Should I Skip?

Could you update the last week of data in your spreadsheet? So much of what we consider when helping this decision is based on context of what has happened recently. People following SLGS can shoot as low as 90, provided they have the data to do so, and I can't tell.

Is that 126 a Libre or Relion number? If Libre, can you retest with the Relion? That number may be higher.
 
Could you update the last week of data in your spreadsheet? So much of what we consider when helping this decision is based on context of what has happened recently. People following SLGS can shoot as low as 90, provided they have the data to do so, and I can't tell.

Is that 126 a Libre or Relion number? If Libre, can you retest with the Relion? That number may be higher.
I will do the sheet right now. That is with a Libre. Mojo is semi feral so if I try for the ReliOn then I won’t be able to catch him for the shot. I kind of only get one chance with him. Either food and shot or ReliOn, unfortunately.
 
I just updated his sheet. Sorry about that. I’ve been pretty overwhelmed. The vet changed his dose from .75m to .75f on August 27th because he had two hypo events on the previous dose that were verified with the handheld ReliOn. Usually the ReliOn is about 10-15 points higher than the Libre.
 
Looks like you shot? You shot a 122 on the AM of the 3rd. So far it looks like shooting was a good decision.
I’m not used to yellow or blue at shot time, so it’s all new to me. I am also interested in the TRP since Mojo only eats moist now. Do you know how I can get walked through that protocol, or is it too late since my cat started on the go slow method originally?
 
Once Mojo is on an all low carb wet or raw food diet, you can switch anytime to the Tight Regulation Protocol. Have you read through this Sticky Note: Dosing Methods: Start Low, Go Slow (SLGS) & Tight Regulation (TR)
I did. It is confusing to me. I don’t understand the increase guidelines. For example, Mojo’s nadir is everywhere: one day it is 120, another 63. And is it all about the nadir? Because many days he has pink, which btw is way better than before when he was getting lots of red.
 
Don't look at just the one nadir, look at all his nadirs. How low is the dose taking him? And yes, we determine how to change the dose based on the nadirs, not the high points.

With SLGS, if any dose takes him below 90 at any time (you refer to 63 above), that means an immediate reduction by 0.25 units. For TR, the reduction point is below 50, for a newly diagnosed kitty.
 
He was diagnosed last September, so we are going on a year. For TR what would be his reduction point at one year? Could you possibly look at his chart and tell me what you think? Personally I feel he is doing better than ever since the reduction to .75f. His ketones are .3. I check them every two weeks when I have him wrangled for the Libre. He is not an easy cat and is so aggressive at the vet that I have been asked not to come back already with two different vets. The third vet reluctantly works with him if she can manage to sedate him. No at-home sedation has worked. It does the opposite and makes him violent. So it’s pretty much just me trying to make sure he has what he needs.
 
If following TR, and with a cat diabetic over a year, the reduction point is below 40 or a week in sold greens. Or if you have a cat that doesn't hold reductions well, you can go with three times between 40 and 49, on three separate days (or that one under 40).

It is possible to customize SLGS a bit when you have been doing this a while, have lots of data, and know how your cat responds to insulin and carbs. One of the common modifications is to lower the reduction point a bit, so they stay in greens longer.
 
If you want to be a bit tighter on the dosing, I like Wendy’s suggestion re: customizing the SLGS protocol to use a slightly lower reduction number.

I personally would be cautious about going with the TR protocol in a semi-feral cat. If you run into a situation where he's running low, you need to be able to test, sometimes as frequently as every 20 minutes, and you need to be able to count on him eating. My last diabetic was a former feral (and I still have a feral with whom I co-exist), so I understand the feral dynamics. Safety first.
 
Back
Top