Poe's Numbers- Advice Please -

Status
Not open for further replies.
The number is dropping, but I think it's safe to give the 0.1 dose, and then feed him. If it's been 30 minutes since the last test, go ahead and test him again. His BG numbers should rise once he's eaten, and the new dose of Lantus won't start having it's affect until around +2. I have to log off in a few minutes to go to work. Let me know if you have any questions.
 
OK feeding him now...shooting the .1 in a few . I need to get going for work also, will a AMPS +2 be needed this morning?
Thanks
 
I'm glad he's going up, so you feel more secure.
If you can get a +2 that would be good, but if you can't, just get an out the door test, if possible.

Leave a nice bit of LC food out for him.

Have a good day!
 
I did a AMPS +1.25, wrote the number down at home, can't remember it, but it was under 200.

Left him some LC to snack on.

I am hoping to get better data this weekend with the new dose, filling in the blanks that I have to leave all week. There might be a day during the week that I can sneak home for lunch to get a test...that should put me around the AMPS +6...I might be able to do that tomorrow.

Thanks ...have a good day everyone :-D
 
I just did at AMPS +10 (more like +10.25) at a 295.

I am sure I will be shooting him the .1 after PMPS and dinner.
 
lol I think so too...this weekend Im going to find him new treats. I have to look at the recommended ones. hopefully we will have an uneventful night
 
If you would make that before bed test a regular part of your routine for a while, that would be good.

Hope you get Poe some good treats. Does he like the freeze dried chicken?
 
I'm sure he would...where do I get them? and yes, I will get that before bed test...that will be like PMPS +5 or so
 
Sometimes, Wal-Mart has the freeze dried chicken treats, get the big bag from the dog food aisle. They are bigger pieces and I just break them up into smaller, corn kernel size bites. My Wal-Mart never has them in stock. :cry:

You can try Petsmart or Petco. Anything that is pure protein would be a good treat. Use for test times and for shot times.

I have a little specialty dog/cat place where I can get pure protein treats. Otherwise, I mail order.

The PureBites freeze dried chicken are good.
I've tried the Halo Liv-a-Little freeze Dried chicken which crumble easily over food. I use these when Wink is being picky about eating.
The Whole Life freeze dried liver treats are super crumbly.

All three of my cats like these treats now, even the two civies Monet and Delta.
 
I have some Natures' Valley Instinct Raw Chicken bites that are frozen. Was wondering if anyone ever used/ or recommends these?

Thanks
 
We bought the dog treats too and we crumble them into smaller bites. We use the Pure bites. Bought the beef liver and the chicken. He does not seem to care for the liver..sigh, a waste of 18 bucks but at least we got the chicken for half price when we bought the other ones (buy one get second for 50% off at Petco) so it is not too bad and maybe he will change his mind down the road. You are doing great! Anything that is pure meat will be good for kitty as the high protein content is good.
 
whats the ingredients in " Natures' Valley Instinct Raw Chicken bites"? if its just 100% chicken then go for it. Look for grains, wheat, flour etc.

Also I am not sure this dose is working - might need to tweak it up a little. But at this point I think it would be a good idea for you to start posting on the tight regulation forumhttp://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewforum.php?f=9 . This is for users like yourself that are getting experienced but need help with dosing. The forum is a great sense of community. Most members post there frequently, many daily- including me. Experienced members will go in and review your every post and advise on dosing -its very helpful!.

Before you do this though you might want to set up a profile - http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=79123

Heres how to post
Every day ( or as often as you can) you open a new thread/post. We call them "condos"
- The subject has the date/cats name and BG readings ie 05/31 Poe AMPS 314 +4 259. You add a ? icon if you have a question. You can update your subject as you get a reading, or whenever

- The contents of your post have a quick update on how Poe is feeling as regards the 5Ps ( peeing. pooing, preening, playing and purring) and any questions ie : Today Poe was in a good mood, playing and eating well. But he is peeing a lot. Should I increase the dose?

For your first post put "newbie" also in your subject so everyone can welcome you! And you are of course welcome to keep posting here .


Wendy
 
KarensPoe said:
I have some Natures' Valley Instinct Raw Chicken bites that are frozen. Was wondering if anyone ever used/ or recommends these?

Thanks

If that is the Nature's Variety (not valley) then I think that is the one that has a lot of vegetables and fruits in it? May be too high in carb for your diabetic cat. Using my carb calculator, I got 34% carb on a dry matter basis.
 
Also I am not sure this dose is working - might need to tweak it up a little. But at this point I think it would be a good idea for you to start posting on the tight regulation forumhttp://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewforum.php?f=9 . This is for users like yourself that are getting experienced but need help with dosing. The forum is a great sense of community. Most members post there frequently, many daily- including me. Experienced members will go in and review your every post and advise on dosing -its very helpful!.

I was thinking the same thing. His number is pretty high now close to dose time. Will I be going back up to the .25?

I've updated my profile, and will get over to that board hopefully this afternoon.

I will be stopping to get the freeze dried chicken today. I hope to be home in the next 2 hours and test him again then.

The frozen food is Nature's Valley, which is supposed to be 100% chicken. He didn't care for them, they must be kinda blah.
 
Karen,

Thank you so much for adding that little bit of additional info in your signature. It really does help.
 
I made it to the Lantus TR board, and posted my introduction, a few hours ago. I'm not sure how to dose this evening and I know most likely he will be high based on previous numbers and that maybe the .1 is not enough.

Do I go back to the .25 for this evening?

I asked this over there too...

Thanks
 
We usually get busier over in the Lantus TR group as the evening progresses.

What time do you need to shoot?
 
We usually have someone hold the same dose for a minimum of 6 cycles. Tonight will be that 6th cycle on this 0.1U dose.

You have had to skip a lot of shots because the numbers have gone really low, like that 44 at PMPS on 5/23. The 91 at AMPS on 5/25. Those were both at the 1U so we know that dose was too high.

I would like you to give that same 0.1U dose for at least one more cycle.

Could you get a +6 overnight again tonight?

"Better too high for a day, than too low for a minute."

There may be some other people with dose suggestions later this evening. You don't have much data yet for basing those dosing decisions on. So lets wait a bit before we have you increase.

Are you home this weekend to test more if you do increase?
 
Yes. I will be home all weekend cept for some small errand running. I can do the PMPS +6 tonight too.

I was thinking the same about the better high for a day than low for a minute.

Thanks...I will give the .1 at 5:30 or so after he eats
 
That seems the safest for now, to do the 0.1U.

The insulin shed or depot is still filling. We usually like to say 3 days to see some effect from a dose change.

Also, you only recently started doing BID dosing. We need to give that time.

Some reading for you on the insulin depot: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=150 It's one of those "Stickies" we refer to, over in the ISG, Lantus TR forum.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top