Sudden low numbers on cabergoline

FatPants

Member Since 2026
Hello all! Fat Pants started on Cabergoline 6/24 thanks to all the great advice here. He is taking .5ml EOD and currently weighs 14.8 lbs. I continued to increase his insulin following as much as possible the TR protocol and we are at 14.5 units right now. In the last week and half I have done several dose reductions/wait to shoots due to lower than usual pre shot numbers (and once for vomiting from stealing some food) that I just didn't feel comfortable at. This morning he continued to drop for two hours after his AMPS. He started at 164 pre shot but I delayed to test again as he still seemed to be dropping from his +10 the night before at 203. BG rose at +2 and I shot half his usual dose (7.25 units, or as close as I could get to that).
He has has continued a gentle drop since his shot and we are now at +9 and 122 and I am not sure what to do if he continues to drop, at what point should I totally skip a shot vs reducing it?

Another note is that is insatiable hunger really seems to be gone the last 4-5 days. He still wants his food but he is not in the kitchen any time we are begging and he has not been jumping up to steal food at human meals . He does seem slightly lethargic but it is around 100f here and its hard to say if that is affecting his energy as well.

Any help would be much appreciated. Hopefully the extra testing in my spreadsheet today makes sense, let me know if there are any questions.
 
For people following TR, with kitties who have been treated for their acromegaly (SRT or cabergoline), I suggest moving to below 70 as the reduction point. It gives a little margin of error for safety. However, your signature says you are using a custom dosing methodology and the spreadsheet says TR. If you can give me an idea what "custom" means, I might be able to help.

Lantus is a gentle insulin and great at giving you nice flat cycles when you shoot lower numbers. When I shot Neko in the 80's, she didn't move more than 10 points the entire cycle. Due to the 14.5ish unit depot, today's cycle was mostly flat, but now I see the 7 units is kicking in and he's going to be higher tomorrow morning. BTW, SS Remarks says you shot 7.25 units but Units cell says you shot 7, which is it?

You shot full dose a couple days ago for a 121 preshot, but did half shot today? Just wondering the logic.

Waiting to shoot any length of time can act like a dose reduction. How far behind normal schedule are you now?

How many mg is 0.5ml of cabergoline? Dosing is by mg and depends on the concentration of the liquid. The fact that he is on cabergoline is very relevant, and starting date plus EOD should be in the signature.
 
I think
For people following TR, with kitties who have been treated for their acromegaly (SRT or cabergoline), I suggest moving to below 70 as the reduction point. It gives a little margin of error for safety. However, your signature says you are using a custom dosing methodology and the spreadsheet says TR. If you can give me an idea what "custom" means, I might be able to help.

Lantus is a gentle insulin and great at giving you nice flat cycles when you shoot lower numbers. When I shot Neko in the 80's, she didn't move more than 10 points the entire cycle. Due to the 14.5ish unit depot, today's cycle was mostly flat, but now I see the 7 units is kicking in and he's going to be higher tomorrow morning. BTW, SS Remarks says you shot 7.25 units but Units cell says you shot 7, which is it?

You shot full dose a couple days ago for a 121 preshot, but did half shot today? Just wondering the logic.

Waiting to shoot any length of time can act like a dose reduction. How far behind normal schedule are you now?

How many mg is 0.5ml of cabergoline? Dosing is by mg and depends on the concentration of the liquid. The fact that he is on cabergoline is very relevant, and starting date plus EOD should be in the signature.
So I should continue to hold the 14.5 even if he is still dropping at pre shot? I was worried that shooting a dropping number might send him too low. I know insulin needs can change suddenly with cabergoline and it freaked me out that he was still going down when he seems generally to spike a bit in the AM.
I will update the signature and spreadsheet in the AM, I originally had it as custom dosing because we were following what the vet told us. Now I have been following the tight regulation.

I shot 7.25, prob a typo, I often have a toddler "typing" with me.

The logic on shooting the 121 was that he was rising in numbers, the 149 at plus one was actually at +.5 after stalling but my vet hates the halves so I entered it at the closest hour. I reduced the dose today because he was still dropping. He had dropped from the +10 to pre shot when he usually seems to climb there so I checked again this morning.

What length of time counts as a dose reduction? If I do the stall and test again in 30 minutes or is it over an hour or two hours? The human pharmacist where we get the Lantus recommended that shooting within a one hour window of usual was acceptable in occasional cases but I don't know if that holds true for cats?
We are 1.5 hrs behind, I shot at +2 this morning. He was rising tonight so I shot at +1.5 to try to move back to normal slowly. From what I have read moving gradually back to the original shot time is best?

I will have to look up the cabergoline dose, I know when our vet prescribed it I double checked the dose and it was what was recommended in several studies. I can update the signature as well in the am.

Thank you!
 
Lantus cycles can have a double dip, where they go a little lower at the end of the cycle. Last night however, looked like a bounce break. You might want to look at other cycles where he started pink and ended up blue the following preshot. Then look at what happened that following cycle. Such as 8/02.
Pink to blue was one of Neko's favourite cycles. It is fine to shoot a dropping preshot. Read post #6 in this excellent thread.
Dropping into preshot is not a sign the dose is too much insulin.

Here is the guideline for cats and shot schedule: Getting back on a 12/12 shot schedule Cats have a faster metabolism than humans. A half hour delay is fine. Longer may act like a dose reduction.
 
Last edited:
Lantus cycles can have a double dip, where they go a little lower at the end of the cycle. Last night however, looked like a bounce break. You might want to look at other cycles where he started pink and ended up blue the following preshot. Then look at what happened that following cycle. Such as 8/02.
Pink to blue was one of Neko's favourite cycles. It is fine to shoot a dropping preshot. Read post #6 in this excellent thread.
Dropping into preshot is not a sign the dose is too much insulin.

Here is the guideline for cats and shot schedule: Getting back on a 12/12 shot schedule Cats have a faster metabolism than humans. A half hour delay is fine. Longer may act like a dose reduction.
Apologies for not replying sooner, human medical needs took all my extra time the last few days. Thank you for all the info, finally got to update my spreadsheet and signature and am reading the above links now. I am feeling a little more confident about shooting a low number.
 
Gotta take care of you first so you can take care of FatPants. :bighug:

Nice job last night! He got over the bounce quite quickly.
 
Back
Top