Sophia's AMPS

Status
Not open for further replies.
Ok, after you get that test, if she is still hovering around that 76 mark, you could go ahead and give her another 1/4 can of her regular low-carb FF right before you leave for that appointment. (I don't know how far away your departure time is, but that way you wouldn't have to worry while you're out and about.)
 
Well I miss all the excitement! Sorry, ladies, its been a tough morning (for my stomach). Sophia, you are doing a fabulous job! And of course, Robin and Sue are excellent at helping out in these situations (and all situations!).

So you h ave an appointment to get to in a bit? I agree, a bit of food woudl be good so that you can be sure she stays up while you're out
 
I'm probably going to have some tea and maybe a bit of toast and hopefully lay around on the couch for awhile! With luck, I'll be around for a bit this afternoon. I do feel a bit better, thanks Robin! If I could get some snuggles from some kitties, I think I'll be in good shape!
 
I'm back. Looks like you are getting good at this, Susan. The nice thing is that she seems to come up well with food. Robin, are you ready for a nap? I am happy to take over.
 
Looking good, Susan. So the pattern we are getting is that she drops early and that food is good at bringing her back up. I am sorry I guessed too high this morning. With her high blues last night, it seemed like a 0.5 reduction would be about right, but she obviously needs less insulin.

One more rising test and you should be good.
 
Looking good, Susan. So the pattern we are getting is that she drops early and that food is good at bringing her back up. I am sorry I guessed too high this morning. With her high blues last night, it seemed like a 0.5 reduction would be about right, but she obviously needs less insulin.

One more rising test and you should be good.
When should I test her again? and can she have a protein treat sometime this afternoon?
 
I'd get a test within the hour of the last one.

I think you could give maybe a small treat. I usually gave one small piece of freeze dried chicken at test time. I'd think a tiny treat like that should be okay.
 
Nice number - no big bounce , at least yet.

My kitty likes PureBites - it is low carb, freeze dried chicken or beef treat. If she likes it, you can get it in the dog department in a big bag and scrunch it up into smaller pieces. Some people boil chicken breasts (with no seasonings) and cut it into tiny pieces, freeze it in a Baggie and take it out as needed.
 
Nice number - no big bounce , at least yet.

My kitty likes PureBites - it is low carb, freeze dried chicken or beef treat. If she likes it, you can get it in the dog department in a big bag and scrunch it up into smaller pieces. Some people boil chicken breasts (with no seasonings) and cut it into tiny pieces, freeze it in a Baggie and take it out as needed.
This is what I thought I had but it is commercially processed diced cooked chicken breast and has some carbs. I will make my own when I can get to the store. I give her one 3 oz FF plus about 1/3 to 1/2 of another at each feeding, so twice a day. She has a great appetite :cat:
 
I am using U-40 0.3 mL syringes that don't have marks for 0.25 or 0.5. So when it's time for her PM shot, I'll be kind of judging how much I'm giving her. Should I be using a different syringe to dose more accurate in small doses?
 
You can buy U100 needles that have 0.5 unit markings and use the conversion chart we have (because you will be giving U40 insulin with U100 needles). Lots of people here use them - it lets you give 0.1/0.2/0.4 unit doses, which may prove valuable in the future.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/insulin-conversions.htm

For tonight, you could try this. It isn't terribly scientific but should work. With an old syringe, pull up one unit of water. Let it out by drops, counting. When you know how many drops are in one unit, you can pull up one unit of insulin and let out 50% or 75% of the number of drops. Make sense?

If that sounds too complicated (and it can be) you could eyeball pulling up 1/2 of one unit and letting out a few drops. Again, not very scientific, but we are just interested in her getting a tiny bit of insulin tonight.

I am thinking, as it nighttime and you need a rest, try for something around 0.25. Maybe tomorrow, you can get some U100 needles (available at the drug store) and we can get more precise. I think mini doses are in her future (anti jinx)

AS LONG AS SHE IS OVER 200.
 
You can buy U100 needles that have 0.5 unit markings and use the conversion chart we have (because you will be giving U40 insulin with U100 needles). Lots of people here use them - it lets you give 0.1/0.2/0.4 unit doses, which may prove valuable in the future.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/insulin-conversions.htm

For tonight, you could try this. It isn't terribly scientific but should work. With an old syringe, pull up one unit of water. Let it out by drops, counting. When you know how many drops are in one unit, you can pull up one unit of insulin and let out 50% or 75% of the number of drops. Make sense?

If that sounds too complicated (and it can be) you could eyeball pulling up 1/2 of one unit and letting out a few drops. Again, not very scientific, but we are just interested in her getting a tiny bit of insulin tonight.

I am thinking, as it nighttime and you need a rest, try for something around 0.25. Maybe tomorrow, you can get some U100 needles (available at the drug store) and we can get more precise. I think mini doses are in her future (anti jinx)

AS LONG AS SHE IS OVER 200.
I have a box of syringes that say they are to use with U-100 insulin. They have orange caps. A friend with a diabetic pup gave them to me. Are these the same thing you are talking about? Because they look much bigger.
 
I think those are right. You can only use them with our conversion chart though...have we given that to you?

@Sue and Oliver (GA) can you weigh in? Are there different needles for dogs vs cats or will they work?
 
They are. Someone figured out years ago that we could dose tiny amounts with U100s as long as we converted - that page I linked explains how to do it. It is hard to dose tiny amounts (which lots of cats end up needing) with the regular U40 needles. It's up to you whether you want to use them or not. You do have to make a concentrated effort to remember to convert each time. The other way to do small does is by drops (never terribly accurate ) or eyeball. Are your U40 measured in half units?
 
Walmart carries U100 syringes in the pharmacy if you are interested. A box of 100 was just under $13. Some may require "proof of need" but the pharmacist here told he if I brought the box or flap off the box that the prozinc came in that would work as proof. The ones I got were 3/1oml 30g and they worked great, had half unit marks on them for smaller dosing. Sorry for the bad pic, my tablet doesnt take very good pictures... tmp_8147-20160521_1921471266873445.jpg
 
They are. Someone figured out years ago that we could dose tiny amounts with U100s as long as we converted - that page I linked explains how to do it. It is hard to dose tiny amounts (which lots of cats end up needing) with the regular U40 needles. It's up to you whether you want to use them or not. You do have to make a concentrated effort to remember to convert each time. The other way to do small does is by drops (never terribly accurate ) or eyeball. Are your U40 measured in half units?
No they aren't.
 
@ssblackcat Sophia & Susan - I'd recommend you still start with a check at +2, even though you've reduced by a full unit. We really need to know what her pancreas is doing, and the only way to see that is ... testing. Once we've seen that one, we'll have a better idea of where she's headed tonight and (hopefully) you won't be dealing with another cycle of test/steer/test/steer, etc.;)
 
@ssblackcat Sophia & Susan - I'd recommend you still start with a check at +2, even though you've reduced by a full unit. We really need to know what her pancreas is doing, and the only way to see that is ... testing. Once we've seen that one, we'll have a better idea of where she's headed tonight and (hopefully) you won't be dealing with another cycle of test/steer/test/steer, etc.;)
Will do :cat:
 
And I have a question, as I'm seeing your pre-shot #s appearing in the +11 column on the SS: Are you actually testing @ +11 hours (after the earlier shot) as her PMPS or are you testing at the +12 mark? Because if you are, in fact, doing the test right @/around +12, you need to put that number in the PMPS column. (Don't want anyone to be confused about your timing - like me!:p - so thought I'd better ask you about it.)
 
And I have a question, as I'm seeing your pre-shot #s appearing in the +11 column on the SS: Are you actually testing @ +11 hours (after the earlier shot) as her PMPS or are you testing at the +12 mark? Because if you are, in fact, doing the test right @/around +12, you need to put that number in the PMPS column. (Don't want anyone to be confused about your timing - like me!:p - so thought I'd better ask you about it.)
You're correct - I'm using the wrong column. I've adjusted it. I'm on a steep learning curve this weekend! Thank you :bighug:
 
Robin, how's BatBat doing today? Do you live in the US?
She's doing just fine today. Had to go back to this method of dosing her Lantus: Push black plunger in very hard inside the syringe (to create a vaccuum), hold it & insert syringe in the Lantus pen cartridge, then release my hold - thereby sucking just the tiniest drop of insulin back into the syringe. (Yeah, can you believe this??? I call it the "suck-up" method.;)) Because when I dosed her at 0.50 last night ... well, you know all about that.:p)

Yes, I'm in AZ, the only state in the union that does not do Daylight Savings Time. So when the rest of the country is on DST, it's like I'm in California; when the rest of you are off DST, it's as though I'm back in Colorado (where I had lived for many years). Arizona is a very weird state ...
 
Here's a side note: I've been home alone since about 4:00pm mst until about 8:15pm mst. Then 4 adults and 3 children (2,5,8) came roaring into the house. This may account for some stress but there are often people about, she's used to it. She hangs out in my room, alone or with me for the most part.
 
I wouldn't worry yet. Could be stress, could be something else. As Sue said, it's just one number. :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top