New sugar momma with diabetic cat who has swollen face

Status
Not open for further replies.
Aine, I think right amount Pepcid ac is better than nothing in regards of tummy.

The cerenia and other anti-naus, is stuff we really don't use in Sweden.
Mirtazipin as app stim I would not even use on a hampered cat, it has such nasty neuro brain effects and other things since it process rescripts in the brain and neuro might conflicting with other things, , we call it how much you b u r d e n them with.


Simba's stomach and intestine blood, and that was a daily lot, got regulated controlled with Prednisolon, 2 a day to start with, than lowered a day. Also food balanced with M/D wet. Kept him in control until he could have his needed radioactive iodine. I was severely sick myself and with hands full with Gustav's cancer too, so I didn't get Simba in to the doctor in right early time to find out it was severe Hyper-T that had broken out on him too. I can shoot myself every day time and time again for not being quicker with Simba there in that. Really. But they had severe brain hypoed him too, again, at the hospital in January 2011, without being honest and telling me, it was again their fault, why my boy didn't know how to eat ir even find the food. They brain injured him so severe, I have it in his vet hospital journal, and they had made him blind and more. It was horrible. I had again to hand syringe feed him KMR cat medic rescue milk. It was after all that he also got severe tummy blood throw up and blood squirting intestine large blood and even long big puss strings in and on around the poop. With the Prednisolon for a while that was well for a month. But by the time Gustav shockingly passed in spring March 2012, Simba's Hyper-T was wild rampaging, he weighed zero and all organs and all. All the rest from there are so horrible, but when I finally got him in for his radiactive iodine, he instantly became all well from it.


Flagyl multi spectrum antibiotics has been the real magic antibiotics on both of them, always through life, and even on me. On myself with all idiot human doctors here, I have a l w a y s had to ***** fight them every time when getting something myself. There is One spectrum antibiotics, and often work well on many, but we are all so individually different, that some of us, all these various one spectrum antibiotics, have z e r o effect on, we just get sicker and sicker until we die. And I know myself, and every time I have said direct Give Multi Spectrum Flagyl. The only thing that works on me. And it always has. And the same with Simba and Gustav.


I nearly died in one of the worst inner explosive spread staph blood poisonings too in 2012. I was since before struck by all these skin staphs, since july 2004, spread to me from dirty snotty kids then. I was given two rounds of antibiotics then in 2004-2005, with temp disappearance, but as soon as off, all the face staphs came back. So Simba really got it zoonos spread to his lil cute nose from his kissing, nibbling, and oink oink on you mama of my nose, and for him then also just staph skin exploded when he hampered from and the diabetes broke out in 2006 and 2007.
The exploding inner blood poisoning staph nearly killing me in 2012, was hospital induced on me by the life revival emergency surgeon on me, the amount of high intensive survival rescue tubes going in in hands, arms and throat on me, one of all those breaking up direct in in blood streams on me tube needles, they t h i n k transported in the staphs into entire me. So I was hooked up too on 3 different Intravenous fluid super strong antibiotics then. They had to smack it out as fast as possible. Also made since I was solely floating nutrition survival fed through the throat tube collars going direct in to my throat aorta, that they had to remove it entirely, which ment I was put off 'food' too. It's a ghastly and long horrible story, Information Overload, but Simba alone at home needing me at home kept me alive. All we got eachother.
I will check in those journals which 3 of these super strong antibiotics they had to give me. If something can match Skinky's.
I hate the ipad too trying to write even cohersive on it.
 
I am sorry to hear that you and your little ones have been through so much, Ann. My Saoirse keeps me going, too. I would be lost without her. (( Ann ))

I agree with you about mirtazapine. I've had it prescribed in the past for my own use. It's a very harsh drug. I couldn't tolerate it.
 
((((Laura)))) Sending more prayers your way and TONS of them for Skinky! Ok baby, time to eat your fuds!!!!!
cheeto%2Bcat.gif
 
Yes, Yes, YES please send the prayers, karma and cosmic hugs. Little girl is very weak tonight. So tiny. She lost a little more than a half pound since her last visit.
 
If you want a real bad survival journal state to compare with here is from my own horrors in 2012
and the critical near death parameters, both state of the art for cats and humans

On me July 11th with a horrible process before that

Temperature 35.8 Celsius degrees (37 is normal)
Blood pressure still 111/88 - right chamber gone to pressure h'
CPR

I was sent home


On me July 13th
I might have arrived in 10.52 or before
Found on floor at home
Total internal and external dried, unable to speak, total paralysed
CPR sky high
Pottassium 1.3 ( 3.5-4.4)
Laktat 2.0 (0.38-1.34)
Blood pH 7.47 (7.35-7.45)
pCO2 4.2 (4.6-6.0)
Kreatinin 102 (45-90)
Bilirubin 3.8 (5-25)
WBC 11.6 (3.5-8.8)
Liver all gone too
Troponin over 800
Blood pressure, zero - My heart started to fail there
All shirt cut up and The acute so called silicon tube throat collar CVK survival throat feeding throat cut up and into aorta inserted - I was gone then. They did chest lung xray of the insertion but I have not the slightest memory of that or being High Intensive sent up and around entire 7 floors. By 21.00 o clock I had arrived up there. They had spent almost 10 hours downstairs trying to save me.

By 21.00 My pO2 had started travelling on me too
po2 10.3 (10.6-13.8)
Chlorid 97 (100-110)
Magnesium 1.8 (0.70-0.95)
Blood pressure 124/79

By morning 07.50 they had had to shut off the NaCl throat supplied IV fluids, since they had given me 7 liters into me too fast so instead got severe edemas in intestines, stomach, legs and so on.
And besides fill ups started get throat supplied 'food' too, called KabiVen 1056 milliliters in pump with amount pumped in speed 30 millilitre per hour, ca only 700 calories a day.
I am able to be contacted now, but are very far away, extremely tired and can't speak and from head to toes total paralysed.
Ultrasound heart. Severly self life pumping left heart chamber, PA pressure highest 30 mm Hg. Irregular lung ventilation with lung perfusion.

Day 3 my body is not responding to all the litres of pottassium they try to fill me up with, only up at 3.1 and I get the first staph blood poisoning indicating fever on high 38.1 Celsius degrees. They dismissed it.

Day 4 moved to another room.

Day 5 tossed away in the other not high intensive hooked up room, waking barely up, all gone again, now 39.5 Celsius degrees in rampaging super high blood poisoning fever. Entire only life and 'food' support throat tube collar CVK pulled out, and blood bacterias culture. Started direct on super amount IV antibiotic Cefotaxim and Nebcina before blood culture reply done. A day later that new high intensive had knocked it down in the blood a bit to temp 38.5 celsius.
I was refusing to give up on my urine catheter too, in spite it being clogged up with blood too. Blood culture poison reply showed the staph aureus, sensitive responding to everything tested. Heracillin 750 mg antibiotics tablets also given.
There they wanted to do a TEE heart gastroscopy xray to see up close better how the staph blood piosoning had bacteria spread to my heart. But I refused.

I only had one thing in my mind anyway - Simba. Simba, my boy Simba. I have to go home to Simba, he has his radiactive iodine treatment appointment and have waited so long and can't miss it. He didn't either. Mama came home and got him direct in to his vet. Demanded a troponin test for him too first thing.


From that I am still however not well fighting for medical care and follow ups but to my own surprise remarkably still ticking.


But there is a bit comparative, and a Keep Fighting. Go Skinky!


Gustav, Simba and their Ann
 
Hi Laura,

Sending prayers and wondering how things are going for you both. Let us know when you can. We're here for you.

((((Laura and Skinky))))
 
If you want a real bad survival journal state to compare with here is from my own horrors in 2012
and the critical near death parameters, both state of the art for cats and humans

On me July 11th with a horrible process before that

Temperature 35.8 Celsius degrees (37 is normal)
Blood pressure still 111/88 - right chamber gone to pressure h'
CPR

I was sent home


On me July 13th
I might have arrived in 10.52 or before
Found on floor at home
Total internal and external dried, unable to speak, total paralysed
CPR sky high
Pottassium 1.3 ( 3.5-4.4)
Laktat 2.0 (0.38-1.34)
Blood pH 7.47 (7.35-7.45)
pCO2 4.2 (4.6-6.0)
Kreatinin 102 (45-90)
Bilirubin 3.8 (5-25)
WBC 11.6 (3.5-8.8)
Liver all gone too
Troponin over 800
Blood pressure, zero - My heart started to fail there
All shirt cut up and The acute so called silicon tube throat collar CVK survival throat feeding throat cut up and into aorta inserted - I was gone then. They did chest lung xray of the insertion but I have not the slightest memory of that or being High Intensive sent up and around entire 7 floors. By 21.00 o clock I had arrived up there. They had spent almost 10 hours downstairs trying to save me.

By 21.00 My pO2 had started travelling on me too
po2 10.3 (10.6-13.8)
Chlorid 97 (100-110)
Magnesium 1.8 (0.70-0.95)
Blood pressure 124/79

By morning 07.50 they had had to shut off the NaCl throat supplied IV fluids, since they had given me 7 liters into me too fast so instead got severe edemas in intestines, stomach, legs and so on.
And besides fill ups started get throat supplied 'food' too, called KabiVen 1056 milliliters in pump with amount pumped in speed 30 millilitre per hour, ca only 700 calories a day.
I am able to be contacted now, but are very far away, extremely tired and can't speak and from head to toes total paralysed.
Ultrasound heart. Severly self life pumping left heart chamber, PA pressure highest 30 mm Hg. Irregular lung ventilation with lung perfusion.

Day 3 my body is not responding to all the litres of pottassium they try to fill me up with, only up at 3.1 and I get the first staph blood poisoning indicating fever on high 38.1 Celsius degrees. They dismissed it.

Day 4 moved to another room.

Day 5 tossed away in the other not high intensive hooked up room, waking barely up, all gone again, now 39.5 Celsius degrees in rampaging super high blood poisoning fever. Entire only life and 'food' support throat tube collar CVK pulled out, and blood bacterias culture. Started direct on super amount IV antibiotic Cefotaxim and Nebcina before blood culture reply done. A day later that new high intensive had knocked it down in the blood a bit to temp 38.5 celsius.
I was refusing to give up on my urine catheter too, in spite it being clogged up with blood too. Blood culture poison reply showed the staph aureus, sensitive responding to everything tested. Heracillin 750 mg antibiotics tablets also given.
There they wanted to do a TEE heart gastroscopy xray to see up close better how the staph blood piosoning had bacteria spread to my heart. But I refused.

I only had one thing in my mind anyway - Simba. Simba, my boy Simba. I have to go home to Simba, he has his radiactive iodine treatment appointment and have waited so long and can't miss it. He didn't either. Mama came home and got him direct in to his vet. Demanded a troponin test for him too first thing.


From that I am still however not well fighting for medical care and follow ups but to my own surprise remarkably still ticking.


But there is a bit comparative, and a Keep Fighting. Go Skinky!

Thank you Ann. That IS a story of survival and love for your little one. One strong momma you are! Keep on fighting and thanks for the encouraging story. !!



Gustav, Simba and their Ann
 
UPDATE. Well, she made it through another night. She is listless and a little depressed. Her eye greatly concerns me. Doc gave me OTC artificial tears ointment. Very unpleasant to use. He does not think she has an infection...that it is the pressure from the swelling pressing on her eye. the corner of her eye is red. I am going to pick up OTC artificial tears, to use as a "wash". I am very concerned about her eye.

Let's see. the good news is she is allowing me (more or less) to syringe feed her the Hills AD. between last night and today, she has a little over half a can in her. I know this isn't much, but for her it is very good. If I go much more than this, she starts choking and stressing out. I'm trying to cause her the least amount of stress. I"m going to get more cat sure and mix some of that into it and I'm mixing the liquid fluc into the food, as she hates the pure syringe. I spoke w/ the pharmacist who said it is a little bitter. he offered to mix more chicken flavor into it. I just don't want it to be diluted, so I think I"m going to pass on that for now.

I hear *less* rumblings in her tummy...until I try to get "too much" syringed food into her - then the rumbling and the very labored breathing begins again.

The kitty sauna seems to be the best thing for her, I swear the swelling goes done in there, I continue to apply a little vaseline to the tip of the clogged nostril.

I'm off to get the ringers solution for her.
 
UPDATE. Well, she made it through another night. She is listless and a little depressed. Her eye greatly concerns me. Doc gave me OTC artificial tears ointment. Very unpleasant to use. He does not think she has an infection...that it is the pressure from the swelling pressing on her eye. the corner of her eye is red. I am going to pick up OTC artificial tears, to use as a "wash". I am very concerned about her eye.

Let's see. the good news is she is allowing me (more or less) to syringe feed her the Hills AD. between last night and today, she has a little over half a can in her. I know this isn't much, but for her it is very good. If I go much more than this, she starts choking and stressing out. I'm trying to cause her the least amount of stress. I"m going to get more cat sure and mix some of that into it and I'm mixing the liquid fluc into the food, as she hates the pure syringe. I spoke w/ the pharmacist who said it is a little bitter. he offered to mix more chicken flavor into it. I just don't want it to be diluted, so I think I"m going to pass on that for now.

I hear *less* rumblings in her tummy...until I try to get "too much" syringed food into her - then the rumbling and the very labored breathing begins again.

The kitty sauna seems to be the best thing for her, I swear the swelling goes done in there, I continue to apply a little vaseline to the tip of the clogged nostril.

I'm off to get the ringers solution for her.



Half a can is very good

Even if on nose inserted tube feeding on cats in Intensive
they start food tube low here, like say calculated a whole 1 can of some emergency tube food, like optimal end 100 % amount
But sick cats can't handle that much at once, and pee and poop out ability has to function and adapt too, input output
So they start the first day with given 25 % of the amount food over a day
Then as soon as cat can handle it raise to given 50 % amount food over a day
Next step raise is 75 % amount food over day
This kept up until the cat can take the entire optimal 100 % day amount food


So give Skinky hugs and kisses from us and a hug to you too
And give her the level amount of food she can day handle, slow
Same with the Subcutan Ringer. When giving her that, feel through her first so you feel through again for subcutan fluid slid dropping elsewhere, like edema creation. Some here have lots of subcut home giving Ringers experience, I hope they guide you more ahead with that.

Hugs
 
Hi Laura,
I'm overjoyed to read your update, and that Skinky's eating a bit better. She's so brave! :)

I'm beyond glad to hear that both of you seem to be getting on better with the assist feeding and that Skinky's tum isn't rumbling so much. I've never had to syringe-feed so I don't know much about the technique or signs to look for from the kitty being fed. I have read that little and often is the way to feed.

Fingers and paws crossed that the artificial tears will soothe her eye.

Sending soothing vibes for Skinky and more prayers for you both. Will check back here for updates later.

((((Laura and Skinky))))
 
Still praying for both of you!!! Happy to hear you got some more fuds in her. She sure is a fighter. Give her some pets and scritches from me and don't forget to take care of yourself, too! Praying that the meds kick in and help her feel better.

Eat your fuds, Skinky!!
cat%2Bwith%2Bcookies.gif
 
Skink is doing a little better tonight. Yay! If I posted a few hours earlier, I would've probably said she's doing worse. We torture each other like that. Between yesterday and today we were able to pretty much get through one whole can of food, which was mixed a little bit with cat sure. Today, her stomach rumbled less. She still hasn't pooped in 2 or 3 days.

Some questions/advice:
  • would it be too much to mix a little pumpkin in with my Hills AD/Ensure to give her some fiber?
  • kitty sauna works best for her. Is this negating any positive impact from the Sub Q fluids?
  • i just got an email from the vet mobile. they now have an online pharmacy, so i'm hoping that I can get a few items, hopefully w/o schlepping in. This is the place where we would have to wait outside for 2 -4 hours, and my girl can not handle that. Going to post a pic of Skink's eye - suggestions of what to request from the vet mobile would be appreciated. She had gentamicin (sp) drops before, but they didn't do much. Humane Soc. doc thinks it's all because of the swelling. In the corner of her eye near her ear, her eye is red.
 

Attachments

  • skink eye.jpg
    skink eye.jpg
    70.6 KB · Views: 180
  • skink eye 2.jpg
    skink eye 2.jpg
    77.8 KB · Views: 186
  • skink 1 16.jpg
    skink 1 16.jpg
    61.8 KB · Views: 200
Skink is doing a little better tonight. Yay! If I posted a few hours earlier, I would've probably said she's doing worse. We torture each other like that. Between yesterday and today we were able to pretty much get through one whole can of food, which was mixed a little bit with cat sure. Today, her stomach rumbled less. She still hasn't pooped in 2 or 3 days.

Some questions/advice:
  • would it be too much to mix a little pumpkin in with my Hills AD/Ensure to give her some fiber?
  • kitty sauna works best for her. Is this negating any positive impact from the Sub Q fluids?
  • i just got an email from the vet mobile. they now have an online pharmacy, so i'm hoping that I can get a few items, hopefully w/o schlepping in. This is the place where we would have to wait outside for 2 -4 hours, and my girl can not handle that. Going to post a pic of Skink's eye - suggestions of what to request from the vet mobile would be appreciated. She had gentamicin (sp) drops before, but they didn't do much. Humane Soc. doc thinks it's all because of the swelling. In the corner of her eye near her ear, her eye is red.



I would leave out the pumpkin fibres for now in foods. Take it slow there, you are doing good already.


Your Kitty Sauna, if I have understood right, moisture sature the air around here, in a home setting eqiuvalent to the er hospital oxygen cage. While they are in that one at hospital, they have very often both inserted nose feeding tubes, and IV ingoing tubes in legs, where the IV fluid Ringer types fluids are on IV drip speed given. sub cutan giving Ringers fluids is just the equivalent home thing then. Pitch that to the vet.

On a real medical fact oxygen saturation and breathing fact, the skin is the body's largest lung. Since the body both take up oxygen from the air through it, all skin, and also let out what's the be rid out through oxygen through it. It is called ions, the ionic 'exchange' that goes on through all small molecyl thin tissues as the body skin and inside membranes and organ tissues.

The sub cutan Ringers is then given in its larger molecyle fluid shape u n d e r the layer of skin, in a local sub skin body area, how far down into the skin layers that fluid is given, depends on the needle lenght then, and absorbed by the tissue around it inside then.
I will see if I have descriptive picture somewhere in all anatomy med books.
 
I would leave out the pumpkin fibres for now in foods. Take it slow there, you are doing good already.


Your Kitty Sauna, if I have understood right, moisture sature the air around here, in a home setting eqiuvalent to the er hospital oxygen cage. While they are in that one at hospital, they have very often both inserted nose feeding tubes, and IV ingoing tubes in legs, where the IV fluid Ringer types fluids are on IV drip speed given. sub cutan giving Ringers fluids is just the equivalent home thing then. Pitch that to the vet.

On a real medical fact oxygen saturation and breathing fact, the skin is the body's largest lung. Since the body both take up oxygen from the air through it, all skin, and also let out what's the be rid out through oxygen through it. It is called ions, the ionic 'exchange' that goes on through all small molecyl thin tissues as the body skin and inside membranes and organ tissues.

The sub cutan Ringers is then given in its larger molecyle fluid shape u n d e r the layer of skin, in a local sub skin body area, how far down into the skin layers that fluid is given, depends on the needle lenght then, and absorbed by the tissue around it inside then.
I will see if I have descriptive picture somewhere in all anatomy med books.


The editing adding of the anatomy pics into the editing didn't work in that first, so bear with me and this "" ipad technology.

Anatomy pic 1 - the respiratory system, sans all the largest lung the skin
Only note in needle insertion caution, for sub cutans, and even acupuncture needles, is stay safe away from the lungs, since a needle easily perforate punch a tiny hole in the lungs.


Anatomy pic 2 - The blood system, just a brief macro vein system.
Finding the arteries and veins too before sub cutan fluid is important too, so by mistake the needle don't end up in the blood streams, if it is not adapted fluid for that.


Anatomy pic 3 - The skeleton. They are tiny our kitties, so micro small finger means on them


Anatomy pic 4 - The skins layers and contents. An 0.8 millimeters short needle might end up just in Epidermis-Upper Dermis sub cutan layers. An 1.5 millimeters long needle perhaps in Upper to Middle lower Dermis.


Anatomy pic 5 - Under the skin layers comes all muscle layers and fibro-fascias layers. Could be good to know how it looks.


Do the pics click work? Perhaps printable too for you to have and look at at home.
 

Attachments

  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    82.6 KB · Views: 172
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    90.5 KB · Views: 172
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    80.9 KB · Views: 205
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    83.4 KB · Views: 198
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    88.4 KB · Views: 217
Hi Laura,

How is your little patient doing today? I hope the food is helping her to feel better and stronger.

Sending prayers for strength and healing to you both.

((((Laura and Skinky))))
 
Also, I looked at the ingredients for Hills a/d canned food. It contains guar gum as soluble fibre. Hopefully that might be enough to help Skinky do her poops.
 
Hi Laura, Every little step forward will soon become a bigger step. You and Skinky are doing very well. I know how concerned you must be about her eye, but it looks like the swelling will have to go down some for her eye to be more comfortable. Keep up the good work with the assisted feeding.
Thinking of you today and sending lots and lots of prayers and healing vines for Skinky,

:bighug::bighug::bighug:

Ella & Rusty
 
Adding more prayers for Skinky. Did you get the ondansetron? It should have gotten there Thursday.

One of the things I can get my cat to eat on her own when she's not willing to eat is an egg. She loves them scrambled and raw too.
And that liver shake that you were given the recipe is also helped many kitties here. ( even if you can't locate all the ingredients)
 
Adding more prayers for Skinky. Did you get the ondansetron? It should have gotten there Thursday.

One of the things I can get my cat to eat on her own when she's not willing to eat is an egg. She loves them scrambled and raw too.
And that liver shake that you were given the recipe is also helped many kitties here. ( even if you can't locate all the ingredients)

Rhiannon - no not yet! maybe in today's mail. THANK YOU! I will review again for the liver shake recipe.
:bighug::kiss::bighug:
 
She's still very touch and go. I'm concerned about her eye, but I can see that it's the pressure/swollenness in the tissues around her eye. she can't quite close it all the way at night. She's definitely not worse than yesterday, so that is a good thing. But, without a doubt this swelling needs to subside. you can see she has a lot of inflammation near her eye socket...

Thank you for the prayers. I do believe they are helping her.
:kiss::bighug::kiss:
 

Attachments

  • skink fri crooked.jpg
    skink fri crooked.jpg
    43.2 KB · Views: 176
  • sad skinky fri.jpg
    sad skinky fri.jpg
    42.2 KB · Views: 176
Hi Laura,

Thank you for the bulletin. I hope the artificial tears help to keep Skinky's eye moist. I'm so moved by Skinky's spirit - she's so brave and such a fighter. :) You're doing a wonderful job nursing her, Laura.

I'm so relieved that you're getting nutrients into your baby girl again. To save you having to dig around, here's the liver shake recipe again.

Sending more prayers for strength and healing to you both.

((((Laura and Skinky))))

.
 
well... I'm pissed. I paid for express priority mail on the 13th with guaranteed delivery - tracking #
EK552516411US

it shows it made it to Albuquerque on the 13th..... and then there should be status updates.... there aren't any. They guaranteed it would be there yesterday by noon. The post office apologizes .... said it must have gotten caught in a bag.... so at this moment it is lost.... they will refund my $20 next Tuesday and they are hoping that it shows up in the system before then.
But that doesn't help Skinky......

I can send more in tomorrow's mail..... but with Monday being a holiday.... it's not going to get there for another 4 or 5 days.

Hey.... Is anybody closer to her.... I can replace.


I would hope you could explain to one of these vet's that ondansetron isn't a controlled substance..... and to please write you a prescription.... you want
the 4mg pills because the 8 mg pills are annoying to cut into eighths. The generic isn't expensive.
I'm going to get back my $20 for the express shipping and that should cover your prescription if you can just convince a vet to let you try it on Skinky.
What ever the price of the prescription, I'll send it to you. I can even paypal it if you have an account.

I hate that I'm too far away ....
and that Skinky's not getting the help.

sigh sigh sigh sigh sigh sigh and ARGH!
 
Bummer on the meds getting lost in the mail.:arghh: I'm hoping that by some miracle they will arrive tomorrow. Here in L&L we believe in miracles.
Hang in there, Laura. I hope that Skinky is eating tonight and that you both will have a restful night.

Hugs and scritches,

Ella & Rusty

p.s. The liver shake sounds repulsive, but many here have had success with it. Cats like it!
 
UPDATE AND QUESTIONS:
I"m able to get more food into her. She's easily gotten 1/2 can into her so far, if i can get another little bit into her later, even better. And she pooped! I do think some strength is coming back, but I"m not sure if it's going to be enough. She has very labored breathing, thru mouth, often. Her tummy definitely rumbles less, so as someone suggested, maybe that's because now she is getting some solid substance into her. Her little body makes all sorts of noises really, tummy, lungs, mouth. She often does a strange little gurgling. Today, for the first time in at least two days she purred. :) However it's a disturbing purr, combined with I don't know what, if it's because of the partial nasal blockage that makes her purr sound strange?

So two important questions related to her (possible?) diabetes. Since she was calm today, (she's not getting poked and probed and prodded as much) and since she had a lot of labored breathing, I took her BG. She had 316. I injected her w/ 1 unit. I'm a little nervous because this is only the third time I've injected insulin into her and I only have one strip left to do a reading.

My questions:

Where can I get replacement strips for relion in a pinch or are there others that will work with the relion? I do not have a car, live in nyc and we don't have a walmart.

Diabetes: I've gotten mixed info from vet people.
1.) One vet said to give her 1 unit of insulin per 24 hour period ONLY if she tests above 250.
2.) Advice from vet mobile owner - not a vet but very informative and has dealt with animals in a medical capacity forever - said I should be administering the insulin continuously even if she tests under 250, until she tests low for a consecutive amount of time. This is how her body will learn to "regulate" the insulin
3.) and another vet isn't convinced she has diabetes, that her sugars are elevated due to this infection.

Her fructosamine was 534, reference range 142- 450

Your experienced advice would be greatly appreciated!
 
Unfortunately, you generally need the strips designed for the meter.
You may need to snag a meter locally someplace that carries strips locally.
Pick one without Free or Tru in the name, as sometimes these don't do well on cats.
 
well... I'm pissed. I paid for express priority mail on the 13th with guaranteed delivery - tracking #
EK552516411US

it shows it made it to Albuquerque on the 13th..... and then there should be status updates.... there aren't any. They guaranteed it would be there yesterday by noon. The post office apologizes .... said it must have gotten caught in a bag.... so at this moment it is lost.... they will refund my $20 next Tuesday and they are hoping that it shows up in the system before then.
But that doesn't help Skinky......

I can send more in tomorrow's mail..... but with Monday being a holiday.... it's not going to get there for another 4 or 5 days.

Hey.... Is anybody closer to her.... I can replace.


I would hope you could explain to one of these vet's that ondansetron isn't a controlled substance..... and to please write you a prescription.... you want
the 4mg pills because the 8 mg pills are annoying to cut into eighths. The generic isn't expensive.
I'm going to get back my $20 for the express shipping and that should cover your prescription if you can just convince a vet to let you try it on Skinky.
What ever the price of the prescription, I'll send it to you. I can even paypal it if you have an account.

I hate that I'm too far away ....
and that Skinky's not getting the help.

sigh sigh sigh sigh sigh sigh and ARGH!

Hey Rhiannon, I didn't even see this. I saw the other post about the meds getting lost in the mail, but I didn't see your post. Boy that was awfully nice of you. Thank you so much!! I"m kinda stressing out right now w/ the whole medication thing. SERIOUS stress headache now. I administered 1 unit of insulin and only have one strip left to monitor. although, i do have a real crappy back up bg monitor I can use.

She seemed to have especially labored breathing, I tested, got 315 and gave her one unit. She seems fine now and I will test again w/ my one remaining relion strip in another hour or so...

I'm trying to keep an eye on all of her drug usage, especially since she is still so frail. she's getting 35/40 units of flucazone, 12 mg of zeniquin, he gave her a shot of convenia AND cerenia. Her tummy is gurgling less, but she still smacks her lips, although less. I'm extremely ignorant with insulin and it hasn't been the focus of her issues from doctors. so my concern is how ALL of this will interact with one another. I wouldn't have given her the insulin tongiht, but she seemed to be breathing very heavy and she looked more out of it than normal, so when she tested over 300 I thought it could be a good idea.

So, of the two vets I use, IF my doctor from the HS is there on Monday, I might be able to get him to call it in, but it probably wouldn't be till Tuesday. Even though they are opened on Sat and Sun, I can only get scripts/etc from the vet i'm seeing. The vet mobile doesn't do scripts, but I can sometimes pick up certain meds from them. They are only in my area two days a week, but tomorrow IS one of those days, so I can call them and see if they have ondansetron on hand to adminsiter. Can she have both the ondansetron AND cerenia in her system? she is gurgling less - i think it's because she finally has some solid food in her stomach...

This was very nice of you. No wonder why the PO is going broke. idiots.
 
I would pester that vet tomorrow and ask them to call within the hour.

I just googled your address.... looks like you have a "downtown pharmacy " (212) 587-5252 really close to you on Beekman. ( less than a block)

they probably have some other meters.... strips... since you are kinda stuck in your area.

I'm sending you a pm.
 
I would pester that vet tomorrow and ask them to call within the hour.

I just googled your address.... looks like you have a "downtown pharmacy " (212) 587-5252 really close to you on Beekman. ( less than a block)

they probably have some other meters.... strips... since you are kinda stuck in your area.

I'm sending you a pm.


Great Rhiannon!
Thank you
 
Laura, what kind of Relion meter do you use? This obviously does you no good right this very minute, but I just had problems getting test strips for my Relion Micro (same strips for Relion Confirm) and Carla mentioned this on my condo...

When I used the Relion Confirm, I got my test strips from ADW too. They ship fast. I think they ship from FL, so if you ordered, you would get them quickly.

Here is what I would buy:
http://www.adwdiabetes.com/product/arkray-glucocard-01-sensor-blood-glucose-test-strips_4050.htm

Just thinking about the future...because she's going to get better and you'll need more test strips, eventually! (thinking positive!!!) :smuggrin: I haven't actually looked into those strips from ADW, but it might be worth storing that info away for future reference. Still sending you both lots of prayers...prayers of strength, comfort & healing!!! Keep eating your fuds, Skinky!!!!

Overdose.jpg
 
i LOVE that picture! it's funny because everyone that knew Skinky...well...we all had a running joke that I'd be afraid to return home and find her on her back, kibble bowl empty, with some kibble dropping out of her mouth. This would be her preferred way to "leave", sort of the equivalent of an octogenerian dying while having sex with a 20-something. What a way to go.

I think I"m going to go back to putting insulin injections on hold till she stabilizes more...

Thank you for the continued good wishes and karma!
 
Yes, Laura. Before we decide to start up with any new insulin, we first do a 3 days worth of ordinary baseline bg testings. Then we set that test testing up in here, since most here know, we have the summarizing background information, and you can have gotten enough new test strips for it all.

You have that short fast baseline test hrs schedule I fast wrote in on the fb thread for this critical ongoing night, we can just copy over into here, and has as start base.

But one thing first. We will be with you.
 
NOTE TO ALL, INCLUDING LAURA AND SKINKY.

I've been with them all night with this 1 U Lantus insulin give tonight, on the fb part. Many have helped Laura in U.S too with PM's to her, and I've had her and Skinky in stereo eye fb and here at the same time. In checking back here, to why Laura also asked on fb, was as I could see that her insulin question above for tonight had not been replied here earlier. So we have had her and Skinky under close talk through and guidance watch, also Chris knows.


So with our decision to get monitor through this 1 U night, day, that was my main night priority. And t h e n we zero the insulin and start anew in getting more daily bg facts as baseline tested before starting up with any new insulin.

This is a critical 1 U hypo avoiding bg test schedule for tonight I quick set up to go by and copied over from fb just an FYI for all helping. But we tailor it better instead when we've gotten through tonight and gotten that under our belt as we usually say with all daunting tnew bg testing, insulin giving.


'Laura, fructosamine 500 + and bg 300 +
Start Low, Go Slow
with the insulin
You have given 1 U, test that frequent now spot checks like every 2 hour, like a bg curve
Time of insulin amount
+ 2 hours after, a bg test
+ 4 hrs after
+ 6 hrs
+ 8 hrs
+ 10 hrs
+ 12 hrs

Lantus has a 12 hour duration but can go steep dip fast low if 1 U was to much for first time, so keep very high carb as dextrose sugar, karo syrup, high carb food at hand if hypo low for instant feed

Otherwise I feel 1/2 U every morning and night with 12 hrs apart is the better
Even 0.25 U twice a day 12 hr apart actually to start with
We start very safe'


This I just copied and FYI'd so we don't lose tonight's worked up new learning and information.

Laura and Skinky are so new and a dire case so I haven't been willing to start shove them around yet here and there on the site. We can determine that later were we move on to next. Trying to pace and go slow.


Hope okay with all


Ann
 
I just want to make sure I understand before posting something inappropriate...

Is the plan to not give any insulin after the shot she gave tonight?

If so...
I would never suggest someone withhold insulin without discussing it with their vet FIRST.

NONE OF US are qualified to make that call, nor should we be advising that someone do so.

@Chris & China
Chris, I know that the FB page is a monster to try to handle. But "advising" is not supposed to happen there, at least not dose advising. Please, please, please try to encourage people to post "here" if at all humanly possible for peer-reviewed advice?
 
Carl that is not how I read it. I thinks Ann's final suggestion was about reducing the dose if the 1 unit was too much last night to 0.5 unit every twelve hours or even 0.25 unit every twelve hours. Last night was the first time skinky had been given any insulin for quite some time because until the last day or two she had not been eating and had gotten mixed messages from the vet.

NOTE TO ALL, INCLUDING LAURA AND SKINKY.

Lantus has a 12 hour duration but can go steep dip fast low if 1 U was to much for first time, so keep very high carb as dextrose sugar, karo syrup, high carb food at hand if hypo low for instant feed

Otherwise I feel 1/2 U every morning and night with 12 hrs apart is the better
Even 0.25 U twice a day 12 hr apart actually to start with
We start very safe'
 
"And t h e n we zero the insulin and start anew in getting more daily bg facts as baseline tested before starting up with any new insulin."

Then I misread that?
I confess, I didn't read through 180 posts to get here. What I saw was "stop giving insulin" to a very complicated and sick kitty.

My concern about "facebook advising" still stands however. It isn't supposed to be happening. That isn't what it was created for, and nobody should be giving any advice there except "I strongly advise that you join the FDMB message board".
 
@Critter Mom
I'm glad to see it wasn't just me that was worried. :)
My kitty Bob (GA), went through DKA and almost died. And cost me a big chunk of my savings account before he got his first shot of PZI. Any time i stumble across "stop insulin", especially in a case where kitty has lots of other things going on, all i picture is "ketones" and all that can lead to.
If you've never been to ketone hell, i hope you never come close. Anyone who has been there knows exactly what i'm talking about.
 
That was my concern too, Carl. Because I've only got 8 months' experience of diabetes treatment, so I am very wary of even commenting about anything to do with insulin dosing, but I was really worried here and didn't know what to do or say.

I am sorry that Bob went through DKA. Mercifully I've not had to deal with it, but I've learned enough here to fear it.
 
Don't worry guys. It's just a short memo. The whole night, for me, until 08.00 AM is covered in two pretty long posts on the fb page. That was just a few lines direct copied over by me before going to bed which Laura knows.
More nastyness towards Laura happened in fb, by a hit and run stealth extremely nasty person, not at all having read Laura's entire case in here. That person got told by two of us how out-of-the-line-nasty that person was, that we had mutual FDMB friends and and should inform herself in the FDMB thread first before stealth nasty assualting in that way. That assaulting person then left the fb group.

So overall, I was awake for 5 hours, hanging close tight to Laura and Skinky both here and in stereo there on fb until 08.00 AM this morning. My time. And just woke up now.
So don't worry guys by a short direct copied out of fb context lines.
We have to sleep. And then we start Anew.
 
Hi Laura,

I've been thinking about the above. Diet changes can cause gastrointestinal upsets under normal conditions. Changes need to be made slowly under normal conditions. As I posted before I have no experience of feeding the liver shake to a cat. However, I have been thinking about my experience with Saoirse. I know that Saoirse's problem was pancreatitis, but at the end of the day her digestive system was very upset. My vet advised me to keep her on a bland, very easily digestible food, which I did for quite some time. It helped to stabilize her.

It's great to hear that Skinky is currently getting on with the a/d food - and pooping! I am wondering how a food change might affect Skinky at the moment. Assuming that she still keeps eating the a/d food, my suggestion would be to phone your vet for some advice before doing any diet changes.
 
Last edited:
Laura, if you order strips from American Diabetes Wholesale you will receive them very fast. Which Relion meter do you have? If it is the Confirm or the Micro (both use the same strips), you can order Arkray Glucocard 01 Sensor strips from ADW. Here's the link:http://www.adwdiabetes.com/product/arkray-glucocard-01-sensor-blood-glucose-test-strips_4046_54.htm

Relion is Walmart's brand name for the Arkray products. If you order from ADW today (Sat.) you may get the strips on Mon., certainly on Tues. They are very fast in getting out orders.

I use ADW for all of Rusty's diabetic supplies. They have great deals. Please make sure you are using the Relion Confirm or Micro before ordering the strips I have referenced above. The other Walmart Relion meters use different strips and I don't know which of the Arkray meters correspond to those other Relion meteers.

Good luck. Lots of prayers and good thoughts for Skinky today.
 
Last edited:
image.jpg


Good Morning Dear Skinky and Laura. This is me with one ipad last night and morning and newely awake now -:) We all have to sleep some too -:) I hope you and Skinky got some much needed for you sleep in the early morning too and that you are okay today too. I will have to go and sleep more, it became like a rough night. But this was to Greet You today too. Now we start Anew.
 
I don't use Facebook. What happened? How is Skinky?

.


Dear Aine, we don't start that again -:) We just move on with keep focusing on Skinky and Laura -:) They are in one outer area in NYC. It's like 7 million people there in NYC, shitty public bus transportation system, horror subway system, trafic drivers who are crazy. Laura and Skinky are original from Boston. I've lived there too, been to horror NYC too. Well all over New England. Life is a bit more easier and not so stressful in towns outside of NYC if you or your cat is sick. At least don't take so long to travel between safe, secure home, vet places, pharmacies, food stores and so on for Laura and Skinky. My clock is 17.25 PM, and 6 hrs back for NYC from me should make it around Noon something for Skinky and Laura, with things they had to do for themselves today too. She will when she has the time come back. I hope they both get a lot of sleep too, they are working very hard -:) Lets just hug them and wish them all the luck and best for all their healing -:)
 
If you are starting anew, it would be a fantastic idea if you would start a new thread on the Feline Health forum.
You could link this thread in the first post so that people can see the history.
And there would be more "eyes" to see it there.
 
Hi Laura,

Keeping you and Skinky in my thoughts and prayers. I hope you are both doing OK.

((((Laura and Skinky))))
.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top