Suzanne & Darcy
Member since 2020
Great numbers last night.
Thank you! Red is a very calm & relaxed cat so we'll see how he handles this.Oh no. I am very sorry to hear about your daughter. I know she will appreciate your help. Good idea to take Red with you. Stress can elevate BG, but we will just have to wait and see. It may not affect him too much. A baby could be something different too! Drive safely.
The reduction point you selected was if he drops below 60 (so 59 or less) remember?Thank you! Red is a very calm & relaxed cat so we'll see how he handles this.
Is this correct:
If Red's pre-shot is under 130, I don't give him the .5 fat dose?
If his nadirs are below 90, I reduce insulin by .25?
Yes. We said we would try this for now:If Red's pre-shot is under 130, I don't give him the .5 fat dose?
Omg, yes, you are correct and it's even in my signature! I was just reading about what to do normally with nadirs. Sorry my mind is elsewhere this morning.The reduction point you selected was if he drops below 60 (so 59 or less) remember?
That’s okay. We are custom dosing with Red. Naturally your mind is elsewhere! But I can see you are trying to get your ducks in a row for the trip.Omg, yes, you are correct and it's even in my signature! I was just reading about what to do normally with nadirs. Sorry my mind is elsewhere this morning.
Thank you for the reminder.
I'm testing in 15 minutes and that will be his +2.I’m glad your daughter is okay.
I would not worry about the fat dose today. He had the same AMPS yesterday and it doesn’t look like he dropped low based on the tests you got and his PMPS. So I don’t think it will be a problem; he should have a good cycle, and you can handle it if anything unexpected comes up. I will try to keep an eye on your thread. Where are you currently in the cycle? A +2 test should clue you in to how things are going to go.
Wow a 50 point decrease!A +2 test should clue you in to how things are going to go.
If you fed him a little food he should stabilize just fine.Wow a 50 point decrease!
74 at +2
50 points is okay over a period of 2 hours— as long as he has stabilized. Just be ready with medium carb food and high carb food if necessary. HC is for if he drops below 50.Wow a 50 point decrease!
Yes, tested at +4 and he's 72Have you tested him again to make sure he didn’t continue to drop too much?
Beautiful! See how even he is. That is fantastic to see. I would give him one more mini meal. There are cats who stay level like that. What a great cycle!Yes, tested at +4 and he's 72
He ate after the +2 test
Yay for Red!! I'm sure it helps to be back home, away from any stress of traveling, a dog, a baby...Beautiful! See how even he is. That is fantastic to see. I would give him one more mini meal. There are cats who stay level like that. What a great cycle!
I think Red is happy to be home! I do use bonito flakes and parmesan cheese - he loves both. I also crumble Orijen freeze dried chicken & sprinkle on top of food or give as a treat. I haven't tried Forti Flora but I see it mentioned quite a bit. Is it a powder to sprinkle?Okay. So you are letting him free feed through the day and picking it up two hours before testing — since he eats small amounts and you need to make sure he gets enough to eat. Okay. I understand that! It would sometimes be better if you could ensure that he eats at strategic points. Does he like Bonita Flakes? Could you sprinkle them on his food that’s already sitting out — just if you need him to lick a little food at a specific time. Ground up Pure Bites chicken works really well too (I call it magic chicken dust.). For some cats, a small amount of Forti Flora sprinkled on food is appealing and for others a small amount of grated parmesan cheese is a winner. I am just thinking of things for an instance where he has a green numbers that is good and we would like him to surf in green for a while so a few bites of food will help with this.
He seems to be doing fine with his grazing today though.
No more eye rubbing since, at least that I've noticed. His paw looks good too. I was just looking at it this morning. There's a little dark spot, but there isn't any sore or tenderness. He hasn't been licking it either.I’m pretty sure his eye must’ve been bothering him since he’s been at that BG level before — and also on your ReliOn meter a 64 is a very desirable number (spreadsheet looks great by the way.) Has he done any more eye rubbing since then? Sometimes my non-diabetic cats have facial twitches for some unknown reason.
He is so stable right now, which is a great thing. I think we can just keep watching his numbers and see how things go for the next week and then decide. It’s great that she will come three times a day on those two days. If needed, we will do a “vacation dose” for while you are away.No more eye rubbing since, at least that I've noticed. His paw looks good too. I was just looking at it this morning. There's a little dark spot, but there isn't any sore or tenderness. He hasn't been licking it either.
I know it's early, but in 3 weeks, my husband and I will be away for a Disney weekend cruise for our granddaughter's 1st birthday. We made these plans and reservations before Red fell out of remission. It makes me nervous leaving him now, but his usual sitter will be coming over a few times to learn to test and give his insulin. Do you think it will be okay for her to only test prior to injection? She will only be doing house visits - 3 times per day for Saturday & Sunday, & 2 visits on Friday and Monday since I leave Friday AM and return Monday early afternoon.
Yes. A vacation dose is a reduced dose when the caregiver will be away and not able tp test as normal.That sounds great. Is a vacation dose, just a smaller dose so he keeps the insulin up? I've never been away when he's had to get insulin injections.
His AMPS today was 71! He's getting there!
Yes! He's been getting some great numbers. He likes those 80'sRed is doing great!
Well, we chose 59 as a reduction point because it was better for Red to not start receiving reductions prematurely. It’s custom dosing. Under MPM reductions would be made if under 50, but you were not comfortable with that so we went with reductions if below 60. It is better for Red to spend most of his time in green in order for his pancreas to heal. That is the way to make sure he has a really good, strong, long-lasting remission.@Suzanne & Darcy
Hi Suzanne,
I was reading some of Red's notes from his previous DX in 2021 and when we got him into remission. Back in 2022, whenever Red BG nadirs hit below 65, I reduced his dose .25 unit. This time around, we're reducing at 60 nadir. I trust your knowledge, but I'm just curious why nadirs need to be lower this time around. Is it better for him to be on a higher insulin dose for a longer period of time? Is that a better chance of getting him back into remission?
I thank you for that explanation! I thought it might be better for him but wasn't positive on the reason. I'm good with keeping 59 as a level for reduction.Well, we chose 59 as a reduction point because it was better for Red to not start receiving reductions prematurely. It’s custom dosing. Under MPM reductions would be made if under 50, but you were not comfortable with that so we went with reductions if below 60. It is better for Red to spend most of his time in green in order for his pancreas to heal. That is the way to make sure he has a really good, strong, long-lasting remission.
Red is doing well. He's eating, although sometimes finicky as all cats are. I haven't had to give him the appetite stimulant at all for about 2 weeks now. I noticed his hair has gotten softer and less is falling out. Earlier this morning I was going to mention that he had some blue numbers last night and at AMPS today. I was wondering if it could have been the Tiki Cat mousse that he had yesterday afternoon. I'm not sure how long that would show up in his BG.How is Red doing (other than his fantastic green numbers?). Is he feeling well these days?
I'm so happy for Red too! He has been as patient as me, and so good when it comes to testing and injections. When I pull the monitor out of the case for testing, he hears the velcro and comes over....for that treat afterwardsThe next dose down after .25 is .10. But let’s cross that bridge when we come to itI am proud of you for being so patient and letting Red have the time he needs and not rushing the process.
![]()
He did pretty good last night, he was at 85 PMPS and then at +2 he was 76.How did it go last night? I was just checking in to see if you got a test last night.