? Shaak, AMPS 365, Feb. 8TH, 2016

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hope you got some sleep Cathie :)

If we don't hear from Sue or Marje I think I'd go for the straight 0.5;)
How are you feeling about monitoring today?
 
I agree with the 0.5. It may not be quite enough but better safe than sorry. If she continues to eat low carb, her levels may drop more, so she may need that lower dose. If, after a cycle or two, it doesn't look like enough, you can always raise it a smudge.
 
okay. 0.5 it is. I feel up to the challenge of today, I am just praying by +7 all is okay because I have to take my son to school then and it is a 40 minute drive both ways. Then I also have to go back and get him at PM +1, I am really worried about that one. No choice though, he does not have another way home and +1 and +2 are both scary and I can't make him wait outside the school till 2 hours after class is over to come get him.
 
Got some ready for you:coffee::coffee:

We'll have to wait and see what happens today, you might be ok to miss +1 tonight or Sue & Marje might recommend you skip her shot tonight. FYI skipping one shot or shooting a token dose isn't a big deal, it happens a lot around here. We have lives besides our kitties and we have to balance them. Shaak has already spent a lot of time in high numbers before her dx and one more day (or night) won't hurt her.

Better too high for a day, than too low for a minute
 
I like your way of thinking Andy!

Having :coffee: with my daughter(Kirby) and we just started Harry Potter Goblet of Fire in the DVD player, she just finished the book last night. She is reading all the books and we are rewatching the movies as she finishes each book. It has taken her one year to get to number 4. She is doing quite well. She is 20 yrs old now. She just started a day program for special needs young adults'. Her program is full of plenty of variety such as, computer lab, book club, money management, arts and crafts, cooking, cleaning, gardening, and several volunteer opportunities each week with children, elderly and animals, she attends 3 days a week. It is opening up a whole new world for her.

Not that it has anything to do with Shaak, but just sharing my life. Lol :joyful:
 
She's still eating some dry food, correct? Personally I'd rather see her off the dry before raising the dose back up. Baby steps:)
 
:woot:Oh awesome!

It can take a few days for the crunchy carbs to leave their system though, so still better to err on the safe side for now. +3 should tell us something more today :)
 
Morning! I got up at 8 and looked for a new thread but overlooked it obviously and posted in yesterday's after I got some coffee.

Glad you shot 0.5u and I am more than thrilled that the dry food is in the past and I hope it stays that way. I am not surprised that she has bounced after all those lovely numbers yesterday. We will just see what she does today and not worry about the +1 issue until PMPS. She might bounce another cycle or so. I do agree with Sue that we can always nudge her back up a bit if need be.
 
Shaak has had a couple of bloody stools, I am assuming this is because of the diet change, yet I am still very worried, I don't have the money to go back to the vet, so that is out as a possible solution to the problem. What should I do.
 
Shaak has had a couple of bloody stools, I am assuming this is because of the diet change, yet I am still very worried, I don't have the money to go back to the vet, so that is out as a possible solution to the problem. What should I do.
Soft stools? Bright red blood? It could be from the quick change in food. You can buy some pumpkin with nothing in it to give her. Not pumpkin pie filling but pure pumpkin. Sprouts is not far from you and has Farmers Market Organic canned pumpkin. I usually put it in ice cube trays and freeze it since I can’t use the whole can before it goes bad. Then you can take a little out as you need it and thaw it.
 
I think any plain pumpkin is fine as long as that's the only ingredient. I've given the same brand to my cats.

Pimp needs it to be mixed into food but Hustler will eat it on its own. Not too much, mabye 1 tsp twice daily?
 
I am starting to wonder if Shaak has a UTI. She is peeing little tiny drops of pee every so often, why though wouldn't they have discovered this at the vet last week though? What can I do about it?
 
she also is having a bit of diarrhea which I figure is because of the diet change as it just appeared last night and today. How bad is it that she cleaned it up herself? She started licking it up before I could get a towel and take care of it.
 
Is she dribbling when she shouldn't be(i.e. accidents)? Or, is she going to the box and failing to produce?

Many out-of-litterbox problems are caused by diabetic neuropathy. It's possible that she doesn't have good control over those muscles right now. Neuropathy should improve with insulin therapy. Zobaline can speed recovery.


I think she'll be ok after cleaning herself up....might not want to let her give you any kisses for a while though:eek:
Hopefully the pumpkin helps and her system adjusts quickly.
 
Last edited:
You can order it online. It's a certain type of vitamin b12. Make sure to talk to your vet.
Does Shaak have other symptoms of neuropathy? Does she walk up on her toes like she should, or is she putting her "heels" on the ground? Does she jump up on things?
 
yes, she is a major hock walker. her heels on the ground, she can hardly jump at all? The Dr. said she had Neuropathy but I did not know it could effect the bladder as well though. Would it be like that with little tiny leaks and then bigger leaks as well.
 
Zobaline has helped many kitties here make a faster recovery. We never used it and Pimp is almost back to normal after 4 months of insulin. It took about 6 weeks for him to start jumping up on things again. He had moderate neuropathy but also severe weakness from potassium deficiency.
 
I guess I will try and order some then. I also think I need puppy pads for the time being. I have been using towels but I don't have a washer and I don't really have money to wash a load of towels every day either.
 
Please check with your vet before ordering Zobaline;)
It should be fine just have to throw that disclaimer out there.

ETA: You don't need it to cure neuropathy, it will eventually resolve with insulin therapy, however many report faster improvement when using Zobaline.
Check the supply closet frequently- sometimes a member loses a kitty and has some left over.
 
Sorry, Cathie. I’ve been out. yes...Libby’s pumpkin is fine as long as it is just pumpkin.

I would definitely talk to the vet about the urine symptoms. Diabetic cats can be prone to UTIs because of the amount of sugar in their urine. So I would not unequivocally dismiss those symptoms as due to the neuropathy alone. It could be or it could be that she does have a UTI and needs an antibiotic.
 
I went to the vet last week and asked her to check for things like that? I am kind of miffed, I assumed she did not have one since the Dr said nothing about it.
 
I am getting ready to leave soon to take my son to school and also to get some incontinence pads. I will miss +8 and +9. I have to do +7 early due my son having to go and take care of a friend's guinea pig.
 
I went to the vet last week and asked her to check for things like that? I am kind of miffed, I assumed she did not have one since the Dr said nothing about it.
It's hard to say if that is what it is or not but these things can start very very fast out of nowhere so I wouldn't blame the vet for not finding it, if that's what it is (UTI).
 
I did not realize my vet is closed on Monday, so they will call me in the morning. I called back after a couple of hours of waiting and this time heard the fact that they are closed on Monday.

I just gave her shot, 0.5 u

now I have to run get my son and be back in time for +1
 
If Shaak is "trying" to pee and only a few drops come out it sounds like a UTI--if it is and you start AB asap the symptoms usually subside pretty quickly. They are really uncomfortable ( I have had many and Dre just got over one) the good news is it is fairly easy to remedy:cat:
 
I wonder how much it will cost at the vet for the testing of UTI? I know I should be able to get AB for cheap at Wal-mart, or does the vet give them to you?
 
I wonder how much it will cost at the vet for the testing of UTI? I know I should be able to get AB for cheap at Wal-mart, or does the vet give them to you?
If you can catch some urine they can just run it for bacteria -- usually clavamox is used although I have heard of others using something else I can't remember.... I personally use clavamox. It may affect appetite after a few days but for us it works well and fast. If your pretty sure is UTI and have a good relationship with vet they may prescribe without seeing him or just urinalysis.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top