Panzer running low on test strips

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chrispooky12

Member Since 2021
I have not been able to test Panzer as much as I need to because I am low on test strips.I don't know if anyone else is having trouble with bad strips. I've had at least 10 in each 50pk. We use the alpha trak pet meter. I do have a Relion premier meter if I need to use it. What is the difference # wise with the human meter? Also should I try giving him 3.5units of insulin with his pm shot? He is eating only fancy feast pate now. I didn't give him any pain meds because he doesn't act like he's hurting. I was told what they gave me was bad for his kidneys. Metacam 1.5mg oral prefilled syringes 7 of them?
 
Hi Christina
On a human meter, 50 is your “take action” number compared to 68 on the AT2. Healthy BG ranges on a human meter are 50-120.
Sorry I can't help you with dosing , I'm glad he doesn't seem to be in pain
 
Metacam is not good for the kidneys. It has a black box warning in the US. If you need pain medication ask for buprenex.

Try the Relion and see if you don’t waste strips. Even if you do the strips are so much cheaper. I’d say most people here use human meters for that reason. I never used Prozinc so can’t advise on dosing but I know enough to know that you aren’t close to the take charge number of 68 on the AT.
 
Metacam is not good for the kidneys. It has a black box warning in the US. If you need pain medication ask for buprenex.

Try the Relion and see if you don’t waste strips. Even if you do the strips are so much cheaper. I’d say most people here use human meters for that reason. I never used Prozinc so can’t advise on dosing but I know enough to know that you aren’t close to the take charge number of 68 on the AT.
What numbers will he read on a human meter? Today he's reading in the 300s to low 400s on the alpha tracker.
 
Cats don't always show when they are hurting, even when the pain is very bad. It's hard to imagine that he could not be having pain after getting all those teeth removed.
If the vet prescribed a certain frequency of pain medication, I think you should comply with that to be sure that he's feeling okay.

If you don't like the pain medication he has, it's a good idea to reach out to the vet to see about getting a different prescription, but he shouldn't be going without.
 
How much does you cat weigh? Metacam dosage is based on weight. It is very important not to give more than necessary.

I'm glad you're here! I told her Metacam had the black box warning (which is where she heard it) but I also told her that at least her vet seemed to know how to use it. It's supposed to be giving IM and then no more than 3 days orally but that's when it's given at the correct dosage. In the UK and Australia, they know how to use Metacam safely. It's at a different strength or dose and only usually used for a short time.
 
I'm glad you're here! I told her Metacam had the black box warning (which is where she heard it) but I also told her that at least her vet seemed to know how to use it. It's supposed to be giving IM and then no more than 3 days orally but that's when it's given at the correct dosage. In the UK and Australia, they know how to use Metacam safely. It's at a different strength or dose and only usually used for a short time.
He weighs 17lbs
 
I'm glad you're here! I told her Metacam had the black box warning (which is where she heard it) but I also told her that at least her vet seemed to know how to use it. It's supposed to be giving IM and then no more than 3 days orally but that's when it's given at the correct dosage. In the UK and Australia, they know how to use Metacam safely. It's at a different strength or dose and only usually used for a short time.
The first dose doesn’t have to be IM. It can be oral but a larger dose then down to a smaller dose. I am concerned the dose she has been given is too much. It looks like the dogs strength. I am not home at the moment and only have my phone but when I get home I’ll check it all out. I haven’t used metacam now for several years.
 
I'm glad you're here! I told her Metacam had the black box warning (which is where she heard it) but I also told her that at least her vet seemed to know how to use it. It's supposed to be giving IM and then no more than 3 days orally but that's when it's given at the correct dosage. In the UK and Australia, they know how to use Metacam safely. It's at a different strength or dose and only usually used for a short time.
He weighs 17lbs
 
The first dose doesn’t have to be IM. It can be oral but a larger dose then down to a smaller dose. I am concerned the dose she has been given is too much. It looks like the dogs strength. I am not home at the moment and only have my phone but when I get home I’ll check it all out. I haven’t used metacam now for several years.
OMG please let me know!
 
On a human meter, normal BG is 50-120.....on a pet meter, it's 68-150....so at low numbers, they're pretty close. As the numbers get higher, there's more of a difference, but it really doesn't matter if it's 350 or 500..."too high" is too high!
Thank you I'm writing this down because I'm eventually going to change over to the human meter. I got an email saying the strips were on there way.
 
Last edited:
My vet will not give metacam to any cat ever. It dues have a black box warning in the United States but not in Canada. Is it different in Australia Bron? @Bron and Sheba (GA)
Hi Elise
In Australia we have a metacam which is just for cats and is a different strength.
Cat metacam is 0.5mg/ ml. I gave it to Sheba for a few years and it honestly made a huge difference to her quality of life.
It is often given after surgery for a few days.

Dog metacam is 1.5mg/ml so it 3 times the strength of cat metacam. . This is where all the problems were in the US with the metacam…….they were giving cats the dog strength of the metacam which is dangerous.
Christina, I would ring the vet and ask him what strength metacam he has given you……dog or cat metacam.
If Panzer weighs17lbs (7.7kg) he should be getting 0.7ml (using a 1 ml syringe) and the cat strength metacam which is 1/3 the strength of the dog metacam.
Can you take a photo of the syringe please so we can see it?

The maintenance dose for a cat (using the 0.5mg/ml cat suspension) is 0.05mg/kgbodyweight which works out at 0.1ml/ body weight. So Sheba was 6 kg so she got 0.6ml per day of the cat metacam strength.
 
upload_2021-10-22_12-36-25.jpeg


Here is a photo of the cat metacam with a dosing 1 ml syringe.
 

Attachments

  • upload_2021-10-22_12-36-25.jpeg
    upload_2021-10-22_12-36-25.jpeg
    64 KB · Views: 267
Hi Elise
In Australia we have a metacam which is just for cats and is a different strength.
Cat metacam is 0.5mg/ ml. I gave it to Sheba for a few years and it honestly made a huge difference to her quality of life.
It is often given after surgery for a few days.

Dog metacam is 1.5mg/ml so it 3 times the strength of cat metacam. . This is where all the problems were in the US with the metacam…….they were giving cats the dog strength of the metacam which is dangerous.
Christina, I would ring the vet and ask him what strength metacam he has given you……dog or cat metacam.
If Panzer weighs17lbs (7.7kg) he should be getting 0.7ml (using a 1 ml syringe) and the cat strength metacam which is 1/3 the strength of the dog metacam.
Can you take a photo of the syringe please so we can see it?

The maintenance dose for a cat (using the 0.5mg/ml cat suspension) is 0.05mg/kgbodyweight which works out at 0.1ml/ body weight. So Sheba was 6 kg so she got 0.6ml per day of the cat metacam strength.
 
This is what we use in the UK, it's called Loxicom but same as meloxicam or metacam and specifically for cats.
Ours come with a syringe with kg markings on it, 1 unit per kg of cat.
We got this when Duke was struggling with his arthritis but never used it because of it's reputation and the fear of kidney damage, although the vet reduced his dose by half.

IMG_20211022_132123708.jpg
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20211022_132123708.jpg
    IMG_20211022_132123708.jpg
    35.8 KB · Views: 235
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top