? Theodore 248 PMS Dose

NadineTheodore

Member Since 2023
Hello, it's been a while. Been a little sick so having trouble to take great care of Theodore and myself but it seems we are finally seeing some results with Levemir.

I just checked his glucose and it's 248, should I be lowering the dose? Just worried if he will go hypo
 
I did not, I fed him after and re-tested where his number went up a little. It's nice to see his numbers improving. I am thinking of canceling his ultrasound because I don't want to put him through that again in such short period of time
 
Did you shoot? Even with SLGS and new you can shoot over 200. If in doubt , stall, don’t feed, and recheck in 20 minutes. The pmps was higher than your +5 so you know he was coming upnamd safe to shoot.
 
I did give him his regular shoot. He is becoming stronger and feeling better. Every time I poke him for blood he bites me now. I guess he figures it’s fair game
 
Oh great. Don’t forget to fill in the spreadsheet. I thought you skipped because it was empty. I hope you continue to feel good.
 
The Lantus under "current insulin" on the top of the SS also needs to be changed. And when you have time, could you add that blank line to the US version of the spreadsheet that shows when you stopped Lantus and started Levemir. It only shows on the World version of the SS.

Your signature says you are following SLGS, so it looks like you are due for an increase tomorrow as today was day 7 on this dose. He hasn't gone below 90 to earn a reduction, and his nadirs are all above 150, so he needs that 0.25 unit increase.

Cats on Levemir tend to both onset and nadir later than those on Lantus. The "typical" onset is +4 and nadir +8, though not uncommon to nadir later than that. Neko often had her lowest numbers of the cycle right around shot time. You will have to get used to shooting later preshots because of that. Spot checks in the last half of the cycle are also a good idea, when you can get them.
 
Back
Top