Lisa and Smoky
Very Active Member
I'd rather give him the 1.75 with the u40 since I can't be here to watch him tomorrow. Getting ready to test him now, are those good numbers he had with the AT2 meter?
Those are fine but they do indicate that a small increase is in order. The AT reads higher than your ReliOn and I'm taking that into account. You can give 1.75 u but if you're concerned because you're at work tomorrow you can stay at 1.6 u. It would be nice to see some (safe) greens soon.I'd rather give him the 1.75 with the u40 since I can't be here to watch him tomorrow. Getting ready to test him now, are those good numbers he had with the AT2 meter?
That's only a 12.5% increase but it should be enough to move his BG a bit. Your call.I'm debating between 1.75 and 1.8 units for tonight. I'll have to wait and see what he is in the morning. How much of a difference is it between 1.75 and 1.8?
I mean how much of an increase is it from 1.6 to 1.8?
You're welcome, Lisa! You've learned a lot and are now out on the forums paying it forward - feels good to help.I can try the 1.8 units tonight and see where he is at with that. I can do a +2 before bed. You have been great with all your help and Smoky and I really appreciate it..
No, I don't think so. The blues from today are too high to translate into greens on the lower-reading ReliOn. FYI - the two types of meter tend to read closer together at low numbers and further apart at high values.Would he have been in green numbers with the Relion meter maybe? I just updated his SS now with his PMPS from both meters.
Hurray! He's hanging out with you - nice to see.Smoky decided to come up on the bed with me and hang out. He is comfortable, me not so much. What to do?![]()
Yes, try the 1.6 u because you're at work today. I think you're referring to the +3 last night, right? Actually, the drop from your (ReliOn) PMPS of 195 to 148 at +3 isn't bad at all. Here's the way I'm reasoning it out: assuming that nadir is +6 (-ish) and a good nadir value is about 50% of PS, or around 100, halfway to nadir you'd expect BG to be around 150. Those numbers from last night are almost bang on.I'm thinking Smoky may have dropped too fast overnight. His +3 using Relion meter was 148 and AMPS was 280.
I guess the 1.8 unit dose might have been a little muchit's about 30 minutes before his am shoot. Any ideas? Maybe I'll try the 1.6 unit dose for am?
Can't help myself, Lisa - old retired teacher here. I spent decades explaining stuff!Thanks Kris,
I can understand it the way you explained it. Yep, the +3 is after pm shot. I did give him the 1.6 units this morning.
I'm glad it went well. Have you decided on his dose tonight?Smoky was 181 for PMPS. The vet visit went well, she just gave me a few options to treat his IBD and did a basic CBC. The vets office will call me with results in a day or so. I'll post on here a little later with the suggestions she gave to me. I picked up more Cerenia for him and another vial of prozinc ahead of time.
You can actually eyeball half way between the 1.6 u and 1.8 u marks on the U100 syringe. I do it all the time. Easier with practice. Just turn the plunger slowly like a screw until you see only a tiny bit of space between the plunger top and the mark on the barrel.I was going to try the 1.6 units again or maybe 1.75U. I wish there was a measurement for 1.7U. I was just going in to kitchen to draw up his dose.
His vet was impressed with his SS but said she thought the 1.6 units was too much. I'm trying to get him into safe greens but would that be for nadir? I know you explained that to me already but how do I get there?![]()
Many cats run lower at night, Lisa. If it's a bounce this AM, it's slight. I'm used to Teasel's Olympic level bounces. Your AMPS is within meter variance of being the same as yesterday's PMPS. However, you're at work today so 1.6 u will give you peace of mind.Is is just me or does Smoky seem to need a higher dose in am and a lower dose in pm? I ask because he has higher BG's in morning and lower at night. I gave him the 1.75U last night and he appears to have a slight bounce this morning.
Yes, it is but you'll get better. I put the syringe under the bright light of my desk lamp and make sure there's a white background like a tissue or piece of paper.I gave him just over 1.6 units this morning. It's hard to eyeball the 1.7 on the u100 syringe.
I see budesonide mentioned quite a bit here. Is it less risky than chlorambucil even though it's long term?My vet suggested giving budesonide to treat Smoky's IBD and then told me it would be a long term treatment.
The second choice she offered was chlorambucil, also a long term treatment, but she said it can suppress bone marrow. Smoky would need to be monitored closely by his vet. He wld also need periodic blood work done to (1) make certain the meds were working and (2) there were no adverse side effects.
I did some online research which stated that the chlorambucil shld be used as a last resort. Antibiotics can be used as a treatment option along with a med like Metronidazole
Is there any treatment for this problem like very high calorie food, etc. (one he can tolerate of course)?His vet is concerned that he is having trouble with malabsorption issues.
He is having a lot of problems gaining weight and has foul smelling poop. The texture is formed but soft and lighter brown in color. Smokys vet thinks his food is passing thru his intestines too quickly. She told me that he is probably not getting much nutrition from his food. He is now eating anywhere from 4 to 5 cans of FF per day.
That's excellent, Lisa! Yes, maybe try 1.6 u. He was low enough for NS this AM but not scary low. ProZinc is in and out so it's fair to decide the dose based of his PMPS. You can test before bed. If that scares you, try 1.5 u? He's responding so well to the insulin these days. It would be great to see some safe greens. I think he'll get there, maybe sooner than you think.Smoky PMPS was 190 after no insulin for 23 and a half hours! Is that a good BG and now I'm not sure what dose to give him.
. I'm thinking about giving him 1.6U since his BG may have gone up a little bit more in another half hour.
I think he'll be OK. You have to go by his PMPS. Test him before bed. If he's a NS again tomorrow morning, the dose will have to come down more tomorrow night.I feel pretty comfortable giving him either the 1.5 or 1.6 unit dose. I'm just a little nervous about giving a higher dose since he hasn't had any insulin in almost 24 hours.![]()
I can test him at +2 tonight, is that enough time after shot for his BG to be affected?I think he'll be OK. You have to go by his PMPS. Test him before bed. If he's a NS again tomorrow morning, the dose will have to come down more tomorrow night.
Just keep feeding him. He doesn't sound like a kitty who eats a fair bit and then vomits. Those meds seem to be helping him feel better which is so important to his quality of life.The vet said to give the cerenia as needed. I'm giving him 1/4 tab every other day plus the denamarin. Also, the bupe if he needs it. I gave him the 1.6 units for tonight. He is pretty hungry today. He ate two cans for breakfast, one for lunch, and two for dinner so far.
If he's going to dive, a +2 should give a hint. Does he get food in his feeder overnight?I can test him at +2 tonight, is that enough time after shot for his BG to be affected?
Good plan. Being able to eat small meals through the night should keep him in safe numbers.I usually give him a half can in his feeder and set one timer for 3 hours before his testing time. The next one is set for one hour later after that. He can eat for one hour and then it goes to the next compartment which is empty. I can make sure that he doesn't eat for 2 hrs before his BG is tested.![]()
Smoky at BG 184 at +2 after pm shot.Good plan. Being able to eat small meals through the night should keep him in safe numbers.