ssblackcat Sophia & Susan
Member Since 2016
Good morning - I want to thank Robin for helping us through last night's numbers. Sophia is at 296 this morning and I would love some guidance on her shot this morning.
I don't know? Can I?Good morning Susan Let's hope @Rachel isn't sleeping in I probably would not give 2 units Can you wait a bit

6:30When is your normal shot time?
mountain, so it's shot time now.What time zone?
yesWill you be able to monitor her today?
@Sue and Oliver (GA)
I did just give her 1.5 units and will monitor as I can. I will be home most of the day but with 3 little humans also!We are just guessing, Susan, so we want to guess cautiously. She was in safe numbers last night with 2 units but dropped early. And I think you are just changing to wet low carb. If you can monitor, You could go with 1.5. It shouldn't take her too low but should still give her some good levels.
Until we have some data, it is hard to know how much she needs. That's why we suggest starting with one unit (usually a nice safe dose) and working your way up, as you get numbers. If you are nervous, you could always restart with one unit and, with your tests as a guide, work your way up as needed.
(Just now have one eye open & having firstWe are just guessing, Susan, so we want to guess cautiously. She was in safe numbers last night with 2 units but dropped early. And I think you are just changing to wet low carb. If you can monitor, You could go with 1.5. It shouldn't take her too low but should still give her some good levels.
.) Agree with this 100%! That's o
Don't you just love our little tag-team here, Susan? 
You guys are great! I feel so much better having people to give me advise!(Just now have one eye open & having first.) Agree with this 100%! That's o
Yay! @Sharon14 & @Sue and Oliver (GA) to the rescue.
Don't you just love our little tag-team here, Susan?
That's one of the reasons I was asking last night about some details re: date of Sophia's diagnosis and what the BG # was that the vet got on the day he'd diagnosed her diabetes. And he started her at how much ProZinc on that day? Having that info, even though you hadn't started home-testing right away, is helpful to us in trying to figure out where she should be on dosage. (I'm assuming you probably fell asleep from exhaustion last night somewhere after that +4 test ...)
You did a super job last night, so yes --- please get a +2 after this 1.5u dose. And when you have a minute, put together your signature, too, ok?
![]()
Oh boy, that'll be fun, huh? (If you have a playpen, maybe put little toddler-person in there when it's time to catch that +2.I have a toddler to watch today so this is going to be tricky.![]()
This is a typical start point for so many of us: Vet gets one high BG # in-clinic. Starts at a certain dose - in your case just a single unite - BUT does not then say, "Test BG at home before each dose and ... (the other instructions you can see on the ProZinc Protocol doc I posted to you last night). "Sophie's BG when she was diagnosed was 460. Her vet started her on 1 unit that day. A week later, I took her in for a curve and that's when they increased her to 2 units.
and wants to help so we're going to try it together. She will not be caged! (my granddaughter, that is +2 is 76 @Robin&BBThe important time to watch is +2 hours after the shot (just in case she would start to drop early like last night) and then 5-7 hours after the shot to see how low the insulin takes her.
She is having some now.Okay, see tht fast drop to 76? Please go ahead and give 1/4 can of the usual Fancy Feast now. Then I need you to test again 25-30 minutes after she's eaten it.
Do this, please.Please go ahead and give 1/4 can of the usual Fancy Feast now. Then I need you to test again 25-30 minutes after she's eaten it.
Robin - you are giving BatBat such a tiny amount of insulin - what happens if you don't give any?Haha ... we are cross-posting!Good, I'm glad you're feeding her. Will await your next test result & we'll go from there.
Yep. We'll be watching this cycle carefully to see how things roll out for Sophia by PMPS time ...I was thinking the same thing, Robin. seems like 1 (or even 0.5)
Well ... Bat-Bat's been riding the see-saw (dose 0.05/skip/dose 0.05/skip, ad nauseum), putting her bean between a rock & a hard place. Last night, giving Bat just that 0.05U resulted in a lengthy steering sessionRobin - you are giving BatBat such a tiny amount of insulin - what happens if you don't give any?
. Rather than skipping altogether this morning, I used the "create-vacuum, suck-it-up" method" with the syringe. I may know by +3 whether any insulin actually got into her ... at this point, I just wish we could be all done with it.@Sue and Oliver (GA) - Yes, I will. Maybe let me know when you're back later? (I might need to go for a 1.5 hr nap after that ...)Robin, will you be around this morning? I have to go out in a half hour and will be gone a couple hours.
PERFECT!!!I should be back by noon Mountain time.
Susan, at first I had a hard time testing Murphy as well - at times he'd get so angry - once he bit me quite badly - it's still hard to test him when he is very hungry but I just wanted to let you know that it does get a lot easier for both you and SophiaSophie is not happy with my poking method yet, that's the only rub at this time.
Oh she quite likes thatOk, we need the higher-carb gravy-based food right now, with about a 1/4-teaspoon on syrup on it. Just a little bit of food, but gravy + the syrup.
That's great! (That's she's happy to eat, I mean.) I'm not real thrilled that she's learned Bat's bad cliff-diving skills already, though. (I feel for you!)
And yes, we will most definitely be going down to 0.5U dose at PMPS tonight, provided she's even showing us a pre-shot number of AT LEAST 200.![]()
yes, I'm not able to answer or ask as much as I'd like right now eitherNothing quite like starting your Saturday off with a bang when you have a toddler to watch, too, huh?![]()
Totally get it - just make sure you get that test & post the # for us right away so we can get her back up into safe #s asap ...yes, I'm not able to answer or ask as much as I'd like right now either
That's good!Just did a test after 20 minutes...she's at 60.
Well, we went through this type of thing with Sophia last night; as we've added syrup & gravy + food to the mix, I'd rather get a second result 30 minutes after that 60 - because we're doing the balancing act: Don't want to overfeed quite yet, just in case we need to keep feeding for the next hour or two.Robin, seeing as it is so early in the cycle, should she feed her a little more low carb wet now or hold off for now?
okay - I always seem to overfeed very early in the cycle (or since Murphy will hardly ever eat anything when he gets low, I feed him when he'll eat)Don't want to overfeed quite yet, just in case we need to keep feeding for the next hour or two.
Well, you have a special situation with Murphy, too, given his pancreatitis & IBD. That certainly makes it more complicated for you.since Murphy will hardly ever eat anything when he gets low, I feed him when he'll eat
