VICTOR AMPS 18.1/326.....

H Allen

Member Since 2022
We are at 18.1 AMPS this morning (326)- we increased to 2.25 units yesterday.....hoping we can get into the yellows but I'm starting to lose hope....
 
He's eating about 80% low carb Performin Ultra dry food.....he actually hasn't ate anything between my AMPS number this morning and the +3 number of 24.4/439.....
 
None of those foods are available anywhere near where I live- I went into two cities in two provinces on the weekend to search- so I"m doing the best I can with the dry food that I have.....
 
He's eating about 80% low carb Performin Ultra dry food.....he actually hasn't ate anything between my AMPS number this morning and the +3 number of 24.4/439.....
Perofrmin Ultra Grain Free is estimated to be 23% carbs.....
 
None of those foods are available anywhere near where I live- I went into two cities in two provinces on the weekend to search- so I"m doing the best I can with the dry food that I have.....
Sorry, I just realized you are in Canada.

You can buy Young Again online through their Canadian distributor:
https://jlcm-enterprises.myshopify.com/

I could find Wysong Epigen 90 on Amazon:
https://www.amazon.ca/Wysong-Epigen-Canine-Feline-Diet/dp/B00KE3IRN0?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20

Dr. Elsey's is available online on Petsmart.
https://www.petsmart.ca/cat/food-an...rain-free-adult-cat-food---chicken-57972.html

Not sure if you will be able to have them shipped to your location. They are also expensive foods!
 
I think he needs to be fast tracked to get him out of these high numbers. If you give him more wet food will he eat even less dry?

UGF is high carb.
 
He won't even touch wet food unfortunately....and like I said before I can't just take up all the dry because of all the other health issues I'm dealing with the other 3 cats here.....

I can't order online with Petsmart because I live in a very rural area that doesn't support doordash or the delivery options pet smart has :(

The Wysong is ordered but won't be delievered until May 2-17th- which usually means, on Amazon, unavailable and is backordered....

I ordered the Young again too and have a 2 week delivery window estimated :(

So like I said of all the dry foods I have the Ultra is the lowest carb, and that's what I'm doing.....I'm really confused as to how he didn't eat since AMPS and his BG still went up......I really think we are just a tough case that may not be cracked I fear before it's too late!
 
Ok So the bacteria culture is back- there is not bacteria- it is a yeast infection in the ears....this is what it was back in October too.....why are we getting the yeast infections when weaning from Pred? Vet says the ear packing we did on Monday is the only treatment no anitbiotic needed obviously because of it being fungal not bacterial....I came home to a pee on the floor which hasn't happened before after 3 hours away- stuck a pee stick in it and seen a bit of glucose in 1.00...what can I do to bring him down quickly? I get the food and I am working on sourcing and getting some quicker but in the mean time?
 
How is it going with a possible switch to a low carb dry food? If you have kibble addicts, there are low carb options in dry food as well – Young Again, Dr. Elsey’s Cleanprotein (chicken flavour) and Wysong Epigen 90.

Link to previous post:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/victor-amps-21-7-391.261827/
@Bandit's Mom do you know if the Dr. Elsey's Clean Protein Rabbit flavor is also low in carbs? I've been giving it to my gang lately (for treats or as a food topper sometimes) and they LOVE it.
 
Ok So the bacteria culture is back- there is not bacteria- it is a yeast infection in the ears....this is what it was back in October too.....why are we getting the yeast infections when weaning from Pred? Vet says the ear packing we did on Monday is the only treatment no anitbiotic needed obviously because of it being fungal not bacterial....I came home to a pee on the floor which hasn't happened before after 3 hours away- stuck a pee stick in it and seen a bit of glucose in 1.00...what can I do to bring him down quickly? I get the food and I am working on sourcing and getting some quicker but in the mean time?
Yeast infections are so tough to deal with in the ears. How frequently do they need to pack/re-pack the ears?
 
Yeast infections are so tough to deal with in the ears. How frequently do they need to pack/re-pack the ears?
Every 3-4 weeks as needed.....This is likely associated with the pred induced diabetes? I feel like I"m in a vicious circle and I can't help my cat!
 
Every 3-4 weeks as needed.....This is likely associated with the pred induced diabetes? I feel like I"m in a vicious circle and I can't help my cat!
I understand that feeling very well. You will be able to help him in time. Please don't lose hope. My cat had acromegaly and was up to over 40 units at one point. I totally understand that feeling that the insulin is doing nothing and that nothing I ever did made a difference. Wendy helped me so much. It's going to get better. I know you don't believe that now, but hang in there for Victor's sake. He knows you love him and that's what matters so much.
 
Your spreadsheet says you are following the SLGS protocol, I believe. You do a lot of testing. If I were you, I would follow the TR protocol so that I could increase doses every 6 cycles, as necessary. Somebody tagged Wendy already. She will stop by today, I imagine.
 
Your spreadsheet says you are following the SLGS protocol, I believe. You do a lot of testing. If I were you, I would follow the TR protocol so that I could increase doses every 6 cycles, as necessary. Somebody tagged Wendy already. She will stop by today, I imagine.
She can’t feeding dry food.
 
It is low carb, 4%. It does contain chicken if that’s a problem for any of your cats though. Pork too.
Yes. Thanks, Elise! Yes, it has chicken, I know. I don't think I noticed the pork. I've got a kitty here who was just diagnosed as having IBD. He's already on pred, but the vet says to do a hypoallergenic diet. I haven't started that yet and really don't see how I will ever make that work with as many cats as I have here. For him, I don't even know what I would feed. There are the novel protein diets available commercially. I don't really want to go with Z/D and the like... oh, but I'd better stop because I don't want to hijack this thread. Please forgive me for digressing too much. I really want to see Victor doing well, and that's why I am here to begin with.
 
She can’t feeding dry food.
OH right, thank you! I forgot about the dry food in this case. I was just looking at the SS and thinking, changes need to be made more quickly here. Hopefully the switch to lower carb dry food will help at first and maybe even later on she will be able to transition him (eventually) to wet food.
 
Getting him changed to low carb dry food is going to take weeks....shipping delays.....feeding is a big issue here because of all the others having health issues as well....I just feel I should see something minor with the insulin and I'm seeing nothing....
 
Getting him changed to low carb dry food is going to take weeks....shipping delays.....feeding is a big issue here because of all the others having health issues as well....I just feel I should see something minor with the insulin and I'm seeing nothing....
Am I repeating myself... I've answered so many people lately and maybe I am. Insulin is a hormone and not a drug so there is not always linear correlation between how much insulin you give and the blood glucose numbers. It's not like a drug where I take more of it (say, like a pain killer, and I get a direct response from my body.) With insulin, often you won't see much change until you start getting closer to the cat's "good dose." And with insulin, there are so many factors at play that influence the BG too. And in Victor's case you also have the ear problems, the pred, the higher carb diet, etc. At this point you have to keep plugging along.
Having said that, remember, I do understand. I cannot tell you how many days I would test my Darcy's BG and say, "this insulin is doing NOTHING! ABSOLUTELY NOTHING!" Sometimes, I just cried.
 
Am I repeating myself... I've answered so many people lately and maybe I am. Insulin is a hormone and not a drug so there is not always linear correlation between how much insulin you give and the blood glucose numbers. It's not like a drug where I take more of it (say, like a pain killer, and I get a direct response from my body.) With insulin, often you won't see much change until you start getting closer to the cat's "good dose." And with insulin, there are so many factors at play that influence the BG too. And in Victor's case you also have the ear problems, the pred, the higher carb diet, etc. At this point you have to keep plugging along.
Having said that, remember, I do understand. I cannot tell you how many days I would test my Darcy's BG and say, "this insulin is doing NOTHING! ABSOLUTELY NOTHING!" Sometimes, I just cried.
I get it- I have just been told about the depot effect when I started posting on here- and now we are into our 2nd week of insulin and I feel like I should see something by now...and my first DSH developed diabetes over a decade ago and caninsulin was used primarily then and I remember seeing immediate effects with it- so I am struggling- I have a cat who is clearly uncomfortable suffering from a crazy yeast infection in his ears, pred diabetes and balance issues all because of these things and I just feel I'm trying to help him and at this point nothing is working...it's devestating.......he's suffering.....
 
I get it- I have just been told about the depot effect when I started posting on here- and now we are into our 2nd week of insulin and I feel like I should see something by now...and my first DSH developed diabetes over a decade ago and caninsulin was used primarily then and I remember seeing immediate effects with it- so I am struggling- I have a cat who is clearly uncomfortable suffering from a crazy yeast infection in his ears, pred diabetes and balance issues all because of these things and I just feel I'm trying to help him and at this point nothing is working...it's devestating.......he's suffering.....
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
This isn't low carb. It might be lower carb than other dry foods but the only low carb dry foods are the 3 I listed above.
What about Crave Dry Food- I've read this on a few places and I can get it on Wednesday in store at Pet Smart? Just looking for a short term solution?
 
And he was literally just walking on his cat wheel and peeed on it! Ugh.....I quickly through a urine strip on it- it's negative for ketones....Ph 7- SG 1.035+ Glucose .25 g/ul....anything else relevant I should post?
 
All good with the strip tests. Let's see what Wendy has to say later. I see how hard you are trying to fix this. Hang in there.:bighug:
 
And he was literally just walking on his cat wheel and peeed on it! Ugh.....I quickly through a urine strip on it- it's negative for ketones....Ph 7- SG 1.035+ Glucose .25 g/ul....anything else relevant I should post?
Gosh why would he do that? Do you think it’s just because he feels terrible? His urine strip results are fine. Excellent that he doesn’t have ketones.
 
Sorry, I just realized you are in Canada.

You can buy Young Again online through their Canadian distributor:
https://jlcm-enterprises.myshopify.com/

I could find Wysong Epigen 90 on Amazon:
https://www.amazon.ca/Wysong-Epigen-Canine-Feline-Diet/dp/B00KE3IRN0?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20

Dr. Elsey's is available online on Petsmart.
https://www.petsmart.ca/cat/food-an...rain-free-adult-cat-food---chicken-57972.html

Not sure if you will be able to have them shipped to your location. They are also expensive foods!

I just spent some time this morning reaching out to some more pet stores for this dry kibble- seems Dr Elsey's litter is stocked but not the food- and they've never even heard of the other two brands ugh!
 
The are all low carb. Chicken is the lowest at 3%. The rest are around 8.5% carbs.
Dr. Elsey's publishes nutrional values on their website:
https://www.drelseys.com/wp-content/uploads/2022/03/drelseyskibblechart32322.pdf
Look what I found in store at a Pet Smart about 2 hours South of me! Headed there tomorrow to get it!

upload_2022-4-12_10-13-13.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2022-4-12_10-13-13.png
    upload_2022-4-12_10-13-13.png
    237.7 KB · Views: 414
I just spent some time this morning reaching out to some more pet stores for this dry kibble- seems Dr Elsey's litter is stocked but not the food- and they've never even heard of the other two brands ugh!
I will check out your labs. Sorry about the food. Young Again will send samples. Dr. Elsey's Clean Protein is a big hit around here -- do you have a place that you can order it from. I know Amazon usually stocks it. I'm not sure about other Canadian retailers who may stock/ship it.
 
I will check out your labs. Sorry about the food. Young Again will send samples. Dr. Elsey's Clean Protein is a big hit around here -- do you have a place that you can order it from. I know Amazon usually stocks it. I'm not sure about other Canadian retailers who may stock/ship it.
I found some at a petsmart 2 hours south from me- I will head there tomorrow- see post above !
 
You know, I use this as a "food topper" sometimes with my civvies (non-diabetic cats). They love it. I wonder if you could try using it this way to start introducing wet food to your boy. Put a little wet food under the kibble and get him to eat the kibble and hopefully he will eat the wet food underneath.... gradually adding in a little more wet at a time? Who knows if it will work? Cats are so smart about their food!
 
These Bengals are SUPER food fussy....I will try to get him eating this new dry before I even think about trying to get him to eat some wet. I will pick up a few wet cans though at the same time to have on hand but I really have NO confidence that he will every eat wet food- but I"m still willing to try.
 
These Bengals are SUPER food fussy....I will try to get him eating this new dry before I even think about trying to get him to eat some wet. I will pick up a few wet cans though at the same time to have on hand but I really have NO confidence that he will every eat wet food- but I"m still willing to try.
Yep. I totally agree. We like to follow the "make one change at a time" rule here, too! :-)
 
One thing to think about when trying to get him to eat wet food (later on) is to use Forti-Flora as a food topper. It's marketed as a probiotic, but it's really not great for that as it only has one strain of beneficial bacteria. What Forti-Flora is good for is getting cats to eat. Most cats absolutely go crazy for the taste of Forti-Flora.
 
There's not a whole lot of data there in his labs. It was a limited panel. Are you sure of that phosphorus number. That 1.32 is extremely low. Can you verify that number? And did they not check BUN. I don't see how there can be a BUN/Creatinine ration without a BUN. Also check that creatinine number.

I'll check in later on. Right now my cat Ginger is jumping up on me and now sitting in front of me giving me that look! She says I'd better get off the computer and feed her!
 
Back
Top