Switching from vetsulin to prozinc

Status
Not open for further replies.
I read in the instructions to do a test with the control solution before testing the cat.
I can use the AT strips first
 
Smokys PMPS was 316. The vet called about his test results. He does have pancreatitis and his liver enzymes are high but down a little from earlier. She thinks he will benefit from Cerenia. I have to pick that up for him and get a printout of his test results. Smokys thyroid was normal as is his kidney function.
The vet said he might be anemic but she would have to run more tests to tell me that.:( said to continue the 3 units until I can get in a curve on Sunday. She told me depending on what his numbers are, I could raise dose to 3.25:facepalm:
 
I see that lower pink tonight. :)

The pancreatitis diagnosis explains why he's felt ill. Good news about his kidney and thyroid function. I wouldn't worry that you've already gone a bit over 3 u before the Sunday curve. You can stay there until then and do a curve using AT strips or you can decide to raise the dose and do the curve at that dose. Scary when you have a bossy vet but he's your cat, Lisa. Have you investigated other cat vets near you?
 
How long do bounces usually last?
Will giving him the same dose of 3 units cause him to continue to bounce?

Bounces last as long as they last unfortunately. It can be several cycles. I'd stay at or near 3 u because dropping a dose might reduce the bounce but you'd likely have to raise the dose again to get better numbers. You'd just be losing time getting him closer to better numbers.
 
Bounces last as long as they last unfortunately. It can be several cycles. I'd stay at or near 3 u because dropping a dose might reduce the bounce but you'd likely have to raise the dose again to get better numbers. You'd just be losing time getting him closer to better numbers.
I do have one other clinic near me that treats a lot of FD kitties. I'm going to talk to one of their vets on Monday morning.
 
Best case would be a vet who knows FD but is willing to collaborate with clients and is open to client being hands on.
 
I put my city and state in my signature, hopefully that will help. I have to set up the AT2 meter this afternoon. I hope I don't waste all the tests strips figuring it out plus doing the curve tomorrow.

Smoky is still bouncing. I think I will do the curve on the 3 unit dose. I have already checked him at +3, +4, and +5 since starting the prozinc.
 
Last edited:
The curve is likely to let you see whether he drops low enough to bounce, if he is dropping early in the cycle or late, or if he is staying high and flat. All great info going forward.
 
I put my city and state in my signature, hopefully that will help. I have to set up the AT2 meter this afternoon. I hope I don't waste all the tests strips figuring it out plus doing the curve tomorrow.

Smoky is still bouncing. I think I will do the curve on the 3 unit dose. I have already checked him at +3, +4, and +5 since starting the prozinc.
The AT meter is quite easy to set up. It probably needs the date and time set (if I recall) and then you use the button to dial up the correct code according to the cat code on the vial of test strips. Then, take one strip and use it with the control solution in the little dropper bottle to check that the strips are reading in the correct range. The range numbers for cats are on the strip vial in small print. It's all laid out in the book. You don't need to do anything more than that. :)
 
The AT meter is quite easy to set up. It probably needs the date and time set (if I recall) and then you use the button to dial up the correct code according to the cat code on the vial of test strips. Then, take one strip and use it with the control solution in the little dropper bottle to check that the strips are reading in the correct range. The range numbers for cats are on the strip vial in small print. It's all laid out in the book. You don't need to do anything more than that. :)
Since I have an SS set up for a human meter how do I put in the numbers from the AT2 tomorrow? I just happened to think about that.
 
Hmmm...might be best to go ahead and set up a new SS for the AT so the numbers match up. I don't think we have any way to transpose the numbers.
 
Hi Lisa,
Another alternative is to just list your numbers in your thread here in a vertical column and indicate that you're using an AT meter.
 
I like both of those ideas. I'm going to set up AT2 meter and then run a test using the control solution. I took me an hour to figure out all that with the relion micro meter. :nailbiting: I'll let you know how it goes, here goes nothing.:bookworm:
 
It's a disaster already. I can't figure out how to clear the settings and start over. It kept going back to the reminder alarms and I cld not get it to go back to set the date. I am way too tired to mess with this tonight. I might just do the curve on Monday instead once I get some sleep.
I figured out how to set it up after taking a break. Now I have to do a test with control solution.:eek:
 
Last edited:
Looks like I have to call customer support tomorrow. I tried four times to run a test. The meter just keeps showing apply blood symbol until it finally turns off. I guess I will have to wait to do a curve unless I use my relion meter. I might have to return the whole kit and get another one.:(
 
Last edited:
Looks like I have to call customer support tomorrow. I tried four times to run a test. The meter just keeps showing apply blood symbol until it finally turns off. I guess I will have to wait to do a curve unless I use my relion meter. I might have to return the whole kit and get another one.:(
I apologize if you know this already: the AT strip has two very tiny finger-like projections, one on either side just above the square bottom end of the strip. You have to put one of these tiny fingers into the blood drop and it sucks it up from there. It takes very little blood to get a reading. I read someone's post on here a while back and that person couldn't get a reading because of mistakenly thinking the square bottom of the strip had to touch the blood drop.
 
Thanks, I will try that tomorrow. I thought you had to put a drop of test solution directly on the little fingers. A friend of mine told me to put a drop of the solution on the end of my finger and then let the meter sip up the drop.
 
Last edited:
Thanks, I will try that tomorrow. I thought you had to put a drop of test solution directly on the little fingers. A friend of mine told me to put a drop of the solution on the end of my finger and then let the meter sip up the drop.
The little fingers do the work of sipping. All you have to do is get one at the edge of the drop of liquid, whether it's test solution or blood. When I do a control solution test I just squeeze the little bottle until a drop is bulging out of the end of the nozzle and I put one of the little fingers into its surface. Putting a drop onto your finger works fine too.
 
Hi Lisa,
I see you decided to give Smoky 3.25 u for curve day. Good call regardless of what the vet said. You'll get more confident making your own decisions over time. He's your cat after all. :)

I suggest you start a new thread mentioning your curve day in its title so we can find it quickly through the day today. Have you solved the problems you were having using the AT meter?
 
OK I figured it all out last night. The test with control solution was within the specified range. The AT2 meter is working and used it this morning. I decided to give him just under 3.25 units in am. Smokys BG was 568. I can do the curve today and can keep an eye on him today and tomorrow.
 
Hi Lisa,
I see you decided to give Smoky 3.25 u for curve day. Good call regardless of what the vet said. You'll get more confident making your own decisions over time. He's your cat after all. :)

I suggest you start a new thread mentioning your curve day in its title so we can find it quickly through the day today. Have you solved the problems you were having using the AT meter?
Post in Health or Prozinc or both?
 
I'd post here. When you are looking for specific dose advice, you are more likely to get it here. It may take awhile because we are a small forum, but most ProZinc users reply to threads here. People on Health who don't or haven't used ProZinc usually don't (and shouldn't) give dose advice. If you ever have an emergency, post in both places so you have the most "eyes"

Good luck. I'll be in and out today but will keep an eye out for your numbers.
 
OK I figured it all out last night. The test with control solution was within the specified range. The AT2 meter is working and used it this morning. I decided to give him just under 3.25 units in am. Smokys BG was 568. I can do the curve today and can keep an eye on him today and tomorrow.
Just a reminder - the AT meter will read higher than your ReliOn and more so at higher numbers. That 568 BG wouldn't look so scary had you measured it with your ReliOn. Glad all the hardware is working for you now. :)
 
My old vet called to see how Smoky was doing. I told them he was up to 3.25 units and he suggested going right to 4 units. I said I'm not comfortable with that and he changed it to 3.5 units. He also said that it doesn't really help or do any good to raise it only by quarters. It would seem they think the answer is just keep raising the dose all the time.
 
I can't see much downside to raising slowly. If it is too little, based on your home testing, then you raise it. Jumping up in dose may not only pass over a dose that might have been good, but it raises the chances of a low and a hypo. What is hardest to get about this sugar dance, for beans and vets, is that it can't be solved fast by dumping in more insulin. It is a slow process of raising, testing and evaluating.
 
So why is it so hard for vets to understand that concept? I talked to another vet near me who seems more willing to work with me about smokys diabetes. They are going to look over his records and get back to me.
 
So why is it so hard for vets to understand that concept? I talked to another vet near me who seems more willing to work with me about smokys diabetes. They are going to look over his records and get back to me.
I hope this one works out better for you, Lisa. Re small dose increases: almost every one of us has proof that a small increase can make a difference.
 
Smoky seems to be feeling a little better. I started him on Cerenia last night. The vet said to give him 1/4 tablet every 3 to 4 days for nausea.
 
I can't monitor him tomorrow during the day. I was thinking about giving him 3.5 units Wed pm since I can watch him then.
Unfortunately, I can't go home for lunch tomorrow to get in a +5 test .
 
I can't monitor him tomorrow during the day. I was thinking about giving him 3.5 units Wed pm since I can watch him then.
Unfortunately, I can't go home for lunch tomorrow to get in a +5 test .
Good plan. Always best to do what's safe and what makes you comfortable.
 
I gave him 3.5 units in am since my roommate is there to keep an eye on him for me. His BG was 303 this morning.
She will let me know if he has any signs of a hypo. She does know what to do if that would happen.
 
I gave him 3.5 units in am since my roommate is there to keep an eye on him for me. His BG was 303 this morning.
She will let me know if he has any signs of a hypo. She does know what to do if that would happen.
I like that his AMPSs are trending downwards. Keep it up, Smoky! :)
 
The vet at the cat clinic told me she did research about dosing cats by cycles.
She then told me that I shld keep Smoky on the same dose for 1 to 2 weeks.
The 3.25 units and that I don't need to test him anywhere near as often as I do. She said it's very hard on the cat to poke him all the time. She asked me for any additional BG numbers I had for him since Monday. She didn't ask so I just let her assume I was using a pet meter. Is there any research that's says it's a bad idea to dose cats by cycles?
 
The vet at the cat clinic told me she did research about dosing cats by cycles.
She then told me that I shld keep Smoky on the same dose for 1 to 2 weeks.
The 3.25 units and that I don't need to test him anywhere near as often as I do. She said it's very hard on the cat to poke him all the time. She asked me for any additional BG numbers I had for him since Monday. She didn't ask so I just let her assume I was using a pet meter. Is there any research that's says it's a bad idea to dose cats by cycles?
I don't know if there's research on this topic. I do know that Lantus users following the SLGS protocol are told to hold a dose for 5 - 7 days. My vet had me holding a dose with Teasel (on ProZinc) for a week between curves before I came to FDMB. What happened is that if he was at an ineffective dose that left him high for a week he became resistant to that dose - ie., lost sensitivity. I call it getting stuck. Then I'd have to raise the dose to make him budge and a lower dose that worked a few weeks before no longer worked. Holding for a week or more might work if your cat stays sensitive to the insulin but not for cats like my guy. He was on Lantus for 2 months just after his diagnosis and the same thing happened - stuck in high numbers and wouldn't come down.

Does Smoky seem unduly stressed by all the ear pokes? Many vets think that it's too much for owner and/or kitty but you've seen for yourself that it's the way to know what's going on, whether a dose is effective or not, etc.
 
I do smokys paw pads and he doesn't put up a fuss unless he is really hungry.
Most of the time he just lays there with a " can we just get this over with so I can get my yummy low carb snack ":D He seems to be doing fairly well so far on the 3.5 unit dose. His PMPS was 337, I'm wary that he will bounce again as it common with him. Smoky also is like Teasel in that he had been stuck in higher numbers for quite some time.
 
I do smokys paw pads and he doesn't put up a fuss unless he is really hungry.
Most of the time he just lays there with a " can we just get this over with so I can get my yummy low carb snack ":D He seems to be doing fairly well so far on the 3.5 unit dose. His PMPS was 337, I'm wary that he will bounce again as it common with him. Smoky also is like Teasel in that he had been stuck in higher numbers for quite some time.
Then I guess you'll have to decide for yourself whether you want to follow the vet's advice or keep doing what you've been doing here. You have evidence that the FDMB approach works. :)

Yes, the 3.5 u is good at this point.
 
I don't really feel that comfortable following the vets advice. I did talk to another vet near me and am waiting to hear back from them.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top