Switching from vetsulin to prozinc: Part 6

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'd rather give him the 1.75 with the u40 since I can't be here to watch him tomorrow. Getting ready to test him now, are those good numbers he had with the AT2 meter?
 
I'd rather give him the 1.75 with the u40 since I can't be here to watch him tomorrow. Getting ready to test him now, are those good numbers he had with the AT2 meter?
Those are fine but they do indicate that a small increase is in order. The AT reads higher than your ReliOn and I'm taking that into account. You can give 1.75 u but if you're concerned because you're at work tomorrow you can stay at 1.6 u. It would be nice to see some (safe) greens soon.
 
Would he have been in green numbers with the Relion meter maybe? I just updated his SS now with his PMPS from both meters.
 
I'm debating between 1.75 and 1.8 units for tonight. I'll have to wait and see what he is in the morning. How much of a difference is it between 1.75 and 1.8?
I mean how much of an increase is it from 1.6 to 1.8?
 
I'm debating between 1.75 and 1.8 units for tonight. I'll have to wait and see what he is in the morning. How much of a difference is it between 1.75 and 1.8?
I mean how much of an increase is it from 1.6 to 1.8?
That's only a 12.5% increase but it should be enough to move his BG a bit. Your call.
 
I can try the 1.8 units tonight and see where he is at with that. I can do a +2 before bed. You have been great with all your help and Smoky and I really appreciate it.:bighug::).
 
I can try the 1.8 units tonight and see where he is at with that. I can do a +2 before bed. You have been great with all your help and Smoky and I really appreciate it.:bighug::).
You're welcome, Lisa! You've learned a lot and are now out on the forums paying it forward - feels good to help. :)
 
Would he have been in green numbers with the Relion meter maybe? I just updated his SS now with his PMPS from both meters.
No, I don't think so. The blues from today are too high to translate into greens on the lower-reading ReliOn. FYI - the two types of meter tend to read closer together at low numbers and further apart at high values.
 
Smoky decided to come up on the bed with me and hang out. He is comfortable, me not so much. What to do?:D
 

Attachments

  • IMAG0316.jpg
    IMAG0316.jpg
    28.6 KB · Views: 149
Yep but I suspect he will be mad at me later when he gets his Cerenia and Denamarin. Not to mention his before bed test.:rolleyes: Smoky was 148 at +3 after pm shot using Relion meter. PMPS was 195-( Relion) I gave him a before bed snack of 1 teaspoon gravy food and 1 oz of FF chunky turkey to ward off too much of a drop between now and +7 which is usually his lowest point. I hope he doesn't have a higher BG in morning now.:oops:
 
Last edited:
I'm thinking Smoky may have dropped too fast overnight. His +3 using Relion meter was 148 and AMPS was 280.:banghead:
I guess the 1.8 unit dose might have been a little mucho_O it's about 30 minutes before his am shoot. Any ideas? Maybe I'll try the 1.6 unit dose for am?
 
I'm thinking Smoky may have dropped too fast overnight. His +3 using Relion meter was 148 and AMPS was 280.:banghead:
I guess the 1.8 unit dose might have been a little mucho_O it's about 30 minutes before his am shoot. Any ideas? Maybe I'll try the 1.6 unit dose for am?
Yes, try the 1.6 u because you're at work today. I think you're referring to the +3 last night, right? Actually, the drop from your (ReliOn) PMPS of 195 to 148 at +3 isn't bad at all. Here's the way I'm reasoning it out: assuming that nadir is +6 (-ish) and a good nadir value is about 50% of PS, or around 100, halfway to nadir you'd expect BG to be around 150. Those numbers from last night are almost bang on.

You have a slight elevation this AM that's likely a mild bounce. All things considered, Smoky's BGs are good.
 
Smoky was 181 for PMPS. The vet visit went well, she just gave me a few options to treat his IBD and did a basic CBC. The vets office will call me with results in a day or so. I'll post on here a little later with the suggestions she gave to me. I picked up more Cerenia for him and another vial of prozinc ahead of time.
 
Smoky was 181 for PMPS. The vet visit went well, she just gave me a few options to treat his IBD and did a basic CBC. The vets office will call me with results in a day or so. I'll post on here a little later with the suggestions she gave to me. I picked up more Cerenia for him and another vial of prozinc ahead of time.
I'm glad it went well. Have you decided on his dose tonight?
 
I was going to try the 1.6 units again or maybe 1.75U. I wish there was a measurement for 1.7U. I was just going in to kitchen to draw up his dose.
His vet was impressed with his SS but said she thought the 1.6 units was too much. I'm trying to get him into safe greens but would that be for nadir? I know you explained that to me already but how do I get there?:rolleyes:
 
I was going to try the 1.6 units again or maybe 1.75U. I wish there was a measurement for 1.7U. I was just going in to kitchen to draw up his dose.
His vet was impressed with his SS but said she thought the 1.6 units was too much. I'm trying to get him into safe greens but would that be for nadir? I know you explained that to me already but how do I get there?:rolleyes:
You can actually eyeball half way between the 1.6 u and 1.8 u marks on the U100 syringe. I do it all the time. Easier with practice. Just turn the plunger slowly like a screw until you see only a tiny bit of space between the plunger top and the mark on the barrel.

Not sure why your vet thinks that 1.6 u is too much ... ? :confused: Yes, you want safe greens at nadir which means the PSs will probably be blue. You get there with gradual dose increases and hope that there's no diving too low at nadir. No rush to get there.
 
She thought it was too high because of the slight bounce in the am following the curve. I used a u40 syringe with half markings to eyeball the 1.75U dose for tonight. Thanks for the tip for measuring out 1.7U dose on the u100. I'll use it for next time, already had the 1.75U drawn up.
 
Hey Kris! Old teacher here too!

Well as we know bouncing happens. I think 1.75 is good...looking forward to seeing what it does!
 
My vet suggested giving budesonide to treat Smoky's IBD and then told me it would be a long term treatment.
The second choice she offered was chlorambucil, also a long term treatment, but she said it can suppress bone marrow. Smoky would need to be monitored closely by his vet. He wld also need periodic blood work done to (1) make certain the meds were working and (2) there were no adverse side effects.

I did some online research which stated that the chlorambucil shld be used as a last resort. Antibiotics can be used as a treatment option along with a med like Metronidazole
 
Is is just me or does Smoky seem to need a higher dose in am and a lower dose in pm? I ask because he has higher BG's in morning and lower at night. I gave him the 1.75U last night and he appears to have a slight bounce this morning.
 
Is is just me or does Smoky seem to need a higher dose in am and a lower dose in pm? I ask because he has higher BG's in morning and lower at night. I gave him the 1.75U last night and he appears to have a slight bounce this morning.
Many cats run lower at night, Lisa. If it's a bounce this AM, it's slight. I'm used to Teasel's Olympic level bounces. Your AMPS is within meter variance of being the same as yesterday's PMPS. However, you're at work today so 1.6 u will give you peace of mind.
 
My vet suggested giving budesonide to treat Smoky's IBD and then told me it would be a long term treatment.
The second choice she offered was chlorambucil, also a long term treatment, but she said it can suppress bone marrow. Smoky would need to be monitored closely by his vet. He wld also need periodic blood work done to (1) make certain the meds were working and (2) there were no adverse side effects.

I did some online research which stated that the chlorambucil shld be used as a last resort. Antibiotics can be used as a treatment option along with a med like Metronidazole
I see budesonide mentioned quite a bit here. Is it less risky than chlorambucil even though it's long term?
 
According to my vet the bude wld have to be used long term as well. That is contrary to everything that I have heard on this board. They're both risky but I don't like the side effects of either one. I thought about tagging @Carol & Murphy since her kitty had the same diagnosis of triaditis. I should also create a new thread asking about these meds on the main health forum.
 
Luckily, Murphy has not needed an immunosuppressive drug, so I don't have experience with either one. Luckily, using the ImmuneIQ information (linked on his spreadsheet) and trying to limit exposure to the allergens indicated there, he hasn't needed anything else. What kind of symptoms is Smoky having? I'm glad to hear that the cerenia has helped. I strongly urge you to look at the ibdkitties website -and also post on their Facebook site - lots of very experienced people there to guide you
 
His vet is concerned that he is having trouble with malabsorption issues.
He is having a lot of problems gaining weight and has foul smelling poop. The texture is formed but soft and lighter brown in color. Smokys vet thinks his food is passing thru his intestines too quickly. She told me that he is probably not getting much nutrition from his food. He is now eating anywhere from 4 to 5 cans of FF per day.
 
His vet is concerned that he is having trouble with malabsorption issues.
He is having a lot of problems gaining weight and has foul smelling poop. The texture is formed but soft and lighter brown in color. Smokys vet thinks his food is passing thru his intestines too quickly. She told me that he is probably not getting much nutrition from his food. He is now eating anywhere from 4 to 5 cans of FF per day.
Is there any treatment for this problem like very high calorie food, etc. (one he can tolerate of course)?
 
His options are either budesonide which is a steroid I believe or chlorambucil. I believe the vet said that is an immunosuppressive drug. He wld have to have to be monitored closely though. His vet said she didn't think he needed pancreatic enzymes.
 
Yeah, you are right - after i wrote that, I realized I was wrong. I wonder about digestive enzymes though (OTC) - they are different from digestive enzymes. But he's gained weight recently, right? He must be absorbing something. It's all so difficult - balancing all of these different issues
 
Smoky PMPS was 190 after no insulin for 23 and a half hours! Is that a good BG and now I'm not sure what dose to give him.
:facepalm:. I'm thinking about giving him 1.6U since his BG may have gone up a little bit more in another half hour.
 
Last edited:
Smoky PMPS was 190 after no insulin for 23 and a half hours! Is that a good BG and now I'm not sure what dose to give him.
:facepalm:. I'm thinking about giving him 1.6U since his BG may have gone up a little bit more in another half hour.
That's excellent, Lisa! Yes, maybe try 1.6 u. He was low enough for NS this AM but not scary low. ProZinc is in and out so it's fair to decide the dose based of his PMPS. You can test before bed. If that scares you, try 1.5 u? He's responding so well to the insulin these days. It would be great to see some safe greens. I think he'll get there, maybe sooner than you think. :)
 
I feel pretty comfortable giving him either the 1.5 or 1.6 unit dose. I'm just a little nervous about giving a higher dose since he hasn't had any insulin in almost 24 hours.:nailbiting:
 
I know you're concerned about his inability to gain weight. It might take more time. How is he feeling overall with the Cerenia? Did your vet OK it to be used as needed?
 
I feel pretty comfortable giving him either the 1.5 or 1.6 unit dose. I'm just a little nervous about giving a higher dose since he hasn't had any insulin in almost 24 hours.:nailbiting:
I think he'll be OK. You have to go by his PMPS. Test him before bed. If he's a NS again tomorrow morning, the dose will have to come down more tomorrow night.
 
The vet said to give the cerenia as needed. I'm giving him 1/4 tab every other day plus the denamarin. Also, the bupe if he needs it. I gave him the 1.6 units for tonight. He is pretty hungry today. He ate two cans for breakfast, one for lunch, and two for dinner so far.
 
The vet said to give the cerenia as needed. I'm giving him 1/4 tab every other day plus the denamarin. Also, the bupe if he needs it. I gave him the 1.6 units for tonight. He is pretty hungry today. He ate two cans for breakfast, one for lunch, and two for dinner so far.
Just keep feeding him. He doesn't sound like a kitty who eats a fair bit and then vomits. Those meds seem to be helping him feel better which is so important to his quality of life.
 
I usually give him a half can in his feeder and set one timer for 3 hours before his testing time. The next one is set for one hour later after that. He can eat for one hour and then it goes to the next compartment which is empty. I can make sure that he doesn't eat for 2 hrs before his BG is tested.:)
 
I usually give him a half can in his feeder and set one timer for 3 hours before his testing time. The next one is set for one hour later after that. He can eat for one hour and then it goes to the next compartment which is empty. I can make sure that he doesn't eat for 2 hrs before his BG is tested.:)
Good plan. Being able to eat small meals through the night should keep him in safe numbers.
 
Good plan. Being able to eat small meals through the night should keep him in safe numbers.
Smoky at BG 184 at +2 after pm shot.
I put 1/4 can of food in his feeder for 2 am and one for 4 am my time. He is eating a before bed snack now, another 1/4 can of food. So that would be a +3 snack now, and a +6 and +8 snack for overnight. :D
So no food after +9 hours after pm shot.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top