight regulation" because im following instructions for her DKA. This is not something im comfortable with
     
  6. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    With previous DKA I hate to see you skip. Check again in 30 minutes. Don’t feed. Ok?
     
    Bron and Sheba (GA) likes this.
  7. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    While they can drop 100 points or so from higher numbers, they do not drop as much when starting lower. You will see over time that you "shoot low to stay low".

    What we suggest when you encounter a lower preshot number is to stall without food and test in 20 mins to see if the numbers are rising. There's always a chance that numbers can drop without food when stalling..

    I see that @tiffmaxee is here so I will leave you in her capable hands. It's 1am for me!
     
  8. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    G to sleep Bhooma!
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  9. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    I have a contractor coming any time within the next hour.
     
  10. Mookitty's Mom

    Mookitty's Mom Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2022
    Okay. That will be in 15 minutes. I think she has scarring on her ears. Its making it harder to get a blood sample.
     
  11. Mookitty's Mom

    Mookitty's Mom Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2022
    Before you go, any idea on how high is acceptable to shoot at her current dosage? Or a policy to reduce the dose? Do i still start by feeding low carb food?
     
  12. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    If on the rise but not comfortable with a full dose you could shoot a token dose. He’s clearing a bounce so the first half might still be active. You could shoot .50 in that case. If on the way up you could shoot the full dose. I’ll be in until he comes and then probably not available for 30-45 minutes
     
  13. Mookitty's Mom

    Mookitty's Mom Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2022
    Okay. Thank you!
     
  14. Mookitty's Mom

    Mookitty's Mom Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2022
  15. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    How do you feel about shooting? He’s on the way up.
     
  16. Mookitty's Mom

    Mookitty's Mom Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2022
    I would feel okay shooting 0.5 after she eats a decent amoint of low carb food
     
  17. Mookitty's Mom

    Mookitty's Mom Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2022
    Should I proceed?
     
  18. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Okay. Her preshot number will be 161.
     
  19. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    I would. You will see what happens with a token dose. Soon you will shoot lower and lower. As Bhooma said shoot low to stay low. Shooting low usually leads to a flat lantus cycle. Get a +1 and +2 to start.
     
  20. Mookitty's Mom

    Mookitty's Mom Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2022
    Okay will give 0.5
     
  21. Mookitty's Mom

    Mookitty's Mom Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2022
    30 minutes in: 132
     
  22. Mookitty's Mom

    Mookitty's Mom Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2022
  23. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Feed some lc and get a +2.
     
  24. Mookitty's Mom

    Mookitty's Mom Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2022
    +2 was 113. She did eat a little. Coming up on +3.
     
  25. Mookitty's Mom

    Mookitty's Mom Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2022
  26. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Test in 5 minutes.
     
    Mookitty's Mom likes this.
  27. Hendrick Cuddleclaw

    Hendrick Cuddleclaw Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2022
    I know it is nervewracking to shoot the lower numbers! I remember this feeling well. The first time I saw a pre-shot number under 200 I started literally sweating. And shaking. I gave Hendrick some HC food immediately I think! (which is the wrong move but I panicked!)

    You'll get more and more comfortable with the lower pre-shots. It's a good thing, it is progress to regulation!!

    The truth is as long as you're prepared with plenty of test strips, MC/HC options, and can monitor Moo closely it is not such a big deal to shoot lower numbers. But holy cow did it give me fits at first! Hang in there you're doing great.

    I want to see more pics of Mookitty btw! One is not nearly enough for me.

    [edit] here I'll trade you a cute pic of Hendrick cuddled up with Roxy

    upload_2022-5-3_19-46-53.png
     
    Last edited: May 3, 2022
  28. Mookitty's Mom

    Mookitty's Mom Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2022
    113 she ate a little bit about 20 minutes ago. I have the low carb next to her sleeping spot because she tends to just get up and nibble and go back to sleep
     
    tiffmaxee likes this.
  29. Mookitty's Mom

    Mookitty's Mom Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2022
    Thank you.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  30. Mookitty's Mom

    Mookitty's Mom Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2022
    She ate some more.
    +4 143
     
  31. Mookitty's Mom

    Mookitty's Mom Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2022
    +4 and 30 minutes
    175
     
  32. Mookitty's Mom

    Mookitty's Mom Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2022
  33. Hendrick Cuddleclaw

    Hendrick Cuddleclaw Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2022
    she's on the rise now, looks like. Nice cycle! You could probably stop testing until PMPS, if you want to giver her a break.
     
  34. Mookitty's Mom

    Mookitty's Mom Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2022
    One more for my anxiety and then i should probably take a nap.
     
  35. Mookitty's Mom

    Mookitty's Mom Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2022
    Is it safe to shift PM Shot back 10 to 15 minutes despite what happened today? She is a 1 a.m cat at the moment.
     
  36. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    You can move the shot time by 30 mins per day or 15 mins per cycle. So you can shoot 11.5 hours after your AM shot tonight.

    Congrats on shooting your lowest preshot! :) When you a shoot a token dose, the Lantus depot continues to influence the first part of the cycle. It's possible that the first part of the cycle would have played out in the same way had you shot the full dose. As long as you can test and have supplies, you have the means to keep her safe. Hopefully you will feel more confident to shoot the ful dose next time! :cool:
     
    Last edited: May 3, 2022
    Mookitty's Mom likes this.

Share This Page