Not Urgent: AMPS Lower Than Usual! Dosing Advice Needed!

Shwayna

Member Since 2026
EDIT: Jojo's BG went down by 5 points in this half hour. I have decided to not shoot this morning as I can't really stall much longer, and it doesn't seem his BG will rise until he does eat.

Hi all,

Sorry to start a new thread once again. But, Jojo's AMPS this morning is at 156. I did decide to stall half an hour to see what he'll be at in roughly 20 minutes now that a few minutes passed. I haven't fed him yet as the Prozinc dosing guide says not to. I am on a stricter schedule due to the fact if he were to get his AM shot in 20 minutes, he'd be getting his PM shot at 7:00 PM for my time, potentially pushing his latest feeding back to 11 PM. I'm unsure if doing a lower dose would be a safer option than just skipping, but his BG does seem to drop quite quickly after getting insulin.

Thanks!
 
Last edited:
EDIT: Jojo's BG went down by 5 points in this half hour. I have decided to not shoot this morning as I can't really stall much longer, and it doesn't seem his BG will rise until he does eat.

Hi all,

Sorry to start a new thread once again. But, Jojo's AMPS this morning is at 156. I did decide to stall half an hour to see what he'll be at in roughly 20 minutes now that a few minutes passed. I haven't fed him yet as the Prozinc dosing guide says not to. I am on a stricter schedule due to the fact if he were to get his AM shot in 20 minutes, he'd be getting his PM shot at 7:00 PM for my time, potentially pushing his latest feeding back to 11 PM. I'm unsure if doing a lower dose would be a safer option than just skipping, but his BG does seem to drop quite quickly after free online games getting insulin.

Thanks!
Hi Shwayna,

You did the right thing by checking Jojo again and being cautious with a lower-than-usual AMPS. Since his numbers were already dropping during the stall, I can understand why you decided not to shoot this morning.

I'm still learning about Prozinc myself, so I wouldn't want to suggest a dose without knowing his spreadsheet and how he usually responds. Hopefully someone experienced with Prozinc can take a look and help you figure out whether a reduced dose or skipping is the safer option for future mornings like this.

How has Jojo been doing with his appetite and numbers since you skipped? Also, have you noticed whether he tends to drop quickly even when starting at higher numbers? That might be useful information for the experienced members helping you with his dosing.

Sending good wishes to you and Jojo!
 
Hi Shwayna,

You did the right thing by checking Jojo again and being cautious with a lower-than-usual AMPS. Since his numbers were already dropping during the stall, I can understand why you decided not to shoot this morning.

I'm still learning about Prozinc myself, so I wouldn't want to suggest a dose without knowing his spreadsheet and how he usually responds. Hopefully someone experienced with Prozinc can take a look and help you figure out whether a reduced dose or skipping is the safer option for future mornings like this.

How has Jojo been doing with his appetite and numbers since you skipped? Also, have you noticed whether he tends to drop quickly even when starting at higher numbers? That might be useful information for the experienced members helping you with his dosing.

Sending good wishes to you and Jojo!
Hi Johnny,

I was able to get some help from Suzanne & Darcy (don't wish to tag so I don't disturb them!). Thankfully I have been able to bring Jojo's dosage down to .25u! I did learn he tends to drop faster than most cats, as the insulin seems to kick in about an hour after shooting, instead of kicking in around +2. This isn't as much of a concern with him being at .25u, though. With .25u it does kick in at +1, but it doesn't make him drop so quickly.

Jojo's appetite has been well. The lower numbers really helped his appetite, but I did notice the few days I skipped he wasn't as hungry. He did also have 11 teeth pulled very recently, so he's definitely wanting to eat more now that he doesn't have so many nasty teeth.

Thank you for the good wishes!
 
Hi Shwayna,

You did the right thing by checking Jojo again and being cautious with a lower-than-usual AMPS. Since his numbers were already dropping during the stall, I can understand why you decided not to shoot this morning.

I'm still learning about Prozinc myself, so I wouldn't want to suggest a dose without knowing his spreadsheet and how he usually responds. Hopefully someone experienced with Prozinc can take a look and help you figure out whether a reduced dose or skipping is the safer option for future mornings like this.

How has Jojo been doing with his appetite and numbers since you skipped? Also, have you noticed whether he tends to drop quickly even when starting at higher numbers? That might be useful information for the experienced members helping you with his dosing.

Sending good wishes to you and Jojo!
Welcome to the FDMB. I see you just joined yesterday. I would be happy to help you with your dosing. Please start a thread on the ProZinc forum (this forum). It looks like we need to get you set up with a signature and spreadsheet 😊
 
Hi Shwayna,

You did the right thing by checking Jojo again and being cautious with a lower-than-usual AMPS. Since his numbers were already dropping during the stall, I can understand why you decided not to shoot this morning.

I'm still learning about Prozinc myself, so I wouldn't want to suggest a dose without knowing his spreadsheet and how he usually responds. Hopefully someone experienced with Prozinc can take a look and help you figure out whether a reduced dose or skipping is the safer option for future mornings like this.

How has Jojo been doing with his appetite and numbers since you skipped? Also, have you noticed whether he tends to drop quickly even when starting at higher numbers? That might be useful information for the experienced members helping you with his dosing.

Sending good wishes to you and Jojo!
Also, @johnnysmith please note that this is an old thread. @Shwayna skipped the shot on October 13. Her cat is currently doing fantastic! Please don’t reply on old threads because it bumps them up to the top of the threads and can cause other more current threads to be pushed down lower and possibly be missed. It happens.
 
Back
Top