Georgiana & Perlutz
Member Since 2019
Ok, will do that. He’s not crying for food yetHMMMM! Can you stall another 20 minutes and check again. Want to make sure he's not still dropping.
Ok, will do that. He’s not crying for food yetHMMMM! Can you stall another 20 minutes and check again. Want to make sure he's not still dropping.
Should I start taking bets? “How much do you think Perlutz’s BG will be today?”Wow! I would have thought a mid teen maybe.

Should I start taking bets? “How much do you think Perlutz’s BG will be today?”![]()


Haha he's saying Mum, you brought home all those shopping bags and there's nothing in them for ME???????AMPS was 22.2 and I gave him 1.75. I’m glad to see it didn’t go through the roof after another skipped dose.
I just took this picture of him and he looks so grumpy I have to share
View attachment 46301
Haha a rare shopping bag that doesn’t have cat food he won’t eatHaha he's saying Mum, you brought home all those shopping bags and there's nothing in them for ME???????


He looks grumpy in a lot of pictures, it’s his camera face I guessHe is absolutely adorable, grumpy face and all! Are you sure he wasn't just ticked off that you were taking a picture? My girl HATES the camera.![]()
I did, it was 22.4 or 24 something. I was in a rush and didn’t update the SS and now I forgotDid you get a lunchtime test, Georgiana?
Hmmmm anything very different from the norm if diet and meds are the same as usual might be cause for concern. I'm not sure what malena is? Haven't come across that term.Ladies I actually have a question, I’m not sure whether to start a new thread or not...
I found a rather black-ish poop when I went home earlier and it didn't flush either. I know malena is caused by GI bleeding but he doesn't have any other symptoms apart from the poop and he seems lively.
I don't want to post such a picture after the 2 cute ones from earlier, but I do have some![]()
I wouldn't worry about one blackish stool but I'd definitely keep an eye out for a continuing trend. Was the stool hard because it can tend to darken if it's more dried out? If it was a tarry black stool on the other hand that would warrant a vet visit.
)It's very dark, nearly black but not tarry - I'll keep watching.
@Diana&Tom it's the medical term for the black, tarry stools (and a girl's name)
Oh yes, melena is the medical condition, Malena is my friend's name (she's the only reason I knew this termOk I just googled - I think it's melena that's the medical condition, and Marlena is the girl's name? We have a member here called Marlena, I think she was named after Marlena Dietrich (not sure of spelling!)
ETA whoops I'm wrong, it was Marlene Dietrich!
)Ok so we have melena, Malena, Marlena and Marlene - similar but different! May or may not rememberOh yes, melena is the medical condition, Malena is my friend's name (she's the only reason I knew this term)
No problem! There are some things I will offer comments on, in general, but the best advice on an insulin is often given by those with experience with it. You can always check signature blocks and they will tell you if that person has experience with a specific insulin.Oh I didn't even think to check what insulin you are usingI was tagging everyone I knew from previous posts
When you have a moment, could I ask you to have a look over some new blood tests for Perlutz, please? I had some tests repeated and also got him tested for acro (result is not back for acro yet). Thank you![]()
We have another blue PS and looks like he is still dropping. Looks like I might have to skip another dose![]()
All new indeed! I’m debating wether I should give 0.25-0.5 or just, like you said, see when nadir will be and what happens in these long cycles.Wow! Lovely blue! The +1 isnt't much of a drop but he may be about to show a similar pattern to what we've seen before - surfing nice, fairly even numbers for a few hours before rising fast. If you're around today it would be good to get some more tests to try to catch his nadir which would be a + number from the last shot, not this morning's missed shot time.
Hopefully Linda is following and will have some other comments and suggestions.
Getting interesting - you are definitely in a new phase!
I’ll skip and see what happens with his numbers. I don’t want to poke him too much so I’ll test until nadir and then get maybe a couple more tests throughout the day to see how much and when it goes very high.I wish I knew - if he is still dropping from the last dose he could even get into the greens, so you probably wouldn't want to give anything now. But if he starts going up soon, you'd wish you had dosed! It's all about trying to find what duration he gets now on any one dose, and tweak the dose until you get a shootable number twice a day.
I'm sure you've seen this but might be worth another look:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/protocol-for-prozinc-pzi.109077/
I’ll skip and see what happens with his numbers. I don’t want to poke him too much so I’ll test until nadir and then get maybe a couple more tests throughout the day to see how much and when it goes very high.
I’m thinking he might need another decrease? Yesterday’s PMPS was quite high, I did not expect a nice blue this morning!
I expect he'll go up now but see what happens!10.1 just now but his breakfast would have risen it a bit as well. I’m gonna grab another reading in half an hour.
Went down a bit to 9.8I expect he'll go up now but see what happens!
My thoughts indeed re lowering the dose. I can’t believe we’ve been lowering from 2.5 a week ago and still skipped few shots!Perlutz is definitely telling us something has changed and it might be that his pancreas is starting to pump out a bit more insulin at times. It would definitely be better to be able to shoot both AMPS and PMPS instead of having to skip. How about trying 1.5u and see if that evens out the pre-shots to shootable numbers. Try that for a couple of days so you get a handle on how that dose is working and then it might be time to lower the no shoot number to try to get him into those healing blues and dark greens and keep him there longer through each cycle.
Earlier, despite the warm weather, he decided to tuck himself in (I promise that was all him, I did not touch that blanket!)I haven’t tested him since morning. I wanted to once but he hid his ears, did his cutest face and I left him in peace (and went back to watching the game - what a win yayLinda's suggestion of 1.5u sounds worth a try, I can imagine how disruptive and frustrating it is to keep skipping shots.
Will look out for updates on your spreadsheet if you have any (or maybe you're out celebrating a certain sporting win?![]()
![]()
)

Georgiana, I hereby declare you our most tech-savvy member! Stalking your cat remotely via a special cat camera gets my vote and I bet that's a first hereI haven’t tested him since morning. I wanted to once but he hid his ears, did his cutest face and I left him in peace (and went back to watching the game - what a win yay).
PS: I think I managed to sort out the camera. Couldn’t get it to connect to my phone while on any other network than my home wifi but I think I’ve got it now! Let the stalking begin haha
Hahaha yay I’m the number 1 cat stalkerGeorgiana, I hereby declare you our most tech-savvy member! Stalking your cat remotely via a special cat camera gets my vote and I bet that's a first here![]()
I bought a little camera so I can see him when I am not at home. Most of the time it’ll be just him snoozingIs this camera you're talking about, one worn by kitty so you can spy on him?![]()
but it will give me some peace of mind when I am at work and he is running in greens that I can at least see him instead of imagining seizures and such Amazing!Live from the other room haha He’s quite far from the camera so I had to zoom in hence the bad quality but as long as I can see him it’s not bad
View attachment 46344
Oh my God how can he be any more adorableMy thoughts indeed re lowering the dose. I can’t believe we’ve been lowering from 2.5 a week ago and still skipped few shots!
Here’s a less grumpy faceEarlier, despite the warm weather, he decided to tuck himself in (I promise that was all him, I did not touch that blanket!)
View attachment 46341
I’m updating the labs now! Sorry!Georgiana
the only labs I see are from 5/22. Are those the ones you mean? If not, can you post them on his lab tab, please, and let me know? thank yoU!!