Uncle Charlie's Updates_3 | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB

Uncle Charlie's Updates_3

Emerie & Uncle Charlie

Member since 2025
Uncle Charlie's Updates_2

-carried over from previous thread

@Suzanne & Darcy
So yes, technically he has earned another reduction down to .5 units, but you had already taken a reduction before it was earned so I didn’t think you should take another one. This is why I suggested a switch to the Modified ProZinc Method. Charlie is doing so incredibly well on this dose right now of .75 units — with very consistent numbers— that I didn’t want to rock the boat and change anything. You can take the reduction down to .5 units at the next shot, however, and see how it goes. You will be off for the weekend! Maybe it will be best until you finish the training anyway. What do you think?

Hmmm, I don't know. What would I be doing differently if he were on the Modified Method? Is it a significant change that might rock the boat? My tether to the computer will be cut officially on the 22nd.
 
Uncle Charlie's Updates_2

-carried over from previous thread

@Suzanne & Darcy


Hmmm, I don't know. What would I be doing differently if he were on the Modified Method? Is it a significant change that might rock the boat? My tether to the computer will be cut officially on the 22nd.
The significant difference between the two would be that we can increase doses more quickly without having to wait a week (remember reductions are taken any time they are needed.) It does not mean that we must change does because that decision is made strictly by looking at the numbers. It just gives you an option to increase without having to wait a full week. Of course you have to get at least one mid-cycle test in per cycle (morning and evening) but you already test enough I believe to do that. I see you have skipped a few evening tests in the last few days, but even a +2 test would qualify.)

I don’t anticipate Charlie needing any increases in dose right now anyway. It’s more the reductions right now that we are dealing with, but that is pertinent to the decision making process because under the SLGS method he has earned a reduction down to .5 units. With MPM he has not earned a reduction down to .5.
 
I don’t anticipate Charlie needing any increases in dose right now anyway. It’s more the reductions right now that we are dealing with, but that is pertinent to the decision making process because under the SLGS method he has earned a reduction down to .5 units. With MPM he has not earned a reduction down to .5.

*thinking*

Maybe then I will do the reduction tonight (already gave him the 0.75 this morning) and see where it goes. Thanks, I've missed being here. Y'all are busy with all the new sugar babies. So many of us.

How are yours?
 
I am really happy with his numbers on the .75 unit dose, but then you still have another week or two (to the 22nd really??) of the training so maybe take the reduction to .5 now (or on Monday if you are around this weekend.)
 
Hi, update time.

Charlie's had a BG drop tonight to 62 (!) at +2 after his PM shot, very odd because his PMPS was 156. We are in the test/snack cycle now to get him back up.

I guess that earns him a reduction? Or microdosing (I read the info on that), or switch to the other method? :oops:
 
Last edited:
Yes 😊 Good luck to me trying to eyeball that on the syringe, lols. Is that the lowest we can go? What happens if he throws another very low number, holding the dose?
No. That is not the lowest you can go with dose. But until his AMPS and PMPS come down, I doubt it will be in his best interest to reduce. We will just have to see how he does and may need to adjust carbs at breakfast and dinner. If he goes under 68 on the Alpha Trak again, first re-check the BG with another test strip. He jumped up a lot last night with just a small low carb snack.
 
No. That is not the lowest you can go with dose. But until his AMPS and PMPS come down, I doubt it will be in his best interest to reduce. We will just have to see how he does and may need to adjust carbs at breakfast and dinner. If he goes under 68 on the Alpha Trak again, first re-check the BG with another test strip. He jumped up a lot last night with just a small low carb snack.

Yes I was a little taken aback by that jump.

I just ran in and poked him a little before the normal check time (on a break from training) and he's at 103. I'll be able to check him again in an hour or so.
 
Update:

Well, now it seems Charlie's numbers are rising a bit. I was only able to get one reading mid-cycle today, will be able to do more tomorrow and over the weekend. But, only blues, no more greens. Will he return to green after adjusting to the lower dose? I didn't like seeing his pmps up to 195.
 
It looks like he may need a little more insulin. Let’s see how he does today. I don’t like his PMPS last night. It was too close to a yellow. Overall, we just need to remind ourselves how much better he’s doing now than when he began. Just a short while ago he was on such a large dose compared to now and he had so many 400s and 300s.
 
It looks like he may need a little more insulin. Let’s see how he does today. I don’t like his PMPS last night. It was too close to a yellow. Overall, we just need to remind ourselves how much better he’s doing now than when he began. Just a short while ago he was on such a large dose compared to now and he had so many 400s and 300s.

Agree, he is doing so much better! His AMPS was still 191, so maybe he will need a touch more, maybe back up to .5 tomorrow?

Edited to add: He just had a 101 at +3.
 
Last edited:
I think you can try taking him back up to .5 units on Saturday. Another option is to get some U-100 syringes and fine tune the dose. With the U-100 syringes you can draw a .4 dose. Of course, I am sure you don’t have those on hand so it’s just food for thought right now. Since he’s on such a small dose right now, you could try fattening the .25 dose to shoot a .25F. This is tricky because you are already eyeballing the .25 dose. If you want to try it, I would try drawing just a tiny bit less than .5. If that dose doesn’t work for him, you can always go back up to the .5 dose. What do you think?

Finally… I have no idea why this is writing in bold print this morning 🙂
 
OK. What does "flattening the dose" mean?

I dunno, if he is still only in the blue at mid-cycle today, I might want to take it back up a teeny bit. I can watch and test him more closely this weekend. But is the criteria for dose change to wait 7 days before you do that?

Bold text = you feel strongly about it? :cat:

Hope your furbies are having a good day.
 
Fattening the dose…. Not flattening the dose. So to fatten up a dose you draw just a little more (which in this case is probably going to look more like a skinny .5) When a cat is on a small dose like .25 you can try fattening up or skinnying the dose. I think it’s easier to think of it as a skinny .5 where the plunger is just below the .5 line.

Then you write .25F in your spreadsheet to indicate the dose.

I am not opposed to going back up to the full .5 dose and we probably should try that first, but in the event we find that .5 is sending him below 68 on your Alpha Trak meter and .25 is keeping him mostly in blue, we will need to try to fine tune the dose (which as I said can also be done with U-100 syringes and a conversion chart. With U-100 syringes, the doses are .2, .4, etc.
 
Fattening the dose…. Not flattening the dose. So to fatten up a dose you draw just a little more (which in this case is probably going to look more like a skinny .5) When a cat is on a small dose like .25 you can try fattening up or skinnying the dose. I think it’s easier to think of it as a skinny .5 where the plunger is just below the .5 line.

Then you write .25F in your spreadsheet to indicate the dose.

I am not opposed to going back up to the full .5 dose and we probably should try that first, but in the event we find that .5 is sending him below 68 on your Alpha Trak meter and .25 is keeping him mostly in blue, we will need to try to fine tune the dose (which as I said can also be done with U-100 syringes and a conversion chart. With U-100 syringes, the doses are .2, .4, etc.

Ah I see.

This morning his AMPS was 158. I 'fattened' the dose, and his +3 was 96. Seems to have worked. :D
 
He seems to be staying mostly in blue now on the fat dose. Are you training today?

Well, yes and no. In the last phase, which means I'm working independently under a close eye. Next week, I can schedule as I please and will be able to work in testing times.

His +4 just now was 104 so just a teensy bit out of the green. It's really hard eyeballing those microadjustments.
 
Well, yes and no. In the last phase, which means I'm working independently under a close eye. Next week, I can schedule as I please and will be able to work in testing times.

His +4 just now was 104 so just a teensy bit out of the green. It's really hard eyeballing those microadjustments.
Good. Well hopefully just keep things as they are for this week. Then, perhaps take him back up to .5 when you have more freedom. Also, I want to see how things settle on this dose.
 
Hi, checking in. :)

I switched Charlie's dose to more of a .5 skinny this morning. His nadir is 90, so good reading. Hoping he has another green reading before this eve. Otherwise, I guess switch him to a full .5 this weekend?
 
Hi Emerie! If you would like to give Modified ProZinc Method a try and get his nadirs down below 90 and see how he will do then, yes, increase to .5.

We may as well see if we can get him into remission. However, we must also keep him safe, and now that you can test him a little more I feel good about that.

You’ve done an excellent job, especially considering the training that has had you stuck at the computer almost all day.
 
Hi there, doing a little check-in and asking for advice.

So Charlie's doing well, but I don't know how to get his numbers more green across the board. Last week, his amps have been a little high; his mid-cycles are mostly good, but by evening, he's back up again. I'm still doing 0.5 F, maybe a little bit fatter.

Wondering if I should go up a little more? Most of his blue readings are under 150, although we had readings higher than that a couple of times over the last week.
 
Hello Emerie! I hope things are good with you and the new job.

I would like to say to go up to .75 units, but before doing that, I would like to see a few days of +6 tests, just to make sure he’s not nadiring a little later sometimes.
 
Hello Emerie! I hope things are good with you and the new job.

I would like to say to go up to .75 units, but before doing that, I would like to see a few days of +6 tests, just to make sure he’s not nadiring a little later sometimes.

Okie dokie, I'll get a few at +6 and proceed that way. Thanks! I hope your little pride is doing well and stable.

Job is good, but it's an adjustment. It's been a while since I had to do so much talking; I forgot how exhausting people are. 😩
 
Hi there - little update:

Charlie is spiking some, and I wonder if he's bouncing? I raised his dose today to 0.75 after no downward movement in his numbers over the last couple of days. Now his PMPS was 232. What now? Arrrrgh. :banghead:

His appetite is good. I did notice a bit more drinking at the fountain yesterday. There's no change in the urine output volume, which had never decreased significantly. Otherwise seems OK.
 
Last edited:
Welp, he didn't settle in. 😞 He's trending under 200 mostly but still too high.

I've raised him to 1u now, after no downward movement at 0.75. I'm flumoxed. His +2.5 today is 135 so not much improvement. Is he due another raise in dose? I've read the modified prozinc info a few times and am trying to follow it, not sure I'm getting it though.

Suggestions?

He seems otherwise OK, except getting cranky about the ear poke; he will lay his ear down now as soon as I touch it. I can never get anything out of his clipped left ear, so I have to go for the right. I try to move it up and down so not the same spot all the time.
 
Last edited:
Hi there. He is making progress because he is now mostly in blue numbers. That’s good. You can go ahead and increase to 1.25 units now. You aren’t doing anything wrong! Sorry about the ear! :bighug:

Ahhh okie dokie! I'll increase it starting tomorrow with his AM shot so I can keep an eye. I'm glad for the encouragement, I still feel so unsure about it, though I know that's probably not reasonable at this point, lols. I was hoping he'd keep going green for awhile longer! I guess that up and down isn't so abnormal, I know people go through that. Thank you!
 
. I was hoping he'd keep going green for awhile longer! I guess that up and down isn't so abnormal, I know people go through that
You are right that it doesn’t always work out that cats stay at the same dose all the time or that the doses keep decreasing. Some cats do, but many times adjustments need to be made in either direction.

How are his numbers today?
 
You are right that it doesn’t always work out that cats stay at the same dose all the time or that the doses keep decreasing. Some cats do, but many times adjustments need to be made in either direction.

How are his numbers today?

Well about the same, I updated his chart. His pmps was in the yellow but I hope that's just a wee bounce. I wish I could put another continual monitor on him but he and his housemate play so rough, they'll just knock it out for sure, even if I put a shirt on him. "/
 
Back
Top