C
Carl & Polly & Bob (GA)
Thanks for the update Kevin!


Just a quick note out of concern (as a longtime AlphaTrak user): Don't understand why your vet has you shooting Bandit at numbers this low
(I'm referring to 11/24's AMPS of 119 & today's AMPS of 81). BOTH numbers are well within normal limits on a human meter; on an AlphaTrak2 these are EXTREMELY low #s. Even though I've been treating a diabetic cat since 2013 & have consistently tested at mid-cycle, I do not shoot if my cat is below 150 on the AlphaTrak --- and when I do, I am always able to monitor her around her nadir-drop time.
Shooting this low is very risky business (in my humble opinion). I have no idea what your vet is thinking, but I know my own vet would tell me not to shoot at these numbers!) Again, just posting this to you out of a sincere concern for your kitty's continued good health.![]()
Absolutely!Woodsy Wife, you are using Lantus, not ProZinc. They are dosed differently. Lantus is a depot insulin that has longer, flatter cycles and you do shoot at lower numbers. ProZinc is an in and out insulin and we don't suggest shooting under 150 as the onset is faster, as is the cycle.
Absolutely!
(Thanks, Sue!I'm kinda tied up this afternoon, just saw this in passing, on my phone.)
How I understand it is this: At his age, BG numbers, and other factors. Putting him into low BG numbers for short periods (without any adverse visual signs), will help his pancreas heal itself, eventually putting him into remission.Just a quick note out of concern (as a longtime AlphaTrak user): Don't understand why your vet has you shooting Bandit at numbers this low
(I'm referring to 11/24's AMPS of 119 & today's AMPS of 81). BOTH numbers are well within normal limits on a human meter; on an AlphaTrak2 these are EXTREMELY low #s. Even though I've been treating a diabetic cat since 2013 & have consistently tested at mid-cycle, I do not shoot if my cat is below 150 on the AlphaTrak --- and when I do, I am always able to monitor her around her nadir-drop time.
Shooting this low is very risky business (in my humble opinion). I have no idea what your vet is thinking, but I know my own vet would tell me not to shoot at these numbers!) Again, just posting this to you out of a sincere concern for your kitty's continued good health.![]()
I don't know how any of us here can help you further, Bandit's dad. You have been told - repeatedly, by a number of experienced FDMB members - that many of the pre-shot #s you've been seeing from Bandit are too low to shoot. Yet you continue to put your cat at risk based on shoddy advice by an apparently irresponsible veterinarian, one who seems to have scant knowledge of safe dosing guidelines for ProZinc.How I understand it is this: At his age, BG numbers, and other factors. Putting him into low BG numbers for short periods (without any adverse visual signs), will help his pancreas heal itself, eventually putting him into remission.
79 this morning. And I did give him slightly less than 1 unit.
Merlin said:Once he/she is through the trial successfully, you enter a new phase. Your cat is still diabetic but has now become diet-controlled.
Good luck on your new job. The light house is beautiful. Love lighthouses. My vacations never seemed to coincide with hubby. When I went back to my former employer after a lay off, the business was acquired and vacation went from 5 weeks to 2 weeks under the new company. I use to take Friday or Monday off and make it a long weekend. When done over a holiday weekend it became a mini week off . Husband worked weekends so it was nice having no work and hubby not home. Truly a vacation.
Sorry you and Bandit are back. That isn't a bad preshot. Paws crossed you can get him down again. At least he picked a convenient time!
Sorry you are back but as Sue said, good timing
I hope Bandit goes into remission quickly
Your new employer sounds like they treat their employees better - congratulations. Seems like it is a race to the bottom in many American companies - people deserve better.
You are right - good and bad news. Push or not push? The ss is missing the more recent numbers. (Or at least I can't see them). The hope would be he would gradually come down on his own.
You did your own thing before. Of course, we strongly suggest that you test each preshot as his levels can suddenly change.
Could you please add this to your signature: INDIVIDUALIZED DOSING. DO NOT COPY. As a forum, we do not advocate the method you are using and I would hate for anyone new to diabetes to use it.
Kevin, I see plenty of holes in your SS where pre-shot test #s should be. This is what @Sue and Oliver (GA) is talking about. FDMB never recommends you dose a cat with insulin without first getting a preshot number every time. That's totally out of line with our protocols, regardless of which insulin is being used. Shooting without a pre-shot test is placing a diabetic cat at risk, period.
You're neglecting to consider that a brand-new member who has joined FDMB may view your SS and get the mistaken idea that what you are doing is in line with FDMB protocols. That is irresponsible behavior on your part.
If you're not going to test at pre-shot, why are you posting a SS here at all? How is anyone here supposed to "advise" you when you're not testing your cat before you shoot the insulin? The answer is simple: We can't.
Bobbie and Bubba said:There is a forum ran by Dr Hodgkins who promotes a very accelerated way of shooting insulin and it might be a better fit for you since you said you are looking for support rather than the advice for this forum.
www.yourdiabeticcat.com
Exactly, Kevin - That's a no-shot #, whether on a human meter or on an AlphaTrak2 meter.But knowing what anyone knows about the effects of BG levels, why shoot 2 units at 74 with the Karo at the ready?