New to the Forum. I need your expertise

Status
Not open for further replies.
yeah, I wanted to know exactly where the nadir was. I may overdid it a bit ^_^!

So the PMPS is 180 now. Maybe 1 UI instead of 1'5 UI?
 
Very nice! The 1U was a good decision.

Just know that nadir is not always the same. Sometimes when they break a bounce, the nadir is later than usual. I'm not sure if that's what happened today.

Technically the 88 today would be a dose reduction down to 1.25U.
 
@Vicky & Sharess and anyone who hasn't figured it out yet.
Click on anyone's avatar, near the top left you'll see Members, click on that and on the right side will appear today's birthdays.
For anyone who never thought they'd get "old" here (me) once you've entered your birthday it's too late.
I was just a wee lad when I joined, now my knees creak, my back hurts and
I urinate frequently! :oops: :eek: o_O
 
Thanks for your comment @Sienne and Gabby (GA) . the PMPS just gave 478. Today we didn't test the glucose much (Only in the +6) so I can't be sure when the numbers started rising. I hope she can stabilize soon...

btw, I checked your signature and I saw all Gabby's profile and legacy... I couldn't stop crying. I am so sorry for your lost. She really was special :(
 
@Sienne and Gabby (GA) I totally feel you. I lost my first 2 cats on 2013 and 2014 because of cancer after 13 and 14 wonderful years together and in a 8 months interval of time between each other... I still cry a lot when I remember the last moments.

Our babies take a piece of our hearts with them when they leave us, but they are pure magic, pure unconditional love and pure feelings. They tiptoe majestically and sneak into our beings, giving us their gentle imprint forever. Their existence is a precious gift that warm the soul and I think we are so lucky that they accept us in their lives...
 
Today Sharess peed on herself and the AMPS indicated "Hi". We guess she bounced again.... So frustrated :(

We went to a vet specialize in cats and she took her blood to make an exhaustive analysis and look for possible pancreatitis. will see in a few days...

However, the worse part was being in the vet and listen a conversation between a cat owner and the vet. The man was in the clinic without the cat saying that his 4 years old cat didn't want to eat for 4 days and he was bleeding from his butt. The vet told him that they were about to close and that he should go to emergencies tonight because it seens really urgent. She even told him the list of the 24h clinics he could go, but instead fo listen to the vet, the owner said "well, I will wait until tomorrow...When do you open?" How come people can be so irresponsible? poor kitty. It will probably die... :(

I go out of my way every time my cats are sick, even if it's not super serious... there are owners who don't deserve their pets :mad:
 
Last edited:
owners who don't deserve their pets :mad:
We basically stole two of our cats from neighbors down the street who kept getting their kids new cats like used stuffed animals from Goodwill. Every month there would be a new dead cat on our busy street. The entire neighborhood knew our little secret and didn't say a word. There were no posters for missing cats, they weren't neutered or micro-chipped. One followed me and our dog home, the other had shown up at our back door freezing and soaking wet.
 
Our vet just told us that we are doing really good with Sharess, but she is a complicated case. Is this true? I mean, I can compare with other Spreadsheets, but I am not an expert. I can see that numbers are super high sometimes, but I cannot know if most cases in this forum have this kind of dificulties at the begining :banghead:
 
I need advice. How long does it take for the doses to regulate?
This is one of the great mysteries of the universe because every cat is different.
Our first cat had textbook numbers and curves but the second was just a mess for years. Some cats will go into remission like it never happened and others, maybe like Sharess, just want to see you tear your hair out. It's been less than two weeks since you asked the question I just quoted. You also mentioned possible pancreatitis. Give it some time, it's happened to most of us.
 
Last edited:
Thanks a lot. I just wanted to be sure. Our vet confessed us that he doesn't know much about diabetes because diabetes in cats is super rare. After reading a lot, I dont think is that rare, this is the reason we decided to look for a second opinion 2 days ago, especially since today he told us that we should only give her dry food. Still don't know about the pancreatitis results. I will tell you as soon as possible.

Thanks a lot for your conforting words <3
 
It depends on your definition of 'rare'. The standard internet answer is between 0.2% and 1% so at least 1 in 500 and at most 1 in 100. At least he's honest enough to admit not knowing as much as he could and that's not his fault. It's not well taught in veterinary colleges and techs know even less.
That advice about dry food is why people come here. Some people have been told not to test, to feed exactly this many grams 12 hours apart and that only a clinic can do a curve for $500. I'm still waiting for someone to say they've been told to howl at the moon after sacrificing a goat.
Prozinc wasn't even approved until 2009 in the US so both my cats were on Caninsulin. In the late 70's I dated a diabetic girl who had a meter like the one below. It even has an AC adapter, I wonder if it gets HBO.
Qué monstruo. ¡Es más grande que mi automóvil!

meter003.jpg
 

Attachments

  • meter003.jpg
    meter003.jpg
    10.4 KB · Views: 486
It depends on your definition of 'rare'. The standard internet answer is between 0.2% and 1% so at least 1 in 500 and at most 1 in 100. At least he's honest enough to admit not knowing as much as he could and that's not his fault. It's not well taught in veterinary colleges and techs know even less.
That advice about dry food is why people come here. Some people have been told not to test, to feed exactly this many grams 12 hours apart and that only a clinic can do a curve for $500. I'm still waiting for someone to say they've been told to howl at the moon after sacrificing a goat.
Prozinc wasn't even approved until 2009 in the US so both my cats were on Caninsulin. In the late 70's I dated a diabetic girl who had a meter like the one below. It even has an AC adapter, I wonder if it gets HBO.
Qué monstruo. ¡Es más grande que mi automóvil!

View attachment 66072


I'm just here to add that I love your comments the more I read them LOL :joyful:
 
wow, thanks again for your answer. all diabetes world is crazy and this machine you posted is indeed bigger than my car!

My vet is nice and I am thankful that he took our case. Before being a vet, he was our friend when we were teenagers. He says that, in other circunstances, he would have referred the case to a colleague, but Sharess is like family and he talks to me by whatsaap and consult the case with other vets to tell me the right think to do... I can't ask him for more, but it doesn't mean that I wanted to ask for a second, or third opinion ^_^!
 
Our vet just told us that we are doing really good with Sharess, but she is a complicated case. Is this true? I mean, I can compare with other Spreadsheets, but I am not an expert. I can see that numbers are super high sometimes, but I cannot know if most cases in this forum have this kind of dificulties at the begining :banghead:
I am going to tag Melissa for you to take a look at your SS , I see Sharess dropped under 90 on 1-4 during the AM cycle, asking Melissa if you should have reduced the insulin since you are following SLGS
@FrostD
 
Thanks @Diane Tyler's Mom. The results from the new vet just arrived today and she say there is no sing of pancreatitis and the frutosamine droped from 554 to 398. We will go on Tuesday to check the orine and see possible infection. She wants to use antibiotics preventively, just in case the diabetes is caused by an unknow infection. What do you think? I am going to update my SS with the new lab results.
 
Thanks @Diane Tyler's Mom. The results from the new vet just arrived today and she say there is no sing of pancreatitis and the frutosamine droped from 554 to 398. We will go on Tuesday to check the orine and see possible infection. She wants to use antibiotics preventively, just in case the diabetes is caused by an unknow infection. What do you think? I am going to update my SS with the new lab results.
Well that's great news , I'm no expert when it comes to this , sorry, but I will tag Melissa again about this since she's a prozinc user
@FrostD
 
Would you mind starting a new thread please as this one is getting a bit too long, thanks.
Don’t forget to link this thread to the new one for continuity.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top