? Starting Lantus (soon)

E-KC

Member Since 2026
Bitty has been approved to start Lantus. I was told to post here when I’m ready to start. I’m ready but lacking the supplies.

Vet said I can order from Chewy pharmacy. I’ll have to see if I can overnight it. Any other suggestions for where to buy it and the U100 syringes with half unit markings? (I’ll have to check the guide for the syringe vol/cc size.

I read Libby’s guide. Do y’all get the Lantus pens? She says dose is based on weight. His ideal weight before diabetes was 10 lb/4.53 kg. He is overweight for the first time in his 12 years and is currently lb/ kg.

I don’t know how to test for ketones (urine? blood 🤞?). Does it have to be urine bec I rarely see him do it. 😬 I don’t have a ketone meter but could purchase one. I could use recommendations for a good one, budget friendly preferred. I’d like to test my own ketones. Could we share a meter?

We are out of Vetsulin and don’t have the Lantus yet. I’m looking to see if I can find it local. My vet (Banfield) doesn’t have it. I’m thinking it would be best to get a vial of Vetsulin and continue it for a short time while I’m gathering supplies to start Lantus. Maybe I could donate the unused Vetsulin?
 
Most people here use the glargine (Lantus) pens. The prescription has to specify the pens. You can buy glargine at any Human pharmacy (CVS, Walgreens, Walmart, etc). Glargine is an insulin made for Human diabetics.

You can also buy the U100 syringes from the Human pharmacy too with a prescription. You want U100 3/10cc with half unit markings. There are pictures of some brands in this thread: Need Advice Was in Remission Relapsed started Lantus again just wants to lay

Amazon and many other web sites sell U100 syringes too. Amazon doesn't require a prescription but some diabetic supply web sites may depending on what your state law is.

Glargine is not dosed based on weight. A recommended starting dose is no more than 1 unit twice a day.

Ketones can be tested either by urine or blood. Ketone meters and the special test strips you need are expensive.

Have you read the Lantus info stickies? Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars
 
Bitty has been approved to start Lantus. I was told to post here when I’m ready to start. I’m ready but lacking the supplies.

Vet said I can order from Chewy pharmacy. I’ll have to see if I can overnight it. Any other suggestions for where to buy it and the U100 syringes with half unit markings? (I’ll have to check the guide for the syringe vol/cc size.

I read Libby’s guide. Do y’all get the Lantus pens? She says dose is based on weight. His ideal weight before diabetes was 10 lb/4.53 kg. He is overweight for the first time in his 12 years and is currently lb/ kg.

I don’t know how to test for ketones (urine? blood 🤞?). Does it have to be urine bec I rarely see him do it. 😬 I don’t have a ketone meter but could purchase one. I could use recommendations for a good one, budget friendly preferred. I’d like to test my own ketones. Could we share a meter?

We are out of Vetsulin and don’t have the Lantus yet. I’m looking to see if I can find it local. My vet (Banfield) doesn’t have it. I’m thinking it would be best to get a vial of Vetsulin and continue it for a short time while I’m gathering supplies to start Lantus. Maybe I could donate the unused Vetsulin?
i’m sorry I don’t have more information to offer on Lantus, but for the ketone monitor I have seen people here recommend the KetoBM and Keto-Sense. I use the keto–Mojo which tests blood sugar and ketones in the same meter. It works well, but it can be quite expensive. i’m pretty sure all three meters and their strips are available on Amazon.

You can use the same meter as the cat as far as I’m aware, I’ve tested myself on Inky’s meter a few times out of curiosity. If your meter connects to an app, you might be able to add a note on which readings are yours, but if the app doesn’t have that feature (or the meter doesn’t have an app,) I’d recommend to add a note in the spreadsheet which readings are from you and which readings are from the cat
 
Welcome to FDMB
I shot Chewy, but they do not overnight, but you will get the insulin in 2 days once ordered and they have received the prescription from your vet, you order, Chewy will contact your vet, the Chewy Pharmacy email address is rx@chewy.com

Also you do not need a special meter to test Ketones, you can purchase a simple strip kit is very inexpensive at Walmart, some people place like a small bowl while the cat is peeing, or place a ladle, while peeing if your cat allows you to
 

Attachments

  • IMG_6292.png
    IMG_6292.png
    435.3 KB · Views: 8
Welcome to FDMB
I shot Chewy, but they do not overnight, but you will get the insulin in 2 days once ordered and they have received the prescription from your vet, you order, Chewy will contact your vet, the Chewy Pharmacy email address is rx@chewy.com

Also you do not need a special meter to test Ketones, you can purchase a simple strip kit is very inexpensive at Walmart, some people place like a small bowl while the cat is peeing, or place a ladle, while peeing if your cat allows you to
Hi Corky, thanks so much for the info. I rarely catch Bitty peeing. Sometimes he uses the litter box, sometimes pees straight down the bathroom drain. (I have two cats.) That might be the best place to catch him but it’s so random. Also I have chronic Lyme and four coinfections. Energy is very limited. I’ll look into the meters; sometimes convenience is worth the extra expense.

Because I’m down to his last vetsulin dose, don’t have the Glargine yet and have the other bits to get in place I’ve ordered another vial of Vetsulin. We’ll continue with that until I have everything in place. I was notified yesterday of all the sticky’s I need to read and am working my way through them.

Do you use the vials or the pens?
 
Most people here use the glargine (Lantus) pens. The prescription has to specify the pens. You can buy glargine at any Human pharmacy (CVS, Walgreens, Walmart, etc). Glargine is an insulin made for Human diabetics.

You can also buy the U100 syringes from the Human pharmacy too with a prescription. You want U100 3/10cc with half unit markings. There are pictures of some brands in this thread: Need Advice Was in Remission Relapsed started Lantus again just wants to lay

Amazon and many other web sites sell U100 syringes too. Amazon doesn't require a prescription but some diabetic supply web sites may depending on what your state law is.

Glargine is not dosed based on weight. A recommended starting dose is no more than 1 unit twice a day.

Ketones can be tested either by urine or blood. Ketone meters and the special test strips you need are expensive.

Have you read the Lantus info stickies? Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars
Thanks Squeem3. Interesting username 🤪
I’m working my way through the sticky’s. Thanks so much for letting me know about them. It was weird, when I used the search bar “Lantus”, I got “No results”
 
I’m thinking since I have a TruMetrix glucose meter it makes the most sense to get a Keto-Sens meter. I don’t love using two apps but I wonder if being able to set up both devices and using the same poke to get both readings (BG, Ketones) makes sense. Do you find it challenging with the keto-mojo to get both readings from the same poke with the delay in waiting for one before you can take the other?
 
I do not know if you are aware that Vetsulin/Canninsulin, is a dog insulin it hit hard and fast in cats, Lantus and ProZinc are the best insulins for cats they are a 12-hour insulin and gentle to the cat. And regarding meters, most member use the ReliOn Premier human meter and strips, (Walmart) the meter is $9.00 and the strips are $9.00 for 50 and $17.88 for 100 inexpensive and just as accurate, or any other human meter will do; you do not need a pet meter or an expensive one, most of these pet meter the strips are $1.00+ each and you need to have extra strips handy at all times, and Ketones do not have to be tested every day, once or twice a week is sufficient
 
I do not know if you are aware that Vetsulin/Canninsulin, is a dog insulin it hit hard and fast in cats, Lantus and ProZinc are the best insulins for cats they are a 12-hour insulin and gentle to the cat. And regarding meters, most member use the ReliOn Premier human meter and strips, (Walmart) the meter is $9.00 and the strips are $9.00 for 50 and $17.88 for 100 inexpensive and just as accurate, or any other human meter will do; you do not need a pet meter or an expensive one, most of these pet meter the strips are $1.00+ each and you need to have extra strips handy at all times, and Ketones do not have to be tested every day, once or twice a week is sufficient
Thank you Corky. Bitty was diagnosed in March and started Vetsulin in April. The meter I am using is mine. I do not have diabetes but several years ago was having high blood sugars. I have been unable to work since 1993 and live on SSDi. I have to do what I can to conserve financially. I will investigate if the strips you mention would save me enough to warrant the purchase of the meter you mention. In the meantime I am familiar with the TruMetrix Air and it's app. My intention was to switch him to Glargine before my vial ran out. Tonight is the last dose of Vetsulin and I don't have another vial. The vet didn't get back to me today.
My only recourse is to get another vial of Vetsulin and stay the course because I don't have all the supplies yet and still have to understand the Glargine process before we take the leap. I have cognitive impairment and severe fatigue from Lyme and coinfections. There is a lot of information to process. I am grateful to this website and am reading. The info is in so many articles, threads, and links that it is difficult to see the road clearly. I will eventually get through all the sticky's, links and articles as I am gathering supplies and obtaining the Glargine. If anyone can simplify it for me I would be grateful. I read about tight regulation and know I want to go that route. ~Eileen🌻🐢
 
DOSE?
09/30 Bitty AMPS 327 +4 142 +9 108 PMPS 198
Today's readings follow hypos 9/27 and 9/28, normal values 9/29. We gave regular AM dose 0.75 for the first time since hypo's.

What dose to give tonight?


Bitty Insulin Spreadsheet + Labs Template
 
Last edited:
The initial Lantus dose IS based on weight, if you are following the Tight Regulation protocol. His starting dose would be 1 unit of Lantus. But we do take into consideration how he is doing on his existing insulin. Given how low he is going on 0.75 units of Vetsulin, I'd start with 0.5 units of Lantus.

For Vetsulin, our dosing method does not change the dose based on the preshot value, but rather how low that dose takes the cat, or the nadir. More details on Vetsulin dosing method in this post: BEGINNER'S GUIDE TO CANINSULIN/VETSULIN. In your case, 0.75 units took him too low, so I'd try 0.5 units.
 
Back
Top