Newbie would like some reassurance about supplies for a diabetic cat

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi Bron, I just gave the dose without priming. Unfortunately, I was not even sure, whether I had shifted to 2 from 0. I will be extra careful in future. I don't really know, why I even did it. I looked it up and I found a message on the Internet from FDMB. When I looked it up, it stated to never give a second dose and I followed it. I am learning a bit and I am also learning to be very careful. Helga
 
Hi Bandit's Mum, some more figures:
Monday, 23/8
7.00 15.6
7.40 19.6
7.55 23.6
9.30 22.4
11.50 18.6
13.10 20.0
14.15 19.5
16.30 20.5
18.55 20.7
21.00 20.9
23.00 19.7

Tuesday 24/8
7.30 17.4
9.10 20.1
10.00 19.1
14.00 19.4
18.00 20.1
21.40 18.4
23.00 17.9
 
Hi Bron, I just gave the dose without priming. Unfortunately, I was not even sure, whether I had shifted to 2 from 0. I will be extra careful in future. I don't really know, why I even did it. I looked it up and I found a message on the Internet from FDMB. When I looked it up, it stated to never give a second dose and I followed it. I am learning a bit and I am also learning to be very careful. Helga
It can be hard in the beginning but you are doing a great job!
Make sure Toby eats lots…..is he eating well.
Do you understand the spreadsheet now and how to add the numbers and dose?
 
Helga, next time the vet comes out, I think you said she was coming soon, can you get her to watch you give a pretend dose of the insulin into the sink so she can check you are actually giving a dose?
 
Hi, I decided to do a bit more.
Wednesday, 25/8
6.50 18.7
8/00 21.6
10.45 17.3
13.50 15.6
9.20 17.6

Thursday, 26/8
6.20 18.3
7.50 17.1
9.30 14.3
10.15 13.7
11.05 15.9
13.20 16.8
15.45 17.2.
17.20 15.1
That is all I have for the moment. Unfortunately, things went wrong yesterday, because I gave him the insulin without priming (and I am not even sure the setting was on 2. If it was on 0 he did not get any. I did not give a second dose (I knew that I shouldn't). This morning 8 am he got a shot. However, he kept going doen and so I fed him after 10.15 and he went up again. At the moment he is down, but I rang my Vet and she wants me to still give him the insulin (originally I was told not to give any under 18, but the Board members thought it should be under 11). Toby also has a UTI and he is still having Antibiotics for today. If it persists he will get a stronger Antibiotic.
I will look at the SS, maybe I can start doing some of above numbers, if they are too many for you. I am very thankful that you are helping, because I have never mastered spreadsheets. Today I had a bit more time. Helga
 
just gave the dose without priming. Unfortunately, I was not even sure, whether I had shifted to 2 from 0. I will be extra careful in future
Try and get into a routine that you do every time you give the dose. Such as……check the BG…..then feed Toby……then check the pen and see the does is correct….prime it before giving the dose.
Has the vet dropped off the Ketostix for testing for ketones yet? It’s important that we get those ketones checked.
How does Toby seem? Does he seem well and alert?
 
Hi Bron, the Vet last time did check whether I give the dose ok. She told me today that Toby will be all over the place, because he has just started insulin on Thursday. However, she also mentioned that he also went down in the hospital and finished with Hypo. Today I gave him food, when he went down to 15.9 and he returned to 16.8. Generally, when he gets the insulin, he goes down a bit (sometimes up). Helga P.S. He has a UTI, which according to my Vet makes him insulin resistant and he is getting Antibiotics. She is considering a stronger one.
 
Hi Bron, the Vet last time did check whether I give the dose ok. She told me today that Toby will be all over the place, because he has just started insulin on Thursday. However, she also mentioned that he also went down in the hospital and finished with Hypo. Today I gave him food, when he went down to 15.9 and he returned to 16.8. Generally, when he gets the insulin, he goes down a bit (sometimes up). Helga P.S. He has a UTI, which according to my Vet makes him insulin resistant and he is getting Antibiotics. She is considering a stronger one.
I can see the BGs are a bit better today. That is because he has had a few doses now and the depot, which has to fill with the type of insulin you are using, is filling.
He will be safe even if the numbers go down to around 5. You can always feed him to bring the BG up higher, but it is good if it is lower.
Are you giving him lots is snacks during the day and night?

Do you have a hypo kit set up with some higher carb foods and honey?
 
I have a routine. I am doing exactly the above, checking the BG approx. 7 to 7.30, feeding him, then I do put the needle into the pen, check it, prime it, go to 2 IU again and jab him. Toby seems to be alert, but today, when his reading was lower, he sat down and was very quiet. After I gave him the extra feed, he started running around again. The Vet told me to do as many readings as possible, because she is trying to assess him (and will be have the Freestyle disk). It will last about another 7 days. She thinks he should have another one for two weeks, because of his problems. I now have Diaketostix. I also have Fancy Feast Pate. He eats well (he would eat all day long, if he could). I now give him some pate and it is not his favourite food, so he nibbles on and off. Helga
 
I have some higher carb food and I also have some liquid glucose (I also have honey) in a tube. Helga P.S. I give him a few snacks and also a little bit of dry food (for his teeth)
 
Not yet. I will have to empty the kittylitter. Can I use clumping clay litter? Helga PS. The Vet thought he was ok, because they had him in the hospital because of ketoacidosis and he was clear, when he was released on Saturday
 
Yes, but it is the grainfree one. I gave it to him, when the values went down. My Vet was going to get Royal Canine and she thought it was ok.
 
I will have to empty the kittylitter. Can I use clumping clay litter? Helga PS. The Vet thought he was ok, because they had him in the hospital because of ketoacidosis and he was clear, when he was released on Saturday
I have to disagree with your vet here….and I like your vet a lot. Ketones can develop again easily if the cat is not eating enough or not getting enough insulin. We get a lot of cats post DKA here and we test every day for ketones as it is much easier to manage them if caught early.

Will Toby let you put a small container under him while he pees?
Or maybe slip a large spoon under him as he pees.
Alternatively you could half bury a small plastic container in his favourite spot to owe and hope he aims straight!

Yes, but it is the grainfree one. I gave it to him, when the values went down. My Vet was going to get Royal Canine and she thought it was ok.
Just because it is grain free doesn’t mean it is low carb. I can guarantee you it is high carb food.
Even the Hills dry food for diabetic cats is 17% carbs.
 
Hi Bron, thanks for all your advice. It is all very useful. However, I will soon have to take Toby's BG, then feed him and by 8 give him the insulin. I will take the pen out of the fridge in a moment. I also have other things to do. Helga
 
Hi Bron, thanks for all your advice. It is all very useful. However, I will soon have to take Toby's BG, then feed him and by 8 give him the insulin. I will take the pen out of the fridge in a moment. I also have other things to do. Helga
Ok, lovely to talk to you. Toby is a lucky boy to have you look after him.
Let me know if you are successful in getting a urine sample to test:cat:
 
Hi Helga

I have entered the data sent by you so far. I need the numbers for 22/8 as well as the insulin dose you gave him from 20/8. Have you been giving 2U twice a day every day except for the morning of 21/8?
 
Hi Bron, it does not work. Using the kittylitter is a ritual for Toby. First he scratches the litter all over the laundry (he has two litter-boxes). Then he sniffs both (he uses one for peeing and the other for pooh, however, he has to always examine both first). However, he used it with perl litter, although there was very little of it in the tray. I am hoping to put in a bit of the clumping clay one and trying to do it this way. Do you have any better way?? I am using Catlux at the moment, but I also have some clumping clay. I read that it is ok. Helga
 
Hi Bandit's Mum, yes, he always gets 2 IU morning and night (8 pm). He had no injection, because at this stage I was told nothing when it is 18 and lower.
22/8
7.25 17.6
9.10 18.7
9.55 21.1
10.30 19.8
12.00 20.8
14.30 24.9
15.30 23.2
16.40 21.0
19.00 21.1
20.45 21.0
21.45 16.10
 
Hi Bandit's Mum, yes, he always gets 2 IU morning and night (8 pm). He had no injection, because at this stage I was told nothing when it is 18 and lower.
22/8
7.25 17.6
9.10 18.7
9.55 21.1
10.30 19.8
12.00 20.8
14.30 24.9
15.30 23.2
16.40 21.0
19.00 21.1
20.45 21.0
21.45 16.10
Hi Helga, I have these numbers as those for 21/8. Sometime tomorrow, could you please check the numbers for 21/8 and 22/8 again?
Good night! :-)
 
Hi Bandit's Mum, I am sorry, but I just realized that on Sunday, 21/8
I only had one reading
7.25 17.6.
At that stage I was told not to give an injection if the value is under 18. I had to ring the hospital, because I was not sure what to do and I think I tore out the page and kept it near the phone, because they wanted me to tell them the next readings. The 22/8 is ok. When I send you the data, I just thought it was a continuation of the page, but it was a new day. Helga
 
Hi Helga,
How are you today?
I hope both you and Toby are well.
I meant to mention that the clumping litter is no good for collecting a urine specimen because all the urine goes into the clump. Bron
 
Hi Bandit's Mum, I am even more sorry, but I re-checked, because I found the figures on the slip. The date was wrong. Toby was discharged from the hospital on 21/8 (4.30 pm) and the figures are correct otherwise. Sunday was the 22/8 and the figures are ok. Everything was ok, only the date was wrong. I am not sure why, but I always get into a mess with SS. Helga
 
Hi Bron, I was only going to put a little bit in the tray (same as I did with the perl litter) and then he will most likely use it, because he would not sit on an empty tray. He likes to have his front feet outside the litterbox and usually he digs a hole and rests his behind on the surroundings of the hole with the feet on the outside floor. Helga
 
Hi Bron, I was only going to put a little bit in the tray (same as I did with the perl litter) and then he will most likely use it, because he would not sit on an empty tray. He likes to have his front feet outside the litterbox and usually he digs a hole and rests his behind on the surroundings of the hole with the feet on the outside floor. Helga
What a funny boy. They all have their little ways of doing things!
 
Hi Bandit's Mum, I am even more sorry, but I re-checked, because I found the figures on the slip. The date was wrong. Toby was discharged from the hospital on 21/8 (4.30 pm) and the figures are correct otherwise. Sunday was the 22/8 and the figures are ok. Everything was ok, only the date was wrong. I am not sure why, but I always get into a mess with SS. Helga
Thanks. I will fix it. :-)
 
Hi Bandit's Mum, I was going to try to do it myself, but I would be very happy, if you did it instead as I am quite tired.
19.00 16.5
21.00 17.5
23.00 17.1

27/8
6.30 15.9
7.55 15.4
9.10 15.7
11.30 10.4
13.30 13.8
6.40 19.1

If you would like me to do this lot, don't hesitate to tell me. Thanks again Helga
 
Hi Bron, if you are around, I have a problem (again!). This afternoon I was cutting up some lamb for my lunch. Suddenly Toby appeared. He meowed loudly and he tried to jump up on the sink. He was absolutely desperate to get a bit of meat. I was amazed. When he first came, he would not touch red meat, only chicken. In the last few months, he has been eating a bit of mince (I give him a little bit of either chicken or meat for lunch, not every day - when we had Pepsi, other cat, she would eat red meat and chicken, but Toby only the chicken). I gave him a bit and he devoured it and asked for more. In the end he nearly had a chop (not really a lot of meat on it). He then went to sleep and so far he does not want to eat. He is purring loudly. As he is meant to have a meal before his injection, what should I do. He is due for the jab at 8 pm. How much does he need to eat before he can have the jab. Can I give the jab a bit later. I am sure he will want to eat at one stage. Helga
 
Hi Helga. You still have 1/2 hour before the insulin. Try feeding him some food closer to 8 pm and see how you go. Do you have any raw meat left?
Let me know.
 
Hi Bron, he is a good boy really. He just got up and when I offered some food, he proceeded to eat it. I still have 15 minutes. Thanks for your answer. I looked it up on the Internet as well, but it is better to get an answer from you, because I know then that I can trust it. Thanks a lot. Helga
 
Toby is really used to eating earlier (5 or 6 pm). However, this would make the morning too early for me. Helga
 
Hi Helga, Toby is a very good boy. I’m glad he ate for you. I’m sure he enjoyed that lovely lamb. I hope you had enough to eat for yourself. do you give him some more to eat before you go to bed?
 
Hi Bron, I added some baked beans to my dinner. However, he has never accepted lamb before. I still have mince for him in the freezer and chicken. When I go shopping on Tuesday I might see, if I can get him bits of red meat instead of mince. He was able to chew it all easily (I always thought he had problems and my husband even used to mince his chicken, while I just cut it very fine. He also likes shredded cooked chicken). I might just keep a bit of meat in case he does not want to eat before his jab (he just had his 8 o'clock one). I generally give him something before I go to bed. Enjoy your evening and thanks Helga
 
Mince is red meat if it’s beef mince. As long as you freeze it in portions when you get home, that is fine.
He might like chicken hearts. You should be able to get a rotary of those from WW. I buy them and freeze them on a flat tray and then when they are frozen, store them on the freezer in a plastic bag. Only give a couple a day.
Cats also like giblets which are sold at WW near the chicken hearts. im sure he will ,I’ve what ever you get him….what a lucky boy he is!
Im glad you added baked beans to your meal!
 
If you would like me to do this lot, don't hesitate to tell me. Thanks again Helga
Done. I can do it for you till you get comfortable managing the other aspects of his diabetes like shooting, testing etc. Takes me less than a minute!

Congrats on your first blue today! @Bron and Sheba (GA) hold the dose? I don't know if Helga has syringes to dose in fractions of a unit?

Helga, I see that in the evenings you test at 7pm rather than 8pm? Do you test at 7pm and give Toby insulin at 8pm?
 
@Bandit's Mom
Helga is using a pen to give the doses at the moment. Helga is going shopping on Tuesday. Maybe she could get some syringes then.

Yes I would hold the dose with the appearance of that blue BG.
Yes he did get his 8pm shot. Mentioned 3 posts back. But I’m not sure about the Preshot BG
 
Hi Smorgasboard, thanks for the video. I will try it. Toby has ears by the way, they just have been cut off on the photo. Toby actually had a blood test and a full urine test. They therefore found the UTI and the DKA and he stayed in an Animal Referral Hospital, where he was tested as well. At the moment he leaves his feet outside the litter tray and digs a hole, so that he can sit on the rim of it. Helga
 
Hi Bandit's Mum, I would be very happy, if you could still help with the SS. I take the BG at 7, then I feed him and he gets the jab at 8 pm. I use a Lantus pen. Not a syringe. I have just learnt how to give injections at all and I am not sure, I could cope with a syringe. Thanks for your help Helga
 
Hi Bron, I used to get both mince and chicken, when we had the two cats. Pepsi had chicken one day and mince the next. Toby rejected the mince and only wanted chicken. Both did not like hearts, liver etc. (although I previously had cats who did). However, some months ago, Toby started liking beef mince. He never liked lamb or pork, but I will try him again on lamb. Today I gave him chicken and he rejected it (it was frozen breast fillet). I cooked it a little bit and he ate only a few mouthfulls. I will take his BG in a little while and then feed him. He is sitting around waiting for his dinner. He seems ok, but he would like to go outside and I won't let him, until we get rid of the Freestyle disk, because he likes to roll in the dirt. By the way, he gets regular parasite treatments. Helga
 
Hi Helga. I will tag @Bandit's Mom so she can see your message.
With Glargine you don’t need to wait an hour after feeding to give the insulin dose. pit is best if you do the test to see what the BGs, then feed him, then give the insulin dose. There is no need to wait at all after he eats. In fact it is better if you give the insulin as soon as he’s finished eating.

Did you manage to get a urine sample to test for ketones?
 
Hi Bandit's Mum, it is very generous of you that you are still willing to do my SS.
27/8 18.40 20.8
21/10 21.5
22.40 18/7
28/8
6.50 18.9
9.00 18.6
14.00 12.8
16.45 15/3
19.05 15.9
That is all. He will get his jab at 20.00 pm. Thanks again. Helga
 
Hi Bandit's Mum, it is very generous of you that you are still willing to do my SS.
27/8 18.40 20.8
21/10 21.5
22.40 18/7
28/8
6.50 18.9
9.00 18.6
14.00 12.8
16.45 15/3
19.05 15.9
That is all. He will get his jab at 20.00 pm. Thanks again. Helga
Entered! Please keep sending the readings to me whenever you can and I will update the spreadsheet for you :-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top