New to the PZ ISG, still learning the steps of this dance.

Do you think it will be a detriment to him getting to remission?
No, I do not.

One more...is he dropping to low?
Maybe. That is why I want you to switch to the 1 drop dose for tonight.
His pattern looks to nadir in the the high 60’s and come right back up, is this too low?
60 is a bit low for Prozinc. I'd rather see him a tad higher, nadir around 70 or so.

So now, do you think I should change his dose to one drop tonight? Or base it off his pmps number? What should that number be if I were to lower the dose? Last nights pmps was pretty low, but I made sure to test him a few times mid cycle. He was great, playing and cuddling, the whole night.
Yes, 1 drop tonight.
I would not give more than 1 drop for now on a pre-shot BG <110.

Lucky Sirius with the hugs! Bet the BF was jealous.

p.s. He may be getting close to OTJ trial. But 1 drop dose first.
 
No, I do not.


Maybe. That is why I want you to switch to the 1 drop dose for tonight.
60 is a bit low for Prozinc. I'd rather see him a tad higher, nadir around 70 or so.


Yes, 1 drop tonight.
I would not give more than 1 drop for now on a pre-shot BG <110.

Lucky Sirius with the hugs! Bet the BF was jealous.


p.s. He may be getting close to OTJ trial. But 1 drop dose first.
Hmm, his last 3 cycles he was above the 110, but only just slightly. Tonight’s pmps will be a ponderous one. Lol.

The bf hasn’t been around, it’s just me and kitteh.

Wouldn’t that be lovely!
 
Let's see if I can help you understand Prozinc a bit better.

Prozinc has 2 component parts. 1 faster acting, 1 slower acting.
That is what gives Prozinc it's longer duration. 10-14 hours.
Similar to Lantus, but not as long a duration, so less overlap.
But it does happen sometimes, the overlap from 1 dose to the next.

Now, because of those 2 component parts of Prozinc insulin, there can be a 2nd dip in the BG numbers later in the cycle. Doesn't happen with all cats, nor at all doses. But sometimes.

So a test later in the 12 hour Prozinc cycle can be helpful. To see if Sirius gets that 2nd dip. Realize you might not be home then, but a test somewhere in the +8 to +10 time frame can help you see that 2nd dip. If it's happening. Any day you get home from work before the +8 to +10 time.

Got to love it, because it is helping Sirius. No matter how complicated this sugardance is.

Next day off from work, you should do another curve. But test every 2 hours starting at your +1 and then every 2 hours after that. So +1, +3, +5, +7, +9, +11 and throw in at test at +8 or +10 if Sirius lets you. Yes, it's a lot of testing, and Sirius's ears look like crap. But it's going to help him in the long run.
 
Let's see if I can help you understand Prozinc a bit better.

Prozinc has 2 component parts. 1 faster acting, 1 slower acting.
That is what gives Prozinc it's longer duration. 10-14 hours.
Similar to Lantus, but not as long a duration, so less overlap.
But it does happen sometimes, the overlap from 1 dose to the next.

Now, because of those 2 component parts of Prozinc insulin, there can be a 2nd dip in the BG numbers later in the cycle. Doesn't happen with all cats, nor at all doses. But sometimes.

So a test later in the 12 hour Prozinc cycle can be helpful. To see if Sirius gets that 2nd dip. Realize you might not be home then, but a test somewhere in the +8 to +10 time frame can help you see that 2nd dip. If it's happening. Any day you get home from work before the +8 to +10 time.

Got to love it, because it is helping Sirius. No matter how complicated this sugardance is.

Next day off from work, you should do another curve. But test every 2 hours starting at your +1 and then every 2 hours after that. So +1, +3, +5, +7, +9, +11 and throw in at test at +8 or +10 if Sirius lets you. Yes, it's a lot of testing, and Sirius's ears look like crap. But it's going to help him in the long run.
I didn’t know that the PZ has 2 components. That’s very enlightening, thank you.
So I’m thinking that Sirius does get a second dip. It seems as though he dips right around the +11 hour mark. I was wondering why his number is slightly lower at that time.

Ugh, I’m not sure when I’ll be able to get another curve. Not this weekend, unfortunately. Maybe next weekend?
 
Yeah, Krystie. Good not bad.

It's why we have you doing the drop dosing with Prozinc.
Because Sirius is thisclosetoremission.
I was just really confused because his number dropped after the stall. I honestly just thought he was messing with me. Lol. And I was surprised about the drop because he fought me so much for both tests. I though they would have rose because of the stress.
 
Yeah, Krystie. Good not bad.

It's why we have you doing the drop dosing with Prozinc.
Because Sirius is thisclosetoremission.
I was just really confused because his number dropped after the stall. I honestly just thought he was messing with me. Lol. And I was surprised about the drop because he fought me so much for both tests. I though they would have rose
 
So normal numbers....? It’s anything <150, right?
Should I stick to the one drop dose for numbers at or below as preshot of 110 still? (Sticking to the one drop dose for a bit)
Or not shoot again tomorrow if his amps is below the “normal” 150?
 
Normal numbers are anything < 120 without insulin.

Tightly regulated - generally below 150 (8.3) and usually in the 60-120 (3.3-6.7) range, no hypoglycemia, still receiving insulin
Normalized - 60-120 (3.3-6.7) except perhaps directly after meals -- usually not receiving insulin

Krystie, please remember to get at least 1 BG test in the PM cycle AFTER the pre-shot test. One more test before you go to bed. Skipped shot or not, one more test please. Pretty please with sugar on top as we used to say when I was a kid. Which I barely remember.
 
Normal numbers are anything < 120 without insulin.

Tightly regulated - generally below 150 (8.3) and usually in the 60-120 (3.3-6.7) range, no hypoglycemia, still receiving insulin
Normalized - 60-120 (3.3-6.7) except perhaps directly after meals -- usually not receiving insulin

Krystie, please remember to get at least 1 BG test in the PM cycle AFTER the pre-shot test. One more test before you go to bed. Skipped shot or not, one more test please. Pretty please with sugar on top as we used to say when I was a kid. Which I barely remember.
Oooh, so Sirius is tightly regulated at the moment. That is very encouraging.
I’m not sure what’s going on with him lately, but he’s been very combative, especially at night. Maybe he’s just had enough of the daytime tests that by night time he fights me really badly. He’s also been pulling his fur out, in chunks. He actually woke me up at 4am puking on my bed next to me. I thought the fur pulling was stress because of my personal life effecting him, but I’ve eliminated the main stressor 2 days ago, and he’s still pulling his fur out. I’m hoping it’s not an allergy developing. But he’s only pulling out his undercoat, like on his chest and stomach area. I just don’t know... :(
I’ll have to try to stay awake for more night time testing.
 
Is the fur pulling because it's shedding season? Or because he is matted?
Redness on his belly area?


Puking food or hairball or foamy type stuff?
I’ve been trying to figure it out. There doesn’t seem to be any irritation of any sort, no redness or wounds. I was starting to think it was because the weather here was unseasonably warm for a few days. I thought maybe he was getting ready to blow his winter coat. But, it’s turned bone chilling cold again, and he’s still doing it. That and he’s never done this before. Ever. And it’s so much! So so much! He will actually stop mid walk or playing to tear out a few tufts. I’m finding areas of tufts of fur all over my house. And of course now he’s getting hairballs from it.

The vomit it mostly hair, some bile. He’s always been a puker. He’d go through a week or so of vomiting once a day, or more, then just suddenly stop for months. No changes to ever warrant it, just random pukes. It was a mix of undigested food, and then sometimes just loads of bite. But now it’s just huge hairballs.

I’m considering shaving him. Just where he’s pulling the fur from. :blackeye:
 
Hi Krystie! Okay, every cat is different, but Billy has had this hair pulling out before, so I thought I would tell you about his issues. Billy has asthma and allergies. One of the things he is allergic too is fleas. Even though I couldn't find any fleas on him, he must have had at least one, and that is all it takes. Billy seemed fine except for the pulling his hair out in tufts. Took him to the vet, vet said it was an allergic reaction, and that his skin had gotten infected. Antibiotic, flea treatment, and no more pulling out of fur. Now if I see him even start to pull out fur, I give him a flea treatment just to be safe. (and to be clear, even with the skin infection, we saw no redness or sign of irritation. His skin did feel too hot though)

Now, Siirus might not be allergic to fleas, but he could have some sort of allergic reaction causing his skin to irritate him so much he's pulling fur out. If you can, take him to the vet and ask them to check for signs of skin infection. That's what had Bill tearing out patches until he was getting bald in places. You could also talk to vet about maybe Sirius trying an allergy tablet like Zyrtec, if the vet thinks it could be allergy related. Billy takes half a Zyrtec once a day, and it really helps. (and the generic over the counter brand is cheap.) You might also try giving him a flea treatment, even if he doesn't look like he has fleas. One that also kills skin-biting mites is a plus.

I know this might not be what's effecting Sirius, but it's worth looking into.
 
Hi Krystie! Okay, every cat is different, but Billy has had this hair pulling out before, so I thought I would tell you about his issues. Billy has asthma and allergies. One of the things he is allergic too is fleas. Even though I couldn't find any fleas on him, he must have had at least one, and that is all it takes. Billy seemed fine except for the pulling his hair out in tufts. Took him to the vet, vet said it was an allergic reaction, and that his skin had gotten infected. Antibiotic, flea treatment, and no more pulling out of fur. Now if I see him even start to pull out fur, I give him a flea treatment just to be safe. (and to be clear, even with the skin infection, we saw no redness or sign of irritation. His skin did feel too hot though)

Now, Siirus might not be allergic to fleas, but he could have some sort of allergic reaction causing his skin to irritate him so much he's pulling fur out. If you can, take him to the vet and ask them to check for signs of skin infection. That's what had Bill tearing out patches until he was getting bald in places. You could also talk to vet about maybe Sirius trying an allergy tablet like Zyrtec, if the vet thinks it could be allergy related. Billy takes half a Zyrtec once a day, and it really helps. (and the generic over the counter brand is cheap.) You might also try giving him a flea treatment, even if he doesn't look like he has fleas. One that also kills skin-biting mites is a plus.

I know this might not be what's effecting Sirius, but it's worth looking into.
Hmm, that’s definitely worth a shot! I still have some Advantage left I can give him. I recently moved, and my landlord (god love him, he’s so kind) feeds some strays. Well two of them like to try to sneak into my place whenever they can, so I gave Sirius a flea treatment just in case. My landlord told me he does treat them for fleas, so Sirius hasn’t had a treatment since September. (Well October since I gave him his advantage in September) I’ll definitely try that and see what happens.
Oddly enough he does have allergies. Spring allergies! Every spring he starts sneezing like crazy. Sometimes his eyes will water as well. But in about 3-4 weeks it clears up and he’s over it. But, he’s never pulled his fur out from it. Maybe the warm weather here kicked up some other allergens. If the advantage doesn’t work I’ll bring him to the vet.
Thanks, Juls!
 
Omg, I just went home quick to check on Sirius and his BG was 86 @ +5. This was a little confusing to me as his amps test he was at 102, and I decided not to shoot. But I think I gave his his insulin! I’m sitting here racking my brain, and I think I was on autopilot and shot the one drop. It’s the only explanation. He seemed fine though. There was a very small amount of vomit when I came in. It looked like just liquid ff; Completely liquid, and dark brown like the food. (Not something I’ve seen before though) I noticed that he barely ate any additional food since I left this morning, but he meandered out to his bowl when I went to the kitchen. I gave him a bite of ff Purely Natural Tuna treat and he went over to his bow like he was going to eat more. I didn’t stay long enough to make sure.
I’m just freaking out thinking what his BG could have dropped to while I was at work. But, he didn’t eat what was left for him, so maybe he wasn’t too low? Ahhh, I’m so mad at myself!
 
Remember, cats can be producing a bit of insulin on their own.

Some people put 2 insulin syringes in a mug or container next to the insulin shot area.
That can help them to remember if they gave the shot or not.
Simply load the mug with 2 insulin syringes for the day.
If you still see only one syringe in the mug, you know you gave at least one shot that day.
Memory aid. We need them when we are really busy.

I do notes, lots and lots of sticky notes.
Or pages of notes on my "to do's list" for the day.

p.s. Thread is getting long. Please start a new thread next time and link this old one at the top.
 
Remember, cats can be producing a bit of insulin on their own.

Some people put 2 insulin syringes in a mug or container next to the insulin shot area.
That can help them to remember if they gave the shot or not.
Simply load the mug with 2 insulin syringes for the day.
If you still see only one syringe in the mug, you know you gave at least one shot that day.
Memory aid. We need them when we are really busy.

I do notes, lots and lots of sticky notes.
Or pages of notes on my "to do's list" for the day.

p.s. Thread is getting long. Please start a new thread next time and link this old one at the top.
I’m pretty certain at this point I gave him the shot :banghead:
 
Try not to worry. He's got food out and will want to eat if his number drops anymore. And like Deb said, his pancreas could just be making some extra insulin today, even if you didn't give the shot. And you are on a super low dose, and that helps as well.
 
Hi Krystie! Sirius seems to be doing great, huh? Paws crossed for y'all!!
Thanks, Kerri! I’m still concerned with those 100’s, but I’m starting to think maybe that’s just “normal”. He’s fine everywhere else: The three P’s, cuddling, less water consumption, and he’s playing and getting random zoomies; he’s doing fantastic!
 
Hi Krystie,

Moderators are reminding me to ask people to keep posts down to 50 replies.
When you have a chance, from working those back to back double shifts to keep those trucks picking up goods to restock our stores, would you please start a new thread.

Thanks, Deb, the "bad traffic cop".
 
Back
Top