Newly Diagnosed Kitty - Seeking Early Advice

Matty&Fam

Member Since 2025
Hello FDMB!

I've been lurking on the forum for the past few days and have decided to start my first post so that our lovely boy can get the best care possible.

My partner and I have a recently been to the vet due to our cat, Matroskin (Matty), experiencing diabetic symptoms.
Today we got the call that the bloodwork confirmed he has diabetes, with a bloodwork reading of 412mg/dL. (the pet visit was HIGHLY stressful)
We are still waiting to collect some urine from him to see his ketone levels, and if there may be any other complications.
Aside from high glucose and cholesterol, his bloodwork is "good" according to the vet. I've attached the results for anyone who would find them useful (with English translations).


A little about Matty:
He is a neutered male British Shorthair, 11.5 years old.
Usually around 7kg but has recently dropped to 5.5kg.
He is an indoor cat, we live in a large apartment on the second floor.
We live in Athens, Greece - where it can be quite dirty and rough (many street cats) out on the streets, so we don't allow him to roam outside fearing the worst.
He's gentle and playful, loves the zoomies, loves a cuddle (only when it suits him) and otherwise keeps to his happy self.


Matty's diet:
Since a kitten he has been on Royal Canin breed specific food, Royal Canin British Shorthair.
We've tried wet food, home cooked meat and other kibble products over the years but he is a very picky eater.
Sometimes he'll happily munch on a grain-free, medium carb level kibble but eventually will be done with it. He'll then hang around the food cupboard until he gets his usual British Shorthair RC food.
Wet food has always been a struggle, he'll lick the liquid and leave the bits - we've tried countless brands and products.
He's never been interested in cooked meats or food that we may be eating. Matty can be quite peculiar, less interested in meats, more interested in rye breadsticks or something like sunflower seeds. We don't feed him these things, we've just noticed he's come for a sniff and a nibble when we've had them out for ourselves.
Whereas if you offer him a piece of cooked chicken or beef (no spices) he will look offended and speed walk away.
He loves his snacks (Churus and Vitacraft dry snacks and moist sticks), and admittedly I am guilty of over feeding him snacks, now realising that some of those snacks are also very high in carbs.

HOWEVER! It seems this diet pattern is starting to break. We assume it's something to do with the diabetes but can't be sure.
So lately (past month) he's been eating cooked chicken and salmon, I cook some up plain for him and he seems to enjoy small portions at a time.
Also, we tried wet food again this week and he is eating it! Bits and all! Not sure if this is permanent but I hope so.
He still has his appetite, eating 4-5 small meals a day.

Matty's water intake:
Matty has always enjoyed drinking water, it was never an issue for us to get him to drink.
We have multiple water bowls around the apartment that we change multiple times a day.
In the past few months he has been drinking A LOT more water, however, this coincided with us switching from tap to bottled water - so we thought he just really liked the bottled water.
We now know this was a symptom of the diabetes and an unfortunate coincidence.


Symptoms that prompted us to take him to the vet:
We notice that Matty was losing weight in his hind legs, specifically around the hip area. We first put this down to aging, but after some research we realised that combined with increase thirst and urination, it could be symptoms of diabetes. He then started getting fairly weak as well as a little lethargic (within the past week).
He lost some confidence when attempting to climb his cat towers, was slipping when hopping around and generally had a lack of energy.
Having said that, he can still hop up onto surfaces around 3-4 feet in height, albeit with a little bit extra of a calculation before doing so.
He hasn't had the zoomies in about a month and is looking fairly depressed, sleeping more than usual.


The current situation:
Tomorrow Matty will be returning to the vet so we can discuss a treatment plan. He will be having his first insulin shot there and then we will continue the treatment at home.
Both me and my partner work from home, so we're able to give him round the clock care.
We will be purchasing:
- A glucose meter
- Strips
- Insulin for shooting

I plan on also setting up a glucose curve spreadsheet as recommended by you lovely people in this forum.

But truth be told, we are OVERWHELMED! Not sure where to start and the amount of information can be difficult to sift through.
There's a few questions I do have, and would greatly appreciate any help, even if it's just pointing us in the right direction to other links on this forum.

Questions:
Glucose Meters:

Being in Greece, we are limited to what is offered over in the States. But we do have a variety of options.
Mainly we would like to know if the Abbott FreeStyle Libre 2 Glucose Meter is a suitable meter for us, given that Matty doesn't remove the sensor?
How reliable is this meter?
I've read that they could be less accurate since they take intestinal glucose levels.
If not, would any glucose meter do? Is there anything we should be looking out for when purchasing these devices?
The thought of pricking our cats ears multiple times a day is terrifying, but obviously, we'll do whatever is necessary to give our cat the healthy lifestyle he deserves.

Diet:
We know, the RC British Shorthair food we've been feeding him his whole life was a bad choice. We feel terrible and are taking every action now to correct his diet.
Funnily enough.. The RC Diabetic kibble product has 23% carbohydrates.. What a joke!
We can see there are some kibble options available in the States with <10% carbs but these aren't readily available to us - and generally non-existent in Europe.
So the plan is to transition to wet food and home cooked food - but this will be a struggle because Matty LOVES dry food.
Does anyone have any recommendations on how we can achieve this?
Is it still safe to give him a small amount of kibble (high protein, 13% carbs, no sugars (the best we could find locally)) as we transition away from dry food?


Our plan for Matty is to enter remission.
Is it feasible to get him on a diet so that we can achieve this as well as gaining him some of his weight back and strengthening those hind legs?


I sincerely apologise for the huge post, and welcome any criticism and recommendations that will benefit our boy.

Thank You all so much!
 

Attachments

  • Matty.jpg
    Matty.jpg
    272.2 KB · Views: 75
  • Blood Test Results Page 1 (2025-11-23).png
    Blood Test Results Page 1 (2025-11-23).png
    359 KB · Views: 87
  • Page 2.png
    Page 2.png
    244.9 KB · Views: 62
  • Page 3.png
    Page 3.png
    228.9 KB · Views: 68
  • Page 4.png
    Page 4.png
    161.5 KB · Views: 64
Welcome!

We have some Greece members here, including a new one. @Carol & Rico @Yanna

@hellen_maggie is the newbie and is still figuring things out. Her thread is here: Struggling to Start Insulin Because My Cat Won’t Eat — Need Advice

Info on the Libre is here: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...ucose-monitors-cgms-for-diabetic-cats.303722/ It needs to be replaced every 2 weeks if not sooner. You can learn how to put a new one on yourself and save $$. Learn how to test from the ear as a back up. Any Human blood glucose meter works, whatever brand is available in Greece that has affordable test strips. If the Libre reads LO you need to test from the ear to see how low the blood glucose level is.

Carol and Yanna can suggest canned food brands. A home cooked diet is great as long as you supplement the meat with the necessary vitamins and minerals. A pre-mix for cooked or raw diet is the easiest method. TC Feline is a good one and is available only through this one European web site: TCPremix®

Air dried raw and freeze dried raw are healthier low carb options to dry kibble. Air dried raw is hard and crunchy like kibble. Freeze dried raw generally has a softer texture. You can use either to transition off kibble and to canned and / home made food.
 
Thank you kindly for the response and sharing the links, appreciate it. Very comprehensive info on the Libre, sending heaps of gratitude to the authors of the post - couldn’t comment as of yet directly due to lack of site privileges.
 
@Tim & Pookey can look into your site privileges.

Do you know what insulin the vet will prescribe? Lantus (glargine) and ProZinc are the best choices and are available in Greece, though vets there seem to insist on Caninsulin which is for dogs and doesn't work well for cats.
 
Welcome to FDMB!

The Libre is fine to use. We also suggest learning how to home test using a hand held glucometer. There are a couple of reasons. Cats being cats, it's entirely possible for Matty to remove the Libre sensor at the worst possible time. And if you don't have a back-up sensor, you won't have a way to check his blood glucose level. The Libre also tends to give a not entirely reliable reading if numbers are less than 100. Many of our members will test their cat with a manual glucometer if their cat's numbers are in a lower range. Any human meter is fine. @Staci & Ivy is one of our long time Libre users and she can offer all sorts of insights into using the continuous glucose monitor (CGM).

Lantus (glargine) and Prozinc are the two preferred insulins for treating feline diabetes. The issue with the other insulins is that they do not last the full 12-hours of the insulin cycle. Lantus is a human insulin and should be available at most pharmacies. Prozinc is formulated for animals. Don' t dispense insulin directly from an insulin pen. You will need syringes -- U100 syringes for Lantus or U40 for Prozinc. If you can locate them, you'll also want syringes that are marked in half unit increments. Some of our members from Greece can direct you to where you can locate supplies.

The one thing I would add to Squeem3's notes is that the TCFeline can also be used with a raw food diet. You might want to see if Matty is interested in raw food. You need to add a pre-mix to human food. Just giving a protein all by itself is not a nutritionally complete diet for a cat. There are several supplements that are necessary for a cat's health that need to be included. I'd also take a look at some of the freeze dried, air dried, or jerky style foods to see if Matty is interested in those as alternatives. You want to feed your cat a diet that is less than 10% carbohydrate. There are online cat food carb calculators that you can use to help you figure out the carb content.

I'd suggest you take a look at this post on helping us to help you. The post contains information on how to set up your spreadsheet so you can keep track of Matty's blood glucose test results and so we can follow along. The post also contains information on how to set up your signature. The signature gives us some basic information so we don't keep asking you the same questions.

Please let us know how we can help.
 
Last edited:
@Tim & Pookey can look into your site privileges.

Do you know what insulin the vet will prescribe? Lantus (glargine) and ProZinc are the best choices and are available in Greece, though vets there seem to insist on Caninsulin which is for dogs and doesn't work well for cats.
We’re going to find out tomorrow, thank you for that, we’ll make sure to ask and insist to avoid Caninsulin and suggest your two recommended options.
 
Welcome to FDMB, Mattie sounds like she has character. We have all felt overwhelmed, felt guilty for not noticing that our cat was sick, cats are wizards at hiding illnesses, especially FD, until we see the symptoms, of over water drinking, peeing, and the all the other symptoms you began to see on Mattie. I have to command you I have been on this Forum for 3 years and have not seen such a thorough explanation, you seem to either have had experience or have research about FD. Congratulations! you have cut your stress by 1/2. Squeem3, has as well, been very thorough in answering and giving you information, I recommend you also to read the sticky notes on our Main Forum there is a lot of valuable information there. On the list you have for supplies please add syringes, make sure you get the correct syringe according to the insulin you will be prescribed, the best insulin for cats is Lantus and ProZinc they are both a 12-hour insulin and protocol for both are Test, Feed, Shoot. For home testing, most members here in the Us use the ReliOn Premier human monitor and strips, or any human monitor, they are quite reliable. About the Libre, it is a very comfortable way to home test, however, it has its faults, you need to change the sensor every 14 days, sometimes much sooner, the sensors are expensive, ABBOTT does replace the sensors(always keep the replace box) for free however you cannot tell them is for a cat, so is good to have several sensors handy, if Matti's BG reaches 350-higher the monitor will only read HIGH, if LOW the reading is usually inaccurate, so it is important to home test before acting to a hypo number. The sensors tend also to fall off, I do not recommend gluing it, it irritates the skin. You will need a PRN ( continued purchase) prescription from your vet , you can replace it at home, otherwise you will more than every 14 days at the vets office paying for the visit, replacement of the sensor by the vet or Teck, that can be quite a high bill thru time. We are very numbers oriented, so yes, we would like you to create your signature and create the spreadsheet, you spoke of, the spreadsheet is not only for when you make a curve, is for daily use, you will log the daily BGs, and it will be downloaded on GOOGLE DRIVE, for members review and advice. Below are the links. also a cat food calculator, you will look for the Dry Matter carb, which is the one to look for You are in the right place. One very important point, make sure your vet has FD knowledge, the journey will be smoother also here mare the carbs you need to look for in food 🤗 ;)

Sticky - New? How You Can Help Us Help You!
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-create-a-spreadsheet.241706/
Wet diabetic cat food UK
 
Last edited:
Welcome to FDMB!

The Libre is fine to use. We also suggest learning how to home test using a hand held glucometer. There are a couple of reasons. Cats being cats, it's entirely possible for Matty to remove the Libre sensor at the worst possible time. And if you don't have a back-up sensor, you won't have a way to check his blood glucose level. The Libre also tends to give a not entirely reliable reading if numbers are less than 100. Many of our members will test their cat with a manual glucometer if their cat's numbers are in a lower range. Any human meter is fine. @Staci & Ivy is one of our long time Libre users and she can offer all sorts of insights into using the continuous glucose monitor (CGM).

Lantus (glargine) and Prozinc are the two preferred insulins for treating feline diabetes. The issue with the other insulins is that they do not last the full 12-hours of the insulin cycle. Lantus is a human insulin and should be available at most pharmacies. Prozinc is formulated for animals. Do to dispense insulin directly from an insulin pen. You will need syringes -- U100 syringes for Lantus or U40 for Prozinc. If you can locate them, you'll also want syringes that are marked in half unit increments. Some of our members from Greece can direct you to where you can locate supplies.

The one thing I would add to Squeem3's notes is that the TCFeline can also be used with a raw food diet. You might want to see if Matty is interested in raw food. You need to add a pre-mix to human food. Just giving a protein all by itself is not a nutritionally complete diet for a cat. There are several supplements that are necessary for a cat's health that need to be included. I'd also take a look at some of the freeze dried, air dried, or jerky style foods to see if Matty is interested in those as alternatives. You want to feed your cat a diet that is less than 10% carbohydrate. There are online cat food carb calculators that you can use to help you figure out the carb content.

I'd suggest you take a look at this post on helping us to help you. The post contains information on how to set up your spreadsheet so you can keep track of Matty's blood glucose test results and so we can follow along. The post also contains information on how to set up your signature. The signature gives us some basic information so we don't keep asking you the same questions.

Please let us know how we can help.
Thank you warmly for taking the time to share all this information. We will acquire a handheld glucometer first thing and will carefully look into available food options filled with essential nutrients to accompany the cooked meals.
 
0-10% Low carbs
11-15% Medium Carbs
16- 24% High Carbs
you should create a Hypo Kit, this will include some Medium and some high carbs also some honey or Karo Syrup if you run in on a low number we can help you bring that number up before you use the hypo kit, so the numbers do not spike up too fast and the spiral back down, food is a great source
 
Dear FD
Welcome to FDMB, Mattie sounds like she has character. We have all felt overwhelmed, felt guilty for not noticing that our cat was sick, cats are wizards at hiding illnesses, especially FD, until we see the symptoms, of over water drinking, peeing, and the all the other symptoms you began to see on Mattie. I have to command you I have been on this Forum for 3 years and have not seen such a thorough explanation, you seem to either have had experience or have research about FD. Congratulations! you have cut your stress by 1/2. Squeem3, has as well, been very thorough in answering and giving you information, I recommend you also to read the sticky notes on our Main Forum there is a lot of valuable information there. On the list you have for supplies please add syringes, make sure you get the correct syringe according to the insulin you will be prescribed, the best insulin for cats is Lantus and ProZinc they are both a 12-hour insulin and protocol for both are Test, Feed, Shoot. For home testing, most members here in the Us use the ReliOn Premier human monitor and strips, or any human monitor, they are quite reliable. About the Libre, it is a very comfortable way to home test, however, it has its faults, you need to change the sensor every 14 days, sometimes much sooner, the sensors are expensive, ABBOTT does replace the sensors(always keep the replace box) for free however you cannot tell them is for a cat, so is good to have several sensors handy, if Matti's BG reaches 350-higher the monitor will only read HIGH, if LOW the reading is usually inaccurate, so it is important to home test before acting to a hypo number. The sensors tend also to fall off, I do not recommend gluing it, it irritates the skin. You will need a PRN ( continued purchase) prescription from your vet , you can replace it at home, otherwise you will more than every 14 days at the vets office paying for the visit, replacement of the sensor by the vet or Teck, that can be quite a high bill thru time. We are very numbers oriented, so yes, we would like you to create your signature and create the spreadsheet, you spoke of, the spreadsheet is not only for when you make a curve, is for daily use, you will log the daily BGs, and it will be downloaded on GOOGLE DRIVE, for members review and advice. Below are the links. also a cat food calculator, you will look for the Dry Matter carb, which is the one to look for You are in the right place. One very important point, make sure your vet has FD knowledge, the journey will be smoother also here mare the carbs you need to look for in food 🤗 ;)

Sticky - New? How You Can Help Us Help You!
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-create-a-spreadsheet.241706/
Wet diabetic cat food UK
Hi Corky! Thank you kindly for taking the time to write and apologies for the late response. Between vet visits, us freaking out with all the new tools, research and full time jobs on top, it hasn't been easy. We have taken your advise though and proceeded with a hand held meter, though having some troubles and I'm just preparing to write the full long story in the thread below to seek some further guidance. This space has given us so much support and we're so greatful to all of you taking the time to share your knowledge.
 
Dear FDMB,

First of all, big thanks to your existence. Through your forum we've connected with @hellen_maggie which is also here in Athens, Greece, supporting each other and sharing our pain through similar experiences as we're both so very new at this.

So we've started with Lantus insulin, though our vet is inexperienced with it, he was happy for us to proceed since after your advised it and our own further research, we felt it was a good choice. First shot at the vet's he gave Caninsulin, which had instantly noticeable effects on Matty's energy levels. Gave us the Caninsulin to inject at home at night (until we'd find Lantus and purchase), but we failed miserably and didn't manage to inject it. Next morning we rushed back to the vet to get him his shot. Vet said hop on across the street to the pharmacy and get the Lantus. We did, came back with the SoloStar pens, vet hadn't had experience with these before and wasn't sure he did it right. From our (later) research we found out you're supposed to hold it in for 10 counts for the full dose. Come night time, we also failed, cause with the anxiety didn't realise the SoloStar wasn't being held at a good 45 degree angle but instead was kinda straight. Come today, we finally did it. This evening, another good result. However, no noticeable 'instant' improvements like we saw with Caninsulin on Monday. We'll have to be patient I suppose and wait.

The biggest struggle at the moment is with the hand held glucose meter, we had many, many failed attempts and even one small injury last night where Matty yanked hard and I gave him a scratch. Didn't sleep well last night at all, kept twisting and turning at the idea of hurting him. I really wanted to ask for some advice please regarding needle/lancet size for pricking the ear. It appears that online and speaking about it with Hellen too, a small needle should do the trick. The vet gave us a 23g size for piercing. I've since tried with needle size 26g, and size 28g lancet, and today I've tried with the lancing device. There's just no blood coming with any other size than 23g. Is this normal? According to a few articles and youtubers a 'good starting size' is 28g. Are Matty's ears simply built that way? I've read it gets better with time as the ears get used to the pricking and bleed more easily. I've tried putting vaseline as well, and today after Hellen's advise I've warmed up the ear with a rice sock and massaged. It was the first time just now I've decided to try with the lancing device. Nothing. I did it three times, each time raising the strength: from 3, to 4 to 5. He didn't flinch in pain either to the extent I was thinking maybe the device isn't working? I had tried it earlier on myself pricking the finger on strength 4 and it both hurt and bled a lot! I'm so confused. Is my lancing device no good? It came with the FreeStyle Precision glucose monitor. We had initially set our eyes on the Gluco Calea, searched everywhere calling pharmacies, but observed nobody had test strips available, which didn't make sense to purchase if we'd have such troubles getting the strips. By the time the search ended it was getting really late, so we just opted for the vet's recommendation of freestyle, but he really said just 'any'. Hellen also suggested the Contour Care which you guys had suggested for her on this forum, so I'm deffo going to be looking into getting that too - as we already experienced some 'error' tests which made things harder not being able to retest the same sample. Would anyone have advice though on a good lancing tool? Or is the one I have ok, and it's me that's messing up. I warmed up the ear, put the rice sock on the inside, brought the lancer right on (what I hope) was the 'sweet spot' and shot.

Edit: Thank you for reading and sorry for the erratic typing lacking some punctuation. It's late, exhausted both physically and mentally, the journey last few days has been absolutely overwhelming and painful in so many ways, while trying to keep up with our work. Having said all that, feeling hopeful and greatful Matty is finally getting his medicine.
 
Last edited:
A good way for your cat not to move while inserting the lancet, is to place the back of your palm softly but firmly on her head between the ears, the head will not move, do not discourage, its happened to me, the lancet is very sharp and tears the ear if they move the head, also, find yourself a sock fill the bottom with some rice, enough to make a golf ball size, tie it, you will place it on the inside of the ear, cupping it for more ear support believe me, the head will not move. and be as erratic as you want, I'll been there, vent, post, scream, we are here to help you on this journey. I have cried till there were no more tears, sleepless nights and tantrums, id all a process, in about a week the capillaries on the ear will swell and it will much easier to draw blood. find a small flashlight, study the ear and see where the veins are, the best place to draw blood is what we call the sweet spot, that the right corner, and tip of ear of the ear, go on the main forum you will find a thread on how to test there are pictures of what I am explaining,
You are doing great, if you would like us to continue helping you we are very numbers oriented we would like you to create your signature and spreadsheet, this way we can all be on the same page, where we can also assist you with dosing as well, we and this way we do not have to keep asking you the same questions, you download the spreadsheet on GOOGLE DRIVE, if you come across trouble creating the spreadsheet we can have a member do it for you, links below 🤗


Sticky - New? How You Can Help Us Help You!
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-create-a-spreadsheet.241706/
 
A good way for your cat not to move while inserting the lancet, is to place the back of your palm softly but firmly on her head between the ears, the head will not move, do not discourage, its happened to me, the lancet is very sharp and tears the ear if they move the head, also, find yourself a sock fill the bottom with some rice, enough to make a golf ball size, tie it, you will place it on the inside of the ear, cupping it for more ear support believe me, the head will not move. and be as erratic as you want, I'll been there, vent, post, scream, we are here to help you on this journey. I have cried till there were no more tears, sleepless nights and tantrums, id all a process, in about a week the capillaries on the ear will swell and it will much easier to draw blood. find a small flashlight, study the ear and see where the veins are, the best place to draw blood is what we call the sweet spot, that the right corner, and tip of ear of the ear, go on the main forum you will find a thread on how to test there are pictures of what I am explaining,
You are doing great, if you would like us to continue helping you we are very numbers oriented we would like you to create your signature and spreadsheet, this way we can all be on the same page, where we can also assist you with dosing as well, we and this way we do not have to keep asking you the same questions, you download the spreadsheet on GOOGLE DRIVE, if you come across trouble creating the spreadsheet we can have a member do it for you, links below 🤗


Sticky - New? How You Can Help Us Help You!
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-create-a-spreadsheet.241706/
Thank you again corky 🤗 we’ll prepare the spreadsheet and post with more info. At the moment it’s all handwritten notes, will sit over the weekend and compile it all neatly. This morning had a successful and quick blood drop withdrawal and I’m so relieved. Hoping tonight will go just as well 🙏🏽 ohh it takes a week for the blood capillaries to swell! That’s a relief to read, when I had come across this info in other posts I imagined it takes months. Hopefully very soon then I’ll be able to switch to a smaller needle size. I’ll go down size by size, week by week. We’ve only been testing morning and night before the insulin shots these few days while struggling to get a hang of it, didn’t want to stress Matty out while learning how to make the experience calm. Vet said it’s okay to observe the water intake in the meantime as a measure of whether the glucose is ‘high’ or low. We do want to start measuring more, and as the insulin is kicking in more and more I think it’s the wiser thing to do. Thank you for reading the vents, and for the kind support, means the world to us 🙏🏽
 
After Corky came home from the hospital, he became traumatized with the water bowl, he was fixed in front of it all day long, I thought he was just playing with the water, , I’ve only seen him there maybe 4 times, I also marked the bottle, So since neither want the water bowl , and the wet food is 80% moisture I also add a tsp of water in each meal, you’re doing great!! You’ll be a pro in no time and Matty knows you love her👍😉
 
Hey guys. Hope everyone and their kitties are doing well. We’ve been ups and downs, on an emotional rollercoaster really. With our two Lantus units per day we started seeing a small decline in the pre-insulin measurements. It was very very hard and still is to take BG from the ear, but at least we’ve moved away from the huge needles vet gave (23G) and are now on 27G. Which I know is still bigger than the common starting size, but yesterday I did try 28G, warmed up with rice sock, massaged, poked well (twice) and still got no blood. The testing itself is generally a stressful experience for Matty. He kinda got used to tolerating the morning/night routine a little bit, but when we went to introduce another daytime test (shot +5 he went hyperstressed, breathing so fast, that his reading surely was affected (294mg/dl) and then went straight to gulping water. I know we really really must start measuring a curve, but if he stresses that much during, it also feels counterproductive and we’re feeling in a bit of despair.

More despair consequently from the above, with not knowing how low Matty dips during Nadir. Our pre-Lantus shot readings morning/night had seen gradual improvements on 2U, from high 300s to low 300s, then one good day we wake up and the morning test shows 109mg/dl. Of course we skip insulin. Vet said to retest during next normal time pre-insulin, which read 322, we gave the 2U, next morning’s reading 337mg/dl. Then we stuck around low 300s again for three consecutive days. Come this Saturday, we wake up with 66mg/dl reading pre-shot. Vet said to feed and feed, retest, we had a reading of 133mg/dl an hour later, all good. Then things went really sour. Vet said to retest at 6:30pm and if he reads over 300 to give 2U and if under to give 1U (normal next due shot was 10pm - which confused me as I had read upon skipped insulin, you shoot at usual planned time? Please correct me if I’m wrong). The other thing was we did know a 1U drop is too sudden but we only had the solostar pen at that point which sadly doesn’t do smaller increments. Well come 6:30pm - us geniuses decide to try the burrito wrap cat for the first time and try prick Matty’s paw for blood as an alternative spot. In theory that was great. If he tolerates that, we thought, there’s our alternative site and maybe we can introduce curve measuring. Turns out, we were very wrong. He absolutely freaked being rolled into a burrito, got hyper stressed, confused, ran away. Two hours later he’s still confused, hyper stressed even for the ear reading, which read 374 :( devastated and feeling like fools, we just didn’t know whether to shoot the 2U or the 1U given the stress levels. So to err on the safe side of things we went with 1U. Another big mistake. Overnight his thirst was drastic, and we were depressed and feeling like failures to say the least. Come next morning, he’s 352mg/dl. We give the two units. Come night, 303. We give the two units. Come next morning 334 with the +5 measurement (which he stressed a lot at) 294. Next night 337mg/dl, morning after 336, night: 345. We finally reach to this morning at 312mg/dl. It feels like since the skipped dose and 66 dip we’ve been high without him dipping into normal glucose levels, and we’re really worried. Today we’ve acquired the Lantus with the syringe form so we’re preparing for dose adjustment when the time will come. Has the time come? Are we giving too much given the two 109mg/dl and 66mg/dl readings and skipping dose necessities? Are we maybe giving too little? We have no clue. Our vet is not familiar with Lantus and not saying much about dosing adjustments. We’re really worried as Matty looks tired today. He also developed a slight sway when sitting, which according to the AI chat bots is most likely a neurological development from prolonged high glucose. Sure enough the sway is worst when we know his readings are high. Any help or advice would be highly appreciated. P.S should we be posting for Lantus advice in the Lantus section of the forum? 🙏🏽 thank you in advance.

PPS. Anyone has advice or knowledge about food quantity? We’ve gone fully on wet food now (yay) and cooked meat snacks / freeze dried meat snacks. However we have no clue how much to give. We tried portion controls and suspect the night before the 66mg/dl reading he may have been given way too little food. Matty is underweight at 4.1kg for his British shorthair breed.
 
Last edited:
Hey guys. Hope everyone and their kitties are doing well. We’ve been ups and downs, on an emotional rollercoaster really. With our two Lantus units per day we started seeing a small decline in the pre-insulin measurements. It was very very hard and still is to take BG from the ear, but at least we’ve moved away from the huge needles vet gave (23G) and are now on 27G. Which I know is still bigger than the common starting size, but yesterday I did try 28G, warmed up with rice sock, massaged, poked well (twice) and still got no blood. The testing itself is generally a stressful experience for Matty. He kinda got used to tolerating the morning/night routine a little bit, but when we went to introduce another daytime test (shot +5 he went hyperstressed, breathing so fast, that his reading surely was affected (294mg/dl) and then went straight to gulping water. I know we really really must start measuring a curve, but if he stresses that much during, it also feels counterproductive and we’re feeling in a bit of despair.

More despair consequently from the above, with not knowing how low Matty dips during Nadir. Our pre-Lantus shot readings morning/night had seen gradual improvements on 2U, from high 300s to low 300s, then one good day we wake up and the morning test shows 109mg/dl. Of course we skip insulin. Vet said to retest during next normal time pre-insulin, which read 322, we gave the 2U, next morning’s reading 337mg/dl. Then we stuck around low 300s again for three consecutive days. Come this Saturday, we wake up with 66mg/dl reading pre-shot. Vet said to feed and feed, retest, we had a reading of 133mg/dl an hour later, all good. Then things went really sour. Vet said to retest at 6:30pm and if he reads over 300 to give 2U and if under to give 1U (normal next due shot was 10pm - which confused me as I had read upon skipped insulin, you shoot at usual planned time? Please correct me if I’m wrong). The other thing was we did know a 1U drop is too sudden but we only had the solostar pen at that point which sadly doesn’t do smaller increments. Well come 6:30pm - us geniuses decide to try the burrito wrap cat for the first time and try prick Matty’s paw for blood as an alternative spot. In theory that was great. If he tolerates that, we thought, there’s our alternative site and maybe we can introduce curve measuring. Turns out, we were very wrong. He absolutely freaked being rolled into a burrito, got hyper stressed, confused, ran away. Two hours later he’s still confused, hyper stressed even for the ear reading, which read 374 :( devastated and feeling like fools, we just didn’t know whether to shoot the 2U or the 1U given the stress levels. So to err on the safe side of things we went with 1U. Another big mistake. Overnight his thirst was drastic, and we were depressed and feeling like failures to say the least. Come next morning, he’s 352mg/dl. We give the two units. Come night, 303. We give the two units. Come next morning 334 with the +5 measurement (which he stressed a lot at) 294. Next night 337mg/dl, morning after 336, night: 345. We finally reach to this morning at 312mg/dl. It feels like since the skipped dose and 66 dip we’ve been high without him dipping into normal glucose levels, and we’re really worried. Today we’ve acquired the Lantus with the syringe form so we’re preparing for dose adjustment when the time will come. Has the time come? Are we giving too much given the two 109mg/dl and 66mg/dl readings and skipping dose necessities? Are we maybe giving too little? We have no clue. Our vet is not familiar with Lantus and not saying much about dosing adjustments. We’re really worried as Matty looks tired today. He also developed a slight sway when sitting, which according to the AI chat bots is most likely a neurological development from prolonged high glucose. Sure enough the sway is worst when we know his readings are high. Any help or advice would be highly appreciated. P.S should we be posting for Lantus advice in the Lantus section of the forum? 🙏🏽 thank you in advance.

PPS. Anyone has advice or knowledge about food quantity? We’ve gone fully on wet food now (yay) and cooked meat snacks / freeze dried meat snacks. However we have no clue how much to give. We tried portion controls and suspect the night before the 66mg/dl reading he may have been given way too little food. Matty is underweight at 4.1kg for his British shorthair breed.

Hey guys. Hope everyone and their kitties are doing well. We’ve been ups and downs, on an emotional rollercoaster really. With our two Lantus units per day we started seeing a small decline in the pre-insulin measurements. It was very very hard and still is to take BG from the ear, but at least we’ve moved away from the huge needles vet gave (23G) and are now on 27G. Which I know is still bigger than the common starting size, but yesterday I did try 28G, warmed up with rice sock, massaged, poked well (twice) and still got no blood. The testing itself is generally a stressful experience for Matty. He kinda got used to tolerating the morning/night routine a little bit, but when we went to introduce another daytime test (shot +5 he went hyperstressed, breathing so fast, that his reading surely was affected (294mg/dl) and then went straight to gulping water. I know we really really must start measuring a curve, but if he stresses that much during, it also feels counterproductive and we’re feeling in a bit of despair.

More despair consequently from the above, with not knowing how low Matty dips during Nadir. Our pre-Lantus shot readings morning/night had seen gradual improvements on 2U, from high 300s to low 300s, then one good day we wake up and the morning test shows 109mg/dl. Of course we skip insulin. Vet said to retest during next normal time pre-insulin, which read 322, we gave the 2U, next morning’s reading 337mg/dl. Then we stuck around low 300s again for three consecutive days. Come this Saturday, we wake up with 66mg/dl reading pre-shot. Vet said to feed and feed, retest, we had a reading of 133mg/dl an hour later, all good. Then things went really sour. Vet said to retest at 6:30pm and if he reads over 300 to give 2U and if under to give 1U (normal next due shot was 10pm - which confused me as I had read upon skipped insulin, you shoot at usual planned time? Please correct me if I’m wrong). The other thing was we did know a 1U drop is too sudden but we only had the solostar pen at that point which sadly doesn’t do smaller increments. Well come 6:30pm - us geniuses decide to try the burrito wrap cat for the first time and try prick Matty’s paw for blood as an alternative spot. In theory that was great. If he tolerates that, we thought, there’s our alternative site and maybe we can introduce curve measuring. Turns out, we were very wrong. He absolutely freaked being rolled into a burrito, got hyper stressed, confused, ran away. Two hours later he’s still confused, hyper stressed even for the ear reading, which read 374 :( devastated and feeling like fools, we just didn’t know whether to shoot the 2U or the 1U given the stress levels. So to err on the safe side of things we went with 1U. Another big mistake. Overnight his thirst was drastic, and we were depressed and feeling like failures to say the least. Come next morning, he’s 352mg/dl. We give the two units. Come night, 303. We give the two units. Come next morning 334 with the +5 measurement (which he stressed a lot at) 294. Next night 337mg/dl, morning after 336, night: 345. We finally reach to this morning at 312mg/dl. It feels like since the skipped dose and 66 dip we’ve been high without him dipping into normal glucose levels, and we’re really worried. Today we’ve acquired the Lantus with the syringe form so we’re preparing for dose adjustment when the time will come. Has the time come? Are we giving too much given the two 109mg/dl and 66mg/dl readings and skipping dose necessities? Are we maybe giving too little? We have no clue. Our vet is not familiar with Lantus and not saying much about dosing adjustments. We’re really worried as Matty looks tired today. He also developed a slight sway when sitting, which according to the AI chat bots is most likely a neurological development from prolonged high glucose. Sure enough the sway is worst when we know his readings are high. Any help or advice would be highly appreciated. P.S should we be posting for Lantus advice in the Lantus section of the forum? 🙏🏽 thank you in advance.

PPS. Anyone has advice or knowledge about food quantity? We’ve gone fully on wet food now (yay) and cooked meat snacks / freeze dried meat snacks. However we have no clue how much to give. We tried portion controls and suspect the night before the 66mg/dl reading he may have been given way too little food. Matty is underweight at 4.1kg for his British shorthair breed.
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
 
Hey guys. Hope everyone and their kitties are doing well. We’ve been ups and downs, on an emotional rollercoaster really. With our two Lantus units per day we started seeing a small decline in the pre-insulin measurements. It was very very hard and still is to take BG from the ear, but at least we’ve moved away from the huge needles vet gave (23G) and are now on 27G. Which I know is still bigger than the common starting size, but yesterday I did try 28G, warmed up with rice sock, massaged, poked well (twice) and still got no blood. The testing itself is generally a stressful experience for Matty. He kinda got used to tolerating the morning/night routine a little bit, but when we went to introduce another daytime test (shot +5 he went hyperstressed, breathing so fast, that his reading surely was affected (294mg/dl) and then went straight to gulping water. I know we really really must start measuring a curve, but if he stresses that much during, it also feels counterproductive and we’re feeling in a bit of despair.

More despair consequently from the above, with not knowing how low Matty dips during Nadir. Our pre-Lantus shot readings morning/night had seen gradual improvements on 2U, from high 300s to low 300s, then one good day we wake up and the morning test shows 109mg/dl. Of course we skip insulin. Vet said to retest during next normal time pre-insulin, which read 322, we gave the 2U, next morning’s reading 337mg/dl. Then we stuck around low 300s again for three consecutive days. Come this Saturday, we wake up with 66mg/dl reading pre-shot. Vet said to feed and feed, retest, we had a reading of 133mg/dl an hour later, all good. Then things went really sour. Vet said to retest at 6:30pm and if he reads over 300 to give 2U and if under to give 1U (normal next due shot was 10pm - which confused me as I had read upon skipped insulin, you shoot at usual planned time? Please correct me if I’m wrong). The other thing was we did know a 1U drop is too sudden but we only had the solostar pen at that point which sadly doesn’t do smaller increments. Well come 6:30pm - us geniuses decide to try the burrito wrap cat for the first time and try prick Matty’s paw for blood as an alternative spot. In theory that was great. If he tolerates that, we thought, there’s our alternative site and maybe we can introduce curve measuring. Turns out, we were very wrong. He absolutely freaked being rolled into a burrito, got hyper stressed, confused, ran away. Two hours later he’s still confused, hyper stressed even for the ear reading, which read 374 :( devastated and feeling like fools, we just didn’t know whether to shoot the 2U or the 1U given the stress levels. So to err on the safe side of things we went with 1U. Another big mistake. Overnight his thirst was drastic, and we were depressed and feeling like failures to say the least. Come next morning, he’s 352mg/dl. We give the two units. Come night, 303. We give the two units. Come next morning 334 with the +5 measurement (which he stressed a lot at) 294. Next night 337mg/dl, morning after 336, night: 345. We finally reach to this morning at 312mg/dl. It feels like since the skipped dose and 66 dip we’ve been high without him dipping into normal glucose levels, and we’re really worried. Today we’ve acquired the Lantus with the syringe form so we’re preparing for dose adjustment when the time will come. Has the time come? Are we giving too much given the two 109mg/dl and 66mg/dl readings and skipping dose necessities? Are we maybe giving too little? We have no clue. Our vet is not familiar with Lantus and not saying much about dosing adjustments. We’re really worried as Matty looks tired today. He also developed a slight sway when sitting, which according to the AI chat bots is most likely a neurological development from prolonged high glucose. Sure enough the sway is worst when we know his readings are high. Any help or advice would be highly appreciated. P.S should we be posting for Lantus advice in the Lantus section of the forum? 🙏🏽 thank you in advance.

PPS. Anyone has advice or knowledge about food quantity? We’ve gone fully on wet food now (yay) and cooked meat snacks / freeze dried meat snacks. However we have no clue how much to give. We tried portion controls and suspect the night before the 66mg/dl reading he may have been given way too little food. Matty is underweight at 4.1kg for his British shorthair breed.
@spacesopa Ditto & Hello! We are not people who post much, and we do not have many answers/much advice *yet.* However, your story has touched us at just the right time - not because you have all the right answers (you are new) - but because the pure humbleness in writing about your experience and emotions. We are new, too, and our family's expience with our kitty (actually adult adult cat, but will always be "kitty" to us) is almost EXACTLY the same and at EXACTLY the same time as your family's: preference for dry food, drinking lots of water, weight loss that seemed to be in hind legs/hig regions, recent diagnosis, so many unanswered questions, difficulty with checking blood glucose from ear, crazy blood glucose patterns including sudden dive "low" one day followed by refusal to drop below 300 the next, switching to low calorie wet food, the emotional roller coaster of it all! We, too, felt silly about not thinking about diabetes until we happened to notice that our large kitty was much lighter to carry! (Hence the "ditto" subject!) Our kitty's breed (Syberian) tends to be large, heavy, muscular, and yet super fluffy. We usually do not carry him much because he is large and because he seems to prefer all four paws on the gound! His "fluffiness" made it difficult to see the degree of weight loss. But once we confirmed the weight, we knew what the diagnosis was going to be! Although you are new, you have already helped others (like our family). Thank you for having the courage to post! We hope you do not mind if we follow along. We hope that one day we can do for others what you are already doing! Lots of prayers for your family and kitty!
 
@spacesopa Ditto & Hello! We are not people who post much, and we do not have many answers/much advice *yet.* However, your story has touched us at just the right time - not because you have all the right answers (you are new) - but because the pure humbleness in writing about your experience and emotions. We are new, too, and our family's expience with our kitty (actually adult adult cat, but will always be "kitty" to us) is almost EXACTLY the same and at EXACTLY the same time as your family's: preference for dry food, drinking lots of water, weight loss that seemed to be in hind legs/hig regions, recent diagnosis, so many unanswered questions, difficulty with checking blood glucose from ear, crazy blood glucose patterns including sudden dive "low" one day followed by refusal to drop below 300 the next, switching to low calorie wet food, the emotional roller coaster of it all! We, too, felt silly about not thinking about diabetes until we happened to notice that our large kitty was much lighter to carry! (Hence the "ditto" subject!) Our kitty's breed (Syberian) tends to be large, heavy, muscular, and yet super fluffy. We usually do not carry him much because he is large and because he seems to prefer all four paws on the gound! His "fluffiness" made it difficult to see the degree of weight loss. But once we confirmed the weight, we knew what the diagnosis was going to be! Although you are new, you have already helped others (like our family). Thank you for having the courage to post! We hope you do not mind if we follow along. We hope that one day we can do for others what you are already doing! Lots of prayers for your family and kitty!
This made us so emotional and humbled to read, thank you for taking the time to share your experience and spread the love. Wish all the very best to your family, may you have ample strength and patience and of course may your giant floofy kitty stabilise soon and gain those kgs back! ❤️ Always feel free to reach out 🫂🫂

We’ve had yet another hiccup hence the delay in response. Matty had an upset belly (suspicion is the rapid switch to wet food) and wasn’t eating for half a day - which was really stressful as we had to get him to eat before giving insulin. Doc said to give half the dose as a safety measure and we’ve had much higher readings the past few days. Sigh. Thought to mention just in case for something to be aware of. Matty is also a picky eater and has a hard time eating the same meal more than twice in a day, so we were giving out a buffet of a variety, trying out all the low carb foods on the market. It took some days of gradual worsening (started with being gassy), and of course we didn’t really notice until he really looked nauseous and had diarrhea. Sigh. He’s much better tonight and finally back on 2U. Albeit on special wet gastro food until full recovery. Really hoping that was the last of our errors and we can write with some positive news soon 🙏🏽
 
I have to ask, looking at Matty's spreadsheet, you only test once a month on pre shots? what about the rest of the days, month>? I am confused
 
I have to ask, looking at Matty's spreadsheet, you only test once a month on pre shots? what about the rest of the days, month>? I am confused
Hey Corky, we test pre-shot in the AM and PM every day, before every shot.
I think the confusion is in the way we Europeans write our dates, i.e. day/month/year.
We've only been testing and giving insulin for a little under 3 weeks, so every line in Matty's spreadsheet represents one day.
I've now updated the spreadsheet to include our latest readings. :)

A little update, his stools seem to be improving, although they are still on the soft side.
The wet gastro food we are feeding him is not ideal for diabetes, but to our understanding, his gastro issues are currently more important to resolve, because we don't want a dehydrated kitty with no appetite, or else we won't be able to give him his insulin and then we're going backwards.
We aim to resolve the gastro issue asap, because the inflammation also effects his blood glucose, giving us higher readings.

We switched from Lantus Solostar pens to syringes. The Solostar only gives 1 or 2 unit doses which doesn't allow us to do 1.5 or 1.75 unit doses.
But more importantly, the needles on the Solostar are quite short, and we believe we haven't been penetrating the skin deep enough when using this device.
So we've switched to syringes and hope to see some improvement in his readings shortly.

We also have an automatic wet food feeder on the way to us. Currently we're waking up at 3am and 6am to give him some food to fend off any worry regarding hypoglycaemia during the night. The cat feeder will be a welcome addition to our toolbox as we are exhausted from the late night/early morning wake ups.

Matty is taking everything like a champ, despite the ups and downs, he is in good spirits and has a huge appetite.
We're really hoping his gastro issues resolve quickly and we can get back to low carb wet foods + insulin = better readings 🤞
 
Gee! I feel dumb how did I not see that ! And so many good news in your post, congratulations! Keep us posted on the stool issues. I can personally understand your exhaustion, I remember the sleepless nights myself, but I’m pretty sure that with the BG numbers I see on PMPS, if you were to test one last time 2 hours after dosing later and the numbers are similar you can sleep soundly, BG number normally are lower at night, hypoglycemia does happen if the BG is lower than 50 under, you’re way too far for that. If you look at your spreadsheet at top the lime numbers are hypo numbers, also I remember bring told not to feed past +5- +6, I know is hard to relax, but you need your rest, right now I go to sleep very relaxed with Corky’s BG BETWEEN the 70-80’s and he always wakes up with 119-130 BG and his last meal after PMPS is at +4 , you're Doing great keep up the good work, Matty know how much you love her
 
Last edited:
Anyone has advice or knowledge about food quantity? We’ve gone fully on wet food now (yay) and cooked meat snacks / freeze dried meat snacks. However we have no clue how much to give. We tried portion controls and suspect the night before the 66mg/dl reading he may have been given way too little food. Matty is underweight at 4.1kg for his British shorthair breed.
From the catinfo.org website (by a feline vet specializing in nutrition), a good starting point for feeding amounts is: Required calories per day = [13.6 X optimal lean body weight in pounds] + 70. That is just a starting point, and you'll have to weigh regularly and see if his weight is going where you want it to. Cats have differing activity levels and metabolism, so the formula is not exact. It also requires you getting the optimal lean body weight from the vet. Using 4.1 kg as a starting point, his daily calories would be 193. But you know that is a low weight so needs to be higher.

He probably has a huge appetite because he is not yet regulated so not able to properly absorb all the nutrients from his food.
 
From the catinfo.org website (by a feline vet specializing in nutrition), a good starting point for feeding amounts is: Required calories per day = [13.6 X optimal lean body weight in pounds] + 70. That is just a starting point, and you'll have to weigh regularly and see if his weight is going where you want it to. Cats have differing activity levels and metabolism, so the formula is not exact. It also requires you getting the optimal lean body weight from the vet. Using 4.1 kg as a starting point, his daily calories would be 193. But you know that is a low weight so needs to be higher.

He probably has a huge appetite because he is not yet regulated so not able to properly absorb all the nutrients from his food.
Thank you for that description @Wendy&Neko ! Yes, you're completely right, that is almost certainly why he has a big appetite, we've had consistently high numbers lately.

As of tomorrow, we will be starting to test Matty more regularly during the day, instead of just pre-shot testing.

We got a reading tonight of 99mg/dL. We will be skipping his insulin shot tonight as it is our understanding that it's too risky to shoot with such a reading.

Can anyone advise us with next steps? With a reading like 99 mg/dL.
Do we test again in 2 hours to see if he's climbing back up and shoot with a respective dose, depending on the reading?
Do we skip the shot completely until his next scheduled shot in 12 hours?

The reason why we ask is because when we last got a reading of 66 mg/dL we skipped the dose, and it seemed to catapult his numbers back up.
Our vet doesn't really suggest any adaptive dosing, it's either 1 unit, 2 units or skip. (He's unfamiliar with Lantus, we are meeting a new vet who only prescribes Lantus later this week).

We'd like to hear what other families out there are doing, so we could be as informed as possible and try get him regulated.
 
If you skip a shot because the PS is low, then give the normal amount of insulin at the next scheduled time.

What custom doing protocol are you following?
 
My vet wasn't familiar with Lantus either. I printed off a copy of the dosing method from here that I wanted to used, and dropped off weekly copies of the spreadsheet. Back in the day that's what we did, now some vets get a link to spreadsheets.

Since you've had to skip a couple shots due to preshots under 100, if you were following our dosing methods I would suggest reducing the dose to 1.75 units. It's better to shoot a lower dose than have to skip due to lower preshots. After you've got more data and experience, you might eventually shoot full dose at a 99. Right now, you could test an hour later and see if he's in your comfort zone to shoot. If you shoot 2 hours late, it can mess up your shooting schedule, as the next shot is no sooner than 11.5 hours after that.
 
If you skip a shot because the PS is low, then give the normal amount of insulin at the next scheduled time.

What custom doing protocol are you following?
We’re following our vets advise at the moment and I’m not sure he’s following a protocol. He’s not familiar with Lantus though as he prescribes Caninsulin and NPH normally. We got a recommendation for a new vet familiar with Lantus and calling him today to make arrangements. Hopefully we can get some more solid guidance 🙏🏽
 
My vet wasn't familiar with Lantus either. I printed off a copy of the dosing method from here that I wanted to used, and dropped off weekly copies of the spreadsheet. Back in the day that's what we did, now some vets get a link to spreadsheets.

Since you've had to skip a couple shots due to preshots under 100, if you were following our dosing methods I would suggest reducing the dose to 1.75 units. It's better to shoot a lower dose than have to skip due to lower preshots. After you've got more data and experience, you might eventually shoot full dose at a 99. Right now, you could test an hour later and see if he's in your comfort zone to shoot. If you shoot 2 hours late, it can mess up your shooting schedule, as the next shot is no sooner than 11.5 hours after that.
Thank you for that, is it just one method or are there multiple on here, just wondering where to look? 👀 as we had instantly fed him (boi was starving) post 99 BG test we had to wait 2 hrs to take another reading. When we did, it revealed 249. We didn’t shoot. Woke up an hour earlier today to bring the procedure up a little since we skipped dose. Had a whopping reading of 391. Highest yet we’ve had at home. We gave 2U. Big sigh. Perhaps as you suggested it’s time to bring it down to 1.75 and observe what happens. Waiting for the (new) vet to open to try and make an appointment asap in hopes of getting some more solid guidance. Would be interesting to see if his protocols match the protocols on here and if not if he’d be open for discussion.
 
Hello, emergency post here. Matty had a low reading of 45mg/dL at 6pm earlier yesterday. At 10:50pm when it was time to shoot, he had a reading of 160 mg/dL. We gave him a dose of 1.25 units lantus, as per our vets recommendation. Now at +5 hours since that shot we just got a reading of 27 mg/dL! (This is using a human glucose meter). I urgently let him lick some glucose syrup, and am feeding him. Please any recommendations on what to do at this point?
 
Hello, emergency post here. Matty had a low reading of 45mg/dL at 6pm earlier yesterday. At 10:50pm when it was time to shoot, he had a reading of 160 mg/dL. We gave him a dose of 1.25 units lantus, as per our vets recommendation. Now at +5 hours since that shot we just got a reading of 27 mg/dL! (This is using a human glucose meter). I urgently let him lick some glucose syrup, and am feeding him. Please any recommendations on what to do at this point?
Do you have some high carb food? Anything with gravy, , how long ago did you give the syrup?
 
If the BG is still too low please give 1Tsp of high carb Re test again in 1/2 hour, the syrup is only a quick fix best to hike up the BG now with food than syrup
 
How’s Matty? I tagged several members, thanks for the 911, when you start receiving assistance from either of the members I tagged or another that can help you with dosing, please remove the 911, I do not give dosing advice but I can help you surfvthru low numbers
 
Fed high carb food and gave him some glucose syrup (around a teaspoon so far).

Readings
27 mg/dL @ 03:46
39 mg/dL @ 04:08
49 mg/dL @ 04:35
 
We fed wet food (high carb), kibble and a churru so far.

He was really hungry before the low reading of 27 mg/dL which prompted us to check his glucose. Other than that he didn't have other symptoms. We're testing again in 4 minutes.
 
Ok wait a bit, too much carbs will hike up the BG way up high slow down a bit on that, , let us know the BG
 
Latest reading is 46mg/dL, we gave more syrup. Will feed more wet food and a few more pieces of kibble.
 
Back
Top