Red's dose after falling out of remission | Page 3 | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB

Red's dose after falling out of remission

Oh no. I am very sorry to hear about your daughter. I know she will appreciate your help. Good idea to take Red with you. Stress can elevate BG, but we will just have to wait and see. It may not affect him too much. A baby could be something different too! Drive safely.
Thank you! Red is a very calm & relaxed cat so we'll see how he handles this.

Is this correct:
If Red's pre-shot is under 130, I don't give him the .5 fat dose?
If his nadirs are below 90, I reduce insulin by .25?
 
Thank you! Red is a very calm & relaxed cat so we'll see how he handles this.

Is this correct:
If Red's pre-shot is under 130, I don't give him the .5 fat dose?
If his nadirs are below 90, I reduce insulin by .25?
The reduction point you selected was if he drops below 60 (so 59 or less) remember?
 
The reduction point you selected was if he drops below 60 (so 59 or less) remember?
Omg, yes, you are correct and it's even in my signature! I was just reading about what to do normally with nadirs. Sorry my mind is elsewhere this morning.
Thank you for the reminder.
 
Omg, yes, you are correct and it's even in my signature! I was just reading about what to do normally with nadirs. Sorry my mind is elsewhere this morning.
Thank you for the reminder.
That’s okay. We are custom dosing with Red. Naturally your mind is elsewhere! But I can see you are trying to get your ducks in a row for the trip.
 
@Suzanne & Darcy
Good Morning Suzanne,
Hope all is well with you.
Red and I are back home now. Everything is good with my daughter :) Red didn't do too bad away from home or on the drive. There was a little stress with the dog & baby, nothing major and mostly with the dog trying to get near the cat. They were kept apart from each other and Red was fine with that.

Now that we're home, I accidently gave Red .5F at 125 BG. I know we said 130 was the cut-off, but I don't know why I was thinking 120. I will monitor him closely today to see how he does.
 
I’m glad your daughter is okay.
I would not worry about the fat dose today. He had the same AMPS yesterday and it doesn’t look like he dropped low based on the tests you got and his PMPS. So I don’t think it will be a problem; he should have a good cycle, and you can handle it if anything unexpected comes up. I will try to keep an eye on your thread. Where are you currently in the cycle? A +2 test should clue you in to how things are going to go.
 
I’m glad your daughter is okay.
I would not worry about the fat dose today. He had the same AMPS yesterday and it doesn’t look like he dropped low based on the tests you got and his PMPS. So I don’t think it will be a problem; he should have a good cycle, and you can handle it if anything unexpected comes up. I will try to keep an eye on your thread. Where are you currently in the cycle? A +2 test should clue you in to how things are going to go.
I'm testing in 15 minutes and that will be his +2.
 
Beautiful! See how even he is. That is fantastic to see. I would give him one more mini meal. There are cats who stay level like that. What a great cycle!
Yay for Red!! I'm sure it helps to be back home, away from any stress of traveling, a dog, a baby...
He only eats small amounts so he eats throughout the day. I do pick up his food 2 hours before pre-shots and if I can before some testing.
 
Okay. So you are letting him free feed through the day and picking it up two hours before testing — since he eats small amounts and you need to make sure he gets enough to eat. Okay. I understand that! It would sometimes be better if you could ensure that he eats at strategic points. Does he like Bonita Flakes? Could you sprinkle them on his food that’s already sitting out — just if you need him to lick a little food at a specific time. Ground up Pure Bites chicken works really well too (I call it magic chicken dust.). For some cats, a small amount of Forti Flora sprinkled on food is appealing and for others a small amount of grated parmesan cheese is a winner. I am just thinking of things for an instance where he has a green numbers that is good and we would like him to surf in green for a while so a few bites of food will help with this.

He seems to be doing fine with his grazing today though.
 
Okay. So you are letting him free feed through the day and picking it up two hours before testing — since he eats small amounts and you need to make sure he gets enough to eat. Okay. I understand that! It would sometimes be better if you could ensure that he eats at strategic points. Does he like Bonita Flakes? Could you sprinkle them on his food that’s already sitting out — just if you need him to lick a little food at a specific time. Ground up Pure Bites chicken works really well too (I call it magic chicken dust.). For some cats, a small amount of Forti Flora sprinkled on food is appealing and for others a small amount of grated parmesan cheese is a winner. I am just thinking of things for an instance where he has a green numbers that is good and we would like him to surf in green for a while so a few bites of food will help with this.

He seems to be doing fine with his grazing today though.
I think Red is happy to be home! I do use bonito flakes and parmesan cheese - he loves both. I also crumble Orijen freeze dried chicken & sprinkle on top of food or give as a treat. I haven't tried Forti Flora but I see it mentioned quite a bit. Is it a powder to sprinkle?

His PMPS tonight is 95 😊
 
@Suzanne & Darcy
Hi, Red's BG was 109 this AM & I gave him 2 treats. He ate good, but then vomited clear liquid/water about 1/2 hour later after drinking and one of the treats. @+3 BG was 64, gave 2 freeze dried chicken treats. When I looked back at him, his head was trembling/twitching a tiny bit. I'm not sure why, no shaking elsewhere - he was rubbing his eye but I didn't see anything there. I gave him a tiny bit of FF beef w/gravy to be sure it wasn't low BG/hunger & he ate that. He also ate 1/4 FF petite beef packet. He seemed fine afterwards and he was washing his face. No trembling after, so hopefully it was just something in/near his eye.
 
I’m pretty sure his eye must’ve been bothering him since he’s been at that BG level before — and also on your ReliOn meter a 64 is a very desirable number (spreadsheet looks great by the way.) Has he done any more eye rubbing since then? Sometimes my non-diabetic cats have facial twitches for some unknown reason.
 
I’m pretty sure his eye must’ve been bothering him since he’s been at that BG level before — and also on your ReliOn meter a 64 is a very desirable number (spreadsheet looks great by the way.) Has he done any more eye rubbing since then? Sometimes my non-diabetic cats have facial twitches for some unknown reason.
No more eye rubbing since, at least that I've noticed. His paw looks good too. I was just looking at it this morning. There's a little dark spot, but there isn't any sore or tenderness. He hasn't been licking it either.

I know it's early, but in 3 weeks, my husband and I will be away for a Disney weekend cruise for our granddaughter's 1st birthday. We made these plans and reservations before Red fell out of remission. It makes me nervous leaving him now, but his usual sitter will be coming over a few times to learn to test and give his insulin. Do you think it will be okay for her to only test prior to injection? She will only be doing house visits - 3 times per day for Saturday & Sunday, & 2 visits on Friday and Monday since I leave Friday AM and return Monday early afternoon.
 
No more eye rubbing since, at least that I've noticed. His paw looks good too. I was just looking at it this morning. There's a little dark spot, but there isn't any sore or tenderness. He hasn't been licking it either.

I know it's early, but in 3 weeks, my husband and I will be away for a Disney weekend cruise for our granddaughter's 1st birthday. We made these plans and reservations before Red fell out of remission. It makes me nervous leaving him now, but his usual sitter will be coming over a few times to learn to test and give his insulin. Do you think it will be okay for her to only test prior to injection? She will only be doing house visits - 3 times per day for Saturday & Sunday, & 2 visits on Friday and Monday since I leave Friday AM and return Monday early afternoon.
He is so stable right now, which is a great thing. I think we can just keep watching his numbers and see how things go for the next week and then decide. It’s great that she will come three times a day on those two days. If needed, we will do a “vacation dose” for while you are away.
 
That sounds great. Is a vacation dose, just a smaller dose so he keeps the insulin up? I've never been away when he's had to get insulin injections.

His AMPS today was 71! He's getting there!
 
@Suzanne & Darcy
Hi Suzanne,
I was reading some of Red's notes from his previous DX in 2021 and when we got him into remission. Back in 2022, whenever Red BG nadirs hit below 65, I reduced his dose .25 unit. This time around, we're reducing at 60 nadir. I trust your knowledge, but I'm just curious why nadirs need to be lower this time around. Is it better for him to be on a higher insulin dose for a longer period of time? Is that a better chance of getting him back into remission?
 
@Suzanne & Darcy
Hi Suzanne,
I was reading some of Red's notes from his previous DX in 2021 and when we got him into remission. Back in 2022, whenever Red BG nadirs hit below 65, I reduced his dose .25 unit. This time around, we're reducing at 60 nadir. I trust your knowledge, but I'm just curious why nadirs need to be lower this time around. Is it better for him to be on a higher insulin dose for a longer period of time? Is that a better chance of getting him back into remission?
Well, we chose 59 as a reduction point because it was better for Red to not start receiving reductions prematurely. It’s custom dosing. Under MPM reductions would be made if under 50, but you were not comfortable with that so we went with reductions if below 60. It is better for Red to spend most of his time in green in order for his pancreas to heal. That is the way to make sure he has a really good, strong, long-lasting remission.
 
Well, we chose 59 as a reduction point because it was better for Red to not start receiving reductions prematurely. It’s custom dosing. Under MPM reductions would be made if under 50, but you were not comfortable with that so we went with reductions if below 60. It is better for Red to spend most of his time in green in order for his pancreas to heal. That is the way to make sure he has a really good, strong, long-lasting remission.
I thank you for that explanation! I thought it might be better for him but wasn't positive on the reason. I'm good with keeping 59 as a level for reduction.
Have a good evening!
 
How is Red doing (other than his fantastic green numbers?). Is he feeling well these days?
Red is doing well. He's eating, although sometimes finicky as all cats are. I haven't had to give him the appetite stimulant at all for about 2 weeks now. I noticed his hair has gotten softer and less is falling out. Earlier this morning I was going to mention that he had some blue numbers last night and at AMPS today. I was wondering if it could have been the Tiki Cat mousse that he had yesterday afternoon. I'm not sure how long that would show up in his BG.
However, his numbers after his AM dose today of 123, were 62 at +2 and 56 at +4.5! :) 🎉 Hurray for Red! So this now means I can reduce his dose to 0.25 unit! 👏
 
Hooray for Red. I have been waiting for this moment! I really wanted him to earn this reduction on his own while eating normally amd having the planned snacks, etc. I am excited, a little nervous (I want this reduction to hold) and happy!
 
The next dose down after .25 is .10. But let’s cross that bridge when we come to it 😀 I am proud of you for being so patient and letting Red have the time he needs and not rushing the process. 🤞👏
 
The next dose down after .25 is .10. But let’s cross that bridge when we come to it 😀 I am proud of you for being so patient and letting Red have the time he needs and not rushing the process. 🤞👏
I'm so happy for Red too! He has been as patient as me, and so good when it comes to testing and injections. When I pull the monitor out of the case for testing, he hears the velcro and comes over....for that treat afterwards ☺️
I know he may have some blues on the .25 unit. Is there a chance we will need to increase the dose? What BG level would he need to be to increase the dose?
 
How did it go last night? I was just checking in to see if you got a test last night.
He did pretty good last night, he was at 85 PMPS and then at +2 he was 76.
This morning wasn't bad at 115 AMPS (he may have eaten within the prior 2 hours). He then dipped to 65 at +3.
He's doing well!
 
@Suzanne & Darcy
We will be leaving next Friday AM (after Red's dose) for a long weekend, until Monday afternoon. What do you think the cat sitter should be giving Red as a Dose? I'm be training her soon. We have a little bit of time, I start her training on Monday morning.
 
Last edited:
@Suzanne & Darcy
We will be leaving next Friday AM (after Red's dose) for a long weekend, until Monday afternoon. What do you think the cat sitter should be giving Red as a Dose? I'm be training her soon. We have a little bit of time, I start her training on Monday morning.
Let me think about this some more. I have not been ignoring you, but have been thinking about this since I read it earlier today. First let’s see how things go for the next couple of days. Is that okay? Thursday and Friday?
 
Let me think about this some more. I have not been ignoring you, but have been thinking about this since I read it earlier today. First let’s see how things go for the next couple of days. Is that okay? Thursday and Friday?
Yes, of course! That's why I mentioned we have a little bit of time. Now that he's getting low numbers, I don't want her to give him too much insulin and not be there to watch or test him. And I will be unavailable to reach since I will be on a cruise ship.
 
I don’t like the blue preshots, but they’re really not very high (nothing over 120.) I am concerned about creeping numbers, but I guess I just want this so badly for Red. Do not give insulin if he is below your reduction point of 60. You have shot full doses before when he was as low as 71.

Question: Do you have an automatic feeder for Red that he will eat from? If so, could you give him a small snack at PM +9? Sometimes when cats are on a low dose of insulin and their pancreas is sputtering or partially working, a small snack at that time will cause their pancreas to release insulin and it brings down the AMPS number. It would be good to see if this works for Red.

It would be very good to have the pet sitter load snacks into an automatic feeder for at least at AM +2, +4 and then PM +2 and +4 for while you are away. This will help keep the cycles smooth.
 
I don’t like the blue preshots, but they’re really not very high (nothing over 120.) I am concerned about creeping numbers, but I guess I just want this so badly for Red. Do not give insulin if he is below your reduction point of 60. You have shot full doses before when he was as low as 71.

Question: Do you have an automatic feeder for Red that he will eat from? If so, could you give him a small snack at PM +9? Sometimes when cats are on a low dose of insulin and their pancreas is sputtering or partially working, a small snack at that time will cause their pancreas to release insulin and it brings down the AMPS number. It would be good to see if this works for Red.

It would be very good to have the pet sitter load snacks into an automatic feeder for at least at AM +2, +4 and then PM +2 and +4 for while you are away. This will help keep the cycles smooth.
The blue pre-shot numbers may be because we have not picked up his night food in the early morning this week. Red does eat in the early morning if food is out. Usually my husband gets up early and picks up Red's food so he doesn't eat before I test 2-3 hours later. He hasn't been able to do that this week, and I know for sure we did not do this on 10/24 when Red had a blue number also. We will both need to be more diligent on this.

I thought it was normal to have a few blue numbers right after reducing the dose. Is that incorrect?,

Is this correct for now:
I will not give the insulin when his pre-shot is below 60.
I will reduce the dose by .25 if his nadir is below 60.

I just tested him and his BG was 56, which is 3+ AMPS. Does this mean another reduction for him??

I never had an automatic feeder for him. I can check them out. What type of snacks would you leave? I have Orijen freeze dried chicken, churu tubes, and fancy feast savory treats. What happens if he doesn't eat the snacks? Even with an auto feeder, no one would be here to watch him or see if he happens to go hypo. The sitter will visit in AM, then +6 , and then at +12 for PM feed Then she won't return until AM which is 12 hours from PM visit, which is why I leave food for him overnight. (Her visits will be 9am, 3pm and 9pm).
 
Back
Top