Lisa and Smoky
Very Active Member
I read in the instructions to do a test with the control solution before testing the cat.
I can use the AT strips first
I can use the AT strips first
Yes, and it's wise to do this for every new vial of AT strips. Later on I'd recommend doing it when you start a vial of FS strips.I read in the instructions to do a test with the control solution before testing the cat.
I can use the AT strips first
Still a bit bouncy after his two yellows. Not to worry - you'll get there.So sad right now, smoky was 348 and now at 443 at +5
How long do bounces usually last?
Will giving him the same dose of 3 units cause him to continue to bounce?
I do have one other clinic near me that treats a lot of FD kitties. I'm going to talk to one of their vets on Monday morning.Bounces last as long as they last unfortunately. It can be several cycles. I'd stay at or near 3 u because dropping a dose might reduce the bounce but you'd likely have to raise the dose again to get better numbers. You'd just be losing time getting him closer to better numbers.
The AT meter is quite easy to set up. It probably needs the date and time set (if I recall) and then you use the button to dial up the correct code according to the cat code on the vial of test strips. Then, take one strip and use it with the control solution in the little dropper bottle to check that the strips are reading in the correct range. The range numbers for cats are on the strip vial in small print. It's all laid out in the book. You don't need to do anything more than that.I put my city and state in my signature, hopefully that will help. I have to set up the AT2 meter this afternoon. I hope I don't waste all the tests strips figuring it out plus doing the curve tomorrow.
Smoky is still bouncing. I think I will do the curve on the 3 unit dose. I have already checked him at +3, +4, and +5 since starting the prozinc.
Since I have an SS set up for a human meter how do I put in the numbers from the AT2 tomorrow? I just happened to think about that.The AT meter is quite easy to set up. It probably needs the date and time set (if I recall) and then you use the button to dial up the correct code according to the cat code on the vial of test strips. Then, take one strip and use it with the control solution in the little dropper bottle to check that the strips are reading in the correct range. The range numbers for cats are on the strip vial in small print. It's all laid out in the book. You don't need to do anything more than that.![]()
I apologize if you know this already: the AT strip has two very tiny finger-like projections, one on either side just above the square bottom end of the strip. You have to put one of these tiny fingers into the blood drop and it sucks it up from there. It takes very little blood to get a reading. I read someone's post on here a while back and that person couldn't get a reading because of mistakenly thinking the square bottom of the strip had to touch the blood drop.Looks like I have to call customer support tomorrow. I tried four times to run a test. The meter just keeps showing apply blood symbol until it finally turns off. I guess I will have to wait to do a curve unless I use my relion meter. I might have to return the whole kit and get another one.![]()
The little fingers do the work of sipping. All you have to do is get one at the edge of the drop of liquid, whether it's test solution or blood. When I do a control solution test I just squeeze the little bottle until a drop is bulging out of the end of the nozzle and I put one of the little fingers into its surface. Putting a drop onto your finger works fine too.Thanks, I will try that tomorrow. I thought you had to put a drop of test solution directly on the little fingers. A friend of mine told me to put a drop of the solution on the end of my finger and then let the meter sip up the drop.
Post in Health or Prozinc or both?Hi Lisa,
I see you decided to give Smoky 3.25 u for curve day. Good call regardless of what the vet said. You'll get more confident making your own decisions over time. He's your cat after all.
I suggest you start a new thread mentioning your curve day in its title so we can find it quickly through the day today. Have you solved the problems you were having using the AT meter?
Just a reminder - the AT meter will read higher than your ReliOn and more so at higher numbers. That 568 BG wouldn't look so scary had you measured it with your ReliOn. Glad all the hardware is working for you now.OK I figured it all out last night. The test with control solution was within the specified range. The AT2 meter is working and used it this morning. I decided to give him just under 3.25 units in am. Smokys BG was 568. I can do the curve today and can keep an eye on him today and tomorrow.
Thanks, at the end of the curve I'll post all the numbers at one time.Hi Lisa,
Another alternative is to just list your numbers in your thread here in a vertical column and indicate that you're using an AT meter.
I hope this one works out better for you, Lisa. Re small dose increases: almost every one of us has proof that a small increase can make a difference.So why is it so hard for vets to understand that concept? I talked to another vet near me who seems more willing to work with me about smokys diabetes. They are going to look over his records and get back to me.
Good news that he's feeling better.Smoky seems to be feeling a little better. I started him on Cerenia last night. The vet said to give him 1/4 tablet every 3 to 4 days for nausea.
Good plan. Always best to do what's safe and what makes you comfortable.I can't monitor him tomorrow during the day. I was thinking about giving him 3.5 units Wed pm since I can watch him then.
Unfortunately, I can't go home for lunch tomorrow to get in a +5 test .
I like that his AMPSs are trending downwards. Keep it up, Smoky!I gave him 3.5 units in am since my roommate is there to keep an eye on him for me. His BG was 303 this morning.
She will let me know if he has any signs of a hypo. She does know what to do if that would happen.
He was at 269 at +8, another yellowI like that his AMPSs are trending downwards. Keep it up, Smoky!![]()
I don't know if there's research on this topic. I do know that Lantus users following the SLGS protocol are told to hold a dose for 5 - 7 days. My vet had me holding a dose with Teasel (on ProZinc) for a week between curves before I came to FDMB. What happened is that if he was at an ineffective dose that left him high for a week he became resistant to that dose - ie., lost sensitivity. I call it getting stuck. Then I'd have to raise the dose to make him budge and a lower dose that worked a few weeks before no longer worked. Holding for a week or more might work if your cat stays sensitive to the insulin but not for cats like my guy. He was on Lantus for 2 months just after his diagnosis and the same thing happened - stuck in high numbers and wouldn't come down.The vet at the cat clinic told me she did research about dosing cats by cycles.
She then told me that I shld keep Smoky on the same dose for 1 to 2 weeks.
The 3.25 units and that I don't need to test him anywhere near as often as I do. She said it's very hard on the cat to poke him all the time. She asked me for any additional BG numbers I had for him since Monday. She didn't ask so I just let her assume I was using a pet meter. Is there any research that's says it's a bad idea to dose cats by cycles?
Then I guess you'll have to decide for yourself whether you want to follow the vet's advice or keep doing what you've been doing here. You have evidence that the FDMB approach works.I do smokys paw pads and he doesn't put up a fuss unless he is really hungry.
Most of the time he just lays there with a " can we just get this over with so I can get my yummy low carb snack "He seems to be doing fairly well so far on the 3.5 unit dose. His PMPS was 337, I'm wary that he will bounce again as it common with him. Smoky also is like Teasel in that he had been stuck in higher numbers for quite some time.
Good idea.I don't really feel that comfortable following the vets advice. I did talk to another vet near me and am waiting to hear back from them.