Lisa and Smoky
Very Active Member
I remember reading that in the manual. What about if you are using the FS lite strips? Do you keep the same code?
Yes, you leave the AT meter at whatever cat code it was set on when you used AT strips in it.I remember reading that in the manual. What about if you are using the FS lite strips? Do you keep the same code?
Here's what I put on that thread:I just saw the thread that Sweet Angel posted on Health forum about reading alpha Trak numbers. She brings up a really good question.
It's not that much different, Lisa. When Teasel is in the 300s and up on the AT, he's high. When he's 70 and below on the AT, he's too low. As many have said here, don't try to convert from one meter to the other, just learn proper ranges for each type of meter. You'll get used to it. You might want to keep a separate SS for your AT entries.What would the numbers be if his BG's we're too high. He has been running higher numbers on the relion meter lately, anywhere from 400 to over 600, am and pm numbers
Good move. Slow and steady wins the race.Smokys PMPS was 427, still high but better than being in the high 500's and up.
I think I will give him the 3 units tonight.
I can probably do a + 3 before bed test with him. I've noticed with the prozinc he doesn't drop as fast as with the vetsulin.
Is he a little more interactive at the end of a cycle when the ProZinc is wearing off? If he is that might be a clue. It's more likely that he's just "sick of feeling sick".Smoky has been staying in his carrier almost all of the time lately. He is hiding in there and only coming out for food, water, and bathroom breaks. He was laying on the bed with me before. I'm not sure if it's the prozinc or just because he has been feeling sick for a few months now.
Did you notice this when he was on Vetsulin? He might need more time to adjust to ProZinc if that's what is causing this behaviour.He gets like that shortly after his shot. He seems better 5 or 6 hours afterwards.
That's a lovely AMPS! If you're at work all day you'll probably feel more comfortable giving 2.75 u again. If you're at home to monitor you could try 3 u again.Smokys AMPS was 241. That's a pretty big drop from last night. PM was 427, gave 3 units of prozinc. Should I give same dose for am?
I agree. Better numbers for a prolonged period of time should help him feel more like his normal self.He did do the same thing while on vetsulin. I think maybe he is just tired of feeling sick all the time. I believe that affects our pets just like us and it wears them down. My poor little guy is feeling blue.plus he was just at the vet yesterday.
He'll probably be fine, Lisa. If he's lower than you'd like at +4 you can add a bit of higher carb food to his lunch. My experience with Teasel on ProZinc is that it takes him until about +5 to really show the effect of a dose so keep that in mind. By +8 I can usually tell if he's going to surf lower until PMPS or rise.Sorry, I didn't get your posts until after I left for work. I gave him 3 units in am but am going home for lunch so can get a +4 test in. I can leave work a little early to get in a +8 as well.
Thanks Sue for the good advice, never heard of a fat dose. I decided to give him the three units again tonight.Yes, looks like a bounce. I think either would be ok. You could also give a fat 2.75 (pull up 3 units and let out a drop or two) 7
I usually forget to mention fat and skinny doses because I rarely use them. They are a good option once you see how sensitive Smoky is to ProZinc. Some cats react significantly to that sort of miniscule change.Thanks Sue for the good advice, never heard of a fat dose. I decided to give him the three units again tonight.![]()
I think you could give 3 u again. You're still learning about Smoky's responses to ProZinc. Once you have more data over time you'll be able to decide on a dose more easily. If his numbers are similar through today you could think about giving him a fat 3 u tomorrow AM.Do you think I should give 3 units for a fourth time this morning? I can't really monitor during the day until I can do a curve on Sunday.
Either one is fine. Go with your gut.Smoky seems to be feeling better now. His PMPS was 456 and am wondering if I shld try a "fat" 3 units as suggested or a 3.25 units ?
Yes, that's a fat 3 u.I gave him a tiny bit more than three which I assume is a fat three units.
Such good news, Lisa!My boy was hanging out on the bed with me again. I gave him lots of extra scritches and ear rubs. He was singing up a storm.![]()
Good plan.Smoky at 348 in am. I'll try one more dose of the fat three units and see how he does tonight. I think I'll try 3.25 tomorrow am
You must have received a vial of 25 AT strips with your meter kit. I recommend using AT strips at first to get a feel for the readings they give you. After you have a handle on those, I can help you get up and running with the FS strips. Does this sound like a plan?He has already had 3 units for a few cycles now. I have a friend who bought me an AT2 starter kit and some FS lite test strips. I plan on doing a curve on Sunday but need some help figuring out how to read the numbers.
I like the lower preshots. It would be really nice to have some midcycle numbers to see if, or how much of the higher levels are a bounce. The danger, as I am sure you know, is that increasing, if there are some lows hiding in there - say, at night, can mean higher bounces and higher preshots. We can presume that isn't the case as the nadir you got was a yellow, and you were at 3 units with Vetsulin, but it'd be nice to be sure
I might wait till the weekend, assuming you can get some mid cycle levels, before increasing to 3?