Switching from vetsulin to prozinc: Part 6

Status
Not open for further replies.
I think so but he is always looking miserable. It's just worse after he eats. I answered your other post on my other thread .
 
Smoky was laying on bed with me purring up a storm.:) He is curled up in his kitty condo singing away in there. I think maybe the cerenia and bupe are kicking in.
 
Smoky was laying on bed with me purring up a storm.:) He is curled up in his kitty condo singing away in there. I think maybe the cerenia and bupe are kicking in.
Was this his regular schedule for meds or did you decide to give them because he wasn't feeling well? Did you end up giving him 1.4 u?
 
Unfortunately, my vet will only give me premeasured syringes and only enough for 10 doses.I can't give him different doses on an as needed basis. At Carol and Murphy suggested asking my vet for certain meds that may help smoky out.
 
Unfortunately, my vet will only give me premeasured syringes and only enough for 10 doses.I can't give him different doses on an as needed basis. At Carol and Murphy suggested asking my vet for certain meds that may help smoky out.
Yes, I recall that you had pre-measured doses. I think some vets are reluctant to prescribe it more freely because it's a narcotic. Your vet might not be willing to prescribe meds to be used as needed whereas Carol's seems to do that for her. Very frustrating and worrying situation for you. I hope you're able to talk to your vet tomorrow.
 
I may take him for a consult with another vet that is at an animal hospital that is very modern. The vet at cat clinic seems very knowledgeable. She has limited facilities and may not be able to treat smoky with all his various health issues.
 
I may take him for a consult with another vet that is at an animal hospital that is very modern. The vet at cat clinic seems very knowledgeable. She has limited facilities and may not be able to treat smoky with all his various health issues.
Sometimes a new take from someone else can be beneficial. Check to see if the other place has a veterinary internist on staff - might be worth a referral because Smoky is so complicated.
 
I'm not able to take him to an internist due to high costs associated with them.
I spoke to a specialist who said they might have to do an endoscopy to find out. The vet didn't recommend that being done with smoky being so underweight.
I will call my vet back again in the morning and ask about having blood work done to check for parasites and also to ask about meds that Carol mentioned in her posts.
 
I'm not able to take him to an internist due to high costs associated with them.
I spoke to a specialist who said they might have to do an endoscopy to find out. The vet didn't recommend that being done with smoky being so underweight.
I will call my vet back again in the morning and ask about having blood work done to check for parasites and also to ask about meds that Carol mentioned in her posts.
The endoscopy might be to look for inflammatory bowel disease. Yes, it might be more risky because anesthesia is required. You can only do what your budget will allow, Lisa. Blood work and maybe a different protocol with meds would be helpful. If he's comfortable he might eat more and would certainly have improved quality of life.

I see his nice blue AMPS and your 1.5 u dose on the SS. Looks good! :)

ETA: Re parasites: Mine had to be treated for tape worms because they were exposed at the stable where they were born, probably from eating a mouse that was a carrier. If a cat is young and healthy they can cope better with untreated tape worms but it's hard on them if they have health problems. Maybe your vet is considering that.
 
Smoky was up a little bit from this morning and last night.
PMPS was 195 but I'm not sure how low he goes during the day. I'm thinking to give him 1.4 units tonight and check him later before bed. The ultrasound he had done in Oct was the time I found out about the triaditis and probable IBD.
 
Smoky was up a little bit from this morning and last night.
PMPS was 195 but I'm not sure how low he goes during the day. I'm thinking to give him 1.4 units tonight and check him later before bed. The ultrasound he had done in Oct was the time I found out about the triaditis and probable IBD.
183, 181 and 195 are within meter variance (+ or - 20%) so essentially the same. You could give 1.5 u tonight but it's your call. :)
 
Smoky seems to run higher in the morning and lower at night. I haven't done a curve for a little while so think I will do one tomorrow. I will have current BG numbers to show the vet that way.
I'm going to use the AT2 for that but usually use both the Relion and AT2 meter for the AMPS and PMPS readings.
Is that a good idea or not?

Smokys BG went up from last night, was 237 for am. I thought about giving him 1.6U or wld it be better to stick with the 1.5U and test at +4 and +8 to see how low he goes?
 
What exactly is the goal for Smoky as far as preshot BG's go? I have heard that numbers under 150 are healing, would that be preshot numbers, nadir, or in between there somewhere?
 
I'm going to use the AT2 for that but usually use both the Relion and AT2 meter for the AMPS and PMPS readings.
Is that a good idea or not?
Your vet will want curve numbers from the AT meter for sure. Using both meters daily for AM/PMPS uses a lot of very $$$ AT strips. What you'd have to do is carry the two different reference ranges (AT and ReliOn) in your head or noted somewhere if you want to save money on strips. The readings will diverge by greater or lesser amounts depending on how high or low the BG is. It's rather like choosing to use Fahrenheit or Celsius for temperature but not both at the same time.

Smokys BG went up from last night, was 237 for am. I thought about giving him 1.6U or wld it be better to stick with the 1.5U and test at +4 and +8 to see how low he goes?
Your choice I think. He might have given you a blue AMPS if you'd given 1.5 u last night but who knows? You'd be able to get good data for the higher dose because you can test today.

What exactly is the goal for Smoky as far as preshot BG's go? I have heard that numbers under 150 are healing, would that be preshot numbers, nadir, or in between there somewhere?
When you're giving insulin that works like ProZinc, the BG numbers will (hopefully) follow that ideal smile-shaped curve with higher AM/PMPS and a gradual dip to a nadir that's around 50% of the PSs. To keep them in healing numbers 24/7 you'd want to see around 150 PSs and around 75-90 at nadir.

Insulins like Lantus might give you a flatter "curve" where BG is closer to nadir value for more hours in the day.
 
Last edited:
I only use both meters for AMPS and PMPS on curve days. I wld love to be able to use the AT2 all of the time but it's not cost effective for me to do that. I gave him the 1.5 units and will check at either +6 and +8 or +5 and +10. The curve tomorrow should also tell me if the prozinc is still working at full effectiveness or not.

I'm not sure about using Lantus since it is a depot insulin and doesn't offer much leeway where injection times are concerned. I have heard that if you give shot early it acts as a dose increase or if given late acts as a decrease in dose. Or maybe that is backwards and it's the other way around.
I need to get a few hours sleep and set an alarm to get up and test him later. I've been so worried about it lately that I've only been sleeping. 4 or 5 hours a night.
 
Smoky was 150 at +4 hours after shot.
I'll check him again at +8. You were saying in your post that around 150 is healing numbers plus nadir at 75 to 90. How do I figure out a no shot number if goal for PS is about 150? Isn't that too low to give a shot?
 
Smoky was 150 at +4 hours after shot.
I'll check him again at +8. You were saying in your post that around 150 is healing numbers plus nadir at 75 to 90. How do I figure out a no shot number if goal for PS is about 150? Isn't that too low to give a shot?
It's too low to give a shot until you have a lot of data on dosing at those levels. I'm at the point with Teasel now that my "no shot" number is around 8 in world units (145-150 in US units). If he was more predictable in his responses I could certainly find a dose that I could give at that number regularly. As it is, he hits 8 only occasionally so I have to figure out a dose that might work for that particular day. There are examples of this on his 2016 SS.

A broader definition of regulation that I've read here quite often is PSs in the low to mid 200s and nadir in the low 100s or high double digits. Also, what "healing numbers" are we talking about? Maybe it's for the pancreas. For kidneys renal threshold is stated to be around 230 - 250. That's the level below which kidney damage is minimized.
 
I guess it would be both pancreas and kidneys. I didn't think about the threshold for kidneys yet. I also have to check him for ketones again, especially since he has a decreased appetite. Thank you for the info. I hope to one day be more knowledgeable so I can help out others more than I can now. I'll be checking smoky again soon and will update his SS.
 
I guess it would be both pancreas and kidneys. I didn't think about the threshold for kidneys yet. I also have to check him for ketones again, especially since he has a decreased appetite. Thank you for the info. I hope to one day be more knowledgeable so I can help out others more than I can now. I'll be checking smoky again soon and will update his SS.
You've helped a lot already, Lisa. :) Another nice blue I see.
 
Thanks Kris:bighug:
Yep another blue, so far so good.
It will be interesting to see what his PMPS is later on tonight. Smoky was same BG as last night: 195 so I'm guessing that's a good thing.:D
 
Last edited:
Smoky got into some dry kibble my roommate left down. Why does this have to happen on a day I wanted to do a curve?:confused: She said it was five minutes and he is hungry this morning. I tested him about 10 minutes after he got into the kibble. His AMPS was 249 with Relion meter and 289 with AT2 meter. I am using the AT2 for the rest of the day. I thought about giving him 1.6U since I am doing a curve or should I stick with the 1.5U? Anyone have any thoughts on that?
 
Smoky got into some dry kibble my roommate left down. Why does this have to happen on a day I wanted to do a curve?:confused: She said it was five minutes and he is hungry this morning. I tested him about 10 minutes after he got into the kibble. His AMPS was 249 with Relion meter and 289 with AT2 meter. I am using the AT2 for the rest of the day. I thought about giving him 1.6U since I am doing a curve or should I stick with the 1.5U? Anyone have any thoughts on that?
You could go two ways: stay with 1.5 u because it's been the typical dose for several cycles or you could go to 1.6 u to see what this higher dose does for him. The kibble clouds the picture though. Is this a curve for your vet?
 
My roommate doesn't think he ate that much of the kibble. He doesn't normally want to eat dry food anymore. I thought I wld try 1.6 units and see how he does since I am home all day to monitor.
 
My roommate doesn't think he ate that much of the kibble. He doesn't normally want to eat dry food anymore. I thought I wld try 1.6 units and see how he does since I am home all day to monitor.
That's a good idea. He'll need a dose in that range to get into green again. Those greens are scary but are a good thing. How's he feeling overall?
 
His appetite is slowly getting better. I asked the vet about giving him cerenia every other day and she said that was fine. I plan on asking her about some other meds that @Carol & Murphy suggested to me. He seems more perky the last few days. It's probably because I have a vet appointment tomorrow.:rolleyes: if he acts better he might think he doesn't have to go.;)
 
His appetite is slowly getting better. I asked the vet about giving him cerenia every other day and she said that was fine. I plan on asking her about some other meds that @Carol & Murphy suggested to me. He seems more perky the last few days. It's probably because I have a vet appointment tomorrow.:rolleyes: if he acts better he might think he doesn't have to go.;)
Ah, yes, the white coat syndrome is kicking in. :) Good that he's feeling better and that you can use the cerenia more frequently. I get the impression from my reading here that these meds are needed to keep some kitties functioning better over time. Quality of life thing ...
 
I think giving the cerenia every other day - even increasing that to 3 days on, one off, will really help Smoky. At least I hope so, Lisa
Thanks Carol,
I will ask my vet about that, I thought the same thing, guess great minds think alike.:bighug: the denamarin is helping him quite a bit as well. I still have the bupe and have given it to him on occasion when he has a flare up. He also has meds for appetite stimulant.
 
My vet said the only hesitancy with daily cerenia is the cat can develop tremors - but it seems very unusual and studies have shown that even daily cerenia is safe. And if it happens, the tremors go away when the cerenia is stopped. Seems to be dose related - Murphy gets 4 mg (1/4 16 mg tablet) once a day for 5 days, skip a day, repeat. Although if he is having some GI issues, I will continue the cerenia until it seems to be resolved and go up to 8 mg when he seems to be having issues.
 
Smoky gets 1/4 tab of a 16 mg tablet too.
My vet told me to give him a 1/4 of a tab every 3 to 4 days. He has frequent nausea though so want to ask vet about ondansteron and urosodiol.
 
OK just have to check Smoky a little later for his PMPS. I used the AT2 meter today to show my vet tomorrow. I used the Relion and AT2 for am and will do the same for pm. I have been using the Relion to determine his dose so that's why I used both for AMPS and then for PMPS later on tonight.
Check out his SS for today's BG numbers. I can also post on here later.
 
OK just have to check Smoky a little later for his PMPS. I used the AT2 meter today to show my vet tomorrow. I used the Relion and AT2 for am and will do the same for pm. I have been using the Relion to determine his dose so that's why I used both for AMPS and then for PMPS later on tonight.
Check out his SS for today's BG numbers. I can also post on here later.
Looks good an uneventful, Lisa. You could try a little boost tonight.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top