Sophia's AMPS

Status
Not open for further replies.
Susan, I'm not comfortable giving dosing advice. (My cat is on a different insulin) I know that you can wait 30 min or so and get back on your schedule easily. Maybe Sue or Rachel will be on by then. The usual starting dose is .5 - 1u I would not give more than that. Please keep us posted.
 
We are just guessing, Susan, so we want to guess cautiously. She was in safe numbers last night with 2 units but dropped early. And I think you are just changing to wet low carb. If you can monitor, You could go with 1.5. It shouldn't take her too low but should still give her some good levels.

Until we have some data, it is hard to know how much she needs. That's why we suggest starting with one unit (usually a nice safe dose) and working your way up, as you get numbers. If you are nervous, you could always restart with one unit and, with your tests as a guide, work your way up as needed.
 
We are just guessing, Susan, so we want to guess cautiously. She was in safe numbers last night with 2 units but dropped early. And I think you are just changing to wet low carb. If you can monitor, You could go with 1.5. It shouldn't take her too low but should still give her some good levels.

Until we have some data, it is hard to know how much she needs. That's why we suggest starting with one unit (usually a nice safe dose) and working your way up, as you get numbers. If you are nervous, you could always restart with one unit and, with your tests as a guide, work your way up as needed.
I did just give her 1.5 units and will monitor as I can. I will be home most of the day but with 3 little humans also!
 
We are just guessing, Susan, so we want to guess cautiously. She was in safe numbers last night with 2 units but dropped early. And I think you are just changing to wet low carb. If you can monitor, You could go with 1.5. It shouldn't take her too low but should still give her some good levels.
(Just now have one eye open & having first :coffee:.) Agree with this 100%! That's o:) Yay! @Sharon14 & @Sue and Oliver (GA) to the rescue.:joyful: Don't you just love our little tag-team here, Susan?

That's one of the reasons I was asking last night about some details re: date of Sophia's diagnosis and what the BG # was that the vet got on the day he'd diagnosed her diabetes. And he started her at how much ProZinc on that day? Having that info, even though you hadn't started home-testing right away, is helpful to us in trying to figure out where she should be on dosage. (I'm assuming you probably fell asleep from exhaustion last night somewhere after that +4 test ...)

You did a super job last night:D, so yes --- please get a +2 after this 1.5u dose. And when you have a minute, put together your signature, too, ok?:bighug:
 
(Just now have one eye open & having first :coffee:.) Agree with this 100%! That's o:) Yay! @Sharon14 & @Sue and Oliver (GA) to the rescue.:joyful: Don't you just love our little tag-team here, Susan?

That's one of the reasons I was asking last night about some details re: date of Sophia's diagnosis and what the BG # was that the vet got on the day he'd diagnosed her diabetes. And he started her at how much ProZinc on that day? Having that info, even though you hadn't started home-testing right away, is helpful to us in trying to figure out where she should be on dosage. (I'm assuming you probably fell asleep from exhaustion last night somewhere after that +4 test ...)

You did a super job last night:D, so yes --- please get a +2 after this 1.5u dose. And when you have a minute, put together your signature, too, ok?:bighug:
You guys are great! I feel so much better having people to give me advise!
Sophie's BG when she was diagnosed was 460. Her vet started her on 1 unit that day. A week later, I took her in for a curve and that's when they increased her to 2 units.
I did put some info on my signature. I have a toddler to watch today so this is going to be tricky.;)
 
I have a toddler to watch today so this is going to be tricky.;)
Oh boy, that'll be fun, huh? (If you have a playpen, maybe put little toddler-person in there when it's time to catch that +2.;))

Sophie's BG when she was diagnosed was 460. Her vet started her on 1 unit that day. A week later, I took her in for a curve and that's when they increased her to 2 units.
This is a typical start point for so many of us: Vet gets one high BG # in-clinic. Starts at a certain dose - in your case just a single unite - BUT does not then say, "Test BG at home before each dose and ... (the other instructions you can see on the ProZinc Protocol doc I posted to you last night). "

Instead vet has you bring kitty back in for an in-clinic curve (often they choose to run a fructosamine test at that time) and look at it and usually adjust the dose based on what they're seeing in that test. Only trouble with this approach is: Kitty can spike a higher-than-usual BG# during a vet visit. (Stress hyperglycemia, sometimes as much as 100+ points.) So without getting those pre-shot tests at home, right before dose time, as well as some mid cycle tests, you just don't really get to see a kitty's truest BG patterns before & during a cycle until you're doing those ear pokes there at home.

So ... aren't you glad you've learned to do those little ear pokes?;) (By continuing to do this and amassing the data in her SS, you will not need to put Sophia through more of those in-clinic curves - which will also save you lots of $$$ - because they will be totally unnecessary.:))

Re: Signature - now I see it. (Now that I have both eyes open.:p Thank God for coffee...)
 
Sophie is not happy with my poking method yet, that's the only rub at this time. My little granddaughter loves the kitty :kiss: and wants to help so we're going to try it together. She will not be caged! (my granddaughter, that is ;)) We will be testing here soon for the +2.
 
Do you give Sophia a snack - either while poking or right after? That is often the secret to this thing. They know a treat is coming so they sit still for the poke.
 
Okay, see that fast drop to 76? Please go ahead and give 1/4 can of the usual Fancy Feast now. Then I need you to test again 25-30 minutes after she's eaten it.
 
Darn. It looked like 1.5 would be a good dose, not taking her super low. The diet change must be really kicking in and lowering the numbers also. As Robin said, this is good news, but may take some steering on your part to keep her in safe ranges. Do you have some gravy based food? Sometimes just a teaspoon of gravy can bring the numbers up a little.

Robin, will you be around this morning? I have to go out in a half hour and will be gone a couple hours.
 
I was thinking the same thing, Robin. seems like 1 (or even 0.5)
Yep. We'll be watching this cycle carefully to see how things roll out for Sophia by PMPS time ...
Robin - you are giving BatBat such a tiny amount of insulin - what happens if you don't give any?
Well ... Bat-Bat's been riding the see-saw (dose 0.05/skip/dose 0.05/skip, ad nauseum), putting her bean between a rock & a hard place. Last night, giving Bat just that 0.05U resulted in a lengthy steering session:banghead:. Rather than skipping altogether this morning, I used the "create-vacuum, suck-it-up" method" with the syringe. I may know by +3 whether any insulin actually got into her ... at this point, I just wish we could be all done with it.:rolleyes:
Robin, will you be around this morning? I have to go out in a half hour and will be gone a couple hours.
@Sue and Oliver (GA) - Yes, I will. Maybe let me know when you're back later? (I might need to go for a 1.5 hr nap after that ...)
 
Ok, we need the higher-carb gravy-based food right now, with about a 1/4-teaspoon on syrup on it. Just a little bit of food, but gravy + the syrup.
 
You may be steering her for a while, so don't want to overfill her with the food. So go for just 1/4 can FF gravy-type (pour out a little extra gravy, and add a few drops (abt. 1/4 tsp.) of syrup, ok?
 
That's great! (That's she's happy to eat, I mean.) I'm not real thrilled that she's learned Bat's bad cliff-diving skills already, though. (I feel for you!:rolleyes:)

And yes, we will most definitely be going down to 0.5U dose at PMPS tonight, provided she's even showing us a pre-shot number of AT LEAST 200. ;)
 
Just so you know ... the reason I'm asking you to test her BG a little earlier this time is twofold:
1) That 46 result you got;
2) Adding syrup + gravy should bring her BG up faster than if it was just the food alone.
 
Nothing quite like starting your Saturday off with a bang when you have a toddler to watch, too, huh?:p:facepalm:
 
That's great! (That's she's happy to eat, I mean.) I'm not real thrilled that she's learned Bat's bad cliff-diving skills already, though. (I feel for you!:rolleyes:)

And yes, we will most definitely be going down to 0.5U dose at PMPS tonight, provided she's even showing us a pre-shot number of AT LEAST 200. ;)
Nothing quite like starting your Saturday off with a bang when you have a toddler to watch, too, huh?:p:facepalm:
yes, I'm not able to answer or ask as much as I'd like right now either
 
Robin, seeing as it is so early in the cycle, should she feed her a little more low carb wet now or hold off for now?
Well, we went through this type of thing with Sophia last night; as we've added syrup & gravy + food to the mix, I'd rather get a second result 30 minutes after that 60 - because we're doing the balancing act: Don't want to overfeed quite yet, just in case we need to keep feeding for the next hour or two.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top