Kiera
Member Since 2021
Dx was a month ago. 2 units lantus (2x daily). I wasn’t home testing. Didn’t know I was supposed to be.
A few days ago my cat became very lethargic and seemed “off”. Vet was closed so I did my own research, found this site and learned about home testing.
Purchased One Touch meter immediately that night (I had a feeling something was wrong)
BG READINGS / DOSAGE
9/3/2021
• AM 2 units lantus given - purchased meter that night
• *** IMPORTANT!!! ***
Very FIRST time testing BG at +9 was 65 mg/dL
*skipped PM dose
9/4/2021
• AMPS 140
• AM 0.25u given (almost nothing)
• skipped PM dose
9/5/2021
• AMPS 139
• AM 0.25u (almost nothing)
• skipped PM dose
9/6/2021
• AMPS 124
• skipped both doses
9/7/2021
• AMPS 121
• skipped AM dose
Do I skip PM again??
MISC. OBSERVATIONS
•still peeing large amounts even though BG numbers are lower and urine strips are negative for glucose (glucose is on the same strips for testing ketones, which I was told to do)
•9/1 — 9/4/2021 seemed to have VERY noticeable increase in appetite (due to possible hypo?), lethargic, looked “off”
•decrease in appetite 9/6/2021 — present
QUESTIONS
Should I keep withholding insulin or am I making a mistake?
What does this all mean? Besides the fact that I got incredibly lucky. This could have been very tragic had I not tested when I did
A few days ago my cat became very lethargic and seemed “off”. Vet was closed so I did my own research, found this site and learned about home testing.
Purchased One Touch meter immediately that night (I had a feeling something was wrong)
BG READINGS / DOSAGE
9/3/2021
• AM 2 units lantus given - purchased meter that night
• *** IMPORTANT!!! ***
Very FIRST time testing BG at +9 was 65 mg/dL
*skipped PM dose
9/4/2021
• AMPS 140
• AM 0.25u given (almost nothing)
• skipped PM dose
9/5/2021
• AMPS 139
• AM 0.25u (almost nothing)
• skipped PM dose
9/6/2021
• AMPS 124
• skipped both doses
9/7/2021
• AMPS 121
• skipped AM dose
Do I skip PM again??
MISC. OBSERVATIONS
•still peeing large amounts even though BG numbers are lower and urine strips are negative for glucose (glucose is on the same strips for testing ketones, which I was told to do)
•9/1 — 9/4/2021 seemed to have VERY noticeable increase in appetite (due to possible hypo?), lethargic, looked “off”
•decrease in appetite 9/6/2021 — present
QUESTIONS
Should I keep withholding insulin or am I making a mistake?
What does this all mean? Besides the fact that I got incredibly lucky. This could have been very tragic had I not tested when I did
Last edited:
Here’s the link to the directions. If you need help let us know and we can help you!