Re: Re:10/24/ Misho's AMPS-272@+7-331

Status
Not open for further replies.

Di&Misho

Member Since 2014
Good morning everyone ! For a second morning in a row( it is 6 a.m. here) Misho has pink preshot numbers after 23rd's very good AM and PM pre-shots with blue and green readings. Are these pink pre-shot numbers a bounce ? I keep on shooting f1,50 and haven't change the insulin dose for 9 days now as going back to 1,75 will most likely bring Misho to numbers below 50 and I think we are not ready to decrease yet.Am I right or I have to change something ?
 
Re: 9/25/2014 Misho AMPS 383- is it a bounce

Yep that's a bounce. Plus it looks like if I'm reading your notes correctly those lower greens on the 23rd scared you and you pulled out the honey a little quick. But that's fine, when in doubt better too high for a day than too low for a minute.

Just keep doing what your doing. :-D

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 9/25/2014 Misho AMPS 383- is it a bounce

MommaOfMuse said:
you pulled out the honey a little quick.
You are right for the honey :oops: :oops: That particular evening when I saw the green I had to go back home and take some stuff so I can stay overnight at Misho's place and monitor him. And as I need about 45min to go home and come back I did it because I didn't want him to drop lower in the meantime. I have noticed that it takes some time for the food to elevate the numbers. I am sure that w/o the honey he would go below the accepted for normal range but may be giving him food second time at +4 that very same evening was definitely a mistake :oops:
I will keep on f1.50 for now. Thank you for your thoughts :YMHUG:
 
Re: 9/25/2014 Misho AMPS 383- is it a bounce

hi Di
good luck with Misho. hope he does well
 
Re: 9/25/2014 Misho AMPS 383- is it a bounce

Di&Misho said:
I am sure that w/o the honey he would go below the accepted for normal range but may be giving him food second time at +4 that very same evening was definitely a mistake :oops:

No mistakes here! Only "learning experiences." :lol:
 
Re: 9/25/2014 Misho AMPS 383- is it a bounce

tibbs5 said:
hi Di
good luck with Misho. hope he does well

Thank you, he does :smile:

Last night we had some nice green readings again and I stayed with Misho to monitor but unfortunately I overslept the alarm for + 8 and woke up for +9 where Misho was at blue number already. Is it possible to has dropped too low between +7 (BG 83) and +9 because we have a bounce this morning again at pre shot or he just bounces because of the greens?
 
Re: 9/26/ Misho AMPS 317- is it a bounce

Good morning from Bulgaria! Can anyone please take a look at MIsho's ss . Do you think that last night BG might have dropped too low earlier than the usual time? Because I tested at +5:30 and it was the lowest reading we had which I think was already an elevated one- is it possible? I mean I had the same pre shot number on September 19th, AM and the readings then looked completely different. Shall I test earlier with lower pre shot numbers?
And about this bounce issue - I don't quite understand it...I mean If Misho is going to bounce everytime he has green readings how we are going to clear this out? :roll: :sad: To me it looks like vicious circle - nice blue ,then green readings and immediately after that bounce .... and it happens all the time ,besides I don't think Misho's BG has dropped that low...
Any thoughts or advice please?
 
Re: 9/27/ Misho's AMPS 378 - any thoughts,please !

Okay I'm going to try to explain how a bounce works. Think about when you first learned to drive, even going the speed limit in town felt scary fast right? but as you spent longer and longer behind the wheel going that speed limit was comfortable and just felt like what driving a car feels like well right now Misho's liver is learning to drive a car in reverse, it's forgotten what it feels like to drive at normal speed because it is so use to speeding around a race track. So when the insulin makes him drop into normal numbers its scary, its not dangerous but it doesn't think that way. So he bounces back up to where it is comfortable again. But if you step back and look at just the colors on his spreadsheet, take the numbers and the clock out of it. He's spending more and more time down in those numbers. His pinks are becoming more yellows, his yellows are becoming blues. That's what you want is for his blood sugar to float down like a feather falling.

Actually if he was one of mine I would probably take him back to a straight 1.5 and see if that give me a few more yellows than pinks because he wouldn't be coming down quite so quickly. He's dropping pretty low early for a Levemir kitty. Our cats are pretty flat and tend to have a bell shaped curve as opposed to a smiley face like Lantus. Because we have a later onset (when the insulin starts working) and a later nadir. At least that has been my experience with two of the three that I have had on Lev. But ECID Cassanova used it just like Lantus.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 9/27/ Misho's AMPS 378 - any thoughts,please !

MommaOfMuse said:
Actually if he was one of mine I would probably take him back to a straight 1.5 and see if that give me a few more yellows than pinks because he wouldn't be coming down quite so quickly.
Mel and The Fur Gang
If I have understood correctly you think that the insulin dose is a bit high at his stage ? I can try 1,5 again but I don't know how long I have to wait to see the result of this decrease because last time I went back to 1,5 from 1,75 I saw more pink and even red colors on his ss. When I see lower pre shot number I will shoot 1,5 and I hope this will help.Thank you Mel :YMHUG:
 
Re: 9/27/ Misho's AMPS 378 - any thoughts,please !

The worst that will happen if you roll back is that he does go up and stay up if he does you'll see it pretty quickly and I'll try to remember to watch for it as well and then you just take him back up again to the fat 1.5 and let him bounce until he stops. Some cats stop faster than others. <sigh>

Maybe this will translate better. :-D at each color you want him to be fairly flat before you push the dose up again . So if you start with pink numbers you want a dose that turns most of them yellow. that's still too high so you rise the dose and wait for him to go fairly flat say amps in the mid 200's, he touches the low 300's by +4-6 and then slides back to the mid 200s by nadir in the +8-+12 range. so he's just starting his climb back up by his next preshot. Once his curve looks like that then because that is too high you raise the dose again so now it takes him from those 200s into the 100s hold again until he stops adjusting to that level then once there you can start fine tuning the dose to where he stays pretty much between 40-120 most of the time.

This is a marathon not a sprint. You can give enough insulin to slam them into good numbers but if you get them there before their bodies are ready to handle it, you can start and endless circle of diving and bouncing.

Since you asked for any thoughts...Are you the only one testing him? Or do you have help?

Mel, and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 9/27/ Misho's AMPS 378 - any thoughts,please !

Thank you Mell ! I sometimes read and cannot comprehend what I read :oops: While writting you all use a kind of jargon and I cannot always follow you .I wish I was more fluent in this ...
Since you asked for any thoughts...Are you the only one testing him? Or do you have help?
Any thoughts are welcome Mel. I am not very selfconfident and reading more experienced people who can give me advice helps. As regards testing it is only me taking care of Misho. And If he was at home everything would be much more easy but he is not . He lives in another property by himself and I am with him at least 6 times a day. Do I need to test more? If I don't do something the way I should let me know please I will gladly follow any advice . It's pretty tough sometimes but it was my choice to help him so I don't complain.
I have 2 dogs and 3 cats at home all adopted . If you like to watch photos I can give you a FB link to see them :smile: I am sorry for the digression :oops:
 
Re: 9/27/ Misho's AMPS 378 - any thoughts,please !

Oh you definitely test plenty! :-D

Quite the opposite!

I remembered Misho didn't live with you, so you travel to see him. You have still done a fantastic job of getting lots of tests in! So many it looks like you have no time to sleep or take care of yourself.

You need to take care of you so you can take care of Misho.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
9/27/ Misho's AMPS 378 - any thoughts,please !

You need to take care of you so you can take care of Misho.
I have heard this a lot since April :smile: But I really have no other choice.Anyway -today BG dopped down from 378 to 176 @ +7 again. PMPS was 247 so I shot 1.5. We will see what happens next. I hope that this time the decrease will work and I hope to see more yellow and blue readings on his ss.
 
Re: 9/27/ Misho's PMPS 247 - I will give 1.50 BID a try

you are amazing Di. i can't believe you are doing all of this and he doesn't live with you. great job. you are so kind.
:YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 9/28/ Misho's АМPS 373 - I will give 1.5BID a try

Tibbs5, thank you ! I think everyone here does a great job and I am so impressed that most of the cats have been adopted . I wish it was the same in my country but that will never ever happen as they don't treat even those pets they have paid money for :sad:
This morning I realized that the pinkies actually have reserved :smile: the AMPS for any length of time...Last night I decide to test at least 3 times to see what happens and I think it was not bad as I didn't see any serious swing .Last test at +9 was still yellow and again at pre shot pretty good pink color :roll: There must be a reason for these early morning pink numbers but I have absolutely no clue what it is. If we had greens I would attach the pinkies to them but the thought there is something wrong is preying on my mind .
For a couple of days now Misho's strange "cough" has come back.. In the very beginning when I first heard him coughing I took him to our vet for a full blood count to see if there is any respiratory infection. There was nothing wrong and all of his levels were in the normal range. As my vet suggested asthma or possible cardiac problem( cardiomyopathy) I took Misho for further tests in the University clinic in a neighboring big city. The chest x-rays showed no abnormalities in his lungs and heart, the vet said he sees no sign of bronchitis either....So far the contributing problem hasn't been identified so I see no chance to correct it .
This cough actually disappeared suddenly and I haven't heard him coughing for a long time until now. it is a dry minor cough of brief duration sometimes 5- 10 seconds I even think he wants to vomit some hairballs but he doesn't. So I wonder if this cough has something to do with the pinkies :roll: :?
 
Re: 9/28/ Misho's АМPS 373 - I will give 1.50 BID a try

That cough does sound a lot like my Maxwell's who is mildly asthmatic not enough to treat because his is seasonal in the spring and fall he coughs slightly but otherwise is fine. We think that is where his diabetes came from in the first place is that he was probably treated with steroids in the shelter for it and oncehe was adopted and it stopped he went off insulin...He spoiled me by going OTJ quickly.

http://www.fritzthebrave.com/gallery/inhaled.php You might want to look through this site and see if this looks like what you are seeing in Misho.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 9/28/ Misho's АМPS 373 - I will give 1.50 BID a try

Thank you Mel for the link. I watched the video and it is asthma-like but not exactly. He definitely extends his head out and down but doesn't have this labored breathing that comes from his stomach. It is more like it comes from his upper respiratory tract. I believe the vets diagnosed him correctly when they took the x-rays... I mean they excluded asthma But there must be some reason for this. I was thinking of changing his litter as I read sometimes it can be an allergen.

Our today's pre-shot number is already red :sad:
The worst that will happen if you roll back is that he does go up and stay up if he does you'll see it pretty quickly
This is what happened last time we went back to 1,5 and I think it is happening again. As I said I don't know how much time it will take for this decreased dose to come into effect but the pre-shot slowly goes up and I think Misho stays less in yellow or blue numbers which makes me feel uneasy though it might be normal in the first few days I don't know. I even don't bother to test much as I know he won't go in greens.
But if the pink pre-shot numbers were bounce with fatty 1.5 what causes the red ones with decreased dose? He even doesn't see low blues and for me bouncing shouldn't be an issue now :roll:
Tell me please for how many days I should keep this 1,5 dose? Thank you and have a successful week everyone !
 
Re: 9/29/ Misho's АМPS 418

hi Di
you mentioned a facebook link so we could see pictures of misho & your other animals. can you show the link? i am new so someone more experienced will answer your last question. take care.
 
Re: 9/29/ Misho's АМPS 418

Absolutely unexpectedly Misho's PMPS IS 131,4 :o :shock: Shall I shoot or wait?
 
Re: 9/29/ Misho's АМPS 418 - PMPS 131,4 !!!!Advice pls!

I'd personally stall for about 30 minutes and see if he is rising, if rising shoot as normal but you don't want to shoot if he's still going down.

Mel and the Fur Gang
 
Re: 9/29/ Misho's АМPS 418 - PMPS 131,4 !!!!Advice pls!

So happy you' re online! I guess I have to test earlier too. I cannot access his ss from my cell but I remember we already had similar pre shot and he was in the greens at about + 3 or something.... :roll: What I least
expected was this pre shot number...

EDIT : 40min later BG 165 so I shoot 1,5 and will come back to test earlier than the usual + 6 or 7 . Thank you !
 
Re: 9/29/ Misho's АМPS 418 - PMPS 131,4 !!!!Advice pls!

Your welcome! Hope he gives you beautiful numbers all day.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 9/29/ Misho's АМPS 418

tibbs5 said:
hi Di
you mentioned a facebook link so we could see pictures of misho & your other animals. can you show the link?

I didn't know if I can post the link here but in case it is not allowed I will errase it. Here is my gang ,enjoy My fur friends
 
Re: 9/29/ Misho's АМPS 418 - PMPS 131,4

Oh Di!!!

You have a beautiful furry family! Who is the big white Persian fluff ball? S/he is striking of course those kind of kitties are my soft spot. I adore Persians and Himalayans as they were what I grew up with as a child.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 9/29/ Misho's АМPS 418 - PMPS 131,4 !!!!Advice pls!

MommaOfMuse said:
Your welcome! Hope he gives you beautiful numbers all day.

Mel and The Fur Gang

All night :smile: it is now 9:30 pm. here . Actually I tested at +3 expecting green but it was pink 326 :sad: Expect the unexpected day today....
I don't think there is a chance of very low readings tonight and honestly I am so exhausted that I even think of not going to test again or may be I will at +5 and will come back home to have some sleep.

The white Persian is Amber,she is one eyed.Her owners left her for euthanasia at my vets because she needed surgeries and they were told her eye will be removed. Well the family answered that they won't pay so much for surgeries because for this money they will buy a new healthy cat :evil:
Anyway she is absolutely sweet and quiet creature and lives with me since 2009.
 
Re: 9/29/ Misho's АМPS 418 - PMPS 131,4

Mikey's +3 on Levemir is usually much higher than his pre-shot, but then he'll start coming down again into lovely numbers. I hope Misho does the same for you today! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 9/29/ Misho's АМPS 418 - PMPS 131,4

KPassa said:
Mikey's +3 on Levemir is usually much higher than his pre-shot, but then he'll start coming down again into lovely numbers. I hope Misho does the same for you today!
Well with Misho didn't work like this :sad: And most of the time when I test and see the number at +3 or +4 I nearly know what the following readings will be. Though we have some surprises from time to time.
I am not an expert but I think 1,5 is not his dose right now. It happened absolutely the same way it did before. Rising BG levels and red pre-shots. Besides Misho has already peed twice outside his litter box something he has never done before. I was not able to test for ketones as we have no electricity yet in this property and in the evenings when I stay with him I use flashlight , I just can't manage with the test stick for the urine :oops:
I didn't know what is best but this morning at pre-shot 409 and lowest reading of 247 I shot fatty 1,5 again. I hope I did the right thing.
Have a happy day everyone !
 
Re: 10/01/ Misho's АМPS 409 - back to f1,50

You did exactly what you should have. You tried the reduction and when it didn't work you went right back to his last best dose. :thumbup

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 10/07/ Misho's PMPS 418 - what is going on?

Back again with question. I am not sure I do what I have to anymore. Today's PMPS - 418 I rarely see green numbers lately and we can rarely even keep in yellow and blue only. I have no idea why are all these BG test wanted if they don't give the answer WHY are all these BG rises and sometimes with no particular reason or at least I don't see any. I still shoot f1,5 and I don't know if it is right or not. I was even thinking there are hidden hypo readings earlier than I test or sometimes later than the last one I do and this is the reason for the high preshot numbers Last night my last test was at +9 191 and at preshot BG already was 360 I don't think the readings were that low Misho has seen much lower numbers.
I ordered new food for Misho through Zooplus Germany - Granatapet Veal and Rabbit as I saw in a list here on this board it is with very low carb content much lower than the Integra Protect Diabetic ( Animonda) he now eats. I don't know if this will help but I just want to give it a try. I am expecting the delivery these days. Today at insulin shot I gave Misho only 2/3 of his meal and will be back at +4 to give him the rest. I always do so at high preshots I don't know if it helps .
Please anyone experienced give me an advice what to do as I think there is something wrong. May be I stuck too long to f1,50 , I don't know I think either Misho just doesn't fit any rules or I am not making the right decisions about doses and this causes problems. I need your help, please !
 
Re: 10/07/ Misho's PMPS 418 - what is going on?

Okay a couple of things to rule out. How old is the insulin you are currently using? If it is over a couple months old it could be starting to lose some of its potency..It's still working just not at the strength it once did. Some cats are very sensitive to that change in strength and some aren't.

Right now it looks like he might just be bouncing from the pretty blues and greens you were getting, or even just the change in the seasons can temporarily throw things into a bit of a flux.

If he was mine I would probably take him up just slightly to 1.75u and see if that gives you back those pretty numbers again. Now with that said if his numbers get worse then you know up is the wrong way and you would want to reverse course and take him back down again. Also if the dose increase works but you suspect that its because of weakening insulin then when you change vial/pen you'll want to watch him close because you may need to reduce the dose again because you now have insulin that is back at full strength.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 10/07/ Misho's PMPS 418 - what is going on?

Good morning Mel. The insulin I use is in cartridges, we don't have vials here. The one I am using now we started with on September 4th.I keep it in the fridge though it is said that loaded pen you keep at room temperature. But as long as I don't use the pen as I find it difficult to dose and shoot with it I just keep the cartridge in the fridge.
You have explained me of the bounce but the numbers are getting up and up though the nadirs are not going lower than those we have seen before. My logic sometimes misleads me and I feel absolutely confused and lately helpless. I have the feeling that I beat the air. I read your answer after I have shot the insulin this morning( I am ahead with time here) so I will change the dose tomorrow morning . Last night I only tested at +4 when I gave Misho the rest of his evening meal and this morning the pre shot was even higher. I have absolutely no clue why this happens and it seems many other questions I ask myself don't have logic answers or maybe I am wrong to expect sound reasoning.
I have a question about increasing. Is it possible for the numbers to go up instead of down with increased dose? And a second one- once when explaining me to decrease the dose BJM wrote ... 'Some people shoot THROUGH the bounce...... " I don't know the meaning of this phrasal verb can you explain , please. Thank you !
 

Attachments

  • levemir.jpg
    levemir.jpg
    47.1 KB · Views: 1,228
Re: 10/08/ Misho's AMPS 450 - what is going on?

Okay starting with the easiest to explain first. :-D

Shooting through a bounce means that the cat has earned a dose reduction by giving a reading below 50, this caused their body to release stored sugars and force the BGs back up. So the next preshot tests are very high. So instead of giving a reduced dose on those high numbers the care giver gives the same dose that just caused the reduction to be earned then once the numbers are lower again starts the lower dose. A good example of shooting through a bounce is my Autumn. On Sunday October 6th she dropped to 35 by +6 on a .10 dose, that earned her a dose reduction by protocol but because of going so low she bounced and by that night was in the 300s again, so I stayed with the same dose of .10 that night and all day yesterday as her body cleared the bounce. Now this morning she was at 171 by amps so this morning I lowered the dose in her case to a mere needle full. That is what BJM is referring to when she said shooting through a bounce.

Okay you and I both use the same form of Levemir I also use the cartridges. :-D That makes it easier on me to figure out when it might be just weakening insulin rather than the dose, since I have an idea about how long one will last for you. You waste a lot more insulin with the vials because they hold more and cats just don't use it fast enough. Pens or cartridges are the way to go. :-D If you just opened the cartridge you're on in September its not the insulin itself, since I'm still on one that I opened in either early August or late July (would have to look at her spreadsheet to be sure), I normally get about 3-4 months out of a single cartridge before I have to start adjusting my doses because its getting weaker. As long as it's in the fridge its usually good until gone.

And yes, increasing the dose can make the numbers go up. I know that goes against logic, but then again hormones aren't terribly logical. Think back to when you were a teenager and how illogical you were back then with all those hormones racing around in your body. Insulin is a hormone that should be produced by the body itself, unlike a drug that is a foreign substance that we add to make an illness or pain go away. Since it is a native substance in the body, the body itself has checks and balances to keep it in place, but with a diabetic their body isn't either producing any on it's own or isn't producing enough on it's own to counter the food coming in. So we add a foreign insulin into the body to help out. This is even further complicated because we have cats not humans that are diabetic but the insulin we are using isn't feline rDNA based insulin but human rDNA based insulin.

But with a built in regulatory system in place if we add too much extra insulin the body reads the same as going too low and fights against it, causing it to react the same way as too little insulin. This is what makes this dance so hard to learn because TOO MUCH and TOO LITTLE insulin can look identical. Now there are two ways to go about figuring out which it is, either you keep going up in dose until you hit a break through dose that overrides the self protect mechanism and then try to chase the falling numbers down and try to stay ahead of the reductions to keep Misho safe, or if you see that the more you increase the worse the numbers get you do a reverse course and lower the dose and see if that gives you better numbers. Personally I'm about 50/50 on which way works best.

Somogyi rebound Here is a link to an article that might explain it better than I am.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 10/08/ Misho's AMPS 450 - what is going on?

Mel :YMHUG: When experienced people explain it looks much easier sometimes to comprehend than reading . I asked about increased dose as I think Misho's BG drops too fast :oops: Honestly I don't know what is normal but today with AMPS 450 he dropped to 207 at +8 and I am not sure if it was the nadir. So I was wondering if the current dose is too much and I need to go back to 1.50 . The truth is that when I went back to 1,50 last week I was not that patient and I worried to see pinkies. I think that when I cause these higher numbers with decreasing the insulin I do harm to Misho and I go back to f 1,50 but maybe I have to "clench my teeth" as BJM said and just wait a bit more than 3 days to see what will happen. Right now I don't know what to do but I have the feeling it is better to try 1,5 :roll: It is so frustrating when you have to make a decision and you know someone’s well being depends on that :oops: Frankly speaking I lack knowledge and this makes my decisions more difficult . But as people here say I am the one holding the syringe :-)
Thank you so much Mel !!!
 
Re: 10/08/ Misho's AMPS 450 - what is going on?

You are welcome hon,

Oh I know exactly what you mean and the tricky part is every cat is different. Even with 4 years of experience with several different sugarcats I still learn something new every day and with every cat. I'm also not a very patience person, or at least I wasn't before my first diabetic cat, ironically named MUSE, I named her that because she was suppose to be my muse to get me back into my art again after a nasty divorce, she turned out to be my muse into the world of Dancing with a Sugarcat.. :lol: And not because I had great success in treating her, actually the very opposite, she died very early after diagnosis and it was because of her death that I threw myself into learning as much about this disease as possible so it would never take another one of my sweet furkids away again.

Now with Autumn, she is doing things I've personally never seen a cat do when trying to come off insulin, so I'm right back to flying by the seat of my pants. I couldn't not shoot when she was in super high numbers because that just didn't seem logical, even knowing that insulin and diabetes isn't always logical, it was just going against everything my brain was telling me, although my gut said it was probably the right thing to do. So I had to find a happy medium, waiting until she was low enough for me to be comfortable in both heart and head to let her try on her own to stabilize.

One thing to try to keep in mind, Too high of numbers kill over time, sometimes a very long time, but too low can kill them in minutes. So if you have to pick one over the other I always go with too high over too low.

Mel
 
Re: 10/08/ Misho's AMPS 450 - what is going on?

One thing to try to keep in mind, Too high of numbers kill over time, sometimes a very long time, but too low can kill them in minutes. So if you have to pick one over the other I always go with too high over too low.
You mean the numbers,right? I have been told this many times and still I feel more uncomfortable with high readings :roll: but I think tomorrow morning I will shoot 1,5. May be because browsing the forum today I also read that bounce needs decrease or at least this was what I understood. I will try to wait more than 3 days before I make any change in dose . Let's hope for the good only. :YMHUG: :YMHUG:

P.S. I am not sure I understand what OTJ trial means ( may be trying to get off insulin) but I was surprised that your kitty has so high readings and you shoot dose of 0.1 @-) May be the high preshots are not that important but the fact this dose drops BG to greens I guess. I wish you both good luck !
 
Re: 10/08/ Misho's AMPS 450 - what is going on?

Hi Di

Yes, OTJ trial means a kitty is trying to come off insulin. OTJ=Off The Juice with the juice being the insulin. And you are also correct that the preshot numbers don't matter as much as how low they go on that particular dose. Also not all green on the spreadsheet is created equally which is why I've changed the way Autumn's colors, while on the standard spreadsheet all double digits are green, anything below 50 is starting to get into dangerous territory for Hypo, so I changed my coloring to reflex any numbers below 40 as that is when I will most likely see a bounce following it either in the next cycle or the next day's readings.

Now Autumn and I have been at this a long time, it will be 3 years in this coming March so with her it takes a very fast drop or going below 40 to cause her to bounce. In the very beginning if she even saw yellow she would bounce back up sky high again, because while not nearly low enough to be dangerous and most of the time not a very fast drop either it was lower than her body was use to feeling so it would panic and drive the numbers back up again.

Now in regards to your PM to me, what you are seeing is a bounce clearing, a high flat cycle is usually an omen of an active cycle to come. And right about where I suspected it would occur. It takes about 3 days for a bounce to clear and for the numbers to settle down again and if you look at Misho's spreadsheet he had really weird numbers for him for the last two days prior and then this high flat cycle. That is definitely a bounce and him clearing it.

I do think it was a wise choice to drop back on his dose for a few days and see if it helps smooth out his numbers. And yes. sometimes you just have to grit your teeth and bare with the lousy numbers for a couple of days and see where things settle down at. I've also been kind of worried about the shape of Misho's curves being that he is on Levemir not Lantus. On Lantus his pattern of numbers would be beautiful where he dips to his lowest point around +6, however, that isn't the way a typical Levemir cat's pattern looks. With our cats we normally go up in the middle and slide down towards preshot. The fact that he has now for sometime been free falling for fairly high preshots (yellows and pinks) into greens and blues by +6 is more than likely what is causing his numbers to seem to be creeping up and up. This is happening because those steep drops don't feel good it's like riding a roller coaster. So his body is fighting against the insulin and trying to keep him flat so he's not way up and then way down, then way up again. I know we all want our cats well right now! But it just doesn't work that way with insulin especially a depot like Lantus and Levemir. You can give so much that you force them down into green but if it happens before their bodies are ready for it you get the pendulum swing like you have right now with Misho.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 10/08/ Misho's AMPS 450 - what is going on?

Good evening Mel!
Now in regards to your PM to me, what you are seeing is a bounce clearing, a high flat cycle is usually an omen of an active cycle to come. And right about where I suspected it would occur.
BJM once explained me what active cycle is so shall I expect an early or fast drop tonight? I usually don't test earlier than +6 or +7 lately but I can do it today.

The fact that he has now for sometime been free falling for fairly high preshots (yellows and pinks) into greens and blues by +6 is more than likely what is causing his numbers to seem to be creeping up and up.
This is what I thought and my logic was that the insulin is too much otherwise BG wouldn't drop that low from pinky preshot :roll:

You explain everything in plain words and this is easy for me. English is not my native language and sometimes I am lost in translation :oops: :smile:
I hope 1,5 will work as honestly going back to 1,75 is not what I expected but of course I will if this is what I have to do. I have enough time till Sunday when I can be with Misho most of the time and monitor him in case I have to shoot 1.75
Thank you once again Mel ,you make me feel a bit easy in my mind :YMHUG:
 
Re: 10/10/ Misho's PMPS - 437 - AMPS - 405

Early good morning from us. Misho's BG keeps creeping up especially the pre shots. The first day at dose 1.5 he dropped to 167 from pre shot 356 and that was the lowest reading I saw. May be it is a fast drop and this why he bounced again but some of the preshots are already red
Yesterday his new food was delivered from Germany - Granatapet Veal and rabbit. According to data read here on the message board it is lower in carbs than the diet formula of Animonda and furthermore a bit cheaper which is also important. I will begin to slowly switch to it by mixing it with MIsho's current food . I know that this food is mainly for Europeans and most likely you don't have it on your market but just in case anyone has experience with this food let me know please!
For now I shoot 1,5U but I really don't like the numbers
Today we will visit our vet just for general check up I hope to hear good news. I am curious to see Misho's weight because I think my skinny patient has put on some weight which if true will be a good sign. His coat is no longer falling down as before and I think it is because Misho is much better now but still not what I expected to be.
Have a sunny week end everyone!


cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 10/11/ Misho's PMPS - 437 - AMPS - 405

I see the big bounce after the 88.8 (11.1) and maybe, just maybe, that was too low to shoot for him. It may be that you could actually skinny the 1.5 units - a slight back off - so that the next pre-shot may come up a tad and the drop not be so big, perhaps.

With the food change to a slightly lower carb level, you might even drop to 1.25 units, as best as you can measure it.
 
Re: 10/11/ Misho's PMPS - 437 - AMPS - 405

BJM said:
you could actually skinny the 1.5 units - a slight back off - so that the next pre-shot may come up a tad and the drop not be so big, perhaps.

I thought I have to shoot one and the same dose AM and PM :oops: Now I will know it is possible.

Di&Misho said:
With the food change to a slightly lower carb level, you might even drop to 1.25 units, as best as you can measure it.
I will use the printed templets as I am not really good in small doses and I hope it will work if needed.
 
Re: 10/11/ Misho's PMPS - 437 - AMPS - 405

Clarification: I meant skinny both shots, AM and PM.
 
Re: 10/11/ Misho's PMPS - 437 - AMPS - 405

BJM said:
Clarification: I meant skinny both shots, AM and PM.

You mean to skinny the dose from now on or that I had to do this yesterday at AM shot ?
Numbers creeping up since we went back on 1.5 :sad: At AM shot Misho had his meal mixed, current one + new one 50/50 . I tested @+ 3 - slight drop . At PM shot again red number - I gave him only 1 tin of his new food Granatapet veal with rabbit and shot 1.5 U. I just hope things will look better tomorrow morning...
 
Re: 10/11/ Misho's AMPS - 405 PMPS- 441 @+5- 347

It takes 3-5 days for Lantus to stabilize on a dose and Levemir may be closer to 5 to 7 days. You've got to grit your teeth, hang in there, and wait it out.
 
Re: 10/11/ Misho's AMPS - 405 PMPS- 441 @+5- 347

BJM said:
You've got to grit your teeth, hang in there, and wait it out.
I will I promise ! We are already half way ... nailbite_smile
 
Re: 10/13/ Misho's AMPS - 455

Good morning everyone! For the first time I couldn't test Misho after PM shot.Today very high preshot again :sad: After redusing the dose back to 1.50 quite we see high numbers and very high pre shots. I switched him to his new food yesterday and I thought I will see at least a slight drop but it seems the food didn't affect his numbers. I know I made a promise but how long should I keep it ? :roll: nailbite_smile I do understand when he bounces seeing low numbers but have no clue why with reduced dose and no low readings he is that high at pre shots. My only thought is that the insulin is not enough. At certain point I was ready to try 1,75 again as he was at this dose 4 days only and on the 5th he dropped to 36 and dose was immediately reduced . But if I shoot this dose I need to monitor him closely ,right I mean at least the first day . Any thoughts,please!
 
Re: 10/13/ Misho's AMPS - 455

Once you've had 3-5 days at the same dose, a bounce should be over, so if the nadir is too high, the dose can go up again, 0.25 units or just fattening, whatever feels most comfortable.
 
Re: 10/13/ Misho's AMPS - 455

I was actually thinking of trying 1,75 again as unfortunately my first choice to go back to 1,5 doesn't seem to be the right one. But I am a bit afraid I won't be able to test enough as to catch any possible reading below 50. So maybe it is wise if I try skinny 1,75 first. The problem is I don't know how to draw this dose. About fatty dose KPassa already explained me where the plunger should be for f1,5 but I have never shot skinny dose. Btw I try to be as consistent as I can on dosing using the printed patterns but they don't have fatty or skinny ones :oops: Can anyone please tell me how does skinny 1,75 look like . Thank you !
 
Re: 10/13/ Misho's AMPS - 455

Fattening a dose is the same concept as skinnying a dose - you make it just a hair more than 1.5 units / a hair less than 1.75 units. Give it your best guesstimate.
 
Re: 10/13/ Misho's AMPS - 455

BJM said:
Fattening a dose is the same concept as skinnying a dose - you make it just a hair more than 1.5 units / a hair less than 1.75 units. Give it your best guesstimate.

Thank you BJM ! I am not very good at these small doses :oops: but really trying hard. While searching info and images on how exactly this looks like I found very useful explanation here on FDMB .
How to draw 0,75 - skinny and fatten doses
I increased the dose for PM shot today it was obvious BG will not drop more than it has the last couple of days.I hope it wont drop too low or too fast now :roll:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top