Newbie would like some reassurance about supplies for a diabetic cat

Status
Not open for further replies.

Helgaursula

Member Since 2021
The mobile Vet will be coming again on Tuesday. I have tried to find some information about any supplies I would need and I have come up with the conclusion that I would like a pen (instead of a syringe) and maybe an implanted Glucose reader. There will be another blood test on Tuesday and also an urine test. I already found out that Toby will not use the perl litter and I am wondering, whether there are alternatives. I am also floundering, how much to feed. Should Toby be restricted in his food intake. He was overweight, but lost a lot of his fat. At the moment I am investigating where to obtain suitable cat food. It is all very difficult, because I do not drive and cannot take Toby to a Vet. I will have to order all supplies online. Does anybody live in Melbourne, Australia and know the best places. Helga
 
Welcome to FDMB.

Even with an insulin pen, you still need to dose using a syringe. The pens dispense in 1.0u amounts only. Doses are changed in 0.25u increments -- or at least it's what we do here so you don't miss what is a good dose for your cat. You also end up wasting a good deal of insulin when dosing with a pen.

I would strongly encourage you to learn how to home test. The sensors are fine if they work. They can be temperamental and you don't always get the advertised 2 weeks worth of. use from them. In addition, some cats are quite adept at removing them. If the sensor doesn't work, it will inevitably happen at the worst possible time. It's truly essential that you learn how to test so you're not relying on a device that may or may not work when you need it to. In addition, the sensors are not cheap!

This is a food chart for varieties that are available in Australia. It may not be fully up to date but it's a place to start. Many cats lose weight prior to and early in their diagnosis. It's the nature of diabetes -- nutrition isn't getting into the cells. You can adjust the amount of food so toby gets to a good weight.

I'm tagging @Bron and Sheba (GA) since she may be able to help with what's available in Australia.

The basic supplies include:
  • insulin - Lantus (or one of the biosimilars for glargine) or Prozinc are recommended for cats
  • syringes that are calibrated in half unit increments (and are for the same concentration as the insulin you're using(
  • a glucometer -- a human meter is fine
  • lancets (start with 28 gauge)
  • low carbohydrate (under 10%) food
  • a few cans of both medium (10 - 15%) and high carb (over 15%) food (or something ike corn syrup or honey) so you can steer low numbers
  • low carbohydrate treats - most members use a freeze dried protein (e.g., freeze dried chicken) or will cook chicken (treats are essential to help with getting your cat acclimated to home testing)
I''ve likely overlooked something but others will be along and add information.

The one thing you can do is to look over this post on helping us to help you. It provides some basic information that is essential for creating a signature that tells us about your cat and how to set up a spreadsheet.
 
Last edited:
Hi Helga and welcome to the forum to you and Toby.
I live in Sydney.
I agree with everything that Sienne has said. Hometesting is the way to go. You will find the Freestyle Libre is expensive…it’s fine until you find your feet, but hometesting will be less expensive and more reliable.
The insulin pen restricts you with how much you can give of the insulin. It will only go up and down in 1 unit increments. The vet may say that is fine, but we find that using the 1/4 unit increments is much better for the cat.

I am going to give you a link to INFORMATION FOR AUSSIE CAREGIVERS click on the blue writing.
It will give you all you need to know about anything you will need in Australia.
In regards to the Australian food chart……Someone recently told me that Weruva is no longer available from Petbarn. I have emailed the company but have not heard back. There are other vet good foods available. Feline Naturals have a very good low carb range and they are available in several stores. Fancy feast can be bought in most pet stores and at supermarkets.
There is no need to feed the expensive prescription foods the vet will want to sell you. There is nothing special about them and they are expensive and usually higher carb than is suitable.

I have no heard of the Perl litter. Is there any reason why you think you need to use that litter?
If we haven’t answered all you questions keep asking. We are happy to help.
Bron
 
Hi Bron and Sienne, thanks for the detailed information. My cat is called Toby (about 7 years old, looks like a Tabby Maine Coon). He came to us as a stray at the beginning of 2017 (we had another cat as well) and he stayed (he was neither neutered nor microchipped and we never found out, where he came from). He loves our big garden and hunting. He will even lick up ants. I would not always know, what he eats outside. The other day he devoured a mouse. Toby loved my husband, but unfortunately he passed away last year and so did our other cat. I am 81 years old and I find it quite daunting to be faced with having to look after a diabetic cat. I do not drive and I am using a mobile Vet. Toby is very fussy. He never had dry food, but in March the Vet suggested to give him some for his teeth. Toby never liked it much and only ate it occasionally. He also will not eat any Pate, Loaf or anything in Gravy. He only will have Jelly, e.g. Whiskas Chicken Jelly Pouches. He loves the Fancy Feast Medleys. He will eat Applaws pouches and loins. He also likes Dine, Pure Tuna Whitemeat. When Toby does not like the food, he just does not eat it (I have tried leaving it). Sometimes I think that he has trouble eating Pates. He used to it out of a breakfast bowl, but I changed it to a saucer, which he seems to prefer. I was thinking of the pen, because I am not sure I can manage a syringe. Thanks so far. I am going to look at all the information. Helga
 
I forgot to mention, that the perl litter was for the urine testing. It actually worked and I know have a sample for the Vet tomorrow. Helga
 
Hi Helga, I am so sorry to hear about your husband and your other kitty.
I am fairly sure the whiskas pouches are low carb and also the dine. the Fancy feast medleys are higher carb and I would only use them if Toby drops low.
I’m glad the pert litter worked. Can you ask the vet tomorrow to test for ketones please? It should be on the strip he will use to test the urine.
And if you could tell us the result, that would be good thanks. It is important to know whether or not there are ketones at diagnosis….hopefully thee are none. .

We have quite a few older people here who have diabetic cats. I. Sure you will do a fine job. Lucky Toby to have you. He knew what he was doing when he chose you in 2017!

Cats like saucers better because they can eat without their whiskers being squashed in a bowl.

If we can help you with any other questions, please let us know. A lot of people post everyday, and tell us how their kitty is going. This is a very supportive community so you might like to do that.
 
Hi Bron, the Vet took blood samples and urine samples away and I have not heard anything yet. I meanwhile tried a Fancy Feast Pate can again and I found out that he will eat it, when I leave it intact on a saucer. He did it twice now, but I have run out of cans. My next order will be on Monday. The Vet told me that she will most likely put him on insulin (next week), but she wanted to wait for the test results. She thought that a pen and a Free style Libre would be best for me (at least in the beginning) and she will order the gadgets. I meanwhile saw a Accu Check Fast Clix Lancing Device Soft on the Internet. Would it help me??? He was a big cat, although he lost a lot of weight (he is about 5.3 kg at the moment) and he is strong. There is nobody here, who can help. I therefore think that equipment that is easier to use, would be helpful. What do you think??Thanks for helping. Helga
 
Hi Helga,
Good to hear from you. I’m glad the vet is going to put Toby on insulin soon. It is not a good idea to leave kitties without insulin, once they have been diagnosed.
That is good he ate the fancy Feast for you. Make sure Toby eats well, that is important.
Also make sure he is drinking plenty of water if you can.
He should start to put on the weight he lost once he’s on insulin and the blood glucose starts to come down.
I’m glad the vet is organising the freestyle libre for you and the pen. Start off on the pen and see how you go. You might start to feel you would like to swap to the syringe later down the track.


meanwhile saw a Accu Check Fast Clix Lancing Device Soft on the Internet. Would it help me
This device is one you would use if you were testing the blood glucose yourself. Otherwise it would not be of use. If you were testing yourself you would have a glucose meter, test strips and that lancing device……if you were using an Accu Check which is a good meter.
I would see how you go with the freestyle libre. It only lasts 2 weeks and then you either have to replace it, or start hometesting.
If you decide to start hometesting, we can help you with tips and step by step advice. All up to you.

What I will do though is tag @Bandit's Mom to ask if she will set up a spreadsheet and a signature for you. She will send you a private message which you will see at the top right of this page under inbox. Then when you get the freestyle libre attached you can start putting in the data….we will show you how.
Once you have the insulin, let us know what it is. Hopefully it will be Glargine……I think they are calling it another name now but same thing. I hope the vet does not give vetsulin. If she suggest that, tell her you want Glargine.

I am going to send you a link about watching for hypoglycaemia or hypos a well call the,. You should be able to prevent it if you are home teston or have the freestyle libre on, but you will need a hypo kit….very important and if you can, I would print off the page and put it on your fridge in case it is needed.
HYPO LINK
Bron
 
What I will do though is tag @Bandit's Mom to ask if she will set up a spreadsheet and a signature for you. She will send you a private message which you will see at the top right of this page under inbox.
Hi Helga! Welcome to FDMB - glad you were able to make your way here from our FB group. I can definitely help you with setting up the spreadsheet and signature. :-)

When you hear back from the vet on the test results, please check with him if Toby has ketones. If he does, you'd have to start insulin right away. If he doesn't, you may want to first switch him fully to a low carb diet to see if that will control his blood sugar. Some lucky cats get regulated with just a diet change and don't need insulin.
 
Hi Bron, the VET contacted me today in the late afternoon and told me that it was an emergency situation and Toby had to rushed to the animal hospital immediately. They organised animal transport and he now is in the ARH in Essendon Fields. Apparently it was the ketones in the urine. The Vet from the hospital also told me, that there might be liver damage. I am devastated. It all came as a shock. They have now put him on insulin and I have to discuss with the mobile Vet tomorrow morning, how I will get the supplies I need, when he comes home (because it will be the weekend). Hope it all goes well. Thanks for all your information. I look at the spreadsheet, when I know a bit more. Helga
 
Hi Bandit's Mom, I am looking into the spreadsheet, but as Toby has been rushed to hospital with ketones, I just do not feel up to it right now. Thanks so far. Helga
 
Hi Bron, forgot to ask, how do you download a photo of the Toby to go into the little box above my name. Helga
 
Hi Bron and Bandit's Mom, thanks again. Toby is still in the hospital. I was told that he is very sick (I cannot go there because of the lockdown) and they now suspect he could have a tumor as well (they did an Ultrasound). I will know tomorrow morning. I am very upset. Helga
 
Oh Helga, I am so sorry this has happened. And it is so hard when you can’t go and see Toby:bighug:
I am only seeing these messages from you just now.
Ketones in the urine can happen in undiagnosed kitties when the insulin has not been started.
Hopefully they have caught it early enough.
We can help you with what to do when he comes home.

I do hope they are wrong about a tumour. Did they mention where they thought it was?
I can imagine how upset you are.
Please let us know any news as soon as you are able to.
Ketones can lead to the more serious DKA but it can be treated and a lot of the kitties full through.
Sending very best wishes to Toby and :bighug::bighug: for you.
Bron

Hi Bron, forgot to ask, how do you download a photo of the Toby to go into the little box above my name. Helga
If you look under your user name at the top right of this page you will see avatar. Click on that and it will give you instructions.
I will tag @Bandit's Mom to help you with the spreadsheet and the avatar if you have trouble with it.
 
Hi Helga, I’m sorry to hear that Toby is so sick.

I don’t have anything to add to what’s already been said, but I just wanted you to know that you’re not alone and I’ll be thinking of you and Toby and sending positive vibes your way.

Ketones and diabetic ketoacidosis (DKA) can be very serious, so as worrisome and stressful as it is, it sounds like Toby in the right place to best help him. I hope they’re wrong about the tumor. I’ve been told that before as well, only to find that it was a false alarm, so let’s hope the same for Toby.

There’s no rush in the spreadsheet. You can get to it when you feel up to it; I’m sure Bhooma ( @Bandit's Mom ) will be happy to help when you’re ready.

Please post an update when you know more.
 
To get our attention Helga you can tag us. To do this you hit the @ button then type in the user name of the person you want to tag. When you do this a little box will come up with options. Click on the name you want. I will tag you. @Helgaursula
 
Today we picked up Toby at 4.30 pm (a friend drove me and she had to wait outside for 2 hours). Despite restrictions, I was allowed into the hospital (I am vaccinated) and the treatment was explained to me (by the way Toby had ketoacidosis and this morning he was Hyperglycemic, not sure about Hypo or Hyper, but his reading was extremely low). However, when he was given food, he quickly recovered. I have been given a pen for the insulin and a few needles. I need to purchase more. It was demonstrated how to use it. Toby has a Libre freestyle and they lent me a reader. It will only work for another week. I will need to discuss with the Vet, what to do and I will need to organize more supplies with him. Many things are not yet clear to me. Basically I read the Libre at 7.30. If the value is under 18 I feed Toby and do not give insulin before values are up. If they are above 40 to 50 I should ring the Hospital. I am meant to feed the same food. I should give the injections at 8 am and 8 pm (first testing and feeding). Otherwise I am meant to test after 4 hours and note this as well. Toby also has Antibiotics at the moment and the Libre is secured with a sort of bandage around his neck. He is pleased to be home and has followed me around like a dog (he does not let me out of his sight). Thanks to everybody who is helping. I will look at it all in detail tomorrow morning, when I feel less tired. Helga P.S. Toby weighs 5 kg (he is a big cat and very skinny at the moment). In the hospital they only gave him one serving (Hills) of food and he looked skinnier, when I saw him. According to Hills website, he should have had 4 to 5 pouches. I am not sure, how much to give him and I just gave him 1 pouch and 1/2 a can tonight, which he devoured quickly.
 
Oh Helga, I am so glad to read your update and hear that Toby is home.
Do you know if they said he had ketones or Ketoacidosis (DKA)? Sorry I just read he had DKA.
Either way, it is really important that Toby eats lots of food. One and a half times as many calories as he normally would.
So I would give him snacks every couple of hours. Feed him what ever he will eat at the moment.
Food is like a medicine with ketones as food will keep ketones away.

The other thing that will keep ketones away is insulin so don’t skip any doses.
If you find he is not high enough to give the dose to…..stall, dont feed and test again in 20 minutes to see if the BG is rising.
And post and ask for help. Change the subject line to reflex the question ….say Stalling..help!

Did they tell you to test daily for ketones. If not,please do as it is important that keep a close eye on any ketones developing again. You will need a bottle of Ketostix from a pharmacy and then you collect a urine sample from Toby and dip the test strip into the urine and read it exactly 15 seconds later against the colours on the bottle. Anything above a trace of ketones, tell us and the vet.

Please tell Toby have glad I am that he is home with you,
Bron

I am going to tag @Bandit's Mom to help you with the SS and signature Helga
 
Last edited:
Hi Bron, Toby was eating lots, when he had to be rushed into the hospital. I think he was starved in the hospital, because they gave him Hill's Diet and he took all day to eat one lot. When he came home, he looked for food. I fed him well, but not all day long as I did not realize I should. The vet will be coming on Tuesday and maybe she will tell me more. So far I cannot test for ketones, but I will try to get test strips. I am still not sure about the Blood Glucose levels. Is there any chart, which explains, where the normal range should be?? This morning he tested 17.6 (on the Libre freestyle). I was told not to give him insulin, when the reading is under 18. I was told to see, if it goes up after he had food. It went up to 18.6, but the Vet told me to skip the insulin until tonight. The Vet will also discuss supplies with me. Thanks for all your help. Do you still hve a cat??? Helga
 
I have asked @Bandit's Mom to help you with the spreadsheet. Can you stay online so she can contact you and set it up tonight please.
From our experience a lot of vets don’t tell their clients what to do at home after DKA.
I sometimes wonder if they know what to do.
Absolutely you need to be testing every day at the moment for ketones to ensure that if any ketones come back we can deal with them.
So please get the bottle of Ketostix or DiaKetostix I told you about as soon as you can.


Also I am dismayed that the vet told you to skip the dose when the BG was 18.6
It is so important not to skip doses after DKA as it is insulin and food that stops the ketones coming back.
When was the last time you gave the dose of insulin? Please don’t skip again…come online and ask us.

The normal BG levels for a cat are 2.8 to 6.6
We would get you to give the dose if it was above 11
If it was lower than 11 we would get you to stall for 20 minutes to see if the BG was rising.
Or we could give some higher carb food and get you to give the dose.
The important thing is to make sure he gets some insulin.
What dose is Toby on of insulin now? and confirming he is on Glargine insulin.
I will wait for your reply?
Bron

Also keep giving him lots of feed please!
 
Hi Bron, thanks so much for all the information. Toby was hospitalized after the ketoacidosis until Saturday (altogether for two days) and they did not mention any problem, when they told me, that he could come home. Toby gets Glargine, 2 IU, in a pen.
I will have to interrupt my online session, because a home help will be arriving shortly. Tomorrow the Vet will be coming and I will send a text to ask her to bring Ketostix or Diaketostix. Toby this morning was 15.6 before I fed him (7 am), He ate and it was 19.6 at 7.40 and at 7.55 it was 23.6 (I wanted to see the trend) He then had his injection 2 IU. Toby then caught a mouse. At 9.30 he was 22.4. At 11.50 18.6. Thanks again Helga
 
I am sorry, but I cannot do the spreadsheet now, because I have to prepare for the home help.
 
Hi Bron, thanks again. I have given all the details to Bandit's Mum. I could not come on line earlier, because I also received my weekly online delivery and unfortunately, the Fancy Feast pate was missing. It took me a while to sort things out with Woolies and get at least a refund. I asked the office of my Vet and she might bring Ketone sticks, if she can get them. We are in lockdown and I cannot get to the Chemist easily. Normally, people will bring my medications (it is a constant struggle to get them) as I do not drive. Toby is on a Glargine pen 2 IU (100 IU pen). He wears a Libre Freestyle disk at the moment and I have a reader on loan from the hospital. Could you please let me know, how I can get the urine for the ketone strips (If I can get them). I used the perl litter to get the last sample, but I had to use the whole packet (there is not much in it). I generally use Catlux litter, which he likes (when he came at the beginning 2017 he had not used kitty litter before. However, he kindly used a newspaper he found on the floor. I showed him our kitty litter (we had another cat then and it was her box) and he understood, what he was meant to do. He actually has two litter boxes now, because he likes one for Number one and the other for number 2. He does not like his litter changed (I have tried it). The Vet will come tomorrow and hopefully sort out, what I will have to do. I am not sure, whether she will get me another Libre Set (implant and reader). She also has to order things. Unfortunately, the Office of the Vet is a long way away, because my local mobile Vet did not want to treat potential diabetes. An Express parcel reached me on Wednesday afternoon (although it was posted on Friday morning). I was also going to discuss the food with the Vet. Meanwhile I followed your advice and fed him more. It was unfortunate that the Pate was missing and I had to give him other cat food. I will also not stop the insulin unless he goes below 11.
I was Hyperthyroid about twenty years ago and at the time I belonged to a group and they helped me a lot. I am still in remission, but I really believe that groups are very important and I am therefore glad that I was accepted as a member.
Thanks again for all your information. Helga
 
Hi Helga, I am so glad Bhooma was able to help you with the spreadsheet and the signature….fantastic!
Were you able to get Woolies to send you more fancy feast? How frustrating.
Do you have a friend who could pick up some fancy feast for you? Do you have enough food for him?
Do you think the chemist would deliver the ketostix to you? They don’t need to know it is for Toby.

I know how hard it can be with the lockdown getting things.

Meanwhile I followed your advice and fed him more.
That is good. Keep feeding him a lot of food as it’s the food (and the insulin) that stops the ketones forming again.


I will also not stop the insulin unless he goes below 11.
Helga, even if the BG is below 11, please don’t stop giving the insulin. If this happens, stall, dont feed Toby and see what the BG is 20 or 30 minutes later. It will most likely go up. And post and ask for help. Keeping giving the insulin is so important in kitties that have just had DKA.
 
Hi Bron, unfortunately Toby's ears were cut off, but at least it is a photo. I will follow your advice. Our Chemist knows our family well. He will only personally deliver a missing medication on rare occasions after hours. Otherwise there is no delivery. I get a driver (carer) with a car for two hours every second Thursday (I hope the lockdown does not affect this) and I will try and pick up Fancy Feast from Woolies. It was really annoying, because all other items were there. I have a couple of cans left and lots of other food (e.g. Whiskas Chicken Jelly, Dine Pure Tuna Whitemeat, Ultimates). I also have other cat food, but I will need to investigate, whether it is low carb or not. Toby likes Fancy Feast, Turkey/Cheddar and Chicken Cheddar. I suppose the Cheese is not ok? I also have some Applaws. Due to lockdowns, I had to keep a lot of food. I also have Friskies pouches, but I need to find out, whether he can eat them. By the way, do I need to keep the pen in the fridge? I was told to do it, but then I read, that it is not necessary. Take care and stay safe and thanks again Helga P.S. The spreadsheet has been set up, but I am not yet sure, how to enter data. I have looked at it and read the instructions.
 
Oh you scared me….i thought you meant Toby’s ears had been cut off really!!
He’s a beautiful boy!
Until you can get the fancy feast, don’t worry about want you feed him. Just give him what ever he will eat. That is much more important than making sure it is low carb. That can be sorted out later.just make sure he eats and eats a lot please

did you read how to use the spreadsheet?
SPREADSHEET HOW TO USE IT
If you can’t figure it out I’ll ask @Bandit's Mom to help you as she has access to your spreadsheet.

Just tell me if you need help.
You are doing a great job Helga, with all the obstacles that are in your way.
Have you been vaccinated against Covid yet?
 
Hi Helga,

If you have all his test data for the last 2-3 days written down somewhere and can send it to me, I could enter it into the SS for you.
If you have a smartphone, you could take a photo of it and send it to me on FB Messenger. Would save you the trouble of typing it out for me.
If you remember, you contacted me on FB when I added you to our FB group.
 
Hi Bandit' Mum, thanks so much. I will make a list and send it to you. I just saw you on FB Messenger again. I do not use it very much and therefore I did not look. I think I will be able to follow it, if I see an example. By the way, I am not sure, whether I am staying on the Libre for another period. This one will run out in a week, I was told by the Hospital (who set it up). As my Vet is coming tomorrow, I will know more then. Helga
 
Hi Bandit' Mum, thanks so much. I will make a list and send it to you. I just saw you on FB Messenger again. I do not use it very much and therefore I did not look. I think I will be able to follow it, if I see an example. By the way, I am not sure, whether I am staying on the Libre for another period. This one will run out in a week, I was told by the Hospital (who set it up). As my Vet is coming tomorrow, I will know more then. Helga
If you don’t stay on the libre, we can help you learn to test Toby. I wouldn’t like to see him not get any tests done. It is the only way really to make sure they are safe.
You sound like a very resourceful lady Helga.
 
Hi Bron, I have read the SS instructions and some of it is clear, but not all. Bandit's Mum will help, if I send her the data. I am not sure, whether I will stay on Libre. It only will last about a week and then it will have to be implanted again. Toby has a big collar at the moment and he does not like it. I think it is a bit too high. I just fed him again. By the way, I just remembered, that the hospital told me that Toby did not eat on Friday (they gave him Hill's, probably dry food, which he never liked). When I rang in the evening I informed them about this fact and the next morning they gave him Hill's wet food (which he also disliked), but in the course of the day, he nibbled away on it and probably ate about 1/2 pouch. Similar on Saturday. When he came home, he was absolutely famished. By the way, did I mention that on Saturday morning he had Hypoglycemia and therefore he could not be moved in the morning, but had to be stabilized again. Later in the morning he picked up. Helga
 
Hi Bandit's Mum, I was reading that there are gadgets, similar to a pen, which can be used to draw the blood. Is there one you would recommend? Helga
 
Hi Bron, I have read the SS instructions and some of it is clear, but not all. Bandit's Mum will help, if I send her the data. I am not sure, whether I will stay on Libre. It only will last about a week and then it will have to be implanted again. Toby has a big collar at the moment and he does not like it. I think it is a bit too high. I just fed him again. By the way, I just remembered, that the hospital told me that Toby did not eat on Friday (they gave him Hill's, probably dry food, which he never liked). When I rang in the evening I informed them about this fact and the next morning they gave him Hill's wet food (which he also disliked), but in the course of the day, he nibbled away on it and probably ate about 1/2 pouch. Similar on Saturday. When he came home, he was absolutely famished. By the way, did I mention that on Saturday morning he had Hypoglycemia and therefore he could not be moved in the morning, but had to be stabilized again. Later in the morning he picked up. Helga
Yes I remember you told me this earlier. His blood glucose probably dropped lower because he wasn’t eating. And I hope they reduced the dose after that.


Hi Bandit's Mum, I was reading that there are gadgets, similar to a pen, which can be used to draw the blood. Is there one you would recommend? Helga
Yes, you can use a lancet device which can prick the ear, then you put the drop onto a meter which reads the blood and gives a result. I would recommend getting a human meter. Not a pet meter as they are too expensive to run. We can look at those over the next couple of days as you have another week on the libre.
This link will show you how to test and give you hints.
HOMETESTING HINTS AND TIPS
 
Hi Bron, can I also ask the question, whether there is a gadget, which makes it easier to get blood. Like the Glargine pen?? Helga P.S. Should I keep the Glargine pen in the fridge?
 
Today the Vet came. Toby also has a Urinary Tract Infection, which made him Insulin resistant (My Vet meanwhile received the documents from the Hospital). I have been giving Toby an Antibiotic (until Thursday). However, the Vet told me, that she might consider a stronger one, if it does not clear up. She showed me the Acu Check kit and she will supply me with one and also get me lancets/needles etc. I was also told, that in Toby's case it might be advisable to implant another Libre disk, so that I can monitor him easily for another two weeks. I am also getting a test kit for ketones and glucose. As it is very difficult for me to get the things, she will drop some in tomorrow and the rest next week (another visit has been scheduled). The Postal System does not work very well during lockdowns. She also suggested to put him on the Royal Canine wet food and she will bring some. I did not have time to worry about the SS yet, because my phone was switched to another plan and I spend hours trying to sort it out (it still isn't). Thanks again. I will looking at the above. Helga
 
Hi Bron, I started to look at some of the videos. They are very helpful. Helga
 
Hi Helga, it sounds as if your vet is being very helpful. That is good.
It might be a good idea to get another libre disc for 2 weeks until you get sorted out with the hometesting.
Yes you can keep the pen in the fridge..

In relation to the SS, just send @Bandit's Mom a photo of the BG you have collected and she can put them all it the SS. It is really important that we can see how the insulin is affecting Toby’s BG levels so we can help you with the dose.
Almost all of the Royal Canin wet food is higher carb. I’m assuming she is bringing the glycobalance which is 14 carbs which is too high for a diabetic cat, but short term while you get sorted with the fancy feast it should be OK. But it will keep the BG levels higher.

Is Toby still eating really well Helga?
Bron
 
Hi Bron, can I also ask the question, whether there is a gadget, which makes it easier to get blood. Like the Glargine pen?? Helga
You can prick the eat with a lancet device but then you have to transfer the dro0 of blood onto a test strip that is in the glucose meter.

She showed me the Acu Check kit and she will supply me with one and also get me lancets/needles etc. I
That is a good glucose meter. I like your vet, she is being very helpful.
 
Hi Bron, Toby is eating very well. He would eat all day. I now give him something he does not like as much inbetween and he nibbles on it, while he eats everything else immediately. Thanks for the hints and that it is a good meter. Unfortunately, I have to go, because I have to sort out my phone. I recharged and have a receipt, but the credit is zero and I am getting a warning. I have spend hours already Helga
 
Hi Bandit's Mum, I am not sure, if this is the best place to send some of the data for the spreadsheet.
I will therefore just make a start
Saturday 20/8 - discharged from animal hospital.
19.30 20.8 mol
19.40 21.2
22.00 15.6
Sunday, 21/8
7.25 17.6 (I gave no insulin, but would not do it again. Vet told me under 18 no insulin, but I learnt from the group, it should be under 11)
8.10 18.5
9.10 18.07
9.55 21.1
10.30 19.8
12.00 20.8
14.30 24.9
15.30 23.2
16.40 21.0
19.00 21.1
20.45 21.0
21.45 16.10
Do you think that this format is ok for you. Thanks for your help. Helga
 
Hi Bron, I did a dreadful thing. I did not prime the pen. I am not even sure, it was on 2. I looked it up on the Internet and there were entries from Feline Diabetes and it stated that I should not give another injection. I was distracted. I am hoping, it will never happen again, but do you think it is ok to just leave it? Helga
 
Hi Bron, I did a dreadful thing. I did not prime the pen. I am not even sure, it was on 2. I looked it up on the Internet and there were entries from Feline Diabetes and it stated that I should not give another injection. I was distracted. I am hoping, it will never happen again, but do you think it is ok to just leave it? Helga
I’m not sure what your mean? What did you actually do? Do you mean you gave a dose without priming the pen and you are not sure if it was 2 units?
You didn’t give a second dose did you? Never ever give a second dose.
 
Hi Bandit's Mum, I am not sure, if this is the best place to send some of the data for the spreadsheet.
I will therefore just make a start
Saturday 20/8 - discharged from animal hospital.
19.30 20.8 mol
19.40 21.2
22.00 15.6
Sunday, 21/8
7.25 17.6 (I gave no insulin, but would not do it again. Vet told me under 18 no insulin, but I learnt from the group, it should be under 11)
8.10 18.5
9.10 18.07
9.55 21.1
10.30 19.8
12.00 20.8
14.30 24.9
15.30 23.2
16.40 21.0
19.00 21.1
20.45 21.0
21.45 16.10
Do you think that this format is ok for you. Thanks for your help. Helga
Hi Helga, this is fine. What is the time at which you shoot Toby. 7:30 am/pm?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top