Vengeace advice on dosing etc.

Ummlee and Vengeance

Member Since 2020
so new thread sorry I ask a lot of help... so he was doing great numbers and now seems to be rising again... btw when I put skin/fat its the width of the line on the syrine so not a huge amount over or below 4... I know blues are good etc but I would like to get him to low bules and greens like all of us would lol should I go a bit heavier back to the full 4.25 again or fatter than I have been giving sorta 4.15 thanks and sorry to be such a pain
 
so new thread sorry I ask a lot of help... so he was doing great numbers and now seems to be rising again... btw when I put skin/fat its the width of the line on the syrine so not a huge amount over or below 4... I know blues are good etc but I would like to get him to low bules and greens like all of us would lol should I go a bit heavier back to the full 4.25 again or fatter than I have been giving sorta 4.15 thanks and sorry to be such a pain
Hi Lee, how are you doing? You are totally not a pain! That’s what we’re here for. Let me look at his spreadsheet and see if I have any ideas about where you should go from here.

We don’t usually recommend tweaking the doses with fat or skinny doses until or unless the cat is already on a really small dose and is closely regulated. It’s usually best to be really consistent and try to shoot the same dose each time unless you are intending to shoot an actual lower dose and then it’s best to just do that as a standard dose and not a fat or skinny dose. I’m gonna look at his spreadsheet now.
 
You are seeing some really good numbers! I am very encouraged! I really think that those fat and skinny doses are not helping us to get a clear picture of what we need to do. What I would like to see— if you could do this for maybe the next three days — is to shoot a consistent 4 units (not fat, not skinny) and see how he does. Now, having said that, if he has a really low pre-shot you may need to shoot a reduced dose. If he has a pre-shot that is near 100, I would reduce the dose by .25 units and shoot 3.75 units (as long as you can monitor the cycle.) I noticed that when he had a pre-shot of 79 recently you skipped the shot and that didn’t end up being the best thing for him, although I do completely understand! Do you have any flexibility to stall the shot a little bit and not give him any food for 30 minutes or an hour — or is that going to mess you up too much with your schedule?
 
You are seeing some really good numbers! I am very encouraged! I really think that those fat and skinny doses are not helping us to get a clear picture of what we need to do. What I would like to see— if you could do this for maybe the next three days — is to shoot a consistent 4 units (not fat, not skinny) and see how he does. Now, having said that, if he has a really low pre-shot you may need to shoot a reduced dose. If he has a pre-shot that is near 100, I would reduce the dose by .25 units and shoot 3.75 units (as long as you can monitor the cycle.) I noticed that when he had a pre-shot of 79 recently you skipped the shot and that didn’t end up being the best thing for him, although I do completely understand! Do you have any flexibility to stall the shot a little bit and not give him any food for 30 minutes or an hour — or is that going to mess you up too much with your schedule?
Nope his schedule is my schedule hes first on my priority list always.. as you can tell from all the data I dont sleep much I am keeping an eye on him .. .thankfully when he has went under 50 no symptoms etc... I keep a tight eye on it when I think hes going to maybe go up or down but sheesh he cant pick a time to do that sometimes its 4hrs after shot sometimes its 8 or 9... I will do straight 4 for the next 3 cycles starting tonight and see how he does... I do have a non insulin dose question should I post that in the normal area so other people who have info on it might know... about bowel movements etc...
 
Nope his schedule is my schedule hes first on my priority list always.. as you can tell from all the data I dont sleep much I am keeping an eye on him .. .thankfully when he has went under 50 no symptoms etc... I keep a tight eye on it when I think hes going to maybe go up or down but sheesh he cant pick a time to do that sometimes its 4hrs after shot sometimes its 8 or 9... I will do straight 4 for the next 3 cycles starting tonight and see how he does... I do have a non insulin dose question should I post that in the normal area so other people who have info on it might know... about bowel movements etc...
Sure, you can post on feline health if you want to. But what is it? I can maybe help you.
 
He had a good cycle last night. But tell me… since I can’t see just from the numbers alone… what was his eating like last night? Was he eating normally —what did he eat and at what hours in the cycle did he eat it? No criticism here, I’m just trying to interpret the cycle.
 
I still would shoot 3.75 units if his pre-shot is around 100. Or I would stall a little bit and let his BG come up closer to what you shot last night and then do the 4 units.
 
@Suzanne & Darcy sorry havent gotten back to computer till today.. well to post ... his eating is always normal always for him never enough food lol getting snacks at +2 and +4 of freeze dried chicken and beef hearts ( 75% of the time in the Am) his numbers to me look like they are getting back higher and not getting as many blue and No greens in the last 2 cycles its staying sorta tight in upper range... I think he might need to the Fat 4 or 4.25 ???

other thing about BM is he has very large ones like one piece will be 5" I do check them being he has pika and eats every bit of cat fur etc he can find around the house so at times it chained together but other he does have just small single pieces so despite drinking a LOT of water still I think hes kinda constapated due to the inconsistency in his BM ... I was thinking on trying giving him some sprinkles of mirilax no flavor as I have read other people doing and wondering if this is a good idea.. he will not touch anything with pumkin near it or squash or etc tried that in the past .. well he would eat the pumpkin treats I had gotten him but I think I posted them on here and there was an ingredient that wasnt good for sugar cats...
 

Attachments

  • pumpkin.jpg
    pumpkin.jpg
    204.5 KB · Views: 11
@Suzanne & Darcy sorry havent gotten back to computer till today.. well to post ... his eating is always normal always for him never enough food lol getting snacks at +2 and +4 of freeze dried chicken and beef hearts ( 75% of the time in the Am) his numbers to me look like they are getting back higher and not getting as many blue and No greens in the last 2 cycles its staying sorta tight in upper range... I think he might need to the Fat 4 or 4.25 ???

other thing about BM is he has very large ones like one piece will be 5" I do check them being he has pika and eats every bit of cat fur etc he can find around the house so at times it chained together but other he does have just small single pieces so despite drinking a LOT of water still I think hes kinda constapated due to the inconsistency in his BM ... I was thinking on trying giving him some sprinkles of mirilax no flavor as I have read other people doing and wondering if this is a good idea.. he will not touch anything with pumkin near it or squash or etc tried that in the past .. well he would eat the pumpkin treats I had gotten him but I think I posted them on here and there was an ingredient that wasnt good for sugar cats...
Yes. Those treats have wheat flour so probably too many carbs, although you could ask the manufacturer for info maybe?

MiraLax is completely acceptable for diabetic cats. You just want, of course – – you already know this – – the plain unflavored MiraLAX. I actually buy a generic version of it from Kroger. But it’s perfectly fine to try it. You pretty much just start with the smallest dose once a day … wait a few days and see how it goes and you can increase from there. Start with 1/8 of a teaspoon in one of his meals and then see if it makes a difference. If not, you can go to 1/8 teaspoon twice a day and, you know, I’ve had cats who needed it as much as a fourth of a teaspoon, but every cat is different. You just want to go slowly with it so you don’t give him diarrhea. What does he eat with his pica?
 
Yes. Those treats have wheat flour so probably too many carbs, although you could ask the manufacturer for info maybe?

MiraLax is completely acceptable for diabetic cats. You just want, of course – – you already know this – – the plain unflavored MiraLAX. I actually buy a generic version of it from Kroger. But it’s perfectly fine to try it. You pretty much just start with the smallest dose once a day … wait a few days and see how it goes and you can increase from there. Start with 1/8 of a teaspoon in one of his meals and then see if it makes a difference. If not, you can go to 1/8 teaspoon twice a day and, you know, I’ve had cats who needed it as much as a fourth of a teaspoon, but every cat is different. You just want to go slowly with it so you don’t give him diarrhea. What does he eat with his pica?
yeah I was going to just get the generic walmart one.. unflavored... yeah I will contact them and see if they have even seen about if they are ok for diabetic cats... his Pica he will put anything he can get into his mouth into his belly.. I had to get rid of scratching posts all together and his 8ft tall cat tree he was eating the rope off it.. he will find anything he can and swallow it then most of the time he throws up like if he finds paper etc ... I have caught him eating string and etc .. but its mostly fur off him and his brother then I cant even keep up with them shedding by brushing there is more fur 20 minutes later IF I am lucky he will throw it up.. he developed pica and over grooming his stomach after they shaved his stomach and etc when he had his first crystal and bladder blockage and they had to do ultra sounds .. oddly my brothers cat who passed last year did the same thing after she was fixed she over groomed and threw up giant hair balls she was a very long hair mix.. I miss her she was my buddy at their house ( which is right next door so I am over there all the time) their other cat they put down a few years ago at 17 oddly didnt like me and the other cat they have now shes like 3/4 is bipolar lol one second she wants pets loving a milasecond later shes trying to tear you apart lol...
 
Hey, how is Vengi doing? I looked on Saturday morning and saw his good numbers from Friday night, but nothing more since then. Is he all right. I was going to say to just go ahead and increase to 4.25 because I know how concerned you were about his BG creeping up, but then I saw the Friday night BG and he went low (not too low.) He was due to clear a bounce that night anyway (flat yellow cycle all day Friday) so he was going down.
 
Hey, how is Vengi doing? I looked on Saturday morning and saw his good numbers from Friday night, but nothing more since then. Is he all right. I was going to say to just go ahead and increase to 4.25 because I know how concerned you were about his BG creeping up, but then I saw the Friday night BG and he went low (not too low.) He was due to clear a bounce that night anyway (flat yellow cycle all day Friday) so he was going down.
just updated been crazy few days not Venge related lol.. I upped it to the fat 4 and thanks for looking in I appreciate it.. how are your cats doing?
 
@Suzanne & Darcy @Marje and Gracie ughh so Venge's numbers are making me want to pully my hair out... any thoughts??? 5 months and no where near regulated seems like every time he doing good ...poof it just goes away
I think you need to give him more time as this dose. He’s only had six cycles, been down to 57, and is bouncing. This is where patience comes in.

Personally, I think doing skinny and fat doses are a waste of time. It’s better to increase and decrease by 0.25u.

But, since he’s had some green nadirs, give him at least four more cycles. And take a deep breath during these bounces 😉
 
Yes. The “poof” is the bounce. You cannot increase his dose at this point because you have been seeing greens so you need to hold the dose longer. I agree with Marje.
 
Good afternoon, Lee. I’m am just checking in on Venge. It looks like he had some good numbers with the increase. Then he bounced. How is everything today? Could you update his SS?

How is the constipation?
 
Last edited:
@Suzanne & Darcy very bouncy no idea but way high... its strange at 4 he was keeping lots of greens and blues then a bounce and since then most yellows and now pinks... could it be too high at 4.5 and his system is in a constant bounce cycle? where its storing it up? his constipation comes and goes the other day it was softer than usual so I have been holding back any sprinkle to see... I am trying to figure out why hes being so hard to regulate that he will get to a good place then BAM off all over the place again... he shows no signs of anything he did have some lower back danduff for about 2 weeks that cleared up .. he does have hyperesthesia Syndrome which has gotten worse over the years it use to be just at base of his tail now its almost all the way up his back.. if you pet of scratch him there he starts licking the air and himself and anything around and at times you can see his back twitch... but his coat is shiny hes active well as much as he wants to be for being 13 he comes when called ( yup he knows his name and comes when I call his name from anywhere in the house and also if I whistle I trained him lol ) loves on me as normal no throwing up besides his trick to get more food no diarreah nothing that seems bad besides he has a studder when he breathes( which comes and goes sometimes nadda sometimes very noticable when hes purring etc but others hes silent and oddly his brother no blood lol Nightwing the maine coon mix makes similar noises at times so I think they have allergies to match mine lol) that the vet has never actually checked checked once she said asthma then next no then next maybe then dunno I think he has allergies except when he does do a asthma kinda looking couch which are very infrequent... hes a very talkative cat so we have lots of convos lol hes never lethargic even when his numbers are low he gets lazy but one hes in a cardboard box... youre on his terms he is in chill mode... yeah more info just rambling... just trying to figure things out its been almost 6 months since he came out of remission I have not taken him back to the vet being I know shes gonna jump me for messing with his dose but wondering do I need to take him back in just to get new blood work etc... sorry was in a ramble brain dump
 
It couldn’t hurt to take him in for some bloodwork. But seriously what do they expect you to do… hold his dose for six months or something unless they tell you to change it. I don’t get that.
 
It couldn’t hurt to take him in for some bloodwork. But seriously what do they expect you to do… hold his dose for six months or something unless they tell you to change it. I don’t get that.
they dont expect you to test him or change it ... and you would honestly think when I asked them to change my last refill to chewy for his insulin they would have said.. hey bring him in lets test etc.. NOPE .. same thing as first diagnosis in 2020 when he almost died they just gave me bottle and sent me on my way after I paid the around 10k in bills... but thankfully that time he poped into remission in like 3 weeks after they pretty much told me he needed to be let go being his kidney function etc had went to almost nil and etc but I said NOOO you do whatever it takes and I brought him home and with this sites help got him in remission and gained back 7+ lbs lol and I really wish there were other closer vets being I know no way he would deal with a hour or 2 hour car ride and being in a new place.. he doesnt like them they have to gas him every time.. and they did do full xrays and ultrasounds when he had pancratitis 2024/2025 I forget and said everything was perfectly normal heart, lungs, kidneys just the pancreatis which then he was throwing up constantly uncontrollable diarreah etc...
 
Anyway…. Can we see where he is this morning and how he does on 4.75? I’m with you in wanting to see him in good numbers, but I think it would be good to give him another cycle or two on 4.75. He tends to bounce for two or three cycles before coming back down.

Is it AMPS time yet?
 
Back
Top