? Should I reduce the dose?

He seems to be hitting nadir late for ProZinc. which along with that low 3.6 yesterday can indicate the dose is too high so absolutely reduce to 1.75u tomorrow morning even if BG is high again.
 
Well, those readings could just be meter variance but we don't know that for sure. If you make him wait longer he could start getting antsy and that could artificially put his BG up. You've already stalled an hour+ which should be enough.
 
AMPS was 22.2 and I gave him 1.75. I’m glad to see it didn’t go through the roof after another skipped dose.

I just took this picture of him and he looks so grumpy I have to share :joyful:
A548C107-E905-4AB5-A949-DF0AF0C4B5EE.jpeg
 
He is absolutely adorable, grumpy face and all! Are you sure he wasn't just ticked off that you were taking a picture? My girl HATES the camera. :woot:
 
Ladies I actually have a question, I’m not sure whether to start a new thread or not...

I found a rather black-ish poop when I went home earlier and it didn't flush either. I know malena is caused by GI bleeding but he doesn't have any other symptoms apart from the poop and he seems lively.
I don't want to post such a picture after the 2 cute ones from earlier, but I do have some :rolleyes:
 
Ladies I actually have a question, I’m not sure whether to start a new thread or not...

I found a rather black-ish poop when I went home earlier and it didn't flush either. I know malena is caused by GI bleeding but he doesn't have any other symptoms apart from the poop and he seems lively.
I don't want to post such a picture after the 2 cute ones from earlier, but I do have some :rolleyes:
Hmmmm anything very different from the norm if diet and meds are the same as usual might be cause for concern. I'm not sure what malena is? Haven't come across that term.
 
I wouldn't worry about one blackish stool but I'd definitely keep an eye out for a continuing trend. Was the stool hard because it can tend to darken if it's more dried out? If it was a tarry black stool on the other hand that would warrant a vet visit.
 
I wouldn't worry about one blackish stool but I'd definitely keep an eye out for a continuing trend. Was the stool hard because it can tend to darken if it's more dried out? If it was a tarry black stool on the other hand that would warrant a vet visit.

It's very dark, nearly black but not tarry - I'll keep watching.

@Diana&Tom it's the medical term for the black, tarry stools (and a girl's name:woot:)
 
It's very dark, nearly black but not tarry - I'll keep watching.

@Diana&Tom it's the medical term for the black, tarry stools (and a girl's name:woot:)

Ok I just googled - I think it's melena that's the medical condition, and Marlena is the girl's name? We have a member here called Marlena, I think she was named after Marlena Dietrich (not sure of spelling!)

ETA whoops I'm wrong, it was Marlene Dietrich!
 
Ok I just googled - I think it's melena that's the medical condition, and Marlena is the girl's name? We have a member here called Marlena, I think she was named after Marlena Dietrich (not sure of spelling!)

ETA whoops I'm wrong, it was Marlene Dietrich!
Oh yes, melena is the medical condition, Malena is my friend's name (she's the only reason I knew this term :smuggrin:)
 
Oh I didn't even think to check what insulin you are using :facepalm: I was tagging everyone I knew from previous posts :oops:

When you have a moment, could I ask you to have a look over some new blood tests for Perlutz, please? I had some tests repeated and also got him tested for acro (result is not back for acro yet). Thank you :bighug:
No problem! There are some things I will offer comments on, in general, but the best advice on an insulin is often given by those with experience with it. You can always check signature blocks and they will tell you if that person has experience with a specific insulin.

I’m out all day today but will look at labs this evening :)
 
We have another blue PS and looks like he is still dropping. Looks like I might have to skip another dose:eek:

Wow! Lovely blue! The +1 isnt't much of a drop but he may be about to show a similar pattern to what we've seen before - surfing nice, fairly even numbers for a few hours before rising fast. If you're around today it would be good to get some more tests to try to catch his nadir which would be a + number from the last shot, not this morning's missed shot time.

Hopefully Linda is following and will have some other comments and suggestions.

Getting interesting - you are definitely in a new phase!
 
Wow! Lovely blue! The +1 isnt't much of a drop but he may be about to show a similar pattern to what we've seen before - surfing nice, fairly even numbers for a few hours before rising fast. If you're around today it would be good to get some more tests to try to catch his nadir which would be a + number from the last shot, not this morning's missed shot time.

Hopefully Linda is following and will have some other comments and suggestions.

Getting interesting - you are definitely in a new phase!
All new indeed! I’m debating wether I should give 0.25-0.5 or just, like you said, see when nadir will be and what happens in these long cycles.

Oh and the drop was 20-25 min min later
 
I wish I knew - if he is still dropping from the last dose he could even get into the greens, so you probably wouldn't want to give anything now. But if he starts going up soon, you'd wish you had dosed! It's all about trying to find what duration he gets now on any one dose, and tweak the dose until you get a shootable number twice a day.

I'm sure you've seen this but might be worth another look:

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/protocol-for-prozinc-pzi.109077/
 
I wish I knew - if he is still dropping from the last dose he could even get into the greens, so you probably wouldn't want to give anything now. But if he starts going up soon, you'd wish you had dosed! It's all about trying to find what duration he gets now on any one dose, and tweak the dose until you get a shootable number twice a day.

I'm sure you've seen this but might be worth another look:

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/protocol-for-prozinc-pzi.109077/
I’ll skip and see what happens with his numbers. I don’t want to poke him too much so I’ll test until nadir and then get maybe a couple more tests throughout the day to see how much and when it goes very high.

I’m thinking he might need another decrease? Yesterday’s PMPS was quite high, I did not expect a nice blue this morning!
 
I’ll skip and see what happens with his numbers. I don’t want to poke him too much so I’ll test until nadir and then get maybe a couple more tests throughout the day to see how much and when it goes very high.

I’m thinking he might need another decrease? Yesterday’s PMPS was quite high, I did not expect a nice blue this morning!

Good plan!
 
Perlutz is definitely telling us something has changed and it might be that his pancreas is starting to pump out a bit more insulin at times. It would definitely be better to be able to shoot both AMPS and PMPS instead of having to skip. How about trying 1.5u and see if that evens out the pre-shots to shootable numbers. Try that for a couple of days so you get a handle on how that dose is working and then it might be time to lower the no shoot number to try to get him into those healing blues and dark greens and keep him there longer through each cycle.
 
Linda's suggestion of 1.5u sounds worth a try, I can imagine how disruptive and frustrating it is to keep skipping shots.

Will look out for updates on your spreadsheet if you have any (or maybe you're out celebrating a certain sporting win? :) :) :) )
 
Perlutz is definitely telling us something has changed and it might be that his pancreas is starting to pump out a bit more insulin at times. It would definitely be better to be able to shoot both AMPS and PMPS instead of having to skip. How about trying 1.5u and see if that evens out the pre-shots to shootable numbers. Try that for a couple of days so you get a handle on how that dose is working and then it might be time to lower the no shoot number to try to get him into those healing blues and dark greens and keep him there longer through each cycle.
My thoughts indeed re lowering the dose. I can’t believe we’ve been lowering from 2.5 a week ago and still skipped few shots!

Here’s a less grumpy face :joyful: Earlier, despite the warm weather, he decided to tuck himself in (I promise that was all him, I did not touch that blanket!)

27DFB274-2436-4DBB-9702-2F3B2D6D0CB9.jpeg
 
Linda's suggestion of 1.5u sounds worth a try, I can imagine how disruptive and frustrating it is to keep skipping shots.

Will look out for updates on your spreadsheet if you have any (or maybe you're out celebrating a certain sporting win? :) :) :) )
I haven’t tested him since morning. I wanted to once but he hid his ears, did his cutest face and I left him in peace (and went back to watching the game - what a win yay :cool:).

PS: I think I managed to sort out the camera. Couldn’t get it to connect to my phone while on any other network than my home wifi but I think I’ve got it now! Let the stalking begin haha
 
I haven’t tested him since morning. I wanted to once but he hid his ears, did his cutest face and I left him in peace (and went back to watching the game - what a win yay :cool:).

PS: I think I managed to sort out the camera. Couldn’t get it to connect to my phone while on any other network than my home wifi but I think I’ve got it now! Let the stalking begin haha
Georgiana, I hereby declare you our most tech-savvy member! Stalking your cat remotely via a special cat camera gets my vote and I bet that's a first here :)
 
Cat stalking cameras are great! :D I have a camera that covers their food area and entrance to the main litter box. I have motion zones set up that trigger it to begin recording when there is movement so that I can always go back and see who ate what when, if I need to. I also have another camera that I move as needed. I had to be away a few days and positioned it to cover my bed and a cat bed in the window, areas where my girls spend a good bit of their time. It is always nice to be able to check in and see the secret lives of cats.
 
Back
Top