McKenzie & Stoney
Member Since 2025
Good morning! Stoney’s AMPS this morning is 243. He’s been bothering us for food for an hour or so. 
Yes! Me too!I’m happy to see he’s back in yellow. Down from pink.
Just checked - 0.3Have you checked his ketones recently?
I hope you are not returning Christmas gifts! That will be a madhouse!Will not be able to get a +4 but should be home by +6 and a snack. We have to run these errands today!
Wrong way, Stoney+2 is 341. He’s eating a snack too!
Oh goodness, no! We had to run to Lowe’s and Home Depot. My husband is doing some work and wanted me to go with him to pick up more supplies. Saturdays are usually my “get out of the house” days since I work from home, lol!I hope you are not returning Christmas gifts! That will be a madhouse!
We will stick with the 7.5, I can monitorLet’s just stay with the 7.5 dose for now as long as you can monitor. He may earn a reduction back down to 7 or we may end up tweaking the dose. I am interested to see how it goes.
Yesss!!! I’ll be getting his +2 shortly - we’ve had some good daysWoooo hoo! And a 68! Awesome!!!!
He was doing so well! Then started to come back up. No results yet. We both forgot to call the vet this week, I have been so slammed with work with people out of office for the holidays. This week should be better regulated and I will call on Monday.I was just checking in on Stoney. He was doing so well and now I see a lot of pinks and yellows. I am sorry about that. You did right to increase. Did you get his results back?
He was doing so well! Then started to come back up. No results yet. We both forgot to call the vet this week, I have been so slammed with work with people out of office for the holidays. This week should be better regulated and I will call on Monday.![]()

We just got a call from the vet - Stoney is negative for acromegaly and IAA.
I’ll shoot them over an email tonight asking for copies of the results…. I didn’t even think to have my husband ask for the numbers!What were the numbers?
Great news!
Hi Suzanne! I got Stoney’s numbers back!What were the numbers?
Great news!
Hi! I am so sorry. I now look on your thread and see you had made a few Posts and got no response!! That’s awful. I never saw them. I would never ignore you and Stoney on purpose!@Suzanne & Darcy - do you think we should increase Stoney’s dose tomorrow morning to 9u? Or stick with 8.5u?
It’s okay!Hi! I am so sorry. I now look on your thread and see you had made a few Posts and got no response!! That’s awful. I never saw them. I would never ignore you and Stoney on purpose!
I am so used to increasing by half units now that it didn’t even cross my mind to go up to 8.75u. We’ll do that tomorrow! His numbers are wonky, but better!! Less pinks! We are having some pinks tonight, so we’ll definitely increase in the morning.His numbers are really wacky! But he is seeing some green on the 8.5 units dose. Because of that, if I increased, I would not go up more than 8.75. Anything else going on that might explain the wild numbers.
Let’s ask @Wendy&Neko what she thinks about this. I was puzzled by the results because he really seems to have a high dose condition when you look at BG numbers/doses, etc. I know that sometimes results can be inaccurate if the tests are done within three months of diagnosis, but I thought Stoney was far enough out that he could get an accurate test result.Am I crazy? I am reading other people’s results on the IAA/Acro thread and theirs are lower than Stoney’s but they have acro. Was my vet mistaken?
Always pester!!It’s okay!I know you wouldn’t. We had been doing really good so I didn’t want to keep pestering.
@Wendy&Neko sorry… here is Stoney’s IGF -1 result and his IAA too.Hi Suzanne! I got Stoney’s numbers back!
IAA - 1
IGF-1 - 387
I know. I was thinking 9 units too, but the greens made me hesitate to just say to go to 9 units. Maybe he just needs some fine tuning for now.I am so used to increasing by half units now that it didn’t even cross my mind to go up to 8.75u. We’ll do that tomorrow! His numbers are wonky, but better!! Less pinks! We are having some pinks tonight, so we’ll definitely increase in the morning.![]()
His testing was done about 2.5 months after official diagnosis of diabetes. Idk if we can afford another. The vet charged us more than I’d like to even speak out loud! I am curious about what Wendy has to say! Now I’m worriedLet’s ask @Wendy&Neko what she thinks about this. I was puzzled by the results because he really seems to have a high dose condition when you look at BG numbers/doses, etc. I know that sometimes results can be inaccurate if the tests are done within three months of diagnosis, but I thought Stoney was far enough out that he could get an accurate test result.
Oh no. Maybe it was done too soon.His testing was done about 2.5 months after official diagnosis of diabetes. Idk if we can afford another. The vet charged us more than I’d like to even speak out loud! I am curious about what Wendy has to say! Now I’m worried![]()
Goodness I hope not. He was diagnosed and started insulin on 9/24/2025 and blood drawn for test on 12/18/2025!Oh no. Maybe it was done too soon.
I thought it was long enough.Goodness I hope not. He was diagnosed and started insulin on 9/24/2025 and blood drawn for test on 12/18/2025!
Stoney started insulin on 9/24/2025. He was then in DKA from 9/25-9/28, and was getting a constant flow of insulin in the emergency room. So, it looks like we are good with the date range. Thank you for this info Wendy!MSU changed how they do the assay for IGF-1 a couple years ago. MSU reference range changed for IGF-1 (and paper). For cats tested before that, positive was over 92, now it's over 916. And now uses the same measurements as those in Europe too, though their numbers are a bit different, at least it's the close.
The latest 2025 iCatCare consensus guidelines on the diagnosis and management of diabetes mellitus in cats recommends taking blood for IGF-1 test at least 6-8 weeks after insulin therapy starts. I've seen one study from England that says 1/3 of cats tested less than 73 days after initiating insulin support tested false negative. 9/24 to 12/18 is 11 weeks or 77 days. Not sure what day Stoney started insulin.