Switching from vetsulin to prozinc

Status
Not open for further replies.
I think vets often worry about overwhelming their patients, so they suggest holding the dose and infrequent home testing. Our protocol definitely advocates more frequent testing and reacting to levels about every 6 cycles. I think it's a way to move faster to regulation and keep the cat safe from low numbers and hypos. It is too much for some people who come here, and they either drop off the forum or don't post often. It isn't for everyone. But I think it's the best chance for regulation and remission.

Our anecdotal evidence suggests that testing creates a bond between parent and kitty and is not a stress inducing activity. Holding a dose when it isn't working doesn't make sense to me.
 
I think Smoky has been doing a lot better on the Prozinc lately. The vetsulin made him depressed and caused huge drops and spikes in just a few hours time.
I don't trust a vet telling me to just give a certain dose for a week and rarely test the cat.
 
Smoky threw me for a loop this morning. AMPS was 214. :woot: A bounce from last nights 337? not sure if I shld give same dose of 3.5 for am?
 
Smoky threw me for a loop this morning. AMPS was 214. :woot: A bounce from last nights 337? not sure if I shld give same dose of 3.5 for am?
Wow! Great news, Lisa! Stressful though ... You might be seeing that 3.5 u is Smoky's breakthrough dose but you need more data to know for sure.

I think if you were home to monitor you could try 3.25 u. If you're at work dropping to 3.0 u might be more comfortable for you. Can you test him at lunch time? This is one of those situations where you don't want to backtrack too much but still keep him safe. Crazy-making!
 
How do I create a link to carry all my old posts over to the new one. I gave smoky 3.5 in am but I gave him a little bit of his high carb gravy food just in case. I can check him at +4.5 when I go hone for lunch.
 
How do I create a link to carry all my old posts over to the new one. I gave smoky 3.5 in am but I gave him a little bit of his high carb gravy food just in case. I can check him at +4.5 when I go hone for lunch.
I think one way to do it is to highlight and copy the URL in your browser bar at the top when you're on your current thread, start a new thread and give it a title, then paste the URL into your first entry on the new thread. I also number my threads sequentially so that helps if I want to go back to an earlier one.

Smoky should be fine with a little higher carb food on board and you being able to test at lunch time. Exciting! :D
 
He is looking good, Lisa. Yes, stressful, but try to remember - we were anxious for lower numbers. It is just scary when you start seeing what you were wanting! And it's a delicate balance to keep the momentum without putting him in low ranges when you can't be there. You are and have been erring on the side of caution and planning to catch his nadir. That is the best way to handle it and continue to work to pay for his insulin. :D
 
I agree. I'm really glad he feels better and that the ProZinc is easier on him.
Getting ready for his pm shoot. I think I will stay with the 3.5 units for a few more cycles. I had planned on doing a mini curve this Sunday and will see how he is doing by then. I'll be going on my laptop to work on starting a new thread with a link to my old thread.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top