Panzer running low on test strips

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Chrispooky12, Oct 21, 2021.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Chrispooky12

    Chrispooky12 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2021
    I have not been able to test Panzer as much as I need to because I am low on test strips.I don't know if anyone else is having trouble with bad strips. I've had at least 10 in each 50pk. We use the alpha trak pet meter. I do have a Relion premier meter if I need to use it. What is the difference # wise with the human meter? Also should I try giving him 3.5units of insulin with his pm shot? He is eating only fancy feast pate now. I didn't give him any pain meds because he doesn't act like he's hurting. I was told what they gave me was bad for his kidneys. Metacam 1.5mg oral prefilled syringes 7 of them?
     
  2. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Hi Christina
    On a human meter, 50 is your “take action” number compared to 68 on the AT2. Healthy BG ranges on a human meter are 50-120.
    Sorry I can't help you with dosing , I'm glad he doesn't seem to be in pain
     
    Chrispooky12 likes this.
  3. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
  4. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Metacam is not good for the kidneys. It has a black box warning in the US. If you need pain medication ask for buprenex.

    Try the Relion and see if you don’t waste strips. Even if you do the strips are so much cheaper. I’d say most people here use human meters for that reason. I never used Prozinc so can’t advise on dosing but I know enough to know that you aren’t close to the take charge number of 68 on the AT.
     
    Diane Tyler's Mom likes this.
  5. Chrispooky12

    Chrispooky12 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2021
    What numbers will he read on a human meter? Today he's reading in the 300s to low 400s on the alpha tracker.
     
  6. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Metacam must be given with food and not on an empty tummy. Don’t give if vomiting or diarrhoea.
     
    Chrispooky12 likes this.
  7. Chuckington

    Chuckington Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2021
    Cats don't always show when they are hurting, even when the pain is very bad. It's hard to imagine that he could not be having pain after getting all those teeth removed.
    If the vet prescribed a certain frequency of pain medication, I think you should comply with that to be sure that he's feeling okay.

    If you don't like the pain medication he has, it's a good idea to reach out to the vet to see about getting a different prescription, but he shouldn't be going without.
     
  8. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    How much does you cat weigh? Metacam dosage is based on weight. It is very important not to give more than necessary.
     
    Diane Tyler's Mom likes this.
  9. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    On a human meter, normal BG is 50-120.....on a pet meter, it's 68-150....so at low numbers, they're pretty close. As the numbers get higher, there's more of a difference, but it really doesn't matter if it's 350 or 500..."too high" is too high!
     
  10. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    I'm glad you're here! I told her Metacam had the black box warning (which is where she heard it) but I also told her that at least her vet seemed to know how to use it. It's supposed to be giving IM and then no more than 3 days orally but that's when it's given at the correct dosage. In the UK and Australia, they know how to use Metacam safely. It's at a different strength or dose and only usually used for a short time.
     
  11. Chrispooky12

    Chrispooky12 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2021
    I didn't know that but I gave it to him 10mins a after having food.
     
    Bron and Sheba (GA) likes this.
  12. Chrispooky12

    Chrispooky12 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2021
    He weighs 17lbs
     
  13. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    The first dose doesn’t have to be IM. It can be oral but a larger dose then down to a smaller dose. I am concerned the dose she has been given is too much. It looks like the dogs strength. I am not home at the moment and only have my phone but when I get home I’ll check it all out. I haven’t used metacam now for several years.
     
    Chris & China (GA) likes this.
  14. Chrispooky12

    Chrispooky12 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2021
    He weighs 17lbs
     
  15. Chrispooky12

    Chrispooky12 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2021
    17lbs
     
  16. Chrispooky12

    Chrispooky12 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2021
    OMG please let me know!
     
  17. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    @Chrispooky12 when I get home I’ll check it all out and get back to you. You are only giving it once daily … correct?
     
  18. Chrispooky12

    Chrispooky12 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2021
    Ok I gave it to him 10mins after feeding.
     
  19. Chrispooky12

    Chrispooky12 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2021
    Yes every 24hrs
     
    Bron and Sheba (GA) likes this.
  20. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    That’s good. Always on a full tummy
     
    Chrispooky12 likes this.
  21. Chrispooky12

    Chrispooky12 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2021
    Thank you I'm writing this down because I'm eventually going to change over to the human meter. I got an email saying the strips were on there way.
     
  22. Chrispooky12

    Chrispooky12 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2021
    Any dosing advice after last night's & todays #s?
     
  23. Chrispooky12

    Chrispooky12 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2021
    Any dosing advice after last night & today's #s 25mins until shot time?
     
  24. Chrispooky12

    Chrispooky12 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2021
  25. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Last edited: Oct 21, 2021
    Chrispooky12 likes this.
  26. Chrispooky12

    Chrispooky12 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2021
  27. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    He could be bouncing from the stretch of blue numbers yesterday. Hopefully @JanetNJ will be along soon. I’m not a Prozinc user.
     
    Chrispooky12 likes this.
  28. Chrispooky12

    Chrispooky12 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2021
    I just msged her,hopefully she replys soon it's time. 504 before shot.
     
    Bron and Sheba (GA) likes this.
  29. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    I wonder if he's in pain and it's raising his BG. I saw you gave him the pain meds I hope they help :bighug:
     
    Chrispooky12 likes this.
  30. Chrispooky12

    Chrispooky12 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2021
    I never thought of that, I guess it could be a possibility but I didn't give it to him until almost 4pm.
     
  31. Chrispooky12

    Chrispooky12 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2021
  32. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    My vet will not give metacam to any cat ever. It dues have a black box warning in the United States but not in Canada. Is it different in Australia Bron? @Bron and Sheba (GA)
     
    Chrispooky12 likes this.
  33. JanetNJ

    JanetNJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    I like that 4u dose. Might try that a few days and see what happens. Interesting numbers.
     
  34. Chrispooky12

    Chrispooky12 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2021
    Thank you that's what I gave him ❤
     
  35. Chrispooky12

    Chrispooky12 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2021
     
  36. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Glad you came along Janet :cat:
    Poor kitty had 15 teeth pulled
     
    Chrispooky12 likes this.
  37. JanetNJ

    JanetNJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    It probably is the pain meds wearing off. I hope he feels better soon.
     
  38. JanetNJ

    JanetNJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    My cat had 6 removed once and that was bad enough. Poor thing is probably feeling so sore…. But a week from now it will be a lot better.
     
    Chrispooky12 likes this.
  39. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    I hope so too :cat:
     
    Chrispooky12 likes this.
  40. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Hi Elise
    In Australia we have a metacam which is just for cats and is a different strength.
    Cat metacam is 0.5mg/ ml. I gave it to Sheba for a few years and it honestly made a huge difference to her quality of life.
    It is often given after surgery for a few days.

    Dog metacam is 1.5mg/ml so it 3 times the strength of cat metacam. . This is where all the problems were in the US with the metacam…….they were giving cats the dog strength of the metacam which is dangerous.
    Christina, I would ring the vet and ask him what strength metacam he has given you……dog or cat metacam.
    If Panzer weighs17lbs (7.7kg) he should be getting 0.7ml (using a 1 ml syringe) and the cat strength metacam which is 1/3 the strength of the dog metacam.
    Can you take a photo of the syringe please so we can see it?

    The maintenance dose for a cat (using the 0.5mg/ml cat suspension) is 0.05mg/kgbodyweight which works out at 0.1ml/ body weight. So Sheba was 6 kg so she got 0.6ml per day of the cat metacam strength.
     
  41. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    upload_2021-10-22_12-36-25.jpeg

    Here is a photo of the cat metacam with a dosing 1 ml syringe.
     
  42. Chrispooky12

    Chrispooky12 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2021
     
  43. Chrispooky12

    Chrispooky12 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2021
    It won't let me send a pic give me a minute
     
  44. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Try to copy and paste the photo
     
  45. Chrispooky12

    Chrispooky12 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2021
    It won't work but by looking at it & taking a picture, he is only taking 0.2ml
     
  46. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Can you copy a photo from your album and paste it in? That is how I do it. The ‘upload a file’ link is not working
     
    Chrispooky12 likes this.
  47. Chrispooky12

    Chrispooky12 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2021
    I've been trying just not good with this stuff I can send it to you on FB msger possibly?
     
  48. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    I’ve sent you a message on FB messenger
     
    Chrispooky12 likes this.
  49. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    This is the photo Christina sent me of the syringe of metacam. It is the dogs strength (1.25mg/ml ) but the vet has prescribed the correct amount for a cat. ie 1/3 the dose for a dog.
    So she is getting 0.2 ml each 24 hours which is the correct dose.
    upload_2021-10-22_14-59-47.jpeg
     
  50. Teetee (UK)

    Teetee (UK) Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2019
    This is what we use in the UK, it's called Loxicom but same as meloxicam or metacam and specifically for cats.
    Ours come with a syringe with kg markings on it, 1 unit per kg of cat.
    We got this when Duke was struggling with his arthritis but never used it because of it's reputation and the fear of kidney damage, although the vet reduced his dose by half.

    IMG_20211022_132123708.jpg
     
    Chrispooky12 likes this.
  51. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    How is Panzer doing today
     
    Shelley & Jess likes this.
  52. Chrispooky12

    Chrispooky12 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2021
    He's doing great. I finally got my test strips just in time. I just used my last one for his preshot test. His numbers haven't been as high as they were yesterday, so that's good!
     
    Jill & Jade and Shelley & Jess like this.
  53. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    I'm glad he's going great, he's one tough kitty :bighug::cat:
     
    Chrispooky12 likes this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page