? Shaak, AMPS 365, Feb. 8TH, 2016

Status
Not open for further replies.
Shaak is not purring or anything today, I am pretty sure it is because of her bladder situation. she had to be coaxed to eat tonight, she did eat it all in the end though, just took about 40 minutes.

I bought adult Incontinence pads for the bed and floor rather than puppy pads, the puppy pads were too small and plus smelled and had an attractant on them.
 
Shaak is not purring or anything today, I am pretty sure it is because of her bladder situation. she had to be coaxed to eat tonight, she did eat it all in the end though, just took about 40 minutes.

I bought adult Incontinence pads for the bed and floor rather than puppy pads, the puppy pads were too small and plus smelled and had an attractant on them.
Probably best if new vet--will help build a relationship too :)
Just FYI--if it is UTI they may offer to give a shot of convenia--it is advised on the forum to refuse it even tho it seems the easier way to go-
if Shaak had a reaction your then in a bad situation--if clavamox tablets you can switch AB if needed.
 
In most cases, cats actually do not have a UTI but symptoms can be caused by stress and antibiotics will not help. However, in the case of diabetics, the chances of a UTI increases. It's best to be cautious because infection in diabetics is not good. It could be why her numbers are higher today as well.

It's usually best to let the vet get sterile sample. If you catch it at home, there is risk of contaminating it before you get it to the vet. If it is stress, the urethra can spasm and it causes a lot of discomfort and pain.

I wouldn't necessarily pay for the vet to check her on the AT. They will charge you for it and you already have an idea of where her BG is so why pay for it especially if Shaak needs a urine test and possibly antibiotics?
 
In most cases, cats actually do not have a UTI but symptoms can be caused by stress and antibiotics will not help. However, in the case of diabetics, the chances of a UTI increases. It's best to be cautious because infection in diabetics is not good. It could be why her numbers are higher today as well.

It's usually best to let the vet get sterile sample. If you catch it at home, there is risk of contaminating it before you get it to the vet. If it is stress, the urethra can spasm and it causes a lot of discomfort and pain.

I wouldn't necessarily pay for the vet to check her on the AT. They will charge you for it and you already have an idea of where her BG is so why pay for it especially if Shaak needs a urine test and possibly antibiotics?


that's a good point
 
You might want to give her a tsp or so of gravy to slow hr down and test in 30 min.

I'm going to look for someone to stay up with you...maybe Gill, ok?
 
Cathie

Gill said she would hang out with you the next few hours. I know you are tired so it's ok if you need to feed her gravy/meat to slow her down and keep her from going into green. I'm hoping this dose is just enough to get her into low blue.

If she drops below 50 again, reduce the dose tomorrow morning to 0.25u if she's above 200. If she's below 200, skip the shot, ok?

Gill...you rock. Thanks so much. Hope it's not a really late pj party!
 
Cathie...remember you did great with the low numbers yesterday. Have confidence and Gill is here to keep you company and keep you calm. "Keep calm and keep on testing".

You got this. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Ok she seems to be surfing then as looking at your ss she was 135 at +2.75.

I would give her a teaspoon of LC and check again @ +4.5.
 
Let's not feed her too much at this stage as we may need her to eat later.

But if she is still holding in blues at next test lets give her some LC
 
sorry, I just jumped gun. I know we actually want her in the low 100's but still just scares me.
That's OK, we want to see if she will hold herself in blues without the carb boost, so let's see what happens at next test.

How are you doing?

It's understandable to be scared the first time BFG dropped into blue I freaked completely, now he is regularly surfing in the 60's and I am getting comfortable with that.:)
 
Not as scared as yesterday AM, when she dropped in the double digits yesterday I thought I would totally lose it. Marje kept me so calm. Then last night you and Andy were there, as long as I am not alone I can handle it.
 
did you start out on Lantus or something else, I know the Novolin N Shaak is on is supposed to have a sharp drop but not last for long, but yesterday she stayed at 59 or below till +7, which to me is long acting.
 
It gets easier, when BFG did his first dive into double digits he dropped below 40:eek:
I was a nervous wreck! But the guys here helped me through it and even now it's nice to know that there is someone out there watching and virtual hand holding as you go through the motions of testing and feeding until the BG come up
 
I started on Lantus, which is slower acting and doesn't drop as fast. I believe it has a longer action and so will tend to keep kitty at good numbers for longer during the cycle.
When he has dropped low I have on occasions had to steer him with food for 4-5 hours, just as well that he likes his food really. Usually after stints like that he has earned a reduction in insulin, (we follow a Tight regulation protocol for lantus), he initially got up to 3 units and now we are down to 1.25 he seems to be needing less and less insulin as time goes on, we are keeping our paws crossed for remission, but regulation would be equally good, he is so much better in himself now.
 
+4.5 173 I guess I might have gone overboard with the 2t gravy lovers. I think we should wait 45 minutes, or do you think less or more to test again?
45 minutes the effects of the HC can wear off. So we want to see if she is going up of her own accord.
If she is down but still in blue in 45 minutes you could give a tsp of LC
 
I suspect that we will see her go up by +5.25, as the effect of the insulin should be waning by now, that might be why we saw the higher blue just now. We just need to be sure that the number we are getting is not food influenced.
 
You haven't messed up. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
It's a very steep learning curve, we have all been there. We move forward and we learn from our experiences.

The novolins action is slowing down, its duration is approx 6hours. So we would have expected her to be higher by now. And she may well be starting on a little bounce after hitting the blue.

It's better that you were cautious as is often said, ' better high for a day than too low for a moment'

Get yourself some sleep you must be exhausted.

Ps
I take it you've read Marje's post regarding dosing tomorrow morning?
 
go with .5 at AM shot. Got it! she went over 200. I am going to check her again in one hour and then go to sleep, I have been going to sleep about that time.
 
go with .5 at AM shot. Got it! she went over 200. I am going to check her again in one hour and then go to sleep, I have been going to sleep about that time.

If she drops below 50 again, reduce the dose tomorrow morning to 0.25u if she's above 200. If she's below 200, skip the shot, ok?

The value you are looking at is the PS value, so If she is above 200 at preshot then give her 0.5 (Shaak didn't drop below 50 in this cycle, so no reduction)

If Shaak were to be below 200 at Preshot then miss a shot.

So we are holding at 0.5u unless she is below 200 at preshot in which case we skip shot.

I'll check in later to see what that Before Bed test tells you, glad she is not keeping you up past your bedtime (anti jinx), though the adrenaline rush with the sugardance can be exhausting in itself.:)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top