ssblackcat Sophia & Susan
Member Since 2016
Just got a 76 again, yay!
Excellent. You will want to check BG again in about an hour (no longer than that) to make sure her BG doesn't start falling again. (Does this sound a little "familiar" to you?Just got a 76 again, yay!
Yes, and I have an appointment at 1:30, after which I will need to stop at Walmart and stock up on test strips! Which is quite all right. We will do what ever is necessary.Excellent. You will want to check BG again in about an hour (no longer than that) to make sure her BG doesn't start falling again. (Does this sound a little "familiar" to you?)
I second that, Rachel!!!Hoping you feel better very soon!!!![]()
Yes, I am definitely ready. Thanks, Sue!Robin, are you ready for a nap? I am happy to take over.
When should I test her again? and can she have a protein treat sometime this afternoon?Looking good, Susan. So the pattern we are getting is that she drops early and that food is good at bringing her back up. I am sorry I guessed too high this morning. With her high blues last night, it seemed like a 0.5 reduction would be about right, but she obviously needs less insulin.
One more rising test and you should be good.
I posted the number in her chart, 176.just checking in, Susan. Is it about time for that next test?
I realized I don't have chicken that's no carbs. I need to get some of that freeze dried kind. She really wants something to eat right now. She's hovering over the empty bowl.I posted the number in her chart, 176.
This is what I thought I had but it is commercially processed diced cooked chicken breast and has some carbs. I will make my own when I can get to the store. I give her one 3 oz FF plus about 1/3 to 1/2 of another at each feeding, so twice a day. She has a great appetiteNice number - no big bounce , at least yet.
My kitty likes PureBites - it is low carb, freeze dried chicken or beef treat. If she likes it, you can get it in the dog department in a big bag and scrunch it up into smaller pieces. Some people boil chicken breasts (with no seasonings) and cut it into tiny pieces, freeze it in a Baggie and take it out as needed.

I have a box of syringes that say they are to use with U-100 insulin. They have orange caps. A friend with a diabetic pup gave them to me. Are these the same thing you are talking about? Because they look much bigger.You can buy U100 needles that have 0.5 unit markings and use the conversion chart we have (because you will be giving U40 insulin with U100 needles). Lots of people here use them - it lets you give 0.1/0.2/0.4 unit doses, which may prove valuable in the future.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/insulin-conversions.htm
For tonight, you could try this. It isn't terribly scientific but should work. With an old syringe, pull up one unit of water. Let it out by drops, counting. When you know how many drops are in one unit, you can pull up one unit of insulin and let out 50% or 75% of the number of drops. Make sense?
If that sounds too complicated (and it can be) you could eyeball pulling up 1/2 of one unit and letting out a few drops. Again, not very scientific, but we are just interested in her getting a tiny bit of insulin tonight.
I am thinking, as it nighttime and you need a rest, try for something around 0.25. Maybe tomorrow, you can get some U100 needles (available at the drug store) and we can get more precise. I think mini doses are in her future (anti jinx)
AS LONG AS SHE IS OVER 200.
The box I have is the second from right, 50 units. Definitely too big.https://www.bd.com/us/diabetes/page.aspx?cat=7001&id=7252. You want the ones that measure 1/2 unit. Dogs usually get more insulin than cats so they may measure by one unit or more - like the ones on the right in the picture.

No they aren't.They are. Someone figured out years ago that we could dose tiny amounts with U100s as long as we converted - that page I linked explains how to do it. It is hard to dose tiny amounts (which lots of cats end up needing) with the regular U40 needles. It's up to you whether you want to use them or not. You do have to make a concentrated effort to remember to convert each time. The other way to do small does is by drops (never terribly accurate ) or eyeball. Are your U40 measured in half units?
I didYeah, I agree with that 0.5U, Sue. And you've given that - right Susan?
Will do@ssblackcat Sophia & Susan - I'd recommend you still start with a check at +2, even though you've reduced by a full unit. We really need to know what her pancreas is doing, and the only way to see that is ... testing. Once we've seen that one, we'll have a better idea of where she's headed tonight and (hopefully) you won't be dealing with another cycle of test/steer/test/steer, etc.![]()

You're correct - I'm using the wrong column. I've adjusted it. I'm on a steep learning curve this weekend! Thank youAnd I have a question, as I'm seeing your pre-shot #s appearing in the +11 column on the SS: Are you actually testing @ +11 hours (after the earlier shot) as her PMPS or are you testing at the +12 mark? Because if you are, in fact, doing the test right @/around +12, you need to put that number in the PMPS column. (Don't want anyone to be confused about your timing - like me!- so thought I'd better ask you about it.)

YAY!!!jumped up onto the window sill to birdwatch.
Robin, how's BatBat doing today? Do you live in the US?YAY!!!![]()
She's doing just fine today. Had to go back to this method of dosing her Lantus: Push black plunger in very hard inside the syringe (to create a vaccuum), hold it & insert syringe in the Lantus pen cartridge, then release my hold - thereby sucking just the tiniest drop of insulin back into the syringe. (Yeah, can you believe this??? I call it the "suck-up" method.Robin, how's BatBat doing today? Do you live in the US?
Could be stress. If she ate after the shot, could be food. Could be a bounce - she has had several low numbers. Nothing to do right now - it's just one number, just one cycle.Sophia is at 314 at +2 pmps. I'm not sure what to do.