Stalling shot! Help Joe is now low

Status
Not open for further replies.
do I still give him his nightly dose in 1.5 hours?

a lot can happen in 1.5 hours....you might want to test at +11.5 so it gives us a little time to help you. Also, if you test at 11.5 and then again at PMPS and the number goes higher, that's usually a good sign that the last shot is wearing off and it's OK to shoot.

If you get a PMPS that you're not sure about shooting, you can stall, don't feed and test again in 20-30 minutes. Use that time to get some help here (I suggest editing your subject line to something like "STALLING! NEED HELP!"....once you have somebody's attention, you go back and edit it again with the usual format.)
 
Ok getting paranoid. At 11.25 the number is 193 but I had to give him quite a bit of tuna to get that. He gets unruly and will not let me bother with him unless he gets some bites of tuna and I kept getting the error code so I had to keep trying which meant more bites of tuna. I know you said no food but giving tuna has been the only way he has allowed me to test @Chris & China
 
Last edited:
I think you could go ahead with the usual dose tonight. We usually say to shoot the scheduled dose if they're above 200 and 193 is close enough to be considered a safe number to shoot.

As long as you have plenty of supplies (strips, medium and high carb food, Karo/honey/syrup) and can test as often as might be necessary tonight, I'd go with the 3.5

You're just starting to see some good numbers which is what we all hope for. I would hate for you to backtrack now BUT, I also understand if you just don't feel like you can do it yet.
 
You should be fine to shoot. The numbers look like they are on the way up. You may want to get some early tests in just to reassure yourself that Joe is in safe numbers.
 
Shooting those first yellows is scary.... But it's exactly what you want to see. It means the insulin is starting to give you better duration so there's a little overlap. Don't be surprised if he bounces high this morning.... He's not used to these better numbers. Ha ha
 
I was up early enough to get a +10 and his number is 118. He had to have food in order for me to test so now no more testing until pre-shot in 2 hours.
 
I was up early enough to get a +10 and his number is 118. He had to have food in order for me to test so now no more testing until pre-shot in 2 hours.
Wow! I'll check back in 1:45 hours. If it's still low then stall without feeding for up to an hour and see if the number is going up. Looks like he may need a dose reduction soon!! Go Joe!
 
OK. I will do exactly that Janet. I do have to feed him while testing or he will not cooperate. Also just want to be clear he did get a spoonful of food after his +10 reading. He is very hungry.
 
OK. I will do exactly that Janet. I do have to feed him while testing or he will not cooperate. Also just want to be clear he did get a spoonful of food after his +10 reading. He is very hungry.
One little bite out two of food while you are testing won't make much difference. :)
 
Not sure I understand Janet, shoot but shoot 3.25 or wait and stall awhile more? How long can I stall his insulin shot?
 
I am going to do what you would do. 3.25 it is!
thanks so much for being there with me
 
I am going to do what you would do. 3.25 it is!
thanks so much for being there with me
Only because it's really the first time seeing how he reacts to these lower preshots, ya know. If you are able, try to get a +2 or 3 reading. Just wanna make sure he's steady and doesn't start dropping too fast.
 
Ok I am waiting 15 minutes to do.
I think I am starting to get it (a little) if his numbers are high, give the shot, it is a given. If his numbers are low, wait (stall) and test again and make sure they are rising before you give the shot. Is this correct?
 
Ok I am waiting 15 minutes to do.
I think I am starting to get it (a little) if his numbers are high, give the shot, it is a given. If his numbers are low, wait (stall) and test again and make sure they are rising before you give the shot. Is this correct?
Yes. Generally over 200 is safe to shoot... But since he's not usually this low is why I was just a little more conservative with the dose.
 
Good job this morning Susan, you're really getting the hang of this. Good luck today Joe, it's looking great so far!
 
Oh ! A green number I see. It's still a safe number but i'm glad you reduced just a little today. :)
 
Preshot is 214, stalling again for a minute and wondering if I lower again.
 
I am going to do a 3. I feel comfortable with that. A fat 3? Is that a dash over a 3?
 
I am going to do a 3. I feel comfortable with that. A fat 3? Is that a dash over a 3?
Definitely not a dash, if by dash you mean black line. A fat 3 is just a teensy bit more than 3. Like where you would have the plunger for 3, but then a teensy bit more than 3. Never tried to describe before lol. I'm sure someone more experienced like Janet can describe better.
 
I am just thrilled with these numbers. Now if I do not get a bounce. Trying not to be too excited.
 
Tell me more about what I should be doing. I have not been staying up late testing. I have early morning commitments aside from doing my own animal routine, so I am up at 6am. Tired as dirt and ready to hit the hay by 10pm. Sometimes I try to get a later test but have not managed to so far. Maybe a midnight test.
So are you saying, when he is low I should be checking all night long?
 
Tell me more about what I should be doing. I have not been staying up late testing. I have early morning commitments aside from doing my own animal routine, so I am up at 6am. Tired as dirt and ready to hit the hay by 10pm. Sometimes I try to get a later test but have not managed to so far. Maybe a midnight test.
So are you saying, when he is low I should be checking all night long?
Oh lord no don't stay up all night (unless he's in danger of course). I used to shoot about 6am/pm and get a +4 before bed.
 
Tell me more about what I should be doing. I have not been staying up late testing. I have early morning commitments aside from doing my own animal routine, so I am up at 6am. Tired as dirt and ready to hit the hay by 10pm. Sometimes I try to get a later test but have not managed to so far. Maybe a midnight test.
So are you saying, when he is low I should be checking all night long?
Oh no, nothing more than you’ve already been doing, getting +2 to see if it’s going to be an “active” or low cycle, getting +3, +4. You get loads of data in his PM cycle.
 
Good morning. Numbers are back up with a vengeance and I am starting to be able to recognize the bounce, although I wish I did not see it.
Joe's different demeanors:
Yesterday while his numbers were good, Joe is aloof and seems tired. Not sick really, just not his usual self as of late. He acts like the Joe I used to know. Tired, kind of cranky.
His demeanor as of late (last few months): Energized, always on the prowl, following me for food, eyes dilated. If he were a person I would be sure he was medicating with some form of amphetamine. Yet very hungry.
The pic below is Joe yesterday. Eyes dilated but not on the prowl
223166865_10209494584118476_6615765874069775944_n.jpg
 
Good morning. Numbers are back up with a vengeance and I am starting to be able to recognize the bounce, although I wish I did not see it.
Joe's different demeanors:
Yesterday while his numbers were good, Joe is aloof and seems tired. Not sick really, just not his usual self as of late. He acts like the Joe I used to know. Tired, kind of cranky.
His demeanor as of late (last few months): Energized, always on the prowl, following me for food, eyes dilated. If he were a person I would be sure he was medicating with some form of amphetamine. Yet very hungry.
The pic below is Joe yesterday. Eyes dilated but not on the prowl
223166865_10209494584118476_6615765874069775944_n.jpg
That's cuz he's not used to the normal numbers yet. He'll get there. I am not surprised he bounced.
 
Janet,
Joe has been having diarrhea. I assumed it was a food switch. The Pro-biotic you recommended by Fera has helped.
Were you able to rotate the Weruva's in C.C.'s list (I went back and printed that BTW) or did you have to stick with one at a time?
 
Janet,
Joe has been having diarrhea. I assumed it was a food switch. The Pro-biotic you recommended by Fera has helped.
Were you able to rotate the Weruva's in C.C.'s list (I went back and printed that BTW) or did you have to stick with one at a time?
She ate a bunch of stuff. She was not fond of eating the same flavor two days in a row. Same with the rest of the group.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top