Red's dose after falling out of remission | Page 3 | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB

Red's dose after falling out of remission

Oh no. I am very sorry to hear about your daughter. I know she will appreciate your help. Good idea to take Red with you. Stress can elevate BG, but we will just have to wait and see. It may not affect him too much. A baby could be something different too! Drive safely.
Thank you! Red is a very calm & relaxed cat so we'll see how he handles this.

Is this correct:
If Red's pre-shot is under 130, I don't give him the .5 fat dose?
If his nadirs are below 90, I reduce insulin by .25?
 
Thank you! Red is a very calm & relaxed cat so we'll see how he handles this.

Is this correct:
If Red's pre-shot is under 130, I don't give him the .5 fat dose?
If his nadirs are below 90, I reduce insulin by .25?
The reduction point you selected was if he drops below 60 (so 59 or less) remember?
 
The reduction point you selected was if he drops below 60 (so 59 or less) remember?
Omg, yes, you are correct and it's even in my signature! I was just reading about what to do normally with nadirs. Sorry my mind is elsewhere this morning.
Thank you for the reminder.
 
Omg, yes, you are correct and it's even in my signature! I was just reading about what to do normally with nadirs. Sorry my mind is elsewhere this morning.
Thank you for the reminder.
That’s okay. We are custom dosing with Red. Naturally your mind is elsewhere! But I can see you are trying to get your ducks in a row for the trip.
 
@Suzanne & Darcy
Good Morning Suzanne,
Hope all is well with you.
Red and I are back home now. Everything is good with my daughter :) Red didn't do too bad away from home or on the drive. There was a little stress with the dog & baby, nothing major and mostly with the dog trying to get near the cat. They were kept apart from each other and Red was fine with that.

Now that we're home, I accidently gave Red .5F at 125 BG. I know we said 130 was the cut-off, but I don't know why I was thinking 120. I will monitor him closely today to see how he does.
 
I’m glad your daughter is okay.
I would not worry about the fat dose today. He had the same AMPS yesterday and it doesn’t look like he dropped low based on the tests you got and his PMPS. So I don’t think it will be a problem; he should have a good cycle, and you can handle it if anything unexpected comes up. I will try to keep an eye on your thread. Where are you currently in the cycle? A +2 test should clue you in to how things are going to go.
 
I’m glad your daughter is okay.
I would not worry about the fat dose today. He had the same AMPS yesterday and it doesn’t look like he dropped low based on the tests you got and his PMPS. So I don’t think it will be a problem; he should have a good cycle, and you can handle it if anything unexpected comes up. I will try to keep an eye on your thread. Where are you currently in the cycle? A +2 test should clue you in to how things are going to go.
I'm testing in 15 minutes and that will be his +2.
 
Beautiful! See how even he is. That is fantastic to see. I would give him one more mini meal. There are cats who stay level like that. What a great cycle!
Yay for Red!! I'm sure it helps to be back home, away from any stress of traveling, a dog, a baby...
He only eats small amounts so he eats throughout the day. I do pick up his food 2 hours before pre-shots and if I can before some testing.
 
Okay. So you are letting him free feed through the day and picking it up two hours before testing — since he eats small amounts and you need to make sure he gets enough to eat. Okay. I understand that! It would sometimes be better if you could ensure that he eats at strategic points. Does he like Bonita Flakes? Could you sprinkle them on his food that’s already sitting out — just if you need him to lick a little food at a specific time. Ground up Pure Bites chicken works really well too (I call it magic chicken dust.). For some cats, a small amount of Forti Flora sprinkled on food is appealing and for others a small amount of grated parmesan cheese is a winner. I am just thinking of things for an instance where he has a green numbers that is good and we would like him to surf in green for a while so a few bites of food will help with this.

He seems to be doing fine with his grazing today though.
 
Okay. So you are letting him free feed through the day and picking it up two hours before testing — since he eats small amounts and you need to make sure he gets enough to eat. Okay. I understand that! It would sometimes be better if you could ensure that he eats at strategic points. Does he like Bonita Flakes? Could you sprinkle them on his food that’s already sitting out — just if you need him to lick a little food at a specific time. Ground up Pure Bites chicken works really well too (I call it magic chicken dust.). For some cats, a small amount of Forti Flora sprinkled on food is appealing and for others a small amount of grated parmesan cheese is a winner. I am just thinking of things for an instance where he has a green numbers that is good and we would like him to surf in green for a while so a few bites of food will help with this.

He seems to be doing fine with his grazing today though.
I think Red is happy to be home! I do use bonito flakes and parmesan cheese - he loves both. I also crumble Orijen freeze dried chicken & sprinkle on top of food or give as a treat. I haven't tried Forti Flora but I see it mentioned quite a bit. Is it a powder to sprinkle?

His PMPS tonight is 95 😊
 
@Suzanne & Darcy
Hi, Red's BG was 109 this AM & I gave him 2 treats. He ate good, but then vomited clear liquid/water about 1/2 hour later after drinking and one of the treats. @+3 BG was 64, gave 2 freeze dried chicken treats. When I looked back at him, his head was trembling/twitching a tiny bit. I'm not sure why, no shaking elsewhere - he was rubbing his eye but I didn't see anything there. I gave him a tiny bit of FF beef w/gravy to be sure it wasn't low BG/hunger & he ate that. He also ate 1/4 FF petite beef packet. He seemed fine afterwards and he was washing his face. No trembling after, so hopefully it was just something in/near his eye.
 
I’m pretty sure his eye must’ve been bothering him since he’s been at that BG level before — and also on your ReliOn meter a 64 is a very desirable number (spreadsheet looks great by the way.) Has he done any more eye rubbing since then? Sometimes my non-diabetic cats have facial twitches for some unknown reason.
 
I’m pretty sure his eye must’ve been bothering him since he’s been at that BG level before — and also on your ReliOn meter a 64 is a very desirable number (spreadsheet looks great by the way.) Has he done any more eye rubbing since then? Sometimes my non-diabetic cats have facial twitches for some unknown reason.
No more eye rubbing since, at least that I've noticed. His paw looks good too. I was just looking at it this morning. There's a little dark spot, but there isn't any sore or tenderness. He hasn't been licking it either.

I know it's early, but in 3 weeks, my husband and I will be away for a Disney weekend cruise for our granddaughter's 1st birthday. We made these plans and reservations before Red fell out of remission. It makes me nervous leaving him now, but his usual sitter will be coming over a few times to learn to test and give his insulin. Do you think it will be okay for her to only test prior to injection? She will only be doing house visits - 3 times per day for Saturday & Sunday, & 2 visits on Friday and Monday since I leave Friday AM and return Monday early afternoon.
 
No more eye rubbing since, at least that I've noticed. His paw looks good too. I was just looking at it this morning. There's a little dark spot, but there isn't any sore or tenderness. He hasn't been licking it either.

I know it's early, but in 3 weeks, my husband and I will be away for a Disney weekend cruise for our granddaughter's 1st birthday. We made these plans and reservations before Red fell out of remission. It makes me nervous leaving him now, but his usual sitter will be coming over a few times to learn to test and give his insulin. Do you think it will be okay for her to only test prior to injection? She will only be doing house visits - 3 times per day for Saturday & Sunday, & 2 visits on Friday and Monday since I leave Friday AM and return Monday early afternoon.
He is so stable right now, which is a great thing. I think we can just keep watching his numbers and see how things go for the next week and then decide. It’s great that she will come three times a day on those two days. If needed, we will do a “vacation dose” for while you are away.
 
That sounds great. Is a vacation dose, just a smaller dose so he keeps the insulin up? I've never been away when he's had to get insulin injections.

His AMPS today was 71! He's getting there!
 
@Suzanne & Darcy
Hi Suzanne,
I was reading some of Red's notes from his previous DX in 2021 and when we got him into remission. Back in 2022, whenever Red BG nadirs hit below 65, I reduced his dose .25 unit. This time around, we're reducing at 60 nadir. I trust your knowledge, but I'm just curious why nadirs need to be lower this time around. Is it better for him to be on a higher insulin dose for a longer period of time? Is that a better chance of getting him back into remission?
 
@Suzanne & Darcy
Hi Suzanne,
I was reading some of Red's notes from his previous DX in 2021 and when we got him into remission. Back in 2022, whenever Red BG nadirs hit below 65, I reduced his dose .25 unit. This time around, we're reducing at 60 nadir. I trust your knowledge, but I'm just curious why nadirs need to be lower this time around. Is it better for him to be on a higher insulin dose for a longer period of time? Is that a better chance of getting him back into remission?
Well, we chose 59 as a reduction point because it was better for Red to not start receiving reductions prematurely. It’s custom dosing. Under MPM reductions would be made if under 50, but you were not comfortable with that so we went with reductions if below 60. It is better for Red to spend most of his time in green in order for his pancreas to heal. That is the way to make sure he has a really good, strong, long-lasting remission.
 
Well, we chose 59 as a reduction point because it was better for Red to not start receiving reductions prematurely. It’s custom dosing. Under MPM reductions would be made if under 50, but you were not comfortable with that so we went with reductions if below 60. It is better for Red to spend most of his time in green in order for his pancreas to heal. That is the way to make sure he has a really good, strong, long-lasting remission.
I thank you for that explanation! I thought it might be better for him but wasn't positive on the reason. I'm good with keeping 59 as a level for reduction.
Have a good evening!
 
Back
Top