Re: Re:10/24/ Misho's AMPS-272@+7-331

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 10/13/ Misho's AMPS - 455 @+7- 284 PMPS- 428

hi Di
good luck with fattening the dose. i hope it helps.
 
Re: 10/13/ Misho's AMPS - 455 @+7- 284 PMPS- 428

hi Di
good luck with fattening the dose. i hope it helps
 
Re: 10/14 / Misho's AMPS - 463

tibbs5 said:
hi Di
good luck with fattening the dose. i hope it helps.
Thank you, I hope it does ! Tonight's readings didn't seem to be what I expected neighter today's AMPS :shock: But I guess it is just a matter of time now. In fact I shot a little bit less at PM as I didn't want the BG to drop too fast with the red preshot Misho had and the pretty high numbers for the last couple of days. We will see what happens next.
I send good vibes to you and your kitten and hope that everything gonna be alright soon :YMHUG: :YMHUG:

P.S. as I remembered I had read before about the NDW effect I browsed the forum again and I have just read something that made me confused. This one
I mean the lines in red. is this one of the differences between TRP and Relaxed ? I have always thought that with Misho I am in between both :smile: and I like this rule in red because I really feel awful with high readings :sad:
I hope the numbers we had last night and the preshot today are the NDW effect
 
Re: 10/15/ Misho's AMPS - 454

Good morning from Bulgaria !
I think there is something wrong going on with Misho and I don't know what it is but I think it has nothing to do with the insulin dose.BG levels doesn't seem as usual even after increasing to 1.75. Yesterday I thought it might be a result of NDW but today I am definitely not that sure. Misho's cough is getting more and more frequent. It is indeed lasting for only a few second but still he coughs. I am afraid there is something going on in his body- infection or something that causes these high readings as even with lower dose we have seen pretty good nadirs.
I am planning to drive him to the University clinic in another city and I will call them today but as his numbers are very high now I am a bit concerned I do not have to inject him or feed him because of the blood work they will have to do. Misho's AM shot is at 5 a.m. and if I agree with the clinic the first possible hour for our visit it could be 8:30 a.m. I know probably his numbers will be very high by then so my question is can i shoot the insulin then and just change his schedule frоm then on or it is better to skip the a.m. shot ?
Any ideas what the cause of these numbers can be? I do feel very anxious and always frustrated when circumstances are beyond my control but I guess it is the same with all of you. Any thoughts are welcome. Thank you !

P.S. Forgot to mention that increase to 1,75U again fall in with changing Misho's food but I doubt it has something to do with it as the new one is better and this is one of the reasons,not the only one, to switch to it
Food discussion
 
Re: 10/15/ Misho's AMPS - 454 -we have a problem

Is he
eating
drinking
peeing
pooping

Is his activity level decreased?

If you put your ear to his side, do you hear wheezing or gurgling?

Have you tested for urine ketones?

If his glucose is high in the morning, I would give him at least some insulin. The regular dose if he eats, otherwise, maybe half a dose if he does not (my vet had me give a half dose of Lantus when fasting for a dental cleaning)
 
Re: 10/15/ Misho's AMPS - 454 -we have a problem

He is just like all other days. Misho has never been an active cat ,he doesn't play ,chase, whatever. Since he is on wet food I have the feeling he doesn't drink water at all or that small amount that I can barely notice the difference in his water bowl Everything else is OK . About ketones - I know it is my fault but I can't test him. Where he now lives there is no electricity and I usually stay with him only at nights so even if I hear him going to pee I can't test using the flash light :oops:
I have taken him twice to this clinic but luckily his numbers were very OK then and I shot the insulin immediately after they made the blood test but with the pre shots he has now may be it is wise to shoot half dose if this will not affect the test .
The last time we visited this clinic was to have his X-rays done as I have read about asthma issues and just wanted to be sure his cough is not caused by this condition but they said there is nothing to prove diagnosis ,neither any cardiac problem of which I also asked. They said they see no problem in Misho’s bronchial tubes . His full blood count was with no abnormalities as well. But Misho coughs sometimes, I have forgotten of this cough but recently he began again and maybe he has some mild form of asthma I don't know. The other thing that bothers me is that vets here have absolutely no experience with feline diabetes and I don't know if they are aware what medications should Misho take in case he has this condition. It is sometimes so confusing when the vets know less that you do even not being as experienced as most of you here are. I have to do something because I feel there is a problem but I just don't know what it is :sad:
 
Re: 10/15/ Misho's AMPS - 454 -we have a problem

Your vets may be more accustomed to routine issues. I'll bet you make them stretch their brains!

For info on feline asthma, check out Fritz the Brave.

Coughing could also be hairballs, or constipation
For info on feline constipation, check out Feline Constipation
 
10/16/ Misho's AMPS - 466 - urinalysis abnormal values

BJM said:
Your vets may be more accustomed to routine issues. I'll bet you make them stretch their brains!
Well, I don't blame them as people here just don't treat diabetes, most pets are PTS :oops: A matter of standard and mentality as well, sad but true. So when you have no experience and your knowledge is based on what you have learnt at the University I think it is difficult :roll: Anyway at least my vet is very thankful to all the info I give him and is willing to help us as much as he can with other underlying problems Misho might have.
we had an appointment with him yesterday since I was not able to drive Misho to the city where the University clinic is. Blood work done - perfect, all levels within range. Auscultate check - no abnormalities of heart, lungs and Bronchial tubes . The vet also checked the x-ray Misho had at the University clinic and said he fully agrees with his colleagues that there are no problems visible. The cough is more likely to be a chronic effect of any possible inflammation of the mucous membranes of the larynx Misho has had in the past . He will now be administered Veraflox- antibiotic product of Bayer for 3 days and I have to call my vet on Saturday.
The other problem is that Misho's urinalysis is not good and I feel guilty as I don't do uirne tests due to reason I already explained but this should not be my excuse of course :oops: If I have done it may be I would have spotted the problem earlier. The vet will call me today for full report but what he said was that the Specific gravity low and Ph high, Leuc and Er levels high, glucose which under the present circumstances is normal high and traces of protein, ketones negative. He said Misho needs antibiotic but some other results will be ready today and he also wanted to think which one will be the most appropriate for Misho as he needs to be sure what exactly it is inflammation or infection. I don't know what the difference is but he said the good news is that ALAT,ASAT and creatine levels in the blood work are ok which means the problem is not that serious and is treatable. I hope I explained in fairly good English :oops: and you can understand me.
The other thing that worries me is that I don't know why but I think his new food being really premium one, grain,free,low carb is in a way connected with the BG levels. I will wait the Aine's answer in the other thread as she has fed Granatapet.
I am really getting very upset I wish I could be of more help to Misho :sad:

P.S. Forgot to mention- Misho has finally put some weight on.Last vet visit July - 3,200, yesterday- 3,900kg.
 
Re: 10/16/ Misho's AMPS - 466 - urinalysis abnormal values

Morning Di (at least for me it's morning)

You did an excellent job of explaining and I swear your English is getting better daily. :-D

First no beating yourself up for not getting the urine tests, because all they would have caught is if there were ketones, and he doesn't have those so not problem there. It would not have caught an infection or inflammation. But either of those conditions does explain Misho's higher numbers as both infection or inflammation will raise BGs. As will pain which both conditions can also cause.

If you can when you get his full bloodwork report back if you can get a copy for yourself and post the values here, I can probably help you understand what all those values mean. I've gotten very good over the years at reading blood work. Just one of the many skill sets you pick up when you dance with a sugarcat for awhile. :lol:

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 10/16/ Misho's AMPS - 466 - urinalysis abnormal values

MommaOfMuse said:
Morning Di (at least for me it's morning)

First no beating yourself up for not getting the urine tests, because all they would have caught is if there were ketones, and he doesn't have those so not problem there. It would not have caught an infection or inflammation. But either of those conditions does explain Misho's higher numbers as both infection or inflammation will raise BGs. As will pain which both conditions can also cause.

Mel and The Fur Gang

It 's 5p.m. with me Mel :-) and I will be leaving for Misho's place in a minute.
I do blame myself as the urine dip stick analysis I can make at home shows Er,Leuc, Glucose,Ph ..all of it. So I would know there is problem and take Misho to the vet.
The blood work was ready yesterday and it is OK but the urinalysis is problematic . The thing is that microbiology of his urine we can do only in human laboratory as there is no vet laboratory that can do that. So tomorrow we will have to go again to my vet take sterile urine sample and send it to a friend of mine working in lab. The results unfortunately will be ready on Monday .... And my vet is afraid to not make mistake choosing the wrong antibiotic in Misho's case :roll: What do usually your vets administer in UTI cases I can tell him and if has experience with it he will definitely use it for Misho.
 
Re: 10/16/ Misho's AMPS - 466 - urinalysis abnormal values

There are a couple different ones that I've used in the past with UTIs in kitties...Baytril, Clindamycian and Cypro. Of those three the one that always seems to work the best for at least Autumn was the Clindamycian as it is a liquid so I can just shoot it down her throat and it is only given once a day. It is also probably the easiest for your Vet to either have on hand or be able to write you a script for as it is a human antibiotic. In fact I've used it myself several years ago when I was bitten by a nasty spider and got a horrible staph infection from the bite.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 10/16/ Misho's AMPS - 466 @+8-338 PMPS-410 - UTI

Good job listing the bloodwork and urine tests.

They do make, but may or may not be available, urine test strips for infection. If it were a very frequent problem, they might be worth getting, but otherwise, I would not get them.

Urine frequency and amount are clues to health problems.
- frequent small urines - can indicate a bladder infection, a bladder stone, or even just irritation. (cystitis). So if you watch for that, you'll know when one of them may be happening. The first 2 are cureable. All are treatable.
- frequent large urines - can indicate diabetes, renal disease, and hyperthroidism. All are treatable, not cureable
- infrequent small urines - can mean renal shutdown, and death.
 
Re: 10/17/ Misho's AMPS - 364 - UTI

MommaOfMuse said:
There are a couple different ones that I've used in the past with UTIs in kitties...Baytril, Clindamycian and Cypro.
Mel and The Fur Gang
I guess with Cypro you mean Cyprofloxacine? If so all of these 3 are used by my vet as well as Linco-Spectin. The last one is administered in both UTI and upper respiratory infections and I think it will be a good choice for Misho . Unfortunately a microbiology urine test for pets in Bulgaria is not available :oops: I have a friend working in human laboratory and today we will try and send a sample there but the result will be ready on Monday if at all they agree to take the sample of a cat. Well...you see that sometimes it is not that easy here even the have a proper diagnosis when you lack the needed tests.
Misho's BG levels as you can see are awful at the moment and doing nothing to help makes me crazy.

BJM - I haven't noticed anything different in the frequency of peeing but Misho did it several times outside his litter box though it is always clean and fresh. I don't know what this means. The amount of urine hasn't changed too ,he usually pees twice a day and the pee size vary but I find it normal.

I will try and attach here the copies of tests I have. And once my vet decides which antibiotic to use I will post again. I expect BG levels to drop once we begin treatment though I am not sure how antibiotics affect BG levels.
Thank you so much for your thoughts :YMHUG:
 

Attachments

  • 20141017_065804.jpg
    20141017_065804.jpg
    9.4 KB · Views: 643
Re: 10/17/ Misho's AMPS - 364 - UTI

I hope it works here with the two and will attach the next file with my previous post
 

Attachments

  • 20141017_065846.jpg
    20141017_065846.jpg
    42.2 KB · Views: 635
  • 20141017_065920.jpg
    20141017_065920.jpg
    34.8 KB · Views: 646
Re: 10/17/ Misho's AMPS - 364 - UTI

Di&Misho said:
... I expect BG levels to drop once we begin treatment though I am not sure how antibiotics affect BG levels....

The antibiotic, unless mixed for humans with a sugarin it, won't affect the glucose levels directly. What it will do, we hope, is cure the infection which may be raising the glucose levels.
Hmmn. If the local lab won't test, your vet is left with empirical treatment, ie, treating as if it were an infection, even if no urine testing & cultur is possible. Under a microsope, I think he might see red blood cells if an infection were severly irritatint the bladder walls and white blood cells trying to fight the infection.

It could be worth seeing if you can get any of those urine test strips for home use off something like Amazon, or just show them to the vet once you find them.

Here are some examples: Google results
 
Re: 10/17/ Misho's AMPS - 364 - UTI

My vet will tell me the result of the microscope examination today , he can do that. I don't know if I explained properly the urine test that is not available here in Bulgaria for pets is the one that tells you what exactly the bacteria is and which antibiotic you can use to fight it and the microscope test will tell only if bactreia was found in the urine sample The dips stick test he does at his practice and I can get these strips from him for home testing. The problem are not the sticks but my impossibility to test cause I can rarely see Misho peeing when I am with him to test BG
 
Re: 10/17/ Misho's AMPS - 364 - UTI

Hi Di
Sorry that it is so hard to get testing for your kitty where you live. Misho is SO LUCKY to have you to care for him. You are doing such a great job with him. It is hard enough to care for a diabetic cat but you have so many additional problems and you are still doing an amazing job. just wanted to say that you must be a very kind person to care for Misho so well. Also when mine have UTI's ( and lots of other kitties too) they often will pee outside of the litter box. It is very common when a cat has a UTI. My doctor uses Clavamox when my Gracie gets her uti's. Good luck , i hope the antibiotic that they pick works well and fast !!!
hugs to you and Misho.
Nadine & Tibbs
 
Re: 10/17/ Misho's AMPS -364/PMPS-351 -Injectable Baytril

tibbs5 said:
Hi Di
Good luck , i hope the antibiotic that they pick works well and fast !!!
hugs to you and Misho.
Nadine & Tibbs
Thank you Nadine ,hugs back from Misho :YMHUG:

BJM said:
If the local lab won't test, your vet is left with empirical treatment, ie, treating as if it were an infection, even if no urine testing & cultur is possible.

Well, you will be surprised to know how often he does this not having the possibility to test the animals .And even under these circumstances he diagnoses and treats his patients very successfully .You can imagine how difficult this is .
Misho will be administered injectable Baytril till Monday. My vet decided to change the oral suspension Veraflox though it is the new generation of Baytril but he has not that much experience with it while Baytril is antibiotic he uses a lot and he said it will affect both Urinary tract and Respiratory infection if any. They prefilled the doses in syringes and I will shoot the antibiotic once daily. On Monday Misho will have dip stick urinanalysis to see what the result of the treatment is. The vet said the best outcome is to arrest the symptoms of his urinary problem which might raise the BG. He also said the problem will be if Misho makes a good recovery and we see a better urinalysis on Monday but his BG is still high. I strongly believe this won't happen as I really want to see Misho's nice blue colors back :sad:
At a certain moment I even thought Misho's new food has to do with his high readings which is silly to assume but just in case I give him both brands in term.
Please keep fingers crossed for Misho. I will be happy to post some good news here.
Have a happy weekend all of you :thumbup


P.S. I tested at +5 and Misho was 211, his miaou sounded different and I knew he is feeling better. I hope the antibiotic is doing his work and Misho will be much better tomorrow cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 10/17/ Misho's AMPS -364/PMPS-351 -Injectable Baytril

that's so great Di. i'm so happy that he is feeling a little better. sending healing to Misho.
cat_pet_icon cat_pet_icon cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 10/19/ Misho's AMPS -391 overslept alarm for AM shot

tibbs5 said:
that's so great Di. i'm so happy that he is feeling a little better. sending healing to Misho.
cat_pet_icon cat_pet_icon cat_pet_icon


Thank you :YMHUG: I sometimes read other kitty’s threads and I realize how many of us have worries and unanswered questions so every day I pray for all the extra sweet creatures and their humans. I am happy I found this message board as people who post here make me feel better and more relaxed.

I have a problem to share with you this morning. Obviously I have reached my limit and I overslept two alarms and most important Misho's morning insulin shot :oops: Since April this is the second time I oversleep an alarm but I have never missed a shot . Actually I woke up 30 minutes later so I thought to myself it won't be a problem to shoot the insulin and I did. Was it a mistake of mine ?
Today lunch time I will administer Misho's 3rd Baytril injection. I don't see any significant difference but I think we have a slight bounce now after the nice blue number he got after his 1st insulin shot on Friday. I still hope for a positive outcome of this antibiotic treatment and can't wait to have Misho's check dip stick urine test .
I wish you all a sunny Sunday ,we have nice weather here and I am planning a mountain walk with my oldie Sarah whom I adore .
 
Re: 10/19/ Misho's AMPS-391 -overslept alarm for AM shot

Nope Di you did just fine. You have a little wiggle room with Lantus in that you can be half an hour late or early without it throwing off your shot schedule. If it's longer than that half an hour then you have to roll back to where you want the shot times to be by either 15 minutes per shot, or 30 minutes per day.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 10/19/ Misho's AMPS-391 -overslept alarm for AM shot

MommaOfMuse said:
Nope Di you did just fine. You have a little wiggle room with Lantus in that you can be half an hour late or early without it throwing off your shot schedule. If it's longer than that half an hour then you have to roll back to where you want the shot times to be by either 15 minutes per shot, or 30 minutes per day.

Mel and The Fur Gang

Thank you Mel for the advice! We use Levemir not Lantus but I guess this applies to both. Can I keep this shooting hour for future schedule ? I didn't quite get the rolling back thing, I am sorry :oops: Misho had his insulin between 5:20- 5:30 am and p.m. This morning it was later and I was planning to shoot his pm insulin at about the same hour i.e. 6 p.m. and I guess this will not be a problem.
Today I read that in case I shoot later the insulin might act as decreased dose :roll: And if it is anything to go by today's numbers prove it. After the first Baytril shot BG dropped to blue number and I thought it will kee dropping the next days but it was only the first one. I thought it is a bounce and today flat pink readings may be due to the late shot :sad: Well I do what I have to and just hope to be on the right path and see his "normal" readings again.
 
Re: 10/19/ Misho's AMPS-391 -overslept alarm for AM shot

"Rolling back" = to adjust shot times with a depot insulin when it is shifted by more than 30 minutes, you may
1) shift 1 shot time by 30 minutes 1 time a day
OR
2) shift each shot time 15 minutes
Until you are back on schedule.

Option 2 works best when the cat is very sensitive to changes.
 
Re: 10/19/ Misho's AMPS-391 -overslept alarm for AM shot

Thank you BJM! Due to our time difference I usually read your comments much later than you have posted and vice versa. So I did what I did :oops: As I shot ca 30min later in the morning I just shot at the same hour in the evening and will keep this interval 6a.m-6p.m. Right now I cannot access the ss as I am on cell but just wanted to ask for any thoughts with regard the readings. Today's AMPS 362 and all other readings from yesterday also in pink...I was so happy to see the nice blue reading on Friday and I thought everything will be fine with the antibiotic treatment but it is not. If Misho's urine test is better but readings still high is it possible tgat he needs increase ? I am trying to eliminate every possible reason for the high BG levels. First I though it is the new food but definitely it has nothing to do . Then it was the current health issue but it seems to me the result after 3 days on injectable Baytril are not what I expected. Today for his AM shot I opened new cartridge of Levemir though our current one I started in September ..If it doesn't help it means there is sometging else.Either we need increase or Misho has some underlying problem except the one we already spotted that cause the high readibgs. Any thoughts will help, please share them with me.
 
Re: 10/20/ Misho's AMPS-362 -no drop flat high pinkies

I'm about to crash for the night and am on my phone, which can't see the spreadsheet.

As an experiment, the next time you're updating it, would you 1) click the share icon in the upper right, and check the share with those who have link option, then 2) also click on File, Publish to web I'm not sure why some sheets I can see and others I can't. I'm wondering if both features have to be set for me to have phone access to them.
 
Re: 10/20/ Misho's AMPS-362 @+8-382. 2nd day flat high pinki

BJM said:
As an experiment, the next time you're updating it, would you 1) click the share icon in the upper right, and check the share with those who have link option, then 2) also click on File, Publish to web I'm not sure why some sheets I can see and others I can't. I'm wondering if both features have to be set for me to have phone access to them.
I did and for the first time I myslef could access Misho ss on my cell just to view it.

Today's numbers absolutely not moving down or up.Misho's levels are as if I am not shooting insulin at all. Last Baytril injection tomorrow lunch time and he will have dip stick urine test in the late afternoon. The new insulin of today didn't do any difference so it was not the insulin either :roll: Blood work results I posted on Friday ,nothing to worry about...
There is something going on but no answer what it is. Misho's urine test will at least give us the anser did this UTI problem affected his high BG or not. And if not,what is next? I won't ask anyother questions now as before the urine test results they are absolutely irrelevant.
 
Re: Re:10/20/ Misho's AMPS-362@+8-382 -2nd day flat high pin

Just being sick can raise their blood sugar readings, its stressful to be sick especially for a kitty. You may have to do what we call shooting around it for awhile. Which means you just increase the dose slightly and see if that brings the numbers down. It takes awhile for the antibiotics to do their job and fight the infection. Once the infection is gone then the dose usually drops again.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: Re:10/20/ Misho's AMPS-362@+8-382 PMPS-423 -no drop

MommaOfMuse said:
You may have to do what we call shooting around it for awhile. Which means you just increase the dose slightly and see if that brings the numbers down.
Mel and The Fur Gang

Thank you Mel! I asked if it is possible to increase as this is the last I can try to see if it will affect in anyway Misho's numbers . I plan go up with 0,25 and shoot 2U tomorrow morning. Lunch time tomorrow I am shooting the last of 5 Baytril injections and in the late afternoon we have an appointment with our vet for the urine check test. I am a bit confused now as what I wanted was to see any improvement with the test but if the increased dose doesn't show any drop and if the urine test tells us the antibiotic is doing its job this will mean there is something else that is wrong and I have no idea what it can be :roll: I know it takes time for the antibiotic to affect the infection or inflammation whatever it is administered for but the first day on Friday there was quite a good drop and the only reason I can think of was the antibiotic . Even after the stress with vet visit Misho dropped to 180 . That is why I thought the next readings were a bounce but today I am not sure anymore.
I am very much afraid of kidney disease and I know that his kidney blood enzymes levels are normal but I also know that when you see the abnormal levels it is too late as the kidneys are totally damaged or in the best case almost. I had a dog with kidney failure and I know to the very last moment he didn't show any signs of this terrible disease.
Anyway let's be optimistic. For now Misho has the same ravenous appetite, pees sometimes out of his litter box and I think urine size is as always...,can't tell for sure though :? Just his meow is different a bit thick if you understand what I mean. May be Misho just needs increase , after all he has put on some weight and I don't know if his weight has something to do with the dose at this moment. Tomorrow we will have some more answers and let's hope some positive progress.
 
Re: 10/20/ Misho's AMPS-362 @+8-382. 2nd day flat high pinki

Di&Misho said:
As an experiment, the next time you're updating it, would you 1) click the share icon in the upper right, and check the share with those who have link option, then 2) also click on File, Publish to web I'm not sure why some sheets I can see and others I can't. I'm wondering if both features have to be set for me to have phone access to them.
I did and for the first time I myself could access Misho ss on my cell just to view it.[/quote]

Ah, good. Maybe we've got to have both done for phones to see them.
Could you update your signature link with the link from the File, Publish to the web?
 
Re: Re:10/20/ Misho's AMPS-362@+8-382 PMPS-423 -no drop

good luck di. it is so difficult when the don't follow a predictable pattern. tibbs is the same
 
Re: 10/21/ Misho's AMPS-310

BJM said:
Could you update your signature link with the link from the File, Publish to the web?
When I did this and I clicked on the link what I saw was a ss without updates so I linked back the old one. But I myself have no problems accessing it from my cell something I couldn't before so I guess it should be the same for you.

tibbs5 said:
good luck di. it is so difficult when the don't follow a predictable pattern. tibbs is the same
I know, I browse your ss regularly because I see there is something that is not right like our numbers . And I am not of those experts who can give advise but I wish you from the bottom of my heart to find your answers soon so you can see more yellows and blues and why not greens :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:

Today is our X day. We will have some answers too. Last night I decided not to visit Misho and test Since April this is 9th night I didn't . And this morning our pinkie pre shot is lower. I shot 2 U :roll: right or wrong I had to do something because these pinkies and reds really drive me crazy. I don't find it normal to just wait and see. I only hope my decisions are the best I can take and not do any harm to Misho. I will update the info tonight. Have a sunny and happy day all of you!
 
Re: Re:10/21/ Misho's AMPS-310 2U @+6-445 PMPS-423

Check dip stick urine test done - Ph -and specific gravity are normal today, no protein and less Er, no change in Leuc level . For my vet we have progress as all kidney indexes in the urine are better than they were on Friday. Treatment continues 5 more days but with combination of tablets Enroxil and Noroclav( analog of Synulox)
Misho urinates more as size and from Friday he has lost 200 grams of his weight :sad: I was so happy he finally has gained some.
AMPS was low pinky and I shot 2U as I intended to but @+4 when I went to test expecting to see some nice reading Misho was already in his reds and @+6 as well :roll: :roll: :roll: I have no clue what will be his PM shot now after the stress at our vet having in mind what it was lunch time.
Any ideas, any thoughts- what is going on with my boy?
I want to ask a stupid question I thought about this morning. COULD one of the reasons for all this be the reduced dose of his food. With Integra protect Diabetic he had 300 grams by producer's recommendation and with Granatapet it is 200grams.I have always been afraid to not overfeed Misho as he is hungry all the time and if I give him food when he begs for he will eat as much as dog does.
I don't know what other reason to think of ,trying to remember what has happened in the meantime. And why are these red readings today with the increased dose. Can it be any sudden resistance to insulin?
Any thoughts will be welcome as always. Have to go now for Misho's PM shot.
 
Re: Re:10/21/ Misho's AMPS-310 2U @+4-432 !!!

Hey, Di!

Glad the tests showed improvement.

What variety of Granatapet is Misho eating? Also, can you post his current weight and ideal weight? Also can you post the nutrition analysis for the Integra food, please? Once I get the info, I'll have a look at the caloric contents for you.
 
Re: Re:10/21/ Misho's AMPS-310 2U @+6-445 PMPS-423

Critter Mom said:
Hey, Di!
.............
Once I get the info, I'll have a look at the caloric contents for you.

You already did when I asked at the Main Board HERE What I can add is something I didn't mention before as I myself am not very good in this issue with calculations . The veal and rabbit flavor - Kcal/kg:942.80 MJ/kg:3.94- and for Pollock and Seafood -Kcal/kg:870.82 MJ/kg:3.64 .
For Integra Protect Diabetic Metabolizable energy - pro 100 g OS - 0,34 MJ pro 100 g DM -1,74 MJ . I even don't know what this means :oops:
Any info you need about Animonda Integra Protect you can read HERE

Misho was 2,700kg at diagnosis in April .On Friday he was 3.900kg and today 3,700 :sad: When I switched him on wet food he stopped drinking water or in very small quantities but now I noticed he began to drink water again and he pees more lately as I said... I don't know what his exact weight was when he was a stray cat but definitely was above his current one.I hope this info will help to answer my question with regard the food.Thank you Aine !
 
Re: Re:10/21/ Misho's AMPS-310 2U @+6-445 PMPS-423

Di&Misho said:
For Integra Protect Diabetic Metabolizable energy - pro 100 g OS - 0,34 MJ pro 100 g DM -1,74 MJ . I even don't know what this means
ME ... Pro 100g OS = energy per 100g as fed. (This is the one you need to calculate the weight of food you give to Misho every day.)
ME ... Pro 100g DM = energy per 100g on dry matter basis. (This one usually used for nutritional comparison purposes, since it eliminates the variance in moisture content of different foods.)

I can't think in MJ so I'll give you the info in kilocalories (kcal).

From Dr Lisa's site:

... figure out what you think your cat *should* weigh and plug that number into this formula:

Required calories per day = [13.6 X optimal lean body weight in pounds] + 70

Dr Lisa advises that this is a fairly generous way of calculating how much to feed. More info at the following link: http://www.catinfo.org/?link=felineobesity#Consider_Calories,_Not_Just_Ounces_

Let's say for illustration purposes that Misho's ideal weight should be 5.00 kg, that would be (5.00 x 2.2) = 11 lbs. Then his required calories (kcal) per day would be (13.6 x 11) + 70 = 220 kcal per day.

Carrying on with the worked example, and using 220 kcal per day for illustrative purposes, the amounts to feed would be as follows:

Granatapet Veal & Rabbit ( 0.943 kcal per g) / Daily food allowance: 220 / 0.943 = 233g
Granatapet Pollock & Seafood ( 0.871 kcal per g) / Daily food allowance: 220 / 0.871 = 253g
Integra Protect Diabetic (0.88 kcal per g) / Daily food allowance: 220 / 0.88 = 250g

I hope that you can follow the worked example OK. All that you need to do is calculate Misho's ideal weight in lbs and substitute it for the 11lb value used in the example. Given that Misho's weight is falling at the moment, it might be OK to feed him a little more than the daily allowance to help him regain the weight he has lost, but I'd recommend asking your vet about this first, or maybe other members could give you a better guide. Do you have your own scales to weigh Misho, Di? If you don't, digital baby scales are reasonably priced and very useful for weight monitoring. (I got mine on Ebay).
 
Re: Re:10/21/ Misho's AMPS-310 2U @+6-445 PMPS-423

Di&Misho said:
Misho urinates more as size and from Friday he has lost 200 grams of his weight ... Misho ... is hungry all the time ...
Neglected to comment on the above in my previous post. Maybe the increased hunger and urination (and presumably drinking?) are due to the higher BG levels?
 
Re: Re:10/22/ Misho's AMPS-220

Critter Mom said:
Di&Misho said:
Misho urinates more as size and from Friday he has lost 200 grams of his weight ... Misho ... is hungry all the time ...
Neglected to comment on the above in my previous post. Maybe the increased hunger and urination (and presumably drinking?) are due to the higher BG levels?

Thank you for the your time Aine and all the detailed explanation !!! I will carefully read all you have written with regard Misho's food. His hunger is constant since he was diagnosed, he will eat everything that I give him. As a matter of fact in the very beginning it was even worse.
My vet is not good at diabetes as far as he doesn't have much experience but he said that increased urination and drinking is more or less due of Miso's high BG levels lately rather than any other underlying problem.

This morning I was absolutely surprised to see a pre shot of 220 :o :o :o As I go there with the prefilled syringe and I have no electricity to adjust dose I shot the 2U ,gave Misho his meal and his antibiotic tablets. Now I am wondering if with this pre shot the 2U might cause more quick drop as I can come back to him for test not earlier than +4 :roll: I hope I didn't make a mistake shooting the 2U :?
 
Re: Re:10/22/ Misho's AMPS-220

hi Di
from what i have learned here, i think you were fine to shoot the 2u.
 
Re: Re:10/22/ Misho's AMPS-220

Nope that is exactly what you should have done and he should be fine until you get back to recheck on him.

You still just amaze me at how many tests you get in with him and he doesn't even live with you! :thumbup I live with Autumn and you put me to shame with how often you can test. And I use to think I was a data fiend. You are truly a shining example of pure love and dedication to a cat. And I'm sure Misho returns it all to you.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: Re:10/23/ Misho's AMPS-365

MommaOfMuse said:
You still just amaze me at how many tests you get in with him and he doesn't even live with you! :thumbup
Mel and The Fur Gang
This testing has quite dear price :smile: but if that is what I have to do I do it. When Misho was diagnosed I had absolutely no idea what I am facing . When I got clear about it I just couldn't let him back in the street . I test so much as first I was afraid and I am still afraid of hypo as he lives alone where he is and second I thought all these testing will help a lot but Misho doesn't even spend more time in blue or green numbers which means he is not regulated yet not to speak of any possible remission. What I hope for is to at least regulate him and I don't know why it is so difficult after so many months. As a matter of fact I should only count the time since we found this board as what I was doing before was may be the reason MIsho is still not regulated.
Anyway , we had some nice yellow and even blue number last night and today's pre shot again surprised me. The least I expected was a pinky one , the more I read the more I am convinced that with some cats rules are just not applicable. Things happen in their own way and no matter how hard you try the outcome is never what you expect. It seems the increase to 2 U was a good idea but I have the feeling Misho will even need more of this. And my logic is that if he needs more insulin to get nice numbers it means that more beta cells have been destroyed in his pancreas and it is hardly to believe diabetes will go away :sad: So I hope now it is not too late to regulate Misho one day.
 
Re: Re:10/23/ Misho's AMPS-365

Di&Misho said:
Things happen in their own way and no matter how hard you try the outcome is never what you expect. .
Yes is this ever the truth. Tibbs is the same way. no matter what i do i can't get good numbers for him.
Di , i hope our boys get better together.
hugs to you and misho
 
Re: Re:10/23/ Misho's AMPS-365

Di,

As I was reminded 10,000 times when I was where you are now with my first FD kitty, this is a Marathon not a Sprint. Misho didn't become diabetic overnight and he won't be regulated or even go into remission overnight either. Look at Autumn, she and I have been dancing now for nearly 3 years (March 19, 2015) and while for the most part, most of that time she has been fairly well regulated, at least until this last dental issue. And she still like yesterday throws me a curve call. I know other cats around this board that they have been dancing with their care givers for much longer than Autumn and I have been.

And when it comes to insulin they take, what they take, to get and keep them in good numbers. I use to get so frustrated when I would see cats the same size, age and gender as mine on these itty bitty doses and turning in beautiful numbers while Musette and I struggled just to maintain some sort of balance. But after having multiple sugarcats since then I truly get ECID (Every Cat Is Different). Not a single one is going to do this the same way or in the same time frame. There just isn't any magical formula that applies to them all. Lord knows I wish there was.

I do still giggle when Autumn is running extremely low and someone remarks how calm and cool headed I am about it, but I kind of equate it to being a human mother, the first born you are beside yourself with worry, terrified of every sneeze, hiccup, or cough. You drive yourself nuts sterilizing bottles, toys, pacifiers and making sure no one handles your baby but you unless they have just about bathed in disinfectant. Then you have a second, you have relaxed a little, but by the time you have your third child. You will hand them off to anyone that wants to hold them, you will pick up the pacifier straight off the ground, stick in your own mouth to suck off the dirt and then pop it right back in the baby's mouth. You scrub toys only after you have forgotten what color they were to begin with...in other words you have now become a seasoned mother, and figured out that your precious bundle of joy isn't nearly as fragile as that first one looked. :lol: This is why Grandmothers are life savers for new moms, she's been there and done that. So I guess not only am a Grandma to 7 human grandchildren I'm also all of the cats on this forum's grandmother.

You will eventually be a kitty grandmother too, it just takes practice and learning your cat and sometimes having things happen beyond our control for us to realize, they aren't as fragile of creatures as we think, and that we also have what it takes to weather any storm. And unlike an overdose on a narcotic like say morphine, where the only way out of it is medical intervention because it is a foreign substance in the body, Insulin is a natural occurring hormone so the body itself has self protection built in, thus why they bounce sky high after dipping into dangerous territory. And even hypos are different with every cat, some will show outward signs of one when they are barely below 40 and others like Autumn are perfectly fine, happy and purring but give me a heart attack when the meter flashes 24 at me.

But I also know from living with and treating multiple special needs cats that you can only run at full steam ahead for so long and then your own body gives out. That is why you have heard from several of us when we look at your spreadsheet that you need to also take care of Di. Especially because you are doing this alone, because if you go down there will be no one to care for Misho.

So here is my recommendation, when you check on him and give him his shot if he is over 300, go home, rest, play with your other fur kids, and for the love of all things Holy....SLEEP! Conserve some of that strength for when you are really going to need it, when he is running low and you need to be checking him every hour or every half hour. An yes, take a day or two off (except for shots, and food) to go do something just for Di.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: Re:10/24/ Misho's AMPS-272

Mel :YMHUG: Words will not be enough to express how I feel so I hope just a simple thank you for being there for us will do. I will try to follow your advice . I have just one question to all of you the experienced members - lately I 'hold doses for a long time and I don't think the results were satisfactory. Do you think I have to continue increasing Misho's insulin following any schedule as I am completely confused where exactly in this 5 steps treatment we are. Thank you all for your help !
 
Re: Re:10/24/ Misho's AMPS-272

The Start Low, Go Slow protocol does have you hold the dose for a week while the Tight Regulation protocol has you hold the same dose 3 to 5 full days.

With the amount of testing you are doing, you might go with 5 days at the same dose then adjusting as indicated as a compromise between the 2 protocols.
 
Re: Re:10/24/ Misho's AMPS-272

BJM said:
With the amount of testing you are doing, you might go with 5 days at the same dose then adjusting as indicated as a compromise between the 2 protocols.

Thank you BJM! I was reading the protocols right now and definitely I have to increase as our nadirs are greater than 200, not to speak of those we had last week before the increase. Misho's final antibiotic tablets will be on Sunday so I don't expect any significant change of BG levels from now on. Sunday morning I can increase to 2,25 and see if nadirs will go lower.
I always use the printed dose patterns and for some of the syringes I see quite a difference. When I draw 2U using the syringe scale and then use the pattern to check I usually have to expel insulin as the dose in the syringe is definitely more than the pattern shows. It happened again this morning- syringe shows 2 U and when I expelled the insulin as to match the pattern the syringe scale showed something like 1.75 :shock: . I guess I am doing the right thing using these printed patterns :roll:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top