This isn't low carb. It might be lower carb than other dry foods but the only low carb dry foods are the 3 I listed above.He's eating about 80% low carb Performin Ultra dry food
Perofrmin Ultra Grain Free is estimated to be 23% carbs.....He's eating about 80% low carb Performin Ultra dry food.....he actually hasn't ate anything between my AMPS number this morning and the +3 number of 24.4/439.....
Sorry, I just realized you are in Canada.None of those foods are available anywhere near where I live- I went into two cities in two provinces on the weekend to search- so I"m doing the best I can with the dry food that I have.....
Low carb is less than 10%Perofrmin Ultra Grain Free is estimated to be 23% carbs.....
Nope. All dry foods are high carb except the three I listed!I don't think the RC Oral or Urinary are any lower carbs?
@Bandit's Mom do you know if the Dr. Elsey's Clean Protein Rabbit flavor is also low in carbs? I've been giving it to my gang lately (for treats or as a food topper sometimes) and they LOVE it.How is it going with a possible switch to a low carb dry food? If you have kibble addicts, there are low carb options in dry food as well – Young Again, Dr. Elsey’s Cleanprotein (chicken flavour) and Wysong Epigen 90.
Link to previous post:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/victor-amps-21-7-391.261827/
Yeast infections are so tough to deal with in the ears. How frequently do they need to pack/re-pack the ears?Ok So the bacteria culture is back- there is not bacteria- it is a yeast infection in the ears....this is what it was back in October too.....why are we getting the yeast infections when weaning from Pred? Vet says the ear packing we did on Monday is the only treatment no anitbiotic needed obviously because of it being fungal not bacterial....I came home to a pee on the floor which hasn't happened before after 3 hours away- stuck a pee stick in it and seen a bit of glucose in 1.00...what can I do to bring him down quickly? I get the food and I am working on sourcing and getting some quicker but in the mean time?
Every 3-4 weeks as needed.....This is likely associated with the pred induced diabetes? I feel like I"m in a vicious circle and I can't help my cat!Yeast infections are so tough to deal with in the ears. How frequently do they need to pack/re-pack the ears?
I understand that feeling very well. You will be able to help him in time. Please don't lose hope. My cat had acromegaly and was up to over 40 units at one point. I totally understand that feeling that the insulin is doing nothing and that nothing I ever did made a difference. Wendy helped me so much. It's going to get better. I know you don't believe that now, but hang in there for Victor's sake. He knows you love him and that's what matters so much.Every 3-4 weeks as needed.....This is likely associated with the pred induced diabetes? I feel like I"m in a vicious circle and I can't help my cat!
It is low carb, 4%. It does contain chicken if that’s a problem for any of your cats though. Pork too.@Bandit's Mom do you know if the Dr. Elsey's Clean Protein Rabbit flavor is also low in carbs? I've been giving it to my gang lately (for treats or as a food topper sometimes) and they LOVE it.
She can’t feeding dry food.Your spreadsheet says you are following the SLGS protocol, I believe. You do a lot of testing. If I were you, I would follow the TR protocol so that I could increase doses every 6 cycles, as necessary. Somebody tagged Wendy already. She will stop by today, I imagine.
Yes. Thanks, Elise! Yes, it has chicken, I know. I don't think I noticed the pork. I've got a kitty here who was just diagnosed as having IBD. He's already on pred, but the vet says to do a hypoallergenic diet. I haven't started that yet and really don't see how I will ever make that work with as many cats as I have here. For him, I don't even know what I would feed. There are the novel protein diets available commercially. I don't really want to go with Z/D and the like... oh, but I'd better stop because I don't want to hijack this thread. Please forgive me for digressing too much. I really want to see Victor doing well, and that's why I am here to begin with.It is low carb, 4%. It does contain chicken if that’s a problem for any of your cats though. Pork too.
OH right, thank you! I forgot about the dry food in this case. I was just looking at the SS and thinking, changes need to be made more quickly here. Hopefully the switch to lower carb dry food will help at first and maybe even later on she will be able to transition him (eventually) to wet food.She can’t feeding dry food.
Am I repeating myself... I've answered so many people lately and maybe I am. Insulin is a hormone and not a drug so there is not always linear correlation between how much insulin you give and the blood glucose numbers. It's not like a drug where I take more of it (say, like a pain killer, and I get a direct response from my body.) With insulin, often you won't see much change until you start getting closer to the cat's "good dose." And with insulin, there are so many factors at play that influence the BG too. And in Victor's case you also have the ear problems, the pred, the higher carb diet, etc. At this point you have to keep plugging along.Getting him changed to low carb dry food is going to take weeks....shipping delays.....feeding is a big issue here because of all the others having health issues as well....I just feel I should see something minor with the insulin and I'm seeing nothing....
I get it- I have just been told about the depot effect when I started posting on here- and now we are into our 2nd week of insulin and I feel like I should see something by now...and my first DSH developed diabetes over a decade ago and caninsulin was used primarily then and I remember seeing immediate effects with it- so I am struggling- I have a cat who is clearly uncomfortable suffering from a crazy yeast infection in his ears, pred diabetes and balance issues all because of these things and I just feel I'm trying to help him and at this point nothing is working...it's devestating.......he's suffering.....Am I repeating myself... I've answered so many people lately and maybe I am. Insulin is a hormone and not a drug so there is not always linear correlation between how much insulin you give and the blood glucose numbers. It's not like a drug where I take more of it (say, like a pain killer, and I get a direct response from my body.) With insulin, often you won't see much change until you start getting closer to the cat's "good dose." And with insulin, there are so many factors at play that influence the BG too. And in Victor's case you also have the ear problems, the pred, the higher carb diet, etc. At this point you have to keep plugging along.
Having said that, remember, I do understand. I cannot tell you how many days I would test my Darcy's BG and say, "this insulin is doing NOTHING! ABSOLUTELY NOTHING!" Sometimes, I just cried.
I get it- I have just been told about the depot effect when I started posting on here- and now we are into our 2nd week of insulin and I feel like I should see something by now...and my first DSH developed diabetes over a decade ago and caninsulin was used primarily then and I remember seeing immediate effects with it- so I am struggling- I have a cat who is clearly uncomfortable suffering from a crazy yeast infection in his ears, pred diabetes and balance issues all because of these things and I just feel I'm trying to help him and at this point nothing is working...it's devestating.......he's suffering.....




What about Crave Dry Food- I've read this on a few places and I can get it on Wednesday in store at Pet Smart? Just looking for a short term solution?This isn't low carb. It might be lower carb than other dry foods but the only low carb dry foods are the 3 I listed above.
@tiffmaxee do you have data on this food?What about Crave Dry Food- I've read this on a few places and I can get it on Wednesday in store at Pet Smart? Just looking for a short term solution?
Sorry about thatSigh....26.6
Gosh why would he do that? Do you think it’s just because he feels terrible? His urine strip results are fine. Excellent that he doesn’t have ketones.And he was literally just walking on his cat wheel and peeed on it! Ugh.....I quickly through a urine strip on it- it's negative for ketones....Ph 7- SG 1.035+ Glucose .25 g/ul....anything else relevant I should post?
The are all low carb. Chicken is the lowest at 3%. The rest are around 8.5% carbs.@Bandit's Mom do you know if the Dr. Elsey's Clean Protein Rabbit flavor is also low in carbs? I've been giving it to my gang lately (for treats or as a food topper sometimes) and they LOVE it.
Sorry, I just realized you are in Canada.
You can buy Young Again online through their Canadian distributor:
https://jlcm-enterprises.myshopify.com/
I could find Wysong Epigen 90 on Amazon:
https://www.amazon.ca/Wysong-Epigen-Canine-Feline-Diet/dp/B00KE3IRN0?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20
Dr. Elsey's is available online on Petsmart.
https://www.petsmart.ca/cat/food-an...rain-free-adult-cat-food---chicken-57972.html
Not sure if you will be able to have them shipped to your location. They are also expensive foods!
Look what I found in store at a Pet Smart about 2 hours South of me! Headed there tomorrow to get it!The are all low carb. Chicken is the lowest at 3%. The rest are around 8.5% carbs.
Dr. Elsey's publishes nutrional values on their website:
https://www.drelseys.com/wp-content/uploads/2022/03/drelseyskibblechart32322.pdf
I will check out your labs. Sorry about the food. Young Again will send samples. Dr. Elsey's Clean Protein is a big hit around here -- do you have a place that you can order it from. I know Amazon usually stocks it. I'm not sure about other Canadian retailers who may stock/ship it.I just spent some time this morning reaching out to some more pet stores for this dry kibble- seems Dr Elsey's litter is stocked but not the food- and they've never even heard of the other two brands ugh!
Oh, you found it! I just saw this. Fantastic.Look what I found in store at a Pet Smart about 2 hours South of me! Headed there tomorrow to get it!
View attachment 64035
I found some at a petsmart 2 hours south from me- I will head there tomorrow- see post above !I will check out your labs. Sorry about the food. Young Again will send samples. Dr. Elsey's Clean Protein is a big hit around here -- do you have a place that you can order it from. I know Amazon usually stocks it. I'm not sure about other Canadian retailers who may stock/ship it.
Yep. I totally agree. We like to follow the "make one change at a time" rule here, too!These Bengals are SUPER food fussy....I will try to get him eating this new dry before I even think about trying to get him to eat some wet. I will pick up a few wet cans though at the same time to have on hand but I really have NO confidence that he will every eat wet food- but I"m still willing to try.